Do we the wider footy public support Essendon as per Little's comment today?

Do you back Essendon in their fight against ASADA?

• Yes, all the way with Jimmy Hird and his merry band of men

Votes: 14 2.7%
  • No, burn the joint down

Votes: 487 93.3%
  • Don't care, pass me the scotch

Votes: 21 4.0%

I think any one that still had sympathy for the Bombers changed on Friday, hearing Littles ranting about being bullied, about ASADA leaking (particularly when as many leaks have come from the bombers as anyone), looking to get off on a technicality in the courts after accepting the joint investigation last year, and more importantly after complaining how long the process has taken ( to then extend it by going to court) has certainly changed the attitude of any essendon sympathizers I know.

To put it bluntly, people are sick of essendon.... and the most simplistic view is that if they are so confident they have done nothing wrong why not prove this and its all sorted out?

Also hearing Little today sook up about the timing of the notices.... all sympathy is gone

Well as long as they are aware of it, and its not the emperor has no clothes (or mental faculties) type of situation

They'd be aware of it.

It might be because I'm still at the age where I have answer to a lot of people but it reminds me of the tactics I use when I try to squirm my way out of shit.
Just quickly saying plausible sounding explanations with bits and pieces of slighlty related truths. And telling different people slightly different things whilst building a good narrative on the fly.

Except of course that Essendon are having to do this on public record.

They'd be aware of it.

It might be because I'm still at the age where I have answer to a lot of people but it reminds me of the tactics I use when I try to squirm my way out of shit.
Just quickly saying plausible sounding explanations with bits and pieces of slighlty related truths. And telling different people slightly different things whilst building a good narrative on the fly.

Except of course that Essendon are having to do this on public record.

Yeah but if you had to do it on the public record you think you would throw the piece of paper in front of someone else and ask; how much does this bullshit stink based on the other bullshit we have put forward. You know when you have to sell something and you have time before hand you run it through your own bullshitometer and gauge will it be bought?

Possibly the dumbest thing I have ever read..Let me ask you this, was it against the rules to rush a behind during this period?

Just so you don't Essendonize the answer and muddy the waters with some sort or irrelevant spin like you have tried above,the answer is no?

Is it against the rules to use banned peptides on your entire playing list, then lie to and mislead your supporters and the wider football community? The answer is Yes.

Hardly the same thing is it? I will answer this one for you to, No it is not.
It can be against the rules to engage in conduct that is unbecoming or likely to prejudice the interests or reputation of the Australian Football League, or to bring the game of football into disrepute

Yeah but if you had to do it on the public record you think you would throw the piece of paper in front of someone else and ask; how much does this bullshit stink based on the other bullshit we have put forward. You know when you have to sell something and you have time before hand you run it through your own bullshitometer and gauge will it be bought?

Yeah.
I reckon they're reached the stage where they're just trying to keep the fight going a bit longer and don't actually even have an end game anymore. They just want to delay the punishment.

Personally if I were in charge of Essendon when this broke out I'd have cooperated at the start and given all the information and stood myself down whilst trying to make it all look like one big mistake made through incompetence and not malice.
So not so far off what Evans was trying to do.

It can be against the rules to engage in conduct that is unbecoming or likely to prejudice the interests or reputation of the Australian Football League, or to bring the game of football into disrepute

Nobody has damaged the reputation of the AFL and the game of football as badly as Essendon have.

Ben Cousins didn't. Chris Connolly didn't. Eddie McGuire hasn't. John Elliot and Carlton didn't.

Not even sides tanking?

Just look at the sentiment from non Essendon supporters about all this.

The level of vitriol directed towards Essendon is pretty telling about how much people think they've damaged the AFL.

The booing of Jobe last year was also pretty unprecedented and said a lot.

Nobody has damaged the reputation of the AFL and the game of football as badly as Essendon have.

Ben Cousins didn't. Chris Connolly didn't. Eddie McGuire hasn't. John Elliot and Carlton didn't.

Chris Connoly is a minnow and not sure what he's done wrong, but Eddie McGuire has been as good for the game as he's been for Collingwood. I think you're trolling though so shouldn't be taken seriously.

They wanted it to end ASAP as well, just not this way and not now. Other than that it was good to go, but now with the way they have gone they have forced Essendon to take action that they could have taken nearly 12 months ago if they really felt the investigation was wrong but whatever yeah quick end to it for the players sake. :drunk:
Little: The club requested that today’s game not be negatively affected by the obvious and significant distraction to our players and their state of mind. Consequently our legal team requested that the posting of these show cause notices occur next week so that we could better assist our players in handling this traumatic development in their careers.

But, umm, wait, like, wouldn't that negatively affect next week's game??? :drunk::drunk::drunk:

They were playing top of the ladder Demons, though.... in a major marquee game..

Just look at the sentiment from non Essendon supporters about all this.

The level of vitriol directed towards Essendon is pretty telling about how much people think they've damaged the AFL.

The booing of Jobe last year was also pretty unprecedented and said a lot.
So you think that the drugs saga has destroyed the game more than tanking has or the COLA

So do you believe that the drugs this year are having more of an effect on results than the COLA is having on this season

Agree (I include tanking in that too), and they are continuing to do damage.

Tanking goes with Chris Connolly.

Ben Cousins = 1 year suspension for bringing the game into disrepute. Chris Connolly 11 month suspension for bringing the game into disrepute. James Hird = 1 year suspension for bringing the game into disrepute.

There's not a person in Australia (save for the jacobites) who honestly thinks that Cousins and Connolly brought the game into anywhere near the disrepute as this.

Chris Connoly is a minnow and not sure what he's done wrong, but Eddie McGuire has been as good for the game as he's been for Collingwood. I think you're trolling though so shouldn't be taken seriously.

Chris Connolly got 11 months (one month less than Hird) for tanking.
I'm referring to Eddie's comments about Goodes which arguably brought the game into disrepute to some.

I agree that Eddie is good for the game.

So you think that the drugs saga has destroyed the game more than tanking has or the COLA

So do you believe that the drugs this year are having more of an effect on results than the COLA is having on this season

I believe that the drugs saga has done far more damage to the reputation of the game than either tanking or the COLA.

Chris Connolly got 11 months (one month less than Hird) for tanking.
I'm referring to Eddie's comments about Goodes which arguably brought the game into disrepute to some.

I agree that Eddie is good for the game.

haha ridiculous. That is desperate trolling bringing up those comments. Eddie has been great for the game and unfortunately Collingwood, hence your trolling.

So you care less about an even competition and just want revenge taken out on the players

Where did I say that?

I don't like the cola at all.

Just saying that the the reputation of the AFL in the public has being more tarnished by this drugs saga than anything else before.

So you care less about an even competition and just want revenge taken out on the players

No... people care less about that stuff or at least the clubs that do it and take their anger out on the AFL who endorse these things. Look at how many threads are about have been made about the AFL & tanking & COLA & allowing Judd to be paid outside the cap.

****. Just look at the poll on the top of this page.

Do we the wider footy public support Essendon as per Little's comment today?