Do you have superstitions ?

I always wear my brown n gold Neil Young t-shirt. Before the saints game I bought a Suckers badge & put it on the peak of my hawks cap. Wasn't til I got home that I realized it was half sticking over the edge of the peak & looked plainly ridiculous. Needless to say I won't be moving it til we lose a game I go to...

I used to always wear the shirt I wore underneath my guernsey on Grand Final day in 2008. Worked out that this didn't do anything so I don't do it anymore.

Just wondering do you have any superstitions or habits before a Hawthorn game that might make you feel better for a Hawthorn win ?
I have a couple,

I always fly my Australian flag the day before a Hawthorn match and when they win i fly my Hawthorn flag for a couple of days.

Wear my new Hawthorn jacket , they seem to win :D

Always donate a dollar or two to the Salvos before a Hawthorn game and always put my left sock on first. These routine seem to work for me at the moment.

Do you have any weird habits like me and go out of your way to make Hawthorn win a game. :D

I always do the same, and sometimes panic when I can't find a salvo collector! I give a coin to the blond who plays the bagpipes at home games as well.

I used to have a lot more, but deliberately completely changed my pattern on GF day 2008 - proving to myself that my routine was actually ridiculous!

I usually catch a lift in to the game. I never drive (unless I have no other option). Stop off at a Hawthorn cafe on Auburn Road or Richmond cafe on Swan Street for a mandatory strong double shot espresso. I also procure 2 coffees. 1 for my driver and 1 for a mate. The only time I went to a game this season and we lost, we bypassed a coffee on the way to the Cats game. Rest is history.

. The only time I went to a game this season and we lost, we bypassed a coffee on the way to the Cats game. Rest is history.

Don't ever do that again ! :eek:

Every final I wear my old BFC Finance training top... I was 15 kilos lighter when I first wore it many moons ago. Somehow I squeeze into it much to horror of everyone around me.

I always do the same, and sometimes panic when I can't find a salvo collector! I give a coin to the blond who plays the bagpipes at home games as well.

!

When we last played at the G and destroyed Port a saw a Hawthorn bloke donate $50 to her :eek:

yes.

I have a gameday jumper, circa VFL...sleeveless, knittted...this jumper got us the win at the G against the freo duckers this season once I changed from my current on-field jumper....

I have gameday socks, circa, 2008. They must be worn as soon as I drag myslef out of bed on game day.

I have gameday stubby cooler, needs updating, only shows up to 91. Doesn't have Crawf for Brownlow or 2008 GF...

When watching a game on TV at home, I carry the Hawks mini football everywhere around the house.

It is kind of ritualistic - I feel like carrying the mini footy around gives me this energy and feeling of connection to something ethereal, like being part of the 'Hawthorn cosmos', and it helps me to stay focused and keep the faith when we are losing. :) :footy:

How's this for one?

Back in '12 I was (sort of) happily employed in a role I had been in for 3 years. We had been purchased by another much larger company and things were heading south. The day before the '13 GF they make me redundant (incidentally after 78 years of continuous trading the new owners are shutting the business down next week as they have "cost cut" the business to death, literally). Pity as the first hour of that day had been fun in my Hawks gear.

I start a new role at the beginning of '14, by July they get rid of 7 out of the 10 that were employed including me. Didn't start a new role until Dec '14.

My superstition, I need to be unemployed for the Hawks to win. FYI, my new role was restructured out given the death of my manager a few weeks ago. Head Office decided to bail on WA for a while. I do have a very promising interview on Tuesday, however I've asked them to hold off me starting until after the WA school holidays. Would this count as me being unemployed?

I have a new supersitition that has worked for the last few years. I am, however, for fear of dimibishing its power, reluctant to talk about it.

[QUO

My superstition, I need to be unemployed for the Hawks to win. FYI, my new role was restructured out given the death of my manager a few weeks ago. Head Office decided to bail on WA for a while. I do have a very promising interview on Tuesday, however I've asked them to hold off me starting until after the WA school holidays. Would this count as me being unemployed?[/QUOTE]

well yeah you ain't getting paid

Do you have superstitions ?