Do you think if you really tried hard enough, you could make it to the AFL?

Me never too short too slow no talent now too old
A mate of mine took it seriously at 17 was playing HBF
The opposition HFF was an old man nearly 40 he thought he was going to have a good game.
Zero possessions the old man got a lazy 6 goals and gave four to others
Mate tried setting him up and every time missed and got a backhander
Afterwards his dad pointed out he had just played on Peter Bedford
For younger people look him up

If i had the knowledge of diet and fitness they have today i would've been a chance, but my size was against me too. You're identified very early these days, no pies and fish n' chips during the week, you're training diligently from the age of 14. I was a wiz in the EDFL from under 13s to under 17s, i went up to Essendon for the Under 19's and when you saw the senior guys training it was like an episode of Land of The Giants. I was going to get smashed.

Might have had a chance in VFL if I was around in 1925. 3 new teams + reserves, Vic population only 1.6 mil and, sadly, many fit young men lost to WWI a few years previous. I reckon some pretty average suburban footballers would’ve at least made VFL reserves back then.

The opposition HFF was an old man nearly 40 he thought he was going to have a good game.

What club on the peninsula may I ask?

Bedfords are a great family. Jason doing well at cricket locally now

Not AFL but when I was back in year 10 in 1987 blokes where going around the schools trying to get "Speedball" up and going it was a hybrid game with netball, basketball, indoor soccer and European Handball all rolled into 1 and it was 7 players on the court per side.

I was the only kid at school who got it and the guys took my name and phone number but alas it never took of and my dreams of Speedball Olympic gold were shattered.

On SM-S918B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Peter Bedford - blast from past. Great player, Garry Wilsonish in that he may be largely forgotten. Terrif 1st class cricketer too. It would be a pleasure to be taken apart by him on the footy field.

To answer the question after an earlier post, nah never possible.

1: Disability.
2: Too bloody soft.
3: Slow.
4: Hated being tackled.
5: Couldn't give my all.
6: Not from a private school.
7: Not connected.
8: Poor skills and no left foot kick or right handed hanball.
9: Battler.
10: Uncoachable.
11: Unwilling to move anywhere but WA.
12: Injury prone.

Might have had a chance in VFL if I was around in 1925. 3 new teams + reserves, Vic population only 1.6 mil and, sadly, many fit young men lost to WWI a few years previous. I reckon some pretty average suburban footballers would’ve at least made VFL reserves back then.
A keen student of history and cautionary tale of the horrors of war.

To answer the question after an earlier post, nah never possible.

1: Disability.
2: Too bloody soft.
3: Slow.
4: Hated being tackled.
5: Couldn't give my all.
6: Not from a private school.
7: Not connected.
8: Poor skills and no left foot kick or right handed hanball.
9: Battler.
10: Uncoachable.
11: Unwilling to move anywhere but WA.
12: Injury prone.
So you are saying there is a chance?

0 chance.
North are prepared to offer you a 10 year deal as we speak.

Exclusive vision of RWH after accepting the offer:

business man love GIF by yuvaroo

I think someone posted in another thread on here that only 0.4% of footballers get drafted to the AFL, so the odds are really slim in reality.

And then those odds drop to about 0.000004% when you're 5'5 like me.

Do you think if you really tried hard enough, you could make it to the AFL?