Autopsy Dogs defeat Dees 110-100 - Redemption

One extremely important thing to come out of this is the confidence.

Even in the last minute Melbourne "knew" they would win. The Melbourne players and coaches were visibly shocked when JUH's goal sailed through as reality hit them. Sure every team is disappointed when they lose, but Melbourne's players reaction after was more than that. It stung them.

For us, we now have the belief we can take it to them.
Reality is from our last 5 games they have won 3 and we have won 2. So I don’t think there is a big difference between us. their confidence vs us might be a little displaced. Just happens that one of their 3 wins was a GF.

You've been here three months? Forgive us for not changing the way this forum has been used for the 15+ years prior to you hopping on board.
This is a place for people to converse and share their views, positive or negative, right or wrong, educated or uneducated. If you want positivity go to the boards on facebook where they ban anyone who says anything negative.
Whether he has been here for 5 days or 20 years shouldnt Make any difference. However, he does have a relevant point because this forum has been somewhat turned into negative forum by a few who don’t seem to realise their repetitive posts about the coach or certain players such as Hannah, Gardiner etc are not contributing to the enjoyment of a “supporters forum” about the team they enjoy following.

Outsider, if you think the opinions of long term followers are the only ones that should be heard ……… well, I have been here since 2005 and I agree with the sentiments of Four Seasons …… and I have read a few similar posts on here this morNing following Mutts “broad church” statement.

I don't like to flog a dead horse but it was embarrassing when Bruce was rushing from the bench just to get smashed in the ruck. Bevo, give this tactic away and play Sweet please. FFS.

Sweet would have been smashed just as hard in the ruck. If you actually rewatch the last time Sweet played against Melbourne he was absolutely dominated and gave us nothing all game.

I wonder if, back in 1954 when we beat them in the grand final, the internet and Big Footy was around, if our supporters would turn into frothy-mouthed window lickers, like they are, with a weird obsession for hating on the team they beat in the grand final. It's bizarre, the amount of threads and time they dedicate to this obsession is next level.

Also Jamarra kicks 5 because Bruce plays so May is on him won’t get that with Sweet

Exactly. Jamarra goes from getting their third best defender to their second, while the Melbourne defence can largely ignore Sweet and focus all of their attention on the relevant players.
And then Sweet goes into the ruck and gets towelled up by Gawn anyway. Great strategy.

Bruce attended 6 centre bounce contests last night.

Wanting to replace a player from last nights team, just so Sweet can ruck those 6 contests, ignoring the massive net loss there is with his lack of output everywhere else on the field, including taking a spot on the bench, is peak delusion.

The brains of some of the Cult of Sweet members must be mush. Too much cool aid.

May didn't even have eyes for the ball in the last quarter when he blatantly shoved Bruce out of the contest. Commentators stroking themselves just too strong in the contest.
For mine that was a free for not allowing a player to contest the ball. Bruce was taking shape to hold his ground and May just took his eyes off the ball to manhandle Bruce. That wasn't a battle of strength it was a player taking another out of the contest who then happened to take it.
I thought this one was fine.

One that was missed for mine was Kosi being allowed to dive into McNeil’s legs on the boundary line in their forward line (8:15 left in the 3rd). This is actually an action that can cause injury.

42F8C30B-D1CF-4312-AE19-FF0D4E12AD0D.jpeg

Also made me wonder if we had of had Bruce available in the GF to be able to split their defenders. Anyway he wasn't so won't dwell on it.
A fair few maybes.

When you lose by that much you tend to think not much would have changed the result but a few quick goals when we were 19 points up might have made Melbourne players panic. Will never know.

Good win from you guys but the reality is we were coming off 2 days less break in taxing conditions, Lever was a late out and on top of that Ben Brown the form key forward of the competition right now was missing.
thanks for showing us your "injury list", we could also show you ours, but what would be the point, how you manage/use it is far more important

Few punch ups in the crowd tonight. Driven mostly by absolutely racist bullshit from s**t faced Dees fan. I hope that campaigner fell down the stairs on his way out as Jamarra nailed the sealer.

Unbelievable that we’re still dealing with this rubbish. Must say, for a club that has traditionally been weak as piss, they’ve got some arrogance off the back of five minutes of success. Seem to be a club of fair weather supporters in the truest sense.

Bruce attended 6 centre bounce contests last night.

Wanting to replace a player from last nights team, just so Sweet can ruck those 6 contests, ignoring the massive net loss there is with his lack of output everywhere else on the field, including taking a spot on the bench, is peak delusion.

The brains of some of the Cult of Sweet members must be mush. Too much cool aid.
There's no net loss when comparing it to what Bruce is currently producing though.

Sweet could also have 2 touches and do nothing.

Reality is from our last 5 games they have won 3 and we have won 2. So I don’t think there is a big difference between us. their confidence vs us might be a little displaced. Just happens that one of their 3 wins was a GF.
They’re two very similar quality/profile teams with intriguing differences that make it awesome that the wins and losses are see-sawing in the last 6 encounters.

Our mid stars are footballers with big bodies and theirs are burst athletes with solid skills.

I think they’ve been more professionally run the last 12 months but we have a very, let’s say, industrious coach and bucket loads more spirit.

Some of the Darren Burgess sheen is starting to come off them and they don’t seem to have the edge they had last year. Bloody incredible top end talent though and a plan A that is quite irrepressible.

Last night had a “if it bleeds you can kill it” vibe as the game wore on. As much as we like to be picky about inside 50 disposal, we are a bloody potent team. We’ve got a stack of offensive talent. Melbourne have been an amazing defensive team, and I understand, heaven forbid, they were missing a key cog in defence, but it appeared to shake them a bit that we could score so easily on them. We kept landing blows and our mids fed off of the belief that if they kept coming we could keep scoring.

Hate to bring it up, but that’s precisely what didn’t happen in the granny. It was a good contest but when they put the edge on us I think we knew we couldn’t earn enough points and really dropped our heads and got ran all over.

Let the record state that the last 3 times we’ve played them with both Bruce and Naughton forward and English as the number 1 ruck we’ve boinked them.

So old mate Melbourne fan coming and bragging about a rare injury after their historic run last year with injuries is good comedy for us dogs fans. Feel free to put an asterisk on your own flag mate.

Good win from you guys but the reality is we were coming off 2 days less break in taxing conditions, Lever was a late out and on top of that Ben Brown the form key forward of the competition right now was missing.

Using your logic, you could also say that the only reason you won the flog, oops, flag last year was because your team had a miraculous season of no injuries as well as not having to play finals across the width & breadth of Australia while the 'Doggies had a 10 goal game forward missing from the GF and had travelled from QLD to WA and all those places in between - so basically we were stuffed by the time we got to the last game of the year.

Unbelievable that we’re still dealing with this rubbish. Must say, for a club that has traditionally been weak as piss, they’ve got some arrogance off the back of five minutes of success. Seem to be a club of fair weather supporters in the truest sense.

Lot of new gear being worn by the few that were there.

One tactic I thought Bevo got right was exiting our backline via Williams on the wing v Langdon. Langdon is a gun but one on one defending isn’t his strength. Williams outmarked him quite a few times
Bevo also fixed up the Melbourne hole they kept running into in the centre stoppages with a sweeper- it was a obvious fix but kudos nontheless.

Ed Richards has had a outstanding year
He’s our best actual defender by an absolute mile

Autopsy Dogs defeat Dees 110-100 - Redemption