Review Dogs down Blues 79-59

Yeah spot on, there was people screaming about their run on in the 3rd when they kicked 2 goals in the qtr and had 3 for the match…. Opposition teams are going to beat us for periods of time during a game, and are going to score heavily - that ‘run on’ was after we kicked 4 quick ones in a row too, we do it too that’s how footy works. That was just a period of time where they outplayed us and finished off well, we made a few mistakes in defence but like you said we had our own shots too and had plenty of opportunity to score.

A ‘run on’ is the tigers game, where they kick 7 goals in 10 minutes and completely flip the game.
A more recent example was the Freo EF last year. Losing from 41 points up close to half time should simply not be allowed to happen. Freo weren’t even that good a side.

It’s about being able to keep the foot on the throat and stop momentum swings.

Better signs this year (after Rd2).

Not just his own goal - it's crazy what AJ was involved in that last 6-7 minutes. Man was everywhere!
Yes that’s probably the most impressive thing about him is the way he runs hard all the time. I don’t want to sound like I am picking on West nut compare the hard running Artie does to what aWest was doing when he played in that role. West is great one on one or in the contest but he doesn’t run like Artie when the ball isn’t in their vicinity

For mine Lobb absolutely franked the reason for his recruitment. 2 Goals and more importantly the competent ruck minutes that allowed Timmy to not be gassed in the last quarter.
Timmy stood up in the last 7 minutes and jumped over Pittonet to serve it up on a platter to take the game away from the Blues. He was massive when we desperately needed a kick start when we looked like being over 🏃‍♂️

The theme of the week being Carlton continued in the commentary boxes last night.

We heard all week about their ability to f*** up golden opportunities for two decades now, gifts in the form of very high draft picks that are handed to them over and over and over and how the manage to mangle a team with Cripps, McKay and Curnow in it.

Anyway, I genuinely had to out the glasses close to half time last night just to check we were out there. At one point it was 28-10 and all I heard was how well Carlton were doing without capitalising, how many Inside 50s they had and just generally what an amazing all conquering football side they are... 😂

Anyway...long may Carlton and its 'powerbrokers' (funny how they never think their agitating is part of the problem) isn't it?

Probably gonna score some 👎, but that was a rubbish performance.

Our trend of poor games is getting worst over the last few weeks. Luckily for us, we played an even worst performing team.

We play a Melb, or Pies or Cats right now and we’re losing by plenty.

Bank the win and hope to an atheist god we start improving.
LOL right on time CB

Lots of talk about adjustments being made mid game in this thread....

I thought we didn't have a plan B?

How's that Bevo poll looking now?

Up the ******* doggies 😁
Are you seriously going there? He nearly cost us the game by playing a backman in the forward line on debut then leaving Keith on Curnow late in the game. Wake up

Arty has been coming along fantastically under Spanghers coaching
I think it’s time to make Spangher head coach. I know he’s never done that before but he knew F*k all about forward coaching and has done a brilliant job so I reckon he’d have no worries with the slight change of role.

For mine Lobb absolutely franked the reason for his recruitment. 2 Goals and more importantly the competent ruck minutes that allowed Timmy to not be gassed in the last quarter.
Timmy stood up in the last 7 minutes and jumped over Pittonet to serve it up on a platter to take the game away from the Blues. He was massive when we desperately needed a kick start when we looked like being over 🏃‍♂️
This, plus he has got his kicking boots back on. After JJ he is the most certain set shot we have.

How hilariously pathetic was that commentary last night?

All olden day commentators pining for the days of the VFL, hoping this disaster club deserves so much success because they are a big club and were successful 30 years ago in the Triassic period.

Sorry to correct you I think it was the JackElliosic period

I can be as cynical as the next person, but if you're 6-3 and still playing in second gear, you're going OK. Plenty to do, but much rather be 6-3 than 3-6 and season over.
Agreed. We’re beating who we should without doing it remarkably. We’ve lost to 3 teams who are all in the top 5 at the moment.

You just need to bank the wins at this point of the season. Your best footy needs to be coming out in the back half of the season, not now.

Arty has been coming along fantastically under Spanghers coaching
Seems more like our forwards are firing in spite of the forward coaching.

I’ll reserve my judgment for the end of the year but there’s a lot of times when our forwards are playing from behind. Then all of a sudden when the game becomes manic and it’s down to the players talents they are everywhere.

To go from conceding that the 4 tall fwd thing was a mistake in the GWS post match presser, to then selecting JOD who had been playing footy for a month (as a defender), who then had no influence on the game and had to be subbed out because we were quite predictably getting carved up when Carlton were exiting our fwd line - Not the masterstroke Bevo was hoping it would be. Really hard to justify, not even in hindsight, just generally.

I think what it shows is that in Treloar's absence the move is to probably bring McNeil in to the side and find a different sub. McNeil/AJ/Cody provides the pressure we need to make up for what we don't get from Marra and Lobb up there.

Seems more like our forwards are firing in spite of the forward coaching.

I’ll reserve my judgment for the end of the year but there’s a lot of times when our forwards are playing from behind. Then all of a sudden when the game becomes manic and it’s down to the players talents they are everywhere.
I really would not have an f..ing clue TBF and I really don’t think any of us do

Review Dogs down Blues 79-59