News Done Deal - Savage +1st round pick for McEvoy - welcome to the Big Boy

Whether people think we paid slightly over or slightly under for McEvoy, he at least addresses our no.1 priority which was to find a replacement for Bailey, so I'm happy with that.

Initially i though overs, but i genuinely hope savver goes well at the saints. Imagine him and montagne, very fast, very hard mids, gonna take a bit of coralling next year

Right on, young underground worker.
I don't understand the excitement about ruckmen: what you need is a ruckman who can compete and fight for the ball; he doesn't have to dominate.

We won the 2008 & 2013 flags with ruckmen who were great competitors, but would probably be regarded as fairly ordinary ruckmen. Robbie Campbell & Big Max would barely be in the top 10 ruckmen of their time.
Freo had Aaron Sandilands dominating the hit outs but losing the clearances.

All I can say is I hope McEvoy likes a contest.

That's the thing I am hoping for. If he competes at ground level the way Maxy did I will be happy. It was always a pleasure to see Max throw himself into a tackle or at a ground ball.

Wow, why would the Saints trade their number 1 ruck who is 24 years old????

Poor Shane. Gone to death valley for former Hawk players. Michael Moncrieff used to kick goals till he went to St Kilda. Glenn Nugent used to be a speedster with the Hawks and went onto to just being a notch about slow. Dean Anderson was a future Hawks Captain. Kicked goals in the 1989 Grand Final and shuffled off to footy oblivion by joining the Saints. Poor Shane feel so sorry for the young man, deserved better.

Must admit we have got some good ones from the Saints. Russell Greene & Stuart Trott are 2 in particular that went from being at the party club to the club that gave them Grand Final victories.

Let's not forget them taking Russell Morris off our hands either!

Just wanna say that big bob campbell may not have been a grade, but he reached a grade heights in 2008. Quite under rated

An bailey might possibly have been, if his knees didnt give out

Well, didn't see that coming!!
Welcome to the greatest team on earth Ben.

All the best to Shane, hopefully he'll get what he is after at the Saints and that is more gametime.

Surely Lowden and Grimley are now being shopped around if we go for Longer.

Ceglar out with possibly Grimley/Longer as our number 4/5 rucks. Depth much?

Great pick up. More to come as far the details of other picks/players involved which will hopefully see us benefit more. Anyone who thinks ruckmen are overrated, watch Natanui rip us apart at Etihad this year and almost win the game for West Coast. If we have a bloke who can at least negate his type of player and take a few grabs at contests, it clearly changes and impacts the course of a game. Welcome Big Ben.

I'm disgusted.. We give up a 22yr old running machine who kicks goals just as our mids are getting old and we give up our pick 17 for a slow, lumbering ruckman who literally can not jump and clunks a few marks, maxys centre ruck work creams mcevoys. Big Ben is a decent ruck, overall it's an upgrade but he hasn't improved from 2012 as he should, none the less I'll keep faith in our recruiting and welcome the big boy.

Please now HFC, can we get a good young mid? I don't care how we do it but make it happen!! Docherty,Adams,Shiel,Shuey whoever... Plzzzz

How much of that could be the culture at the Saints at the moment. There have been murmurs of discontent for a while...

Would have thought 2009/10 proved just how important rucks are, Miner.

What about 2008 and 2013, and the 80s and 90s? ;)

The only thing I need from a ruckman is to be able to provide a contest that means Rough doesn't have to get in there too often. I'm yet to recall a game EVER where Sandilands has made any significant impact against us. At least in any meaningful way on the result.

Good for our structure...Hale only has to ruck 1/3 of the time but to be honest he has proven to be no more than serviceable so far in his career and perhaps that's all we need. (We don't have a history of great rucks at Hawthorn. The last quality ruckman we developed was Greg Dear.) Disappointed Savage is leaving. I rate him highly. Saints are getting a good player in return plus a high draft pick. I think they did OK.

What about 2008 and 2013, and the 80s and 90s? ;)

The only thing I need from a ruckman is to be able to provide a contest that means Rough doesn't have to get in there too often. I'm yet to recall a game EVER where Sandilands has made any significant impact against us. At least in any meaningful way on the result.

Mcevoy did impact us in the drawn game 2010. Kickd a goal to seal it, which meant our final v freo was away rather than home

I tend to think ruckman are the most over rated commodity in football. He might do a great job for us but the pick or the player should have been enough for McEvoy, not both.
I remember Clarko being of the same opinion back in '08

Excellent pick up. Pick 17 and Savage. So in real valuation it is a 1st and 2nd Rounder for McEvoy.

Already a No. 1 Ruckman and is a serious upgrade in this area of weakness.

Does this mean Longer is no longer an option or is he coming via the Buddy compensation. If so, we have no Round 1 picks and our 1st choice is something close to 40.

Well we'll get a compensation pick for Buddy. So we'll gain a pick somewhere in the first round

Nothing against him, but that doesn't say much. There's only 18 No.1 ruckmen in the league.

Well Cox and Nic Nat take up two, Mumford and Pyke would probably be up there as well, whilst Hale and Bailey wouldn't have been in the top 10. It's an upgrade for us and we've lost a late first round pick and a guy that wanted to go and was borderline in our team. I reckon it's a good trade. Considering we are likely to have pick 20 anyway, it's not like we've dropped a long way in the draft.

We'll probably package 20 off to Brissie for Longer with some swap of other picks. Obviously we don't rate the draft that highly, it is apparently a weak draft, so why not get instand replacements in??

I tend to think ruckman are the most over rated commodity in football. He might do a great job for us but the pick or the player should have been enough for McEvoy, not both.

Pretty sure Max and Hale's job on sandi in the GF was paramount to us winning this years flag.
I used to have the same thoughts but our 2 rucks in this years finals was huge.

Well Cox and Nic Nat take up two, Mumford and Pyke would probably be up there as well, whilst Hale and Bailey wouldn't have been in the top 10. It's an upgrade for us and we've lost a late first round pick and a guy that wanted to go and was borderline in our team. I reckon it's a good trade. Considering we are likely to have pick 20 anyway, it's not like we've dropped a long way in the draft.

We'll probably package 20 off to Brissie for Longer with some swap of other picks. Obviously we don't rate the draft that highly, it is apparently a weak draft, so why not get instand replacements in??

Yarran ;)

News Done Deal - Savage +1st round pick for McEvoy - welcome to the Big Boy