Universal Love Down Memory Lane

I had a look at this in the wee, wee hours of the morning. I remember this game well. We hadn’t beaten them in so long which made the win sweeter.

Peter Landy mentioned the thrashing we’d cop at Windy Hill earlier in the year. A mate of mine took me into their member’s area and I was well behaved until Terry Daniher laid out a Carlton player. I think it was Rod Ashman but it could have been David Glascott. I was annoyed as the Carlton player was put on the canvass stretcher. I was ready to start World War III at the less than savoury comments from the idiots sitting around me. I gave as good as I got which earned me a ‘lifetime suspension’ from sitting in the member’s with my mate. No matter the odds you’ve got to stick up for the team and players.

The other joy I got from this were the ad breaks. Cars, beer etc. Absolute crackers.
Yeah, was fun day from memory. Won by over 100 points in the under 17's and then fun trip on train and tram to Carlton to watch us finish off Essendon after they had a bit of a strange jinx on us for a few years. I think I was at the game earlier in the year at Windy Hill where saw the whole game. Think we lost by 109 points. Similar to the day I went to Arden Street and we lost by 111 points. Weird games as we were a classy team just having really off two hours on those days.

See this 1985 game just showing up on youtube.
Will bookmark where it is for me to watch during the week.
I remember I missed the start of this game as crazily finished playing under 17's in morning I think against Monbulk up in hills and somehow getting to Belgrave station afterwards to try to get to Carlton to watch as much of the game as could.
Certainly remember listening to most of first quarter on the train so might be my first time to look at it with footage someone kept and uploaded today.

I was there at Princes Park that day and is one of those games that you cannot forget.

It was great to end that 10 game winning streak Ess had against us. Harmes played a great game.

Essendon then won 12 games in a row and their next loss was against the blues again on Anzac Day the following season at Waverley. Funny that this happened after Essendon had the wood on us previously for so long.

Forgot how big Silvagni's thigh's were.

Remember watching that back in Melbourne and, embarrassingly now, thinking that Silvagni should've taken the shot on goal. How times have changed.
Thanks for that ... good memories.

Being a WA supporter I don't see many games live but was lucky enough to be at Subiaco for this.

Went with a couple of WC supporters and was heckled good naturedly by some of the surrounding WC supporters who were not reluctant to state at the start of the game that Carlton were " too old, too slow"... and that of course allowed me to respond in the closing seconds with the oldie but goodie.." too old, too slow, too good"....happy days.

I was there at Princes Park that day and is one of those games that you cannot forget.

It was great to end that 10 game winning streak Ess had against us. Harmes played a great game.

Essendon then won 12 games in a row and their next loss was against the blues again on Anzac Day the following season at Waverley. Funny that this happened after Essendon had the wood on us previously for so long.

I reckon I was at both. Was a real build at to the Essendon one at Princes Park. The Anzac Day match I recall Tommy Alvin having a good game. There was a strong wind that day and I think we kicked into it in the last quarter but held on. Long time ago so that could be nowhere near what happened!

Yep, down by about a goal at 3/4 time and kicking against the wind in the last. I remember feeling confident of winning after Alvin kicked a goal on the run late in the last quarter at the small scoreboard end.

Sellers, who hadn’t had a kick all day, kicked the sealer with a delightful side step, then a glorious drop punt that sailed, into the wind, over my stunned melon.

Utterly lost my marbles....again.😎

Anyone here remember this? I was 1 lol

Yes, remember this. Would have been on the news that night. Lou did that often where he would make a big statement and have some consequence if he got it wrong. He was a character, Louie The Lip. I miss his style of commentator on the footy.

Anyone here remember this? I was 1 lol

I remember this and remember him doing similar things on a number of occasions. I remember him also piggybackying Mick Nolan. This video contains footage of a number of those things. He was a legend, Louie.

Sellers, who hadn’t had a kick all day, kicked the sealer with a delightful side step, then a glorious drop punt that sailed, into the wind, over my stunned melon.

Utterly lost my marbles....again.😎

Here it is....9 minute mark.

Mots benefitted from a red hot tackle too.😎

1972 Menzies bentley v foots Capture.jpg IMG_20210531_215415.jpg

Former prime minister Robert Menzies watching a game vs Footscray at Princes Park in the final H&A round in 1972 from a Bentley. Probably had valet service for his beer and pie!
That round was almost as dramatic as 1987 (sticks goal) and this year's final round.
Blues hung on to top spot by half a game by beating Footscray by 3 points. Hawthorn in the top 5 for almost the entire season but miss finals by losing a crucial game to the saints at Glenferrie. Essendon beat Collingwood by 5 points to make 5th spot.

^^^^^^^

Goold30NovWeb.jpg

goold2.jpg

goold3.jpg

Universal Love Down Memory Lane