tigers1au said:
Deledio - Chris Mainwaring, only taller
Roughead - Nietz, but not as quick over the first 5-10
Griffen - Buckley, without the fig jam
Tambling - Peter Matera, only smaller
Franklin - Ottens, he's nothing like Tarrent

Haven't seen the rest
franklin like ottens?
that goes down as the worst comparison i've heard.
No one's saying he's gonna be as good as tarrant but if he plays like anyone, that's who he plays like.

tigers1au said:
All the scouts, just out of interest how many scouts told you this. I think you've been listening to pre draft hype, where player abilities tend to be blown out of proportion. Just for the record I've seen Franklin play a couple of times both in person and on tv, and it was pretty obvious that he's a different player to Tarrant.

All the scouts and coaches they interviewed during the teal cup carnival on fox footy. They even asked franklin himself in a interview about the comparrisions to tarrant. I think i'll take there view as there all most likely seen him play live more times than you.

deck said:
All the scouts and coaches they interviewed during the teal cup carnival on fox footy. They even asked franklin himself in a interview about the comparrisions to tarrant. I think i'll take there view as there all most likely seen him play live more times than you.

Yeah I remember the interview, some reporter(not a scout) asked him about being compared to Tarrant and he said, 'no I'm nothing like Tarrent.' Fact is even comparing him to Ottens is being overly generous, he's more like a poor man's Troy Simmonds. The only other person I remember saying he was like Tarrant was Kevin Sheehan, who's job is to basically pump up interest in the draft as much as possible, and every prospective player according to him is a superstar. The only reason they compare him to Tarrant and Goodes is because they're Aborginal and play key position.

tigers1au said:
Yeah I remember the interview, some reporter(not a scout) asked him about being compared to Tarrant and he said, 'no I'm nothing like Tarrent.' Fact is even comparing him to Ottens is being overly generous, he's more like a poor man's Troy Simmonds. The only other person I remember saying he was like Tarrant was Kevin Sheehan, who's job is to basically pump up interest in the draft as much as possible, and every prospective player according to him is a superstar. The only reason they compare him to Tarrant and Goodes is because they're Aborginal and play key position.

hmm. i could be wrong but i dont think tarrant is an aboriginal, lets get one thing straight here buddy, the bloke is 196cm athletic and has great skills, now thats alot to work with,
he sounds a bit like Richo but with skills, now i think thats a fair comparison.

tigers1au said:
You are a complete moron! Firstly, a poor man's Troy Simmonds!! A poor man's Troy Simmonds would not be drafted and certainly wouldn't get a game. For any club. Can't even think of a comparison for Simmonds but he's definately a poor man's someone himself. "The only other person to say he was like Tarrant was Kevin Sheahan", well I think he knows a bit more about the draftees than you. No-one in Australia would know more about them than him and he was glowing in his praise for Franklin. As for Sheahan just pumping up all the players and the draft itself, what do you even say to that? If you truly believe that you are in more trouble than I thought.

tigers1au said:

There were at least 3 people who likened franklin to tarrant when asked and none of them were kevin sheahan. And franklin was shocked when asked about the comparrisions to tarrant and down played it by saying he didn't think he was as good as tarrant and hoped he could be half the player tarrant is. The only person pumping up players is you as you seem to like to compare the tigers draftys to some champion players but want to down play the hawks draft picks. The compariosions are on there style of play not how good they are as players.

deck said:
There were at least 3 people who likened franklin to tarrant when asked and none of them were kevin sheahan. And franklin was shocked when asked about the comparrisions to tarrant and down played it by saying he didn't think he was as good as tarrant and hoped he could be half the player tarrant is. The only person pumping up players is you as you seem to like to compare the tigers draftys to some champion players but want to down play the hawks draft picks. The compariosions are on there style of play not how good they are as players.

A voice of reason an unlikely source (as its from a Collingwood mouth) ;) just playing with ya mate

OneEyedHawk said:
You are a complete moron! Firstly, a poor man's Troy Simmonds!! A poor man's Troy Simmonds would not be drafted and certainly wouldn't get a game. For any club. Can't even think of a comparison for Simmonds but he's definately a poor man's someone himself. "The only other person to say he was like Tarrant was Kevin Sheahan", well I think he knows a bit more about the draftees than you. No-one in Australia would know more about them than him and he was glowing in his praise for Franklin. As for Sheahan just pumping up all the players and the draft itself, what do you even say to that? If you truly believe that you are in more trouble than I thought.

Oh dear, I seem to have touched on a sensitive issue here, how dare I suggest that Franklin will be anything less than a superstar. 'Poor man's Troy Simmonds' might be a tad harsh, but considering Franklin's propensity for mental lapses I'm reluctant to concede even that.
As for Kevin Sheehan, he is glowing in his praise for every potential draftee, you only have to listen to him for five seconds to realise that. I hope I'm not in too much twouble for saying that.

It's gone from all the scouts to 3 people. We're both paraphrasing Franklin's comments but we both agree he didn't he didn't agree with the comparison. The rest is just drivel.

ratflmao .............. poor mans troy simmonds.......... put it this way im very happy with picking up franklin at 5 in the draft when he was projected to go 1 for the majority of the year. 88kg, 196cm and still growing, penetrating left foot, could play anywhere from wing 2 chf/chb and maybe ruck.
just hope u r just as happy with losing brad ottens(24 yr old great tap ruckman & key position contested marking forward (probably top 5 ruck in league) 4 troy simmonds on a 5 year contract.

just ask essendon and hawthorn about back ended 5 year contracts :rolleyes:

just be4 u get in2 me about ottens being in top 5 ruckman in the league
here is my list

1.gardiner..........fit the best ruckman in the game
2.evreritt...........stellar year last year........criminal he wasnt all australian
3.white.............great tap ruckman who gather plenty across half back
4.ottens............was a shining light 4 richmond IMO last year
5.darcy.............great around the ground ruckman, ruck rover. clearances etc
6.king...............shadow of his former self, watch out if he gets fit again
7.clarke/biglands..adelaide not one of the best at clearances 4 nothing
8.charman..........up and comer who never takes eyes of ball
9.fraser..............average year last year but maybe move forwrad with richards development last year.
10.sandilands.......learning every day
11.lade/brogan......great tag team of ruckman
saints........no
essendon...no way in hell.......huge fan of laycock though
nth...........no
carl ..........french is just an average ruckman who will shoulder much of load
syd...........goodes would be in top 10 but coach says he will never ruck again

honourable mentions
primus............question mark over his knees, but great leader and ruckman
cox................unlucky 2 miss maybe

IMO there are similarities between tarrant and franklin. they are similar types on the footy field but they also resemble each other off the field. to be honest, i dont think anybody would be comparing franklin and tarrant if tarrant looked like cameron ling. goodes is a much better comparision both ability wise and likely position he will endup.

theorangeapple said:
goodes is a much better comparision both ability wise and likely position he will endup.
Yep he's more like Goodes because of his athletic ability. He has KP height although he might be better suited to a flank early on.

YES, deledio looks to be the most spectacular type player of this years bunch.
I think that alot of the time when people do this, take the more spectacular type players as this would birng excitement to the club and supporters never the less they often turn out to not be as good as the safe picks.
In 2001 Hodge looked to be the pick of the bunch with skill and pace etc although Ball who was picked just after became the better player as he is safe an talented.

In conclusion my instinct probes me to believe that 2004 draft will be some how similar to a number of previous years.

IMO, Griffen shoukd have been pick no.1 because when you have a no.1 pick that is just so valuable i would go with the safest option. Who you know is going to be a tremendous attribute to your club.

Well done to the Bulldogs recruiting mangers.

LukeHodge15 said:
just hope u r just as happy with losing brad ottens(24 yr old great tap ruckman & key position contested marking forward (probably top 5 ruck in league) 4 troy simmonds on a 5 year contract.

just ask essendon and hawthorn about back ended 5 year contracts :rolleyes:

Well you can't really compare it like that
We lost Ottens & Fiora for Simmonds, Meyer & Pattison

Simmonds contract isn't back ended anyway, its just 5 years. Yes long term contract can backfire, but he took a reduced salary to get the extended contract. It'd end up costing us the same over 4 years as it would have 5.

LukeHodge15 said:
8.charman..........up and comer who never takes eyes of ball
9.fraser..............average year last year but maybe move forwrad with richards development last year.
10.sandilands.......learning every day
11.lade/brogan......great tag team of ruckman

honourable mentions
cox ................unlucky 2 miss maybe

unlucky to miss? i think you have severly under-rated him with this rundown of your top ruckman, i mean, fraser? hasnt proven anything as a ruckamn, sandilands? sure, he can get his hand on the ball, but what does he do with it? i think cox should be before clarke/biglands, other than that, i agree with your list.

I have only seen Griffen play once, for South Adelaide. Personally, he reminded me quite a bit of Simon Goodwin in style. Except that Griffen appeared duel sided with his kicking which Goodwin isn't. As others have said this isn't a comparison of ability, just style of game.

Lance Franklin is similiar to Tarrant in looks, but as far as talent goes... Tarrant is miles ahead. Franklin is a very overrated player. The only reason he went so early was because he was the only real full forward in the draft. Any other draft and he would of went around 30 if lucky..

F-U said:
Lance Franklin is similiar to Tarrant in looks, but as far as talent goes... Tarrant is miles ahead. Franklin is a very overrated player. The only reason he went so early was because he was the only real full forward in the draft. Any other draft and he would of went around 30 if lucky..

Wrong... "Possibly the most NATURALLY all-round gifted package in the past 3 years." - Colin Wisbey... Bet you feel like a DW now. Id take Colins expert opinion over yours any day of the week.

F-U said:
Have you even been reading what has been said? No-one is saying that he is similar to Tarrant in talent. We are talking about playing style.
Pick 30 if he's lucky you reckon? Tell that Kevin Sheahan who said in his opinion will be the best player from this years draft. Or to Colin Wisbey (see above post).Was touted as the #1 pick for a good percentage of the year, but if you reckon he's sh**, well he must be!

franklin is far from a sure thing, wiseby said that and clubs no that. but he was the best available at 5.

lance has some parts of his game which be sorely exposed at AFL. admitedly he has some aspects that will be outstanding at afl. its his ability at improving on those deficiencies that will determine how good he is.

draft top 10 - who do they remind you of