DREAM TEAM/SUPERCOACH - Post ALL queries regarding Dream Team/Supercoach here

I wouldn't pick him for DT

Porps has always been a great SC option when fit. Due to his high eff %

Never got enough of the pill for DT

Could he get more midfield time with the probable arrival of callinan though? Hence lifting his numbers?

I'd say no. He made a shift from forward in 2009 to a more midfield role in 2010, yet his scores stayed the same (I think he increased his sc average by 1 point, not sure for DT though). I can't see props playing anymore % of TOG in the midfield than he did last year, but irrespective, I doubt he will give you much value if he does.

I think Porps could get to a pretty high average in both comps if everything was to go right. If you take a look at his 2008 season where he had a full pre season he started on fire and it was only his last 5 (where his shoulder was really causing him a lot of issues) where his scoring dropped a lot and damaged his final average. If you take away those last 5 matches he averaged around 90 DT and a bit over 95 SC. The following season he also averaged 87 SC so I think he holds a fair bit more value in SC then DT but could still be a valid DT pick if all goes right.

I'd say no. He made a shift from forward in 2009 to a more midfield role in 2010, yet his scores stayed the same (I think he increased his sc average by 1 point, not sure for DT though). I can't see props playing anymore % of TOG in the midfield than he did last year, but irrespective, I doubt he will give you much value if he does.

But you've got to remember Porps had a shit year last year, the only reason he was in the midfield and then half back was that we were hoping he might find some semblance of form. It was his 2nd year in a row with no preseason and it showed. This year should be a lot different.

We learnt as a club last year just how important preseasons were, sure we had pretty close to our best 22 on the park, but half of them had barely laced up a boot during the preseason, hence our performance. A good preseason is vital in this day and age of AFL football, hence why I wouldn't go anywhere near Bernie Vince with a 10' pole, nor Mackay. Until they can put a couple of good performances together, they're taboo. Porplyzia on the otherhand has had a good preseason and whilst he's not in my side at the moment, he's certainly on my list of potentials, especially with SC.

I see a lot of value in Adelaide players this year but the byes mean that you can't load up on players from any one club now. The Crows' byes in R2 & R16 (shared with Freo & Melb) also decrease the value of Adelaide players.

Otten, if fit, is a lock in defense. Monitor his ankle injury.

Assuming that Porps goes through the NAB games unscathed then he is a lock in my SC side. Depending upon time in the midfield he may find a spot in my DT as well.

Martin is one that I want to pick but ultimately won't. I believe he will go up in value but his price is high and he is a big risk for a 4 game player who has already had an ACL.

Dangerfield is another that I want to pick as he will becomes a fantasy football gun, it is just a matter of when. I'll give him another season.

Moran is tempting as a 4th ruck but it remains to be seen whether he can break into the side. NAB games will be vital.

Tippett burnt me so badly last year that it is hard not to hold a grudge. However, if he can just improve his accuracy in front of goal then he will go up 10ppg alone. I heard the interview on 5AA where he spoke of getting his body right to cope with a full season of AFL, especially his left leg. Again I will monitor his NAB games but atm he is my R2 in SC. His DP is valuable if playing Petrie in the forwards. The R16 bye with Freo may cause problems if you have Sandilands in ruck though.

Callinan has been spoken about already and has a spot in both DT & SC on the pine. His DP makes him very valuable.

Van Berlo will probably go up in value and is tempting but there are other safer options at his price point.

Scott Thompson would be a unique pick and was in the midfield of the guy who won DT last year. Very durable and slightly under-valued due to the Crows' 0-6 start to last year. He averaged 119.4 DT points in the last 10 games of 2010.

Johncock has had two great half seasons - the 1st half of 2009 and the 2nd half of 2010 - and from all reports is having a good pre-season. However, he struggled in games last year when given a forward tag, and without McLeod or Goodwin for opposition coaches to worry about, they may continue to place a defensive forward on Stiffy.

Ladies and gents,

Just wondering about your thoughts on Dangerfield's disposal this year. Last year he got more of the footy except his disposal by foot fell to 45.7% effectiveness. Do you think this will improve or is this an area he will always struggle with?

Thanks

He's got a good kcik when he's not out of control. A lot of his DE will depend on his ability to calm himself before he kicks. So it's something that should come with age, just not sure what age that will be.

I see a lot of value in Adelaide players this year but the byes mean that you can't load up on players from any one club now. The Crows' byes in R2 & R16 (shared with Freo & Melb) also decrease the value of Adelaide players.

Otten, if fit, is a lock in defense. Monitor his ankle injury.

Assuming that Porps goes through the NAB games unscathed then he is a lock in my SC side. Depending upon time in the midfield he may find a spot in my DT as well.

Martin is one that I want to pick but ultimately won't. I believe he will go up in value but his price is high and he is a big risk for a 4 game player who has already had an ACL.

Dangerfield is another that I want to pick as he will becomes a fantasy football gun, it is just a matter of when. I'll give him another season.

Moran is tempting as a 4th ruck but it remains to be seen whether he can break into the side. NAB games will be vital.

Tippett burnt me so badly last year that it is hard not to hold a grudge. However, if he can just improve his accuracy in front of goal then he will go up 10ppg alone. I heard the interview on 5AA where he spoke of getting his body right to cope with a full season of AFL, especially his left leg. Again I will monitor his NAB games but atm he is my R2 in SC. His DP is valuable if playing Petrie in the forwards. The R16 bye with Freo may cause problems if you have Sandilands in ruck though.

Callinan has been spoken about already and has a spot in both DT & SC on the pine. His DP makes him very valuable.

Van Berlo will probably go up in value and is tempting but there are other safer options at his price point.

Scott Thompson would be a unique pick and was in the midfield of the guy who won DT last year. Very durable and slightly under-valued due to the Crows' 0-6 start to last year. He averaged 119.4 DT points in the last 10 games of 2010.

Johncock has had two great half seasons - the 1st half of 2009 and the 2nd half of 2010 - and from all reports is having a good pre-season. However, he struggled in games last year when given a forward tag, and without McLeod or Goodwin for opposition coaches to worry about, they may continue to place a defensive forward on Stiffy.
thats what i thought but wall-e said that its hard to tag someone who can defend

hi out of tippet and dangerfield for sc who would you go? (if tippet would you play him ruck or as a fwd?)

and how many games u reckon andy otten will play and is he going to be good pick up in sc?

thanks

I only ever play DT so I'm not sure how much of a penalty Danger's low disposal efficiency would be, but I'd be going for Danger anyway. I reckon he's set to increase his disposal tally this year.

Otten should play most games, unless he has a re-occurrence of his injury. I reckon he'll be one of the bargains of the year.

hi out of tippet and dangerfield for sc who would you go? (if tippet would you play him ruck or as a fwd?)

and how many games u reckon andy otten will play and is he going to be good pick up in sc?

thanks

Personally I think they are both pretty decent options and are both in my side at this point in time. For mine Tippett is a great 2nd ruck option, I don't think there's many at his price with his scoring ability and team security.

Whilst Dangerfield has a low disposal efficiency, his disposals are generally pretty damaging when they hit their target and are the type that tend to score well in SC. Really ran out of puff towards the end of last year which would have dragged his average right down, however he has looked in great touch this preseason and seems to be finding a hell of a lot more of the footy than in the past and a lot more consistently.

How has Knights been traveling?

He's very cheap and I've rated him since he kicked 5 against us.

How has Knights been traveling?

He's very cheap and I've rated him since he kicked 5 against us.

He's been good. A couple minor injuries throughout preseson but nothing too concerning. Little bit of quad soreness so he didnt play last friday, but if it was a season game, i think he would have played. Look for him to play in our next nab/trial match.

He is underpriced, assuming he recaptures his 2009 form. But after a tough run with injuries last year, questions remain over his durability. If he finishes off the preseason off strong and gets a couple games under his belt, I'd say he would be worth the risk at that price.

Hey Guys,

I have Brodie Smith in my team at the moment starting on the field. Would it be risky putting him here or will he play Round 1? He's done some good things in the lead up matches but it seems every young player is playing in these so its hard to judge if they are in their teams best 22.

What are your thoughts?

Thanks

Chris Knights - where is he at?

g'day guys. just wondering about knights. currently looking at my supercoach.....and as a blues supporter was pretty keen on us to get him in the jacobs trade last year but unfortunately didn't come to fruition. thought he might be a bit of a bargain s/c but lookin at your other threads he didn't play friday night? cheers

Hi Crows fans,

What is the likelihood of Jack Gunston making it into the 22? He looked pretty good against Melbourne, with some very damaging possessions.