DT Rucks 2010

For those who are currently considering a Kruezer and Tippett ruck combo, would you classify them both keepers or would you need to upgrade one or both?

I personally hope both can average 80 so I am classifying them both as keepers for now, however I am uncertain if they can actually both average above 80 and stay in my team for the duration.

If your going with Tippett and Kruezer I think ideally you would want to upgrade one of them. The good thing about that combo though, is that if you start getting heaps of injuries elsewhere in the team, you can hold onto both of them till seasons end no problem.

If you're going to spend over 300k on each of Kreuzer and Tippett you'd want to be expecting to keep them all year. And you'd want to be expecting an average of about 170 between them.

Not generally a great idea to spend 300k on a player you don't plan on upgrading. Of course there are exceptions but not usually in the rucks. With that kind of money spent you want to lock and leave.

Sorry if this has already been brought up, or previously shot down, but what about Charman, most likely as an expensive bench player.

Is he right to go for round 1?

If your going with Tippett and Kruezer I think ideally you would want to upgrade one of them. The good thing about that combo though, is that if you start getting heaps of injuries elsewhere in the team, you can hold onto both of them till seasons end no problem.

Assuming that neither of them get injured/suspended :)

Sorry if this has already been brought up, or previously shot down, but what about Charman, most likely as an expensive bench player.

Is he right to go for round 1?

Is very fit and healthy, but not a lock in for games. Is fighting Bergs for the 2nd ruck spot. Will have to see NAB cup to see how he goes. He is great health with his first full pre season in many many years.

If you're going to spend over 300k on each of Kreuzer and Tippett you'd want to be expecting to keep them all year. And you'd want to be expecting an average of about 170 between them.

Not generally a great idea to spend 300k on a player you don't plan on upgrading. Of course there are exceptions but not usually in the rucks. With that kind of money spent you want to lock and leave.
I see them as guns this year, easily in the top 10 scorers and maybe in top 5..not planning on upgrading them at this stage, were first 2 players picked

I would take 1 or the other. I think Tippett is a better option, in my opinion he has always been slightly more advanced than kruezer. He is a little cheaper and if people set up their teams properly he can be subbed into forward line to cover injuries. Perfect sub would be Lobbe who is expected to get plenty of games. Tippett also has potential to kick a truck load of goals. This will be his breakout year for sure. Last year he played 22 games and averaged 72. Many people expect this guy to be the go to man for the crows all over the ground. He is the next Cox without doubt. Just to add a bit more, Warnock is expected to play in the ruck for the blues so kruezer may not as much on ball time as people think.

Second-tier/non-best 22 ruckmen (2009) who are likely to play SOME games in 2010

Might be a helpful thread for those looking for the bargain buy for a bench ruckman. The topic explains itself, I guess. I'm talking about draftees (Craig, Gawn, Vardy, etc), and also those who've been on the scene a while (Currie, Lobbe, etc). Who, of these types, are the most likely to play?

Will give some Magpies updates - McNamara is a work in progress, ditto Keefe though if injuries strike, don't rule out completely, has shown enough but could spend time as a KP backman.

A big one - Luke Lowden - a real chance for the Hawkers post-Campbell?

Re: Second-tier/non-best 22 ruckmen (2009) who are likely to play SOME games in 2010

Might be a helpful thread for those looking for the bargain buy for a bench ruckman. The topic explains itself, I guess. I'm talking about draftees (Craig, Gawn, Vardy, etc), and also those who've been on the scene a while (Currie, Lobbe, etc). Who, of these types, are the most likely to play?

Will give some Magpies updates - McNamara is a work in progress, ditto Keefe though if injuries strike, don't rule out completely, has shown enough but could spend time as a KP backman.

A big one - Luke Lowden - a real chance for the Hawkers post-Campbell?

Mate, I've merged your thread with the already existing rucks discussion thread to ave the board clogging up.

That said, to save you scrolling through pages of this thread the best options pre Nab Cup appear to be

1) Lobbe - Touted by Williams as the getting the first chance to be back up ruckman behind Brogan

2) Warnock - Will ruck at the Blues if fit, watch Nab Cup

3) Trengove - Potential key position defending post at Port

4) Skipper - Chance for games at the Hawks given his developed body and their limited ruck stops

5) Roughead - 3rd ruck at the Dogs behind Minson / Cordy and Eade has said he will play at times this year. Minno still struggling with a bad toe and Hudson will be managed at times this year.

They're probably the most popular 5 at this stage for bench coverage

Cheers

Re: Second-tier/non-best 22 ruckmen (2009) who are likely to play SOME games in 2010

thanks mate, apologies for starting the new one, pretty slack of me not to check. appreciate the answers, too, a very helpful post. thanks again. :)

just re skipper - i hope he plays, as that's $$$ right there.

Just jiggled mine around a bit and have Sandilands/Hille/Lobbe/Skipper....might change Skipper for Warnock depending on NAB action/

My latest combo after about 50 is Cox and Sandilands backed up by Warnock and Lobbe.

My current thinking is that Cox and Sandilands will always get good scores and why not put your premiums in the rucks as they are never tagged to any real degree and are unlikely to put in any shockers.

With those two you will always beat your league opponent in the rucks which is a good start to winning the game.

Probably no good if you want to win the whole thing but I have no chance of that.

Warnock and Lobbe appear certain to paly games but are not expensive.

I was having so much troulbe with my back line I thought stuff it, just play guys who will play 22 in there and look for the cash cows and the bargains in the middle and up forward and use the extra money for the ruck dream team. Especially given the defence cost me so many injures and therefore trades and eventually donuts last year.

My latest combo after about 50 is Cox and Sandilands backed up by Warnock and Lobbe.

My current thinking is that Cox and Sandilands will always get good scores and why not put your premiums in the rucks as they are never tagged to any real degree and are unlikely to put in any shockers.

With those two you will always beat your league opponent in the rucks which is a good start to winning the game.

Probably no good if you want to win the whole thing but I have no chance of that.

Warnock and Lobbe appear certain to paly games but are not expensive.

I was having so much troulbe with my back line I thought stuff it, just play guys who will play 22 in there and look for the cash cows and the bargains in the middle and up forward and use the extra money for the ruck dream team. Especially given the defence cost me so many injures and therefore trades and eventually donuts last year.

Cox worries me for the coin outlayed. Still the only ruck certain to average a ton but you're paying for the priviledge. Will be 29 this year, has missed plenty of games through injury over the last few years and has NN to take away TOG.

He'll still be the highest averaging ruck but if he misses 4-6 games the drop to points scored by your sub is huge unless you have a DP link to bring in.

Haven't given up on him but the coin may be better invested elsewhere.

Im going with Sandi and Jolly. Hard to go past Warnock on the bench if he plays. Jesse White is also tempting but his price is a bit awkward. He looks like a serious gun though.

To many question marks over big Coxy. Although every time someone doubts him he pulls out the big scores. Even when he is injured he manages 100's.

Thinking of Ottens, with West as one of the back-ups

Thinking that if ottens pulls up lame - at least West "should" get a gig

I don't know much about Geelong's ruck stocks

When Ottens pulls up lame, he's generally out for an extended period.
You could probably just make a straight swap to Hille if he goes down in the early rounds.

btw: West currently has an ankle injury and there are better options for your ruck bench

Considering going with this atm:

Picture4.png

I suspect Coxy either had OP or its 2nd cousin, which makes me think that this will be a recovery year that seems to follow someone having OP. As a WCE supporter I don't think his price will be worth it when you can get someone cheaper that might not quite score as much (even if Coxy plays all the games), but cost significantly less and be able to spend the $ elsewhere.

When Ottens pulls up lame, he's generally out for an extended period.
You could probably just make a straight swap to Hille if he goes down in the early rounds.

btw: West currently has an ankle injury and there are better options for your ruck bench

didn't know about the ankle - thanks!!

however west was my 4th ruck - trying a new stratey of that ruckman being from the same team as one of my top 2 ruckmen.

the idea came to me last year

I suspect Coxy either had OP or its 2nd cousin, which makes me think that this will be a recovery year that seems to follow someone having OP. As a WCE supporter I don't think his price will be worth it when you can get someone cheaper that might not quite score as much (even if Coxy plays all the games), but cost significantly less and be able to spend the $ elsewhere.

agree with this - my normal strategy is to choose 2 locks in the ruck - and not bother with changing them unless absolutely necessary - so was looking at a sandi/jolly type combo

however - this year - i reckon cox may come good a month or two in - hence i am considering ottens or hille who will hopefully improve by rd 6-7 - and then trade up to cox

anuway - the nab will decide