Dustin Martin Available, are we interested?

Would you like the Eagles to chase Martin, hard?

No I don't. But there is a lot of smoke around...and where these is smoke...

I think if Richmond can get a good deal for him they will quietly sigh a big relief when it is all done as it sounds like he consumed a lot of resources to keep him on the straight.

I agree that where there is smoke there is fire, but there were many clubs which smelt smoke about Jack Darling as well. This is a risk industry, when a player like him comes up you simply have to make a play for him. The reality is he may have no interest in coming to Perth?? But we are one club that needs his ability, one club that can afford him and one club that can trade for him.
We can tick any box put up. No brainer to me but like you said it seems football first is not really a priority at West Coast anymore, or for that matter most clubs.

Do not want a guy who isn't loyal to a footy club that supports him and has off field dramas. Even if he's that good. Would be happier if we got Yeo and/or Conca and kept our first draft pick.

Well maybe he thinks Richmond are offering him less than he feels he is worth.

Maybe Pants, but at the same time if the guy is part of a team that's rising towards being competitive for regular finals action in the near future he should be loyal, even if its the difference between $50K a year.

What happens if that support isn't enough and a move interstate is required?
Fair enough, but Richmond's amount of support to him is a big unknown. If we are to get this club back on track considering not having a coach and reasonably high list turnover we should look at other options for rebuild than trying to get a troubled star from a Victorian Club to come to Perth and play for us. I think GWS is a much better option for someone like Martin who seems mercenary in his contract needs.

Maybe Pants, but at the same time if the guy is part of a team that's rising towards being competitive for regular finals action in the near future he should be loyal, even if its the difference between $50K a year.

Maybe the difference is 150k.

If he's not happy at the Tigers then he's not happy. Nobody should be guilted into remaining somewhere they don't want to be because of some antiquated notion of loyalty.

Fair enough, but Richmond's amount of support to him is a big unknown.

Lived with the President and his family for a while, lived with the captain as well. Richmond gave him a lot of support, and by the sounds of it, they don't think he's worth the hassle of keeping around.

If he's not happy at the Tigers then he's not happy. Nobody should be guilted into remaining somewhere they don't want to be because of some antiquated notion of loyalty.
Maybe i'm old-fashioned. Loyalty and guilt are different things mate. I think maybe we should be talking about greed here.

Geez people if you picked up that exact player for pick #6 you would be laughing!

1. GWS
2. Melbourne
3. StKilda
4. Western Bulldogs
5. Gold Coast
6. West Coast

The teams we would be competing against for picks to offer Richmond.

Does GC still have the luxury to offer big cash as there stars are starting to mature? Does Melbourne get a PP? Does GWS want to trade pick #1? I wouldn't think so as a big forward is harder to find...

IF he wanted to come too us.. pick #6 would be the best we can offer. We don't really have any handy types we can get rid of that would have value.. maybe McInnes/Shcofield I would let go. BUT only if absolutely required because Richmond were getting a better offer.

Lived with the President and his family for a while, lived with the captain as well. Richmond gave him a lot of support, and by the sounds of it, they don't think he's worth the hassle of keeping around.

He left them.

That just makes it seem like the guy is a poisoned chalice.

Do not want a guy who isn't loyal to a footy club that supports him and has off field dramas. Even if he's that good. Would be happier if we got Yeo and/or Conca and kept our first draft pick.

I want the best available footballer we can get. Deal with the rest when we get him.

Maybe i'm old-fashioned. Loyalty and guilt are different things mate. I think maybe we should be talking about greed here.
The cause of his unhappiness is not relevant, nor are we in a position to judge. It might be caused by greed, it might be that he honestly thinks he's unfairly dealt with.

Loyalty is commendable but in a professional league, it's not neccessarily practical. As someone mentioned earlier, Richmond were only so "loyal" to Martin out of self interest because he's a super player - Connors didn't attract the same loyalty...

Don't know the guy personally, so reluctant to slag him off. But between rumours, known behaviour and known associations, this guy will one day make Ben Cousins & Gardiner's antics look like childs play.

He's brilliant on the field, but with all that baggage are we better off hoping pick 6 pays off instead?

I'm super keen on what he brings to the table on the field but off the field by the sounds of things off the field he stinks like rotten eggs however that can't be the deciding factor when a player like Martin's available.

Would need to tidy up things off field but his worth giving up pick 6 and one of Rosa or Smith. Would depend a lot on the new coach and what they want as well but if we get Martin i hope we can get Choco Williams with him

I reckon GWS are in the box seat with pick number 1 but with us behind them. They have said it is available all along and in a package deal Taylor Adams may get his wish of going back to Victoria

RICHMOND LOSE Dustin Martin, GAIN Taylor Adams and pick 1. First dibs on Boyd if thats what they want
GWS LOSE Taylor Adams and pick 1, GAIN Dustin Martin
DUSTIN MARTIN gets a big pay packet
TAYLOR ADAMS gets to go home
TOM BOYD probably stays inside Victoria

Honestly believe that we are the next best team available for him to go too and it would be between us and GWS for his signature.

If I was him I would probably lock in GWS.... with there talent, draft picks, money and your Dad living in Sydney it looks like the best bet. You only have to look at the GC's natural progression this year as well to feel comfortable playing for them.

The thing is GWS just wont offer them pick #1 so we would in theory have the best deal for Richmond...