Play Nice Dustin Martin to North | 31/8: DM signed at RFC for 1.3m/7yrs

I'm very happy if we did that. Sadly it's illegal.....

Now why can't we delist Hansen and Thompson? Surely they finish this year? If not we've ballsed it up, both have been paid very handsomely and we have better young options coming through.

We already have a huge chunk of money now, or are we paying our players massive overs just to meet minimum salary cap? (Like many teams.....how Lions, Tigers and Blues do is laughable, lots of wealthy poor AFL players in those clubs)
They do finish this year.

I think both would be lucky to be on our list in 2018 short of a resurgence this season but cash and list space doesn't get us young guns that aren't free agents.

We deliver this year and finish top 8, with a much younger list, with huge $$, should be enough to bring quality players to North.

Pretty sure $1.5m sign on bonus first year and another 5x $1m was floated around here a few months ago by a swine of an individual.

It's as good as a done deal and was completed the moment his best mate Marley was traded in.

Aish was looking pretty good in the latter half of last season. I thought they bought a dud but he came good. Still quite young too.

I was cut on him not wanting to go to North.....I didnt care that we didnt get him though.

Looking good? He couldn't get a game at Brisbane and he had to sook to his manager to get him a game.

Pretty sure $1.5m sign on bonus first year and another 5x $1m was floated around here a few months ago by a swine of an individual.

It's as good as a done deal and was completed the moment his best mate Marley was traded in.
Yep, the Swan-Dusty-Marley connection may hold some weight. Swan was saying he thought Marley would shine here.

The price seems a bit high, but that swine of an individual always inflates the value of those he likes. ;)

Nah we are going out of our way to attract a superstar or two. We have had trouble getting their attention in the past and present. I can't comment on the Dusty as offer as I know nothing but Barrett is correct we've plenty of cash available.
"and present."?! So, you're saying our past attempts aren't a thing of the past?

So, we're rich but can't get a date? Bloody hell, even Jeffrey Edelstein manages to attract some 'young stars'.

Looking good? He couldn't get a game at Brisbane and he had to sook to his manager to get him a game.
He was playing pretty well in the latter half of last year, so yes he was looking pretty good. What did he did at Brisbane isnt really that relevant to how he was playing last year :)

He started off pretty slow last year and I was having a laugh but then started to play some good football later on and I was like "meh ok".

"and present."?! So, you're saying our past attempts aren't a thing of the past?

So, we're rich but can't get a date? Bloody hell, even Jeffrey Edelstein manages to attract some 'young stars'.
If we took his route we would of ended up getting Dale Thomas and then thrown on the scrap heap with the others.

He was playing pretty well in the latter half of last year, so yes he was looking pretty good. What did he did at Brisbane isnt really that relevant to how he was playing last year :)

He started off pretty slow last year and I was having a laugh but then started to play some good football later on and I was like "meh ok".

Did he? I don't watch many Collingwood games, but the ones I have watched he goes missing a lot, almost Atley-like in his ability to not get the ball. :stern look

I try to watch nearly every game but ends up being about 95%. He got going later in the season with some good games, by memory.

Agree completely. Watched them a few times last year and I began to see why a number of clubs were interested. I suspect he really wasn't fair dinkum in his efforts at Brisbane in his last year there. Wanted out and it showed.

Chit

Delicious

#lolnorf

140915_gif_4.gif

Ryz - Assume you couldn't find any footage of Cotchin from that game to post?
He didn't play that game did he? Surely as captain he would have had an impact on the game that I'd remember.

We deliver this year and finish top 8, with a much younger list, with huge $$, should be enough to bring quality players to North.

Or you finish bottom 4 and have a decent draft pick to trade.

Pretty sure most people know which is more likely.

North's need to address their outside midfield depth with pace and skill level. I don't believe that was immediately achieved over the off season and draftees take time.

I expect North will surprise some teams this season but after the second half of last season and moving on a core group of experienced players together with their injury list this preseason it would be a risky proposition putting money on Norths making the top 8 in 2017.