Early Trade Week Thread

Hmm. 2 players that are as established as Hille though. Younger than him too I would imagine. A combo of those 2 would be worth more than Hille and a pick.

Plus McVeigh's value around the AFL would be worth more than what we deem it to be I imagine.

McVeigh for the right price I would be prepared to listen to, though he's a club captain now so he'll never be traded.

And Mal is probably one of about 3 real consistent kicks that we have in our best 22 to be brutally honest. Hopefully he is down with knee problems and will be back to his best. I'd prefer him to be our main rebounder for the rest of the year over Tadhg. He showed a bit of form last week as the loose man IMO. Looked somewhat back to his usual self.

Can understand having temptations to trade each of them though for some.

Hmm. 2 players that are as established as Hille though. Younger than him too I would imagine. A combo of those 2 would be worth more than Hille and a pick.

Plus McVeigh's value around the AFL would be worth more than what we deem it to be I imagine.

McVeigh for the right price I would be prepared to listen to, though he's a club captain now so he'll never be traded.

And Mal is probably one of about 3 real consistent kicks that we have in our best 22 to be brutally honest. Hopefully he is down with knee problems and will be back to his best. I'd prefer him to be our main rebounder for the rest of the year over Tadhg. He showed a bit of form last week as the loose man IMO. Looked somewhat back to his usual self.

Can understand having temptations to trade each of them though for some.

Mal's kicking is not as consistent as it should be, he often fluffs short ones.

Here's one I made earlier ...

McVeigh and Malceski to Essendon for David Hille and a draft pick, maybe second rounder.

Essendon will talk a deal for Hille, and he'd surely help us as a genuine back-up ruck able to go forward a la Leigh Brown. McVeigh could go play with his brother and Mal, well ...

I'm not sure Swans fans would be happy with my offer but I'm keen to hear other opinions.

I just can't see McVeigh going anywhere, if we were to look big, Mitch Clarke would be my pipe dream Goat. As for Sylvia, needs to loose the wanna be tough guy tricks.

Possible targets who are currently collecting dust and could make good.
Rex Liddy - Superstar.
Daniel Connors - Knows Sydney quite well.:eek:
Byron Schammer - One we could make good.
David MacKay - Tight bastards wont give this one up.
Lyndon Dunn - Likes belting brent harvey.
Clinton Young - Lets talk Dawks.

I just can't see McVeigh going anywhere, if we were to look big, Mitch Clarke would be my pipe dream Goat. As for Sylvia, needs to loose the wanna be tough guy tricks.

Rex Liddy - Superstar.

I know McV will be here ... and I reckon Sylvia's been heaps better this year, none of that.

A good mate is a Freo tragic, from over there, says Schammer is useless. He's had enough time.

Agree on Liddy; Connors yes, but he has a booze problem. Very good player, though.
McKay good but I'd rathjer Sloane if the Crows are offing young mids.
Dunn, no; Young, yeah, he'd be a good fit for us.

I know McV will be here ... and I reckon Sylvia's been heaps better this year, none of that.

A good mate is a Freo tragic, from over there, says Schammer is useless. He's had enough time.

Agree on Liddy; Connors yes, but he has a booze problem. Very good player, though.
McKay good but I'd rathjer Sloane if the Crows are offing young mids.
Dunn, no; Young, yeah, he'd be a good fit for us.

Yes, Young is the one. Dawks might be hard to deal with in light of the Kennedy and MacGlynn thing.
Liddy has had limited time in the Sun:eek:, and Coasters are overstocked. Would light us up off half back/flanks. On Schammer I think the complications from his appendix stalled him, a few years ago granted. A new scene may suit...
I noticed our man Kinnear was involved in selecting the under 18's All Australian side. With the draft being described as shallow, we might well be busier than the norm in light of Kinnear's keen eye being so close to the veiwing.

Rex Liddy - Superstar.

Clinton Young would be a great get, at least he is an accurate shot on goal and won't miss a goal 20 metres out.

What about LRT and one of Currie/Bevan/McNeil for a GWS 17yr old [potential] pot of gold?

LRT should be playing on the biggest brute every week, but the Swans continue to play AJ in defence and Pyke will be back in 2012 to dominate in the forward/ruck role, so where does that leave LRT?

• LRT is too good to be "depth"
  • I don't doubt his loyalty, but he can opt for Free Agency at the end of 2012
  • LRT is 28, at the peak of his powers and out of contract this year. This will be his last opportunity to score big on $$$ and length of contract.
If the club can cover his spot on the list until we groom or trade for a quality KPP replacement, then I think it would be a shrewd investment for the Swans, GWS and NSW AFL.

I would be sad to see LRT leave, but I would cheer him on as the inaugural GWS Captain :eek: :D

McNeil wouldnt have trade value and neither would Currie but LRT would be of interest to GWS and because he is playing out of position he would be more likely to consider it.

With teams likely to offer first round picks as well as compensation picks for one of these 17 year olds i cant see LRT being enough to interest GWS, they would more likely offer a pick in the 30s or 40s for him and only if he is contracted.

McNeil wouldnt have trade value and neither would Currie but LRT would be of interest to GWS and because he is playing out of position he would be more likely to consider it.

With teams likely to offer first round picks as well as compensation picks for one of these 17 year olds i cant see LRT being enough to interest GWS, they would more likely offer a pick in the 30s or 40s for him and only if he is contracted.

In the 30s or 40s?!

Geeze, I thought people got over the whole 'LRT is a hack' thing years ago.

LRT would be of interest to GWS and because he is playing out of position he would be more likely to consider it.

No backman EVER hates playing forward Im sure he is loving it.

LRT is going no where he is very important to us, Id prefer him playing down back but he is not playing forward because he is not good enough to be down back, its because the players down back cant play the role he is playing at the moment as good as him. Also one injury away from any position he is pretty handy.

And he is a PREMIERSHIP player almost twice.

Dunn for a 4th round draft pick. Taylor Walker is a possibility but we have plenty of money to do a good deal. We might be able to do better than that. Let's look at what GWS is offering.

Read on the HSun site that Sylvia is out of contract and Mel baulking at 450k 2 years and we're interested. What do you rekon? And do we have the peices ti trade fir him? Oh, and is anyone else having issues posting replies, when i try it stops loading, had to use my iphone for this

Andrew Lovett plans to enter the draft at year's end.

Discuss.

Two years ago we rightly said no to him and Fev.

Despite the outcome of the trial we were proven correct by passing on them now.

I hope Lovett can rebuild his life but we must protect our own and I'll pass.

Sylvia on the other hand, particularly if Melbourne find the cash to keep Scully..... It could be a real coup.

Two years ago we rightly said no to him and Fev.

Despite the outcome of the trial we were proven correct by passing on them now.

I hope Lovett can rebuild his life but we must protect our own and I'll pass.

Sylvia on the other hand, particularly if Melbourne find the cash to keep Scully..... It could be a real coup.

I'd love to have Sylvia as well but i suspect Melbourne might want quite a lot for him (more than perhaps the Swans are willing to give).