Eddie trashes 'Falafel Land'

Has he walked around Melbourne's inner northern, western, or eastern suburbs - you know, places like Footscray/Essendon/Carlton/Brunswick/Collingwood - recently?
He should really get the chauffeur to drive him down Sydney Rd or Johnston St.
I think he'd be surprised. There are actually different ethnicities. Just walking around the streets! Even have restaurants from different backgrounds!
Shocking, but true...

The real worry in terms of GWS is more the hungie (sp?) land , the Samoan/Maori/Tongan etc populations are a hell of a lot more entrenched with RL than the middle-eastern population
Eddie often drives himself to coburg, thomastown, reservoir, epping, broadmeadows etc

I always assumed Laziko's International Cafe marked the beginning of `The West'.

Is that the felafel land he's talking about?

Turns out Dale thomas is actually alright. This coupled with Terry Wallace making sense about carlton... Wtf is the world coming to?

It would be fine Middle Eastern people made fun of Vegemite, but if they implied that would wouldn't want to live with people near who ate Vegemite (a suburb was undesirable because Aussies lived there) then I think you would feel differently.

It would be water of a ducks back to me but the problem about the above scenario is that you wouldn't be able to make a fuss about it otherwise you would be classified as a hater.

Some people are just too sensitive and politically correct. Need to take Choppers advise.

I'm a straight, upper class, white, left wing male, born here to parents of European descent. I have friends who are black, white, asian, arab, irish, gay, straight, old, young. They can all take a joke about their race, sexual orientation etc, and will often be the ones making flippant remarks about it themselves for shits and giggles. Nobody takes it to seriously, as it is meant in good humour.

Each to their own I suppose

Are you sure they arent doing it to 'get your 'approval' or worse, taking the piss ?

Eddie will probably end up on that ridiculous antibogan site or something now with all the latte drinking, skivvy wearers calling for his head.

I'm sure HyperAgressiveDonk, Visions and myself would all get along fine as they are most likely fair minded and tolerant people. I'm not one of the PC brigade and call a spade a spade. But fair dinkum, if you can't see how Eddie's slag on western sydney is racist and ignorant, you're shifting the PC balance too far.

BTW - No that if matters but, since Eddie brought it up, there's more Australian born residents in Blacktown's postcode than Collingwood's.

There will now be 'Outrage' and 'Shock' in the media.

Surprised there hasn't been a bigger outrage about the 'falafel land" jibe, not the smartest thing Eduardo has ever said, did lol though.

Nice to hear something like this for a change :thumbsu:

Asked on Nova radio whether he would be at Collingwood next year, Thomas replied: ''I presume so. Do I want to be at Collingwood? Yes, for as long as they will have me.

''It is not all about money, the football business is about winning premierships.''

For a change? It's a stock standard response, mate...:confused:

Yeah look I tend to agree. It was all very tongue in cheek, but there are a lot of uptight, "politically correct" people out there who are going to kick up a fuss about this. If a gentlemen of Arab descent, made a toungue in cheek remark about Skippy, Vegemite or Kangaroos and related it to Australians. I know I would smile and take it in the good humour it was intended :)

I don't know that it was intended in good humour, or certainly not if you're ffrom West Sydney or of Middle Eastern extraction.
The context was, "who the **** would want to live in Felafel Land? All these kids you pick up will be bailing as soon as they can, because your area is shit house; the first example of this which comes to mind being the anecdotally high proportion of Arabs residing in the area."

Nothing good natured about that, it's a straight dig.

does anyone really seriously care :rolleyes:
Your supporters and apologists would care if a Kernahan, Kennett or Westaway had made this comment. It's every bit as tasteless as Elliott calling the indigenous population a forgotten race. It is a reference to Western Sydney being an Arab area where AFL footballers wouldn't want to play.

McGuire is the next Jack Elliott.

I doubt that anyone living in Western Sydney would want players recruited from the "club of the bogan" living next door to them.

Wow - Heard this yesterday and was quite astounded it's come Eddie.
Compelety inappropriate from someone in his position(s).

But then again racial slurs from the outer aren't uncommon down magpie land are they?

Remember Nicky Winmar's treatment at Vic Park Eddie?
Must have slipped your mind...