EDFL Div 1 2020

Seems fair to me, player wasted a year of their limited play time of footy, least they can do is lower their points by 1 as if the season has gone ahead.

Applies to all clubs in all divisions not just ek 🤦🏼‍♂️

From EDFL

The one point deductions for players from the 2020 season will occur. Players registered at a club in 2019 and registered for the 2020 season before 26th June 2020 including players transferred into the club in 2020 will receive the one point deduction.

No consultation with clubs on several issues now over the last few weeks has some clubs at tipping point after the the board has failed to ensure equality across the league.

Conspiracy or not I can tell you now from several sources, that Ian and his HQ buddies have headaches coming their way, from what I’m hearing 6 clubs are now committed to boycotting playing against East Keilor as a result of this and it’s not intimation, it’s a stand point to show unity that enough is enough and they need to start delivering on this or their dream 10/10/10 model will be a distant dream if they don’t start listening.

If your Rupertswood I’d be hoping you did your home work on this current administration. If you think you’ve come across and struck gold getting the golden wonka ticket treatment Your wrong, because this is nothing than a mere circus at the moment.
So from old CEO and administration board to the new one nothing has changed.

So what would make them not boycott? I would really like to hear your answer on behalf of all the clubs that are considering this. And then, why stop at EK only? What about boycotting APW, Westy, or Tulla?

Seems fair to me, player wasted a year of their limited play time of footy, least they can do is lower their points by 1 as if the season has gone ahead.

Not eks fault they recruited heavy and a global pandemic hit.

Applies to all clubs in all divisions not just ek 🤦🏼‍♂️

Might seem fair to you being from EK but it’s outside the rules as you must play a minimum number of games to have your points reduced by 1. Once again the EDFL going against the flow and doing there own thing. They are corrupt and being influenced by certain people/clubs.
They reduced the cap due to covid which is fair I guess and with the support of AFL Vic but this decision has gone against the majority of leagues and the recommendation by AFL Vic..🤔

There is rumours circulating a lot of div1 clubs are very unhappy..Gee it would be very interesting if clubs did boycott playing a certain club wouldn’t it. That would throw the division into chaos.

Might seem fair to you being from EK but it’s outside the rules as you must play a minimum number of games to have your points reduced by 1. Once again the EDFL going against the flow and doing there own thing. They are corrupt and being influenced by certain people/clubs.
They reduced the cap due to covid which is fair I guess and with the support of AFL Vic but this decision has gone against the majority of leagues and the recommendation by AFL Vic..🤔

There is rumours circulating a lot of div1 clubs are very unhappy..Gee it would be very interesting if clubs did boycott playing a certain club wouldn’t it. That would throw the division into chaos.
Not for the club they boycott. Four points every time.

l said on sept 22 that 4 clubs were very unhappy about div 1 and l knew then some had discussed boycotting a certain club. why would they do that you ask.
theyd save money and make sure someone else didnt make money. sponsorships for our clubs is at crisis point with covid and not playing to prove a point is cost effective and if 4 or more agree, 4 points means little. go to premier and good riddance.

l said on sept 22 that 4 clubs were very unhappy about div 1 and l knew then some had discussed boycotting a certain club. why would they do that you ask.
theyd save money and make sure someone else didnt make money. sponsorships for our clubs is at crisis point with covid and not playing to prove a point is cost effective and if 4 or more agree, 4 points means little. go to premier and good riddance.
Hey mate, it’s not to give the club an easy passage to premier but more of a protest if clubs believe a certain club is going outside the laws of the game.

exactly right. Everyone here acting like the league lowering points “for ek” like the league gives a sh*t about ek.

Ps wrfl also doing the same with points in being told.

Don’t wish to bring up old news that has been done to death, but they did allow certain clubs to play games breaching the points limit in season 2019 with no punishment whatsoever..

the EDFL aren’t actually going against the flow on this one Turbo, they are aligning themselves with the other metro comps using the same system.
The AFL aligned comps (AFL Goldfields, AFL Central etc.) are going with the opposite and not deducting points for 2020 recruits.
So whether you agree or not with the decision I don’t think this had much to do with pressure coming from clubs.

Im not defending EK and understand it definitely rewards them with their recruits but across the league in all 3 divs it will help clubs to be able to bring players in and hopefully continues improve the standard.
EK without doubt are taking the pi55 with the salary cap and run the risk of it falling apart if a disgruntled player talks but good luck to them, can’t imagine it would be that satisfying winning a flag by means of cheating. And there is zero chance any club will forfeit against them, that’s just rubbish talk.

Do Tulla escape some of this criticism as well ? They seem to recruit a heap of players each year too. Just because the president says they don’t pay the cap doesn’t mean it’s true! Are they all there from other clubs because they wanna pull on the red and blue ? The only difference is I think EK recruit players capable of playing Premier, Tulla do not.
EK, Tulla, Westy, APW, Rupo, West Coburg all fighting for 4 finals spots adds to a healthy competition. Hillside, TL and Roxy will be no walkovers either

the EDFL aren’t actually going against the flow on this one Turbo, they are aligning themselves with the other metro comps using the same system.
The AFL aligned comps (AFL Goldfields, AFL Central etc.) are going with the opposite and not deducting points for 2020 recruits.
So whether you agree or not with the decision I don’t think this had much to do with pressure coming from clubs.

Im not defending EK and understand it definitely rewards them with their recruits but across the league in all 3 divs it will help clubs to be able to bring players in and hopefully continues improve the standard.
EK without doubt are taking the pi55 with the salary cap and run the risk of it falling apart if a disgruntled player talks but good luck to them, can’t imagine it would be that satisfying winning a flag by means of cheating. And there is zero chance any club will forfeit against them, that’s just rubbish talk.

Do Tulla escape some of this criticism as well ? They seem to recruit a heap of players each year too. Just because the president says they don’t pay the cap doesn’t mean it’s true! Are they all there from other clubs because they wanna pull on the red and blue ? The only difference is I think EK recruit players capable of playing Premier, Tulla do not.
EK, Tulla, Westy, APW, Rupo, West Coburg all fighting for 4 finals spots adds to a healthy competition. Hillside, TL and Roxy will be no walkovers either

If you think there is zero chance of forfeiting then you know little as to what is going on. 5 clubs are meeting next week to discuss exactly the same message they are seeking to deliver to the EDFL as to why they won’t take the field. Clubs work to hard with volunteers to generate incomes and sponsors to be operable week in week out, to have one club to supposedly take the piss, points is and will be the only way football is audited equally in community football.

Geez Don't forfeit your home games and miss out on canteen/bar :tearsofjoy:

Mate I don’t think you can compare Tulla’s recruits v EK recruits. Referring to number of recruits and rumoured salaries comparing both. Lock, Stewart & Bongetti the 3 that come to mind. They could compete in premier but the others are either untried at premier or struggled in that division previously. Scanlon the exception but will he play on if they did happen to win promotion. I guess he left Pines to play B grade footy to lessen the stress on his body. Not many his age have succeeded at premier level. But wouldn’t put it beyond him as his a strong fit unit. I actually applaud these players for continuing to play as your only young once.

With regards to Hillside it will be interesting to see how they go. But without doubt they are going about it the right way. Signed up all there homegrown youngsters which is a positive. Can tell you some of these boys go very well. They did lose 1 younger player to EK though but as mentioned he was originally at EDS prior to HS.
If they land a couple more that could put them in the mix for 3rd or 4th. But can there backline hold the likes of Bongetti, Limbach, Church etc. That’s the big question. These guys kick 6-8 it’s game over..

Mate I don’t think you can compare Tulla’s recruits v EK recruits. Referring to number of recruits and rumoured salaries comparing both. Lock, Stewart & Bongetti the 3 that come to mind. They could compete in premier but the others are either untried at premier or struggled in that division previously. Scanlon the exception but will he play on if they did happen to win promotion. I guess he left Pines to play B grade footy to lessen the stress on his body. Not many his age have succeeded at premier level. But wouldn’t put it beyond him as his a strong fit unit. I actually applaud these players for continuing to play as your only young once.

With regards to Hillside it will be interesting to see how they go. But without doubt they are going about it the right way. Signed up all there homegrown youngsters which is a positive. Can tell you some of these boys go very well. They did lose 1 younger player to EK though but as mentioned he was originally at EDS prior to HS.
If they land a couple more that could put them in the mix for 3rd or 4th. But can there backline hold the likes of Bongetti, Limbach, Church etc. That’s the big question. These guys kick 6-8 it’s game over..
Defining season for Hillside, reckon this could tip them as a Club one way or the other.

I think Hillside have missed the boat unfortunately.I thought 3 years ago that they could be the next EDFL powerhouse and they would be a major beneficiary of points and cap coming in with the abundance of very good junior players they had. They obviously couldn't win one to get promoted, which could have helped keep more of their juniors at the club and they would have had the foundations to becoming a very strong and sustainable club.

The systemic cheating happening in that division now isn't going to help their cause in getting promoted anytime soon and could well see them linger in Div 1 for evermore!

No consultation with clubs on several issues now over the last few weeks has some clubs at tipping point after the the board has failed to ensure equality across the league.

Conspiracy or not I can tell you now from several sources, that Ian and his HQ buddies have headaches coming their way, from what I’m hearing 6 clubs are now committed to boycotting playing against East Keilor as a result of this and it’s not intimation, it’s a stand point to show unity that enough is enough and they need to start delivering on this or their dream 10/10/10 model will be a distant dream if they don’t start listening.

If your Rupertswood I’d be hoping you did your home work on this current administration. If you think you’ve come across and struck gold getting the golden wonka ticket treatment Your wrong, because this is nothing than a mere circus at the moment.
Agreed its a boys club joke

If you think there is zero chance of forfeiting then you know little as to what is going on. 5 clubs are meeting next week to discuss exactly the same message they are seeking to deliver to the EDFL as to why they won’t take the field. Clubs work to hard with volunteers to generate incomes and sponsors to be operable week in week out, to have one club to supposedly take the piss, points is and will be the only way football is audited equally in community football.
A huge chance of clubs refusing to play against clubs who blatantly cheat and work around the rules.
I see EK president has nominated for local politics, what is really funny is on his application he talks about financial budgets??????

I think Hillside have missed the boat unfortunately.I thought 3 years ago that they could be the next EDFL powerhouse and they would be a major beneficiary of points and cap coming in with the abundance of very good junior players they had. They obviously couldn't win one to get promoted, which could have helped keep more of their juniors at the club and they would have had the foundations to becoming a very strong and sustainable club.

The systemic cheating happening in that division now isn't going to help their cause in getting promoted anytime soon and could well see them linger in Div 1 for evermore!
Fair post mate. Thought 2018 was there chance as they put together a decent list.

A huge chance of clubs refusing to play against clubs who blatantly cheat and work around the rules.
I see EK president has nominated for local politics, what is really funny is on his application he talks about financial budgets??????
Just look at the quality of candidates you have to choose from at council level.
It’s a race to the bottom

Just look at the quality of candidates you have to choose from at council level.
It’s a race to the bottom
Nought quality in general, you have to admire those who step up, although would you really want those two items on your CV?
Current EK president who when caught will be stripped of title & being a local councillor :think:

If this is true, then those 5 people representing their clubs should be sacked and never involved in football again. What a bunch of sooks !! Why don’t they put their energy into how to improve and beat the opposition. It would be interesting to see what the agenda and what actual evidence is presented. It would be interesting to see if any players from those clubs have been consulted about forfeiting and conceding defeat even before a challenge. I can just hear the sledging... in advance - Surely this is just rubbish !!

I think someone has put on there gimp suit and changed there name from bashen to choker
I think sooking and wanting a fair fight a huge difference 🧨🧨🧨

I don’t know who bashed is but I have a lot friends from Ek and as a neutral supporter. The last game they played was a grand final loss after massive recruiting campaign. They have gone with a new batch of recruits as half of that side that played that day have gone! And on paper, this side may still not get it done on grand final day because they lack speed. But, to talk about forfeiting is just ridiculous!! You can call it whatever you like but at the end of the day- it is Sooking cause you don’t want to play against what you perceive as an unbeatable cheating team !!