EDFL Division 1 - 2012

Radio coverage reported Glenn Manton reported twice and sent off. Not sure who it was, but a player needed an ambulance called. I'm pretty sure it was due to contact with the head.

Two players from Tullamarine were stretchered off, Hardman and Marcy I think. The former was the one requiring the ambulance due to contact with the head IIRC

Radio coverage reported Glenn Manton reported twice and sent off. Not sure who it was, but a player needed an ambulance called. I'm pretty sure it was due to contact with the head.
Dog act, he was known for this kind of crap in the WRFL, really courageous act taking out one of the fairer players running around. It'll be interesting if he tries it against someone of comparable size or if he really is as scared as his reputation suggests.

Interesting comment. I went down as a neutral observer to see the match of the round and it was just two guys going for a mark. The tulla bloke showed courage sitting under a high ball and Manton got to the contest at the same time. It was bad luck... he was stiff to get sent off too. Tulla were very impressive too in the first half but slowed in the second when TL got a bit more in and under footy. This season is really getting tight already after only 3 rounds.

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion but you're the only person I've seen refer to it as anything but a snipe.

A snipe or dogs act would have been if he round housed a high shot or hit him with a knee. It happened so fast and the poor guy got hurt more by hitting the ground rather than from Manton's bump/hit. It was shoulder on shoulder wasn't it? Any how, I hope he recovers well.

Taking out a bloke standing under a high ball is a snipe. It was a deliberate act and it was shoulder/arm to head.
Marcy is alright, just a bit crook.

Taking out a bloke standing under a high ball is a snipe. It was a deliberate act and it was shoulder/arm to head.
Marcy is alright, just a bit crook.

Your joking me right? I also went down as a neutral and was standing near the EDFL radio shack so to speak. What I witnessed was two blokes go up for the ball both taking a heavy hit, manton may have got there a fraction late and had more of a chance to brace himself, shoulder to shoulder hit with the other bloke doing more damage to himself when hitting the ground.

Shocking 24 hours for Hadfield starting on Friday night after training. Strong rumour 20 players nearly walked out on the club, it included some of their better players. I am been told the Coach has lost a lot of the players, with all issues still lingering. I watched them against Westmeadows and then against Hillside, it was like watching 2 different teams. Has anyone else heard anything?

Your joking me right? I also went down as a neutral and was standing near the EDFL radio shack so to speak. What I witnessed was two blokes go up for the ball both taking a heavy hit, manton may have got there a fraction late and had more of a chance to brace himself, shoulder to shoulder hit with the other bloke doing more damage to himself when hitting the ground.
I may be wrong but plenty of people much closer to the situation have voiced an opinion much different to yours.

You are not wrong Bluejet, it was a very disappointing incident and was one of a few. Anyone saying anything different is dreaming. The hit was late and with a lot of force. Injured player ended up in hospital and there were at least 2 other incidents behind the play that the crowd didnt like. Not what u would expect from an ex AFL player and regarded member of the community. I know the tulla guys were very disappointed not one Lakes player came into the rooms. What happens on the field should be forgotten with a drink after the game. Been that way for 100 years. To not come in was poor form.:thumbsdown:

I guess its a little hard to feel 'welcome' after a game, when at half time the crowd are yelling out all sorts of crap, saying things along the lines of "we dont want you here for a beer after the game, get ****ed you hacks"

there was also a lot worse that I wont type out.

I guess its a little hard to feel 'welcome' after a game, when at half time the crowd are yelling out all sorts of crap, saying things along the lines of "we dont want you here for a beer after the game, get ****ed you hacks"

there was also a lot worse that I wont type out.

LMFAO:D.....gee mate that really must of hurt their feelings:(....lm suprised they didnt call their mums to come and pick them up at half time and stop on the way home for a happy meal....

Reality check buddy....its a tough game and you must be able to cop some flack time to time. The things that come from TL people is some of the worst in the league so harden up princess.
By far the lamest post l have ever read but l havnt stopped laughing for 20 minutes:eek:

You are taking the piss. It was a late, cheap forearm to the head. It was a cowardly act.

Mate if your involved with this club, calling them "PATHETIC" and bagging the juniors only 2 Rounds into the season, to me that is PATHETIC. Do you think the kids would like this?
Its going to be a long road for the club and it was never going to be easy..... Why not keep it In-House? and if you can help the club in any way moving forward,why not :confused: Rather than saying on Big Footy

Unless you are from a neighboring club?????

Snax......... Ok " PATHETIC " may have been a bit harsh !!!! However to see U18 football played in this way is ??????

And NO not from a neighboring club at all , have been involved with this club for many years and did not agree with the move to the EDFL. We were not that competative in the RDFL and to move to a better competition ( EDFL ) was very premature. The people running the club thought the grass was greener on the other side however an educated assesment would see that the best move would have been to make the club bigger and stronger in the RDFL before making the move into the EDFL . The only reason I say this on big footy is so that people get to know how bad it really is , the club WAS moving in the RIGHT direction a few seasons back but moved on because the footy people were shafted by the ESSG and we lost allot of our good junior footballers to neighboring clubs because of that.

Dogs act what he did. I went down to watch the game and seen everything that happened before that last incident where he knocked out the young kid and got the red carded. He king hit john tate 100m off the ball in the first quarter. Then he also had a go at another kid in the foward line in the first quarter which he punched the kid with his back turned. weak as piss!!!! he should concentrate on getting a kick instead of sniping blokes.

After round 3 (winners this round, then total )

Barnibus Stinson....5 16
Bomber blitz..........4 15
Auckmel...............5 15
Bazzinger punk......6 15
Old burra..............3 15
Snax...................4 14
Local footy scores 5 11

Bazzinger punk top tipper with 6 - only T L letting him down - legendary

Boys, I thought I'd get in early this week... going to find it hard to make up the 5 point deficit! :(

NORTHERN SAINTS vs Moonee Valley - by 93 points. Saints to hit back hard after a demoralising loss to Airport West.

Jacana vs TULLAMARINE - by 205 points.

Roxburgh Park vs EAST KEILOR - by 84 points. East Keilor to have too much class around the ground for a gallant Roxburgh Park, who look to be improving.

TAYLORS LAKES vs Westmeadows - by 22 points. Should be a cracker, but I'm tipping the Lakers to bounce back at home, particularly after last week's thrashing at the hands of Tullamarine.

Hadfield vs AIRPORT WEST - by 62 points. Whilst Hadfield are always hard to beat at home, Airport West to account for them comfortably.

GLENROY vs Keilor Park - by 104 points. Despite Keilor Park's thrashing of Jacana last week, I think it will be a long year for the Devils. I'm tipping Whitnall to fire against an undermanned KP backline.

WEST COBURG v Hillside - by 79 points. West Coburg should do it easy over the Sharks.

Good luck to all teams for round 4!

Stay true, stay local.

Round 4 tips

Northern Saints
Tullamarine
East Keilor
TL
AW
Glenroy
WC

Top call

I, Barnibus Stinson, do decree, under the guidelines of the Bro Code (legendary) in the interest of fair play, that anyone of the magnificent tipsters does not enter a selection will ge given away teams.

Under provision of above Bro Code, will calculate what score LFS starts on - but will not start higher than anyone based alone on the away teams format ( known hereafter as article 118.3 of the bro code)

I think I should have started on the lowest cumulative total, being Bazzinger on 9... therefore my five from last week would bring me up to a grand total of 14. Help a brother out Barney!!!!!

After much consideration (well, after 4 gin and tonics anyway) in the interest of fair play, i recommend that L F S starts 1 point lower than the lowest score - bazzinger punk was on 9 so L F S starts on 8, which puts his score on 13.

My fellow tipsters, please feel free to offer some input