EDFL Division 1 2017

I think Airport West win against Glenroy.
Has Airport West picked up a few more players since round 1? Who is Young from Airport West? I noticed he kicked a bag against Westy. Is he a big forward?

I can't remember this competition ever being as even as it currently is. Apart from Hadfield any side can beat anyone on their day.
Should be a ripper game

Have APW added two ex AFL players to their team in McGrath and Atkinson.

Yes they have. APW firming as favourites now if they weren't already..Probably financially they are best placed, but have no under 17s and going up & down does not create stability. Good on them I say.

Went to watch this game. Glenroy certainly the better team on the day. APW only turned up to play in the last quarter.
Full credit to Glenroy today but APW missing 2 of their better players in Mullins and Atkinson today. Glenroy at full strength. APW still the team to beat. But on there Day 6-7 sides can win so hardest part is making the top 4 this year

And I hear another former player also retuning who goes well.

Question- are Glenroy in a position in where they want to go up? They would need about 10-12 players and do it under the points allocation.. Good luck with that.,

I think that might go for all of the teams, not just Glenroy.

Yes Planks correct but maybe some teams have more players capable of playing competitive premier footy just that Glenroy have a good balanced div1 side..Players like Winter and others are finished with footy at the highest level..Said that with respect to Winter as his done it at the top.

I reckon West Coburg and Avondale would beat the div 1 teams by 10 goals minimum

Not quite right mate , Glenroy had one of there best out James Bennie and Brewster . Atkinson also played for APW.
APW did have a couple out in Mullins, Rex Taylor and one other.
Glenroy absolutely have the target on there back at the moment .
Having seen them two weeks in a row they are no certainties though .
This Comp is way too hard to pick ,
Teams like Westy , Hillside and Tulla have had injury concerns and that is all it takes in this Comp to be 10% of your best and you lose .

Not quite right mate , Glenroy had one of there best out James Bennie and Brewster . Atkinson also played for APW.
APW did have a couple out in Mullins, Rex Taylor and one other.
Glenroy absolutely have the target on there back at the moment .
Having seen them two weeks in a row they are no certainties though .
This Comp is way too hard to pick ,
Teams like Westy , Hillside and Tulla have had injury concerns and that is all it takes in this Comp to be 10% of your best and you lose .
Bennie is a very good player and will be more than handy upon his return. Mulluns and Taylor also big ins for APW. I noticed on the team listed C. McGrath played for APW how did he perform yesterday? Westy had a few out yesterday not sure how Tulla and HS r travelling injury wise are they both full strength? Patane and Hemala didnt play against the Roys according to the team sheet any input Billy on a Tulla front?

On SM-G935F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Bennie is a very good player and will be more than handy upon his return. Mulluns and Taylor also big ins for APW. I noticed on the team listed C. McGrath played for APW how did he perform yesterday? Westy had a few out yesterday not sure how Tulla and HS r travelling injury wise are they both full strength? Patane and Hemala didnt play against the Roys according to the team sheet any input Billy on a Tulla front?

On SM-G935F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Going along ok OBH not quite playing at 100% ATM, seems as though they are flying under the radar again and are surprisingly a very young group who will be better in the back half of the year.

Glenroy have some quality young players who still have improvement in them eg Capuano , nillson , both Walkers , Dellbusso trembearth all under 21yrs old . J Bennie is an A grade ammos premiership player . Winter probably retires and if everyone else stays they will drop about 15 pts next year . Rumour has it Kite and Ronaldson are heading back to the Roy's both 1 point . That would leave about 13 points to recruit. Beat West Coburg easily in the pre season and Avondale struggling at the moment , they would be competitive against those 2 teams . I would think they could win 3 or 4 games and stay up .But it's all irrelevant really . There's a long way to go in this season and anyone can still win the flag

Lost 2-3 games i would've penciled them in for easy wins.

Westy have been decimated with inj. Combined seniors and reserves yesterday had 17 out.
Key players like Taylor, Abdullah, Dimech, Wilcocks, Moe Saad all missed yesterday. That's a lot of quality out of the midfield.
Only positive is about 8-9 under 19s have been used so far. Hopefully start getting a few back in coming weeks and can make a late run for it in the second half of season.

Glenroy look to have had minimal injuries so far this year which helps
Tulla look to be going along nicely like airport west.
With oak park and hillside to fight it out for that last spot i reckon....

Are any of the Div 1 clubs in a position to go up? Do Glenroy have U19's teams.. I know APW don't. What other Div 1 teams don't?

Glenroy have some quality young players who still have improvement in them eg Capuano , nillson , both Walkers , Dellbusso trembearth all under 21yrs old . J Bennie is an A grade ammos premiership player . Winter probably retires and if everyone else stays they will drop about 15 pts next year . Rumour has it Kite and Ronaldson are heading back to the Roy's both 1 point . That would leave about 13 points to recruit. Beat West Coburg easily in the pre season and Avondale struggling at the moment , they would be competitive against those 2 teams . I would think they could win 3 or 4 games and stay up .But it's all irrelevant really . There's a long way to go in this season and anyone can still win the flag

Don't go by pre season form. Roy's would lose to Avondale by 60+ and West Coburg would also beat them comfortably. No chance Glenroy win 4 games in Premier Division.
Could see them getting over Craigiburn but that's it. Unless they recruit another 4-5 top line players.

Glenroy & APW will finish top 2, unless they fall from a heap of injuries. By looking at a few games this season, top 4 will be finished off by Tullamarine and Hillside. My thoughts are Westy are done for the year, they honestly can't come back after the last few weeks performances. What's to blame? Injuries or is DC on his last legs.? Will be good if they bounce back and let DC see the year out.
Rumours are going around that the EDFL hierarchy might be stepping in down at Hadfield and giving them an option to go into a merge option for season 2018, with either Districts or Pacco.

Don't go by pre season form. Roy's would lose to Avondale by 60+ and West Coburg would also beat them comfortably. No chance Glenroy win 4 games in Premier Division.
Could see them getting over Craigiburn but that's it. Unless they recruit another 4-5 top line players.
Read my post again , I think I stated that if Kite and Ronaldson rumour was true and they had 13 points to recruit they would be competitive