EDFL Division 1 2017

Westmeadows year is over, won't get anywhere near Glenroy. It's time to start playing some kids in the seniors for the upcoming year. With the list they have, you'd think they would be top 2. Obviously recruiting so many guys from different clubs has not worked. Young kids coming up need experience, perfect opportunity the next couple of weeks.

What's in store for Westy in 2018? Home grown talent? Younger players? A new coach?

All of the above I reckon!

Obviously don't watch too many Westmeadows games. 2 more under 19s debuted on the weekend and around 10 under 19s have played senior footy this year. About 12 guys in the side would be under 20

How many seniors played on the weekend played there last year?? No wonder why the can't click out on the field.? And why was Smilie playing 2s?

Just checked for you. There were 5 plus 2 under 19s. Also out of those 5 JT is a former junior.
Smillie has played every game in the seniors so one can only assume he was dropped. Young Josh Hale another home grown was given an opportunity.

Maybe when you finish playing in the twos down at the jags you should come and watch some more games to be better informed

Obviously don't watch too many Westmeadows games. 2 more under 19s debuted on the weekend and around 10 under 19s have played senior footy this year. About 12 guys in the side would be under 20
Westy only treading water in B Grade which is disappointing considering the number of players who have been through there and the increased budget the volunteers have worked hard to generate since DC came over with his 5 year plan and the expectation that they would grow the club to become a solid A Grade unit. Only starting to play kids now , 3 years too late.
Westy is a solid B Grade club(like T. Lakes) , they don't want too and it's not in their best interest to make it to A Grade as they will get obliterated..

Westy only treading water in B Grade which is disappointing considering the number of players who have been through there and the increased budget the volunteers have worked hard to generate since DC came over with his 5 year plan and the expectation that they would grow the club to become a solid A Grade unit. Only starting to play kids now , 3 years too late.
Westy is a solid B Grade club(like T. Lakes) , they don't want too and it's not in their best interest to make it to A Grade as they will get obliterated..

Bit like Bucks really, just needs to be around long enough for the team to develop and learn his way of playing.

It's always easy to blame the coach in these situations. What's the accountability of the players as they have a decent list with some players surely on good coin for div1. Would probably guess they would have a few names if a list of the 10 highest paid players in div1 were announced.
I guess if a club in div1 is serious about having a decent crack at winning it and going up that club must find a premier coach or a playing assistant that can, and is willing to play premier footy and be a competitive beast. Preferably a midfielder..
However these types are not easy to find especially when it's div1 footy your trying to entice them with, but if you can land someone it would be a huge piece of the puzzle to gain promotion.

Craigieburn-had Clokes, however they moved on. If they were to hold both of them they would have done better in premier no doubt.
EDS- Wallis as coach, with a handy player in Shylo.

APW- a few years ago had Harris and co which saw them gain promotion.

No current div1 club has set up this way.

It's always easy to blame the coach in these situations. What's the accountability of the players as they have a decent list with some players surely on good coin for div1. Would probably guess they would have a few names if a list of the 10 highest paid players in div1 were announced.
I guess if a club in div1 is serious about having a decent crack at winning it and going up that club must find a premier coach or a playing assistant that can, and is willing to play premier footy and be a competitive beast. Preferably a midfielder..
However these types are not easy to find especially when it's div1 footy your trying to entice them with, but if you can land someone it would be a huge piece of the puzzle to gain promotion.

Craigieburn-had Clokes, however they moved on. If they were to hold both of them they would have done better in premier no doubt.
EDS- Wallis as coach, with a handy player in Shylo.

APW- a few years ago had Harris and co which saw them gain promotion.

No current div1 club has set up this way.

And not just hard to find a player like this to play div1 but you would need to offer around 1500, and do clubs have that coin to spend on 1 player? However 1 good beast who can lead the group is sometimes better than 2 players who dont preform regularly enough at a high standard.

DC's problem is the players his recruited. They have all been slow midfielders or key Fwds. If you look at there side last year they were slow in the mid and very small down back. Sides with big Fwds and pace in the midfield killed them.
This year they failed to rectifie this. Didn't recruit and key defenders and the midfield is still slow. What's making it worse is that they fwd line which has always been very potent has struggled apart from Church.
Westie arent that far away if they get there recruiting right with the types of players they need.
Clubs need to Start recruiting players that will help fill holes in there list
The only club who does this is Tulla. They recruit relative no name players who fill those holes. That's why they stay successful. Glenroy have started doing this and are looking stronger.
You can just recruit the best players and hope they will win you flags because most years it's the bottom 6-7 players will determine the premiership. With a very knowledgable coach.

Anyone see the Tulla v TL game yesterday ? Interesting result to say the least
Did u attend Billy? Great win by Lakes at the Tulla fortress... Really tightening up now very exciting run to the finals in this div it seems Glenroy are the July un backable favourites anyone care to share their opinions on this div? Very quiet on this thread considering the eveness of the top 6 or so

On SM-G935F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Did u attend Billy? Great win by Lakes at the Tulla fortress... Really tightening up now very exciting run to the finals in this div it seems Glenroy are the July un backable favourites anyone care to share their opinions on this div? Very quiet on this thread considering the eveness of the top 6 or so

On SM-G935F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Hey mate, this Division does still seem to be up for grabs.
Even Taylor's Lakes could make a late charge going on current form!
My question still remains as to which club if and when the opportunity presents itself is in the best position to take the big step required if they did win the last game of the 2017 season!
As a matter of interest which local club do you follow in the region?
Who is your pick to win the big one in this division?

Hey mate, this Division does still seem to be up for grabs.
Even Taylor's Lakes could make a late charge going on current form!
My question still remains as to which club if and when the opportunity presents itself is in the best position to take the big step required if they did win the last game of the 2017 season!
As a matter of interest which local club do you follow in the region?
Who is your pick to win the big one in this division?
Management and setup wise not sure. Team player wise, I would think that what ever club won they would need to recruit at least 10 to 15 players that can already play at the premier division level.

That brings an interesting point up. The EPL give clubs that are being promoted to the top division a S..T load of money to help them setup and get players required to play at that level. I am not suggesting that the EDFL give a club being promoted to premier division the whole amount to get 10 to 15 players but, they should have some scope to provide some assistance to the club being promoted.

This could stop the yo-yoing that we see this year with Craigieburn.

Management and setup wise not sure. Team player wise, I would think that what ever club won they would need to recruit at least 10 to 15 players that can already play at the premier division level.

That brings an interesting point up. The EPL give clubs that are being promoted to the top division a S..T load of money to help them setup and get players required to play at that level. I am not suggesting that the EDFL give a club being promoted to premier division the whole amount to get 10 to 15 players but, they should have some scope to provide some assistance to the club being promoted.

Good luck getting cash out of the war chest
They could at least give them an extra say 10 points to play with

Good luck getting cash out of the war chest
They could at least give them an extra say 10 points to play with

Can't believe I'm saying this but I agree with Billy and think 12 extra points in first year then down to 6 in the second is fair. I wouldn't increase the cap for the promoted club as they will probably struggle to pay the whole amount as is..

My suggestion would be for the EDFL to come up with some money to help the promoted club. But, I certainly agree with the increased option as well.

How about lowering their points to say 38-40. Then they will have room next season when they are promoted.

That doesn't make sense. How can you lower a teams points the year before promotion? You don't know who is going to win the lower division to be promoted.

I'm talking about the whole division. It should be lower. 38-40 for divy 1 and 35-40 for divy 2. Allows for more juniors to play with some gun recruits to top up the list

Something definitely needs to be done.
The obvious choice is to make a structured increase in the points cap for the team being promoted which would allow for the influx of top end talent required to be competitive in Premier Division with a structured reduction in the points cap over a set period of time.

My point is also around having the funds and expertise to structure the club to make it ready for premier division. That is where the EDFL needs to step in and provide assistance.

Big news out of westmeadows dc is out but wil coach the remainder of the year, also heard a rumour that Anthony Leyden has been sacked can anyone confirm this???