EDFL Moves Part 3

i don't care about marby but all you serial big footy heads could not wait until marby fell over and when they succeeded you could not wait to put sh1t on them. now since there recruiting strong all you knobs still give them heaps. i reckon they spent more money recruiting there 08 team then they did recruiting this years team. (my opinion), broadbent,ayres,3 keilor boys, also the left overs from b grade team, kinnear, palmer, and a few other local footballers.
some clubs should watch marby, keilor, greenvale, and learn something about operating football departments.

i can go on and talk about all clubs but i'll wait for the bites.

long time observer and now ready to knock you big footy tragics over with the truth.

I think you'll find that most people that waffle on and whinge about player payments are 'generally' from a few certain groups - B Grade clubs frustrated at how far off the top of A grade they are, Lower performing A grade clubs with similar frustrations and old-school fans of local footy that just refuse to move with the times.

My point being that you're no going to change the opinions of these people with your apparent 'truth'. I can almost guarantee that only a few short years ago it (if this forum was around) it would have been Marby people on here complaining about the big spending clubs of that era.

It's just life. As much as it is interesting to some degree to know who is getting paid what...... who really cares.

I've been around footy long enough to know that the estimates that are put on here by outsiders are almost always blown out. But on the other side everyone likes to think that their club isn't spending stupid amounts of money on individuals.

Sorry about the extended dribble - but in summary, money is now a part of footy, either embrace it and try and find some or settle in for a long stint in B grade or the bottom half of A grade.

I think you'll find that most people that waffle on and whinge about player payments are 'generally' from a few certain groups - B Grade clubs frustrated at how far off the top of A grade they are, Lower performing A grade clubs with similar frustrations and old-school fans of local footy that just refuse to move with the times.

My point being that you're no going to change the opinions of these people with your apparent 'truth'. I can almost guarantee that only a few short years ago it (if this forum was around) it would have been Marby people on here complaining about the big spending clubs of that era.

It's just life. As much as it is interesting to some degree to know who is getting paid what...... who really cares.

I've been around footy long enough to know that the estimates that are put on here by outsiders are almost always blown out. But on the other side everyone likes to think that their club isn't spending stupid amounts of money on individuals.

Sorry about the extended dribble - but in summary, money is now a part of footy, either embrace it and try and find some or settle in for a long stint in B grade or the bottom half of A grade.

spot on.

How is everyone pre season looking.

spot on.

How is everyone pre season looking.

Judging by what's been posted on here and word around the traps I think this could be one of the best quality comps we've ever had in both A and B grade.

Marby are the front runners but GV, SM and KL are nipping at the heels with some aggressive recruiting... It also looks like a few of the middle rung teams of A grade have recruited okay with DS, AH and CB all having a go...

As for B grade if you listen to PV they have their name on the trophy... But Tulla, APW, Roys, KP and others have all been active in the off season and it could be closer than they think....

i'm pretty sure that holland did not come in the clubs top 15 in the b&f, sutcliffe from avondale carried his team and carey played about 7 games. i think two names i mentioned are from reputation. michael no hope of playing for a-h same as the velvet sledge hammer. good call on broadbent but hartigan i believe did not deliver (could be wrong)
any truth that lucas is getting $50k for 10 games plus finals, a little pay cut on his behalf but is that possible. just 1 more from me, the ugly twins that left greenvale did they get the boot for trying to make money on the side or is that crap.

Not sure about Lucas...and very much doubt anyone could give you a factual response anyway.

Super was desperate Pekes x2 to stay so i think you may be wrong on that.
Some very good posts recently. Whether people like it or not money is part of local footy and if you want success at your club do something about it, rather than jumping on the net and panning the Marbys, Keilors and Greenvales. Should be a great year for the edfl.

Out of curiosity when do clearances open?

Definitely agree that money is part of football and always will be (and should be), but I think the issue is how much of a part it should be playing.

Money should not just be accepted as the only way of being successful. Marbi at the moment have the most money and are therefore winning and will continue to win premierships, so in that respect they are successful and good luck to them. No doubt they have recruited gun players that win games which is good for the competetion. But if you gave every club 1 million bucks each year there is still only ever going to be 1 premier - hence every club must improve in all aspects of a club, not just in attracting guns.

I hope this isn't considered a dig at marby either, because its not. I've said a number of times that you can't spite them for using money to get out of being a struggling club in b-grade to become the force of the comp. And well done on improving their junior program as well.

Without naming clubs, I'll highlight a few problems I have with the moeny side of football which I know have happened:

- players being poached from other clubs in the comp. This should not happen, players should only leave if they want to leave and not be thrown money.
- promising junior players being approached with offers of money. This i know has happened to at least 1 douttas junior U/16 player who was at Cannons and a U16 abers player..and that's just what i know about.
- money being used to pay u18 players.
- money resulting in a top heavy comp where a few clubs smash the rest

So yes, I agree money is and should be a part of EDFL but that does not mean the way in which clubs use it should not come under scrutiny and ideas like the points system, where clubs are rewarded for having junior players come through to seniors, must be pushed for, so money can become secondary to developing juniors etc.

back to work :)

I don't know how anyone can say these guys should be playing for free.

How the hell are they supposed to feed themselves?

I'd love to see people telling a plumber he should be working for free.

I don't know how anyone can say these guys should be playing for free.

How the hell are they supposed to feed themselves?

I'd love to see people telling a plumber he should be working for free.

I don't think anyone's saying they should play for free. People more get disappointed when a player leaves a club he's been at since he was a young boy to go to a rival for a bigger pay packet.
The players all tend have jobs or study during the week so if they weren't getting paid they'd be fine but they also are jeopardising their jobs by playing footy which is why it warrants getting a payment for it.

Whether people like it or not money is part of local footy and if you want success at your club do something about it, rather than jumping on the net and panning the Marbys, Keilors and Greenvales.

Agree that money is a part of local football now. What I don't agree with is how clubs like Marby and Strathmore fund their player payments.

Having a bloke come down and use your club as his play thing isn't building a succesful club. In telling people to "do something about it", what should other clubs do about it? Stick a "For Sale" sign in the centre circle and hope the bloke who comes along has deeper pockets than Allison?

The succesful clubs clubs should be those who build strong, community based clubs who attract crowds to put money through the bar and engage local businesses in mutual beneficial sponsership arrangements, using this cash to fund their football departments. And full credit to Marby for trying to do this now that they have a kick start, I am not having a dig at the loyal blokes down there, they are just the most extreme example we have seen.

Whilst ever club has blokes who chuck a bit in because they enjoy the place, being funded almost solely by one mans money is nothing but luck.

Agree that money is a part of local football now. What I don't agree with is how clubs like Marby and Strathmore fund their player payments.

Having a bloke come down and use your club as his play thing isn't building a succesful club. In telling people to "do something about it", what should other clubs do about it? Stick a "For Sale" sign in the centre circle and hope the bloke who comes along has deeper pockets than Allison?

The succesful clubs clubs should be those who build strong, community based clubs who attract crowds to put money through the bar and engage local businesses in mutual beneficial sponsership arrangements, using this cash to fund their football departments. And full credit to Marby for trying to do this now that they have a kick start, I am not having a dig at the loyal blokes down there, they are just the most extreme example we have seen.

Whilst ever club has blokes who chuck a bit in because they enjoy the place, being funded almost solely by one mans money is nothing but luck.

I get your point... I think that you kind of give the solution in your post too though. IF clubs are funded by one person and rise and fall on that person's willingness to contribute then long term success will not be acheived. Therefore if other clubs build strong relationships with sponsors and slowly build the amount of money available to the football dept then eventually those clubs will be the ones coming back around at the top of the ladder.

GV is the most recent example of this kind of sponsorship (contrary to some peoples opinion) as they have numerous large sponsors. But Keilor is the best example of the last 10+ years as they have rarely missed finals and have had consistent additions to the trophy cabinet. It can be done.

Most clubs are not in the position to go for the accelerated success like Marby have. But if they use their success to draw more sponsors then maybe they will be able to maintain it....

Please don't compare Strathmore with Marby Abers.

One club has 16 junior sides which financially, contributes a significant amount to the clubs coffers. The other doesn't.

One club has been strong over a long period of time and has always had a core group of players that have played at the club since juniors. Now I';m not saying they haven't recruited, but they always have a good number of 'home grown' players.

Both clubs have terrific sponsors and people within the club whose specific task is getting sponsorship money into the club.

It's probably also fair to say that the two clubs draw more spectators than VFL sides, so money over the bar and through the canteen also provide a solid revenue base.

I'm sure if Abers had some wealthy supporters and significant support from sponsors, you wouldn't be complaining and you wouldn't be the perenial underachievers that you are.

The EDFL is now one of the best local leagues in Victoria, Marby, Keilor, Strathmore and Greenvale have made it so.

Please don't compare Strathmore with Marby Abers.

The EDFL is now one of the best local leagues in Victoria, Marby, Keilor, Strathmore and Greenvale have made it so.

I think you missed the point 'Abers' was making - which is that it is down to good fortune in a lot of respects aka Hille and GA? Look back to the early 2000's and Strathmore were all but relegated only to somehow get a miracle win over Keilor. You guys had been terrible at utilising your juniors and bringing them into seniors and nearly paid the heaviest price. I think that scared the Mores so much and the spending spree under Hille soon after began as well as success.

This league is strong for a lot more reasons than just 4 clubs mate and short memories like yours are the reason we have to continue to work to make it even better.

I think you missed the point 'Abers' was making - which is that it is down to good fortune in a lot of respects aka Hille and GA? Look back to the early 2000's and Strathmore were all but relegated only to somehow get a miracle win over Keilor. You guys had been terrible at utilising your juniors and bringing them into seniors and nearly paid the heaviest price. I think that scared the Mores so much and the spending spree under Hille soon after began as well as success.

This league is strong for a lot more reasons than just 4 clubs mate and short memories like yours are the reason we have to continue to work to make it even better.
strathmore are a great club, hille was a good coach and great motivator not just a money man

He coached them to back to back premierships and played a number of home grown kids such as campbell, may, both watts, robson, capewell etc. Was not having a dig at Strathmore or Hille, just trying to clarify what the other bloke was saying and to reject any suggestion that 4 clubs are the reason for the EDFL being such a great league.

I would just like to add to this discussion by saying that clubs who struggle to raise the funds required to be successful at the very top of this competition are not sh!t clubs. All clubs are doing all that they can to ensure success.

My biggest gripe with Marby is not related to their success. Fantastic. Good on you and I wish you all the best. My old Friend Mick Doran is firmly entrenched down there.

But you have forgotten where you were a few years ago. And there are guys on here potting clubs that were thumping them in B Grade not that long ago.

That is the crux of the matter. Humble in defeat they were. Great bunch of blokes to have a beer with. Humble in success...well not on here at least.

glenroy
out : adam sayers
ins : /trav dulic/jarrad cox/aaron kite/danny campbell/brett pitts/brent jefferies/pier haddad/rodney carruthers/paul westgarth/nazir abbouche /damien caulfield/matty baker /travis anderson

would like to here the ins /outs of other teams as the b grade competition is going to good to watch this year

glenroy
ins : /trav dulic/jarrad cox/aaron kite/danny campbell/brett pitts/brent jefferies/pier haddad/rodney carruthers/paul westgarth/nazir abbouche /damien caulfield/matty baker /travis anderson

would like to here the ins /outs of other teams as the b grade competition is going to good to watch this year

Paul Westgarth from Epping????
thought he was a 2's player

glenroy

Dulic played last year , i dont think that all those ins are certain starters from what ive heard , its a strange time of year for new recruits . Hows danny campbell moving ?

Is it true that Aaron Ramsay has walked out on Doutta Stars ?
whisper is he has signed with Keilor along with Pearce and Hill from Avondale and Van Reit from Abers..???

Ramsay will be a very handy addition to the Keilor Side if true.

Pearce and Hill - Average players that are very overrated

Van Reit should be a gun with better players around him - Sorry Abers but true