EDFL moves

Oaks are back :D:D:D

Funcky on fire with 8 goals
Rayza was good along wit Ras, Hatchy and Trewin. Brooks is overated even though he alomost won the game for the crazys in the third - craigeburn will get relegated

Was a good win by oakers, dunno about brooks being overated he'd be one of the best running around in the edfl u F@#king goose! And as for c'burn gettin relegated, dont get to carried away pal use hav won one game and use think use are king dick! Move on shit thing!

You are WAY off the mark here mate. Marby Park are not a rich financial club. They are only a 26 year old club, with limited geographic family areas to get Juniors through the ranks making it hard.

People have to get clear. The only reason there a Senior players who get paid well is because they have a coach & his father that donate every year on PURELY MATCH PAYMENTS alone. The club begs to ask them if they can contribute a portion of the money to facilities, rooms, junior developtment, etc, but unfortunately it is there money and that is the way they want to spend it.
If I was donating $100K per year, I would at least give the club $20 - $40K to have nicer facilities and donate towards a more even playing surface.

In the Under 18 topic I heard they had 19 players,18,17,19 and then 13 to the cold week a fortnight ago. From all reports I heard they tried their guts out leaving pamphlets and school, offering incentives.

It is up to the league to ASSIST the club in everyway possible to get a team. Metropolitan Junior Football is a sport and not a business and the powerhouse clubs who have excessive kids missing out everyweekend for games should have day transfers for their players to play at the sides with low numbers like Marby Park.

Whatever happen to the days of helping each other out and looking after one another? The big guy's looking after the little guy's.
I can see it is selfish for any club or person not to promote a kid to play footy and have a kick with a team like Marby Park only if they are missing out on a spot in their club. THEY ARE STILL 16, 17 & 18 old kids and are much better playing football then not getting a game with their mates & just watching hanging around.

If the league contacted these clubs, organised match-day transfers, set guidelines up for Marby's club to accomodate them and then the boys still return to train with their own clubs and even improve their chances of getting selected at their OWN club the week after.

Personal greed is ruining Junior sport.

You are way off the mark, Abers had an agreement only about 3 years ago for extra u/18's players to go down and play for Marbi, I should know I played a few games in the red, blue and yellow. Abers then were going to offer marbi a team in every age group, but instead of capitilising Marbi wanted Abers to just 'clear' players to them so dont complain when the shit hits the fan now. You made your bed, now lie in it.

You are WAY off the mark here mate. Marby Park are not a rich financial club. They are only a 26 year old club, with limited geographic family areas to get Juniors through the ranks making it hard.

People have to get clear. The only reason there a Senior players who get paid well is because they have a coach & his father that donate every year on PURELY MATCH PAYMENTS alone. The club begs to ask them if they can contribute a portion of the money to facilities, rooms, junior developtment, etc, but unfortunately it is there money and that is the way they want to spend it.
If I was donating $100K per year, I would at least give the club $20 - $40K to have nicer facilities and donate towards a more even playing surface.

In the Under 18 topic I heard they had 19 players,18,17,19 and then 13 to the cold week a fortnight ago. From all reports I heard they tried their guts out leaving pamphlets and school, offering incentives.

It is up to the league to ASSIST the club in everyway possible to get a team. Metropolitan Junior Football is a sport and not a business and the powerhouse clubs who have excessive kids missing out everyweekend for games should have day transfers for their players to play at the sides with low numbers like Marby Park.

Whatever happen to the days of helping each other out and looking after one another? The big guy's looking after the little guy's.
I can see it is selfish for any club or person not to promote a kid to play footy and have a kick with a team like Marby Park only if they are missing out on a spot in their club. THEY ARE STILL 16, 17 & 18 old kids and are much better playing football then not getting a game with their mates & just watching hanging around.

If the league contacted these clubs, organised match-day transfers, set guidelines up for Marby's club to accomodate them and then the boys still return to train with their own clubs and even improve their chances of getting selected at their OWN club the week after.

Great reply old timer.

Every club is in the same boat, the committee at your local footy club has the final say. Yes, everyone thanks there local sponors, but does that allow them to run the club! I think not, we all know Glen couldn't coach at under 16 level but contiues to due to his daddy's pocket.
If this is the case with there fines, they will not be around much longer. $11,000 is a huge amount of money, the money men will not be paying that and l know for a fact.

Clubs that have got back to basics and done it hard way to make a foundation for there long term committment to the EDFL and footy followers we all thank you all. As l said time we tell and it has.
The club needs to take a stand and demand that all parties work together, for the club and it's future. If Money men can't handle it, then l suggest you F*** off. People who come and go from clubs l don't understand, look after the jnrs of your footy club and the rewards will come within time.

The standard has been raised in the EDFL, l agree with that but within the right manner. Clearly the people with the money couldn't give a flying F*** about the history and long term life of the club. Shit people with there own agenda.

yeah right!

the excess kids at the A Grade clubs dont want to go to Marbi as they would rather support their mates at their current clubs. Marbi has spoilt its reputatiopn by going out paying well over the odds for "good" local footballers. At least 5 years ago when they weren't a strong side on the field they had respect and heart built by club people such as the Agrestas, Gilpins, Bangits etc. but now they are the most hated club in the league both grades. When we lost in round 3 which was disapointing as we had the game won your supporters turned on its own players but completly changed when the siren rang, very two faced.
Personally a club like Marbi is needed for the strangth of the league due to its location and potential rivarly with clubs like Avondale Heights but the money train has spoilt that and they would be the most hunted side some time. Greenvale spend up big but they show a respect for other clubs and work hard at building a "club" with professionalism Marbi never had, its going to be tough for Marbi to make finals now with the run but if you do good effort if not would be the biggest disgrace in sport for some time due to the team established and money spent to get it.

Was a good win by oakers, dunno about brooks being overated he'd be one of the best running around in the edfl u F@#king goose! And as for c'burn gettin relegated, dont get to carried away pal use hav won one game and use think use are king dick! Move on shit thing!

sorry it was a tongue in cheek comment cause Brooks is a top player and as i said nearly got them right back in it, i knew id stir someone from up the highway enjoy b grade next yr;)

Big game this week for the boys Abers on Sunday at abers. This is very much a must win to stay in touch with the top 4 as we near the halfway mark.Abers in good form beating west Coburg,Strathmore and Keilor in the last few weeks and Marby being more than competitive without getting over the line. Should be a really highly skillful and quick flowing game as both sides liketo run and carry the footy. Should be a big crowd down there and hopefully the boys can come home with the 4 points! Thoughts on this game or any other games being played this weekend?

The problem with the EDFL is that the stronger more financially stable clubs are increasing in wealth and what not...whilst the lower end clubs (which in fact show potential in "some" age groups) are becoming weaker.

Clubs cant help themselves, but what is the EDFL doing to help save the league??

surely this league could be much stronger if we saw clubs being more competitive in all age groups and divisions.

should clubs merge?? and more division be made??

is there any help or promotion from the EDFL in these matters??

sorry it was a tongue in cheek comment cause Brooks is a top player and as i said nearly got them right back in it, i knew id stir someone from up the highway enjoy b grade next yr;)

Yeh u still said his overated and you've seen him play one game! im not even from c'burn ________ jus an old friend of brooksys n hav seen him play alot n know how good he is! And last time i checked use were sittin bottom of the ladder so i wouldnt be tellin c'burn to enjoy b grade next year! use beta recruit well next year use wil struggle in b grade! Next time speak when ur spat on dog!

The EDFL didnt let Abers field a second u18s team this year because
they said those kids would go to Marby. WRONG. Abers miss out on having a second team even though they had close to 50 kids down there in preseason.Half those kids are playing at St Bernards or getting weekend clearances to play at St Bernards if they miss out on a game. Thought that having clubs field 2 under18 teams would be good for the league???

Yeh u still said his overated and you've seen him play one game! im not even from c'burn ________ jus an old friend of brooksys n hav seen him play alot n know how good he is! And last time i checked use were sittin bottom of the ladder so i wouldnt be tellin c'burn to enjoy b grade next year! use beta recruit well next year use wil struggle in b grade! Next time speak when ur spat on dog!

I think u should change ur name to Mr Rude. U have taken some angry pills or sumthin didn't realise you live with Brooksy, no need to be so angry just cause use got pumped on he wknd:D:D

Geez Whiz, there been a lot said about Marby over the last day about the under 18 situation, the club financial postion etc etc, some of it true, alot of it bull and made up.

Looking foward to this week game vs Abers played on Sunday at Abers, my tip is Marby by 5 goals

and Go Marby!!!

With 6 rounds done, how are the teams going? Greenvale still clear favorite? Any underdogs this season? Is there any roughies who could squeeze into that top 4?

Any thoughts?

You are way off the mark, Abers had an agreement only about 3 years ago for extra u/18's players to go down and play for Marbi, I should know I played a few games in the red, blue and yellow. Abers then were going to offer marbi a team in every age group, but instead of capitilising Marbi wanted Abers to just 'clear' players to them so dont complain when the shit hits the fan now. You made your bed, now lie in it.

I know what you are saying mate, but it is the EDFL's repsonsibility to set guidelines and infrustructure so everything is put in place from early on to avoid what happen when you played. It would of been much better if this was set- up so Marby and the B Grade clubs who U/18' teams struggle to field a team get to play sport. In the meantime the other strong U/18 teams get a game and might win by 15 goals & not 35 - 40 (where it gives them no footy developing).
With negative posts like your FOOTBALL is the only LOSER.
Hopefully, what happened 3 years ago with my favourite club Abers should of had a structure by the EDFL which seems doubtful that they do anything productive really.

Who made it from abers? Matt Duggan, Mckee?

I must admit i havent seen too much of Marby, but do they deserve 5 players in the squad. I guess we will find out how good those players are down at clifton park.

Also to the nimwit who stated geography as a reason for Marbys poor 18's turnout, it is exactly the same with abers and douttas. They are all close to each other its just that abers and douttas have spent resources on building themselves into family clubs and that is what parents look for when choosing a club for their child. If GA really wanted to help the club, then he would invest in the issues off field so they will be able to sustain themselves as a club when he leaves. At this rate they will be in real strife once he takes the money out of there.

Any ideas for a possible line up???

Wichello, Vernon, Jorgenson
Tate, Little, Randello
Ayres, Haucher(c), Houlihan
Laverde, Carey, Pekes
Nolan, Sheppard, Bicer

Foll - Brooks, Kuret, Marcy

Best EDFL team possible

B: Obst Little Trewin
HB: Randello Jorgenson Owen
C: Ayres Peakes Raso
HF: Harvey Carey Doering
F: Bloomfield Houlihan Bicer
R: Brookes Houcher Kuret

Inter Winter Peterson Marcy Aloi Boake Shep Armstrong Potter

I know all these guys aren't firing but they are the best I reckon

Best EDFL team possible

B: Obst Little Trewin
HB: Randello Jorgenson Owen
C: Ayres Peakes Raso
HF: Harvey Carey Doering
F: Bloomfield Houlihan Bicer
R: Brookes Houcher Kuret

Inter Winter Peterson Marcy Aloi Boake Shep Armstrong Potter

I know all these guys aren't firing but they are the best I reckon

I agree with most of it but cant believe you would ever have Brookes ahead of McKee especially on current form. McKee is dominating this year! Also Duggan, Houli, Peterson and Egan could all quite easily be in but its difficult to take anyone out of that team...but being an abers person i thought id include them ;). Duggan has been in awesome form so id definitely have him in. Also to be fair, Dale May from strathmore, Leigh Gray from Marbi are great players.

After much difficulty, I've managed to get a hold of the 2008 Interleague squads..

2008 E.D.F.L. SENIOR INTERLEAGUE SQUAD INVITATIONS

“A Grade”

Aberfeldie – Shane Shepherd, Michael Egan

Avondale Heights – Leigh Owen, Rhodes Cousland

Craigieburn – Barry Brooks, Daniel Nolan, Brent Gordon

Doutta Stars – Kade Carey, James Philpott

Greenvale – Ramazan Pekes, Denis Bicer, Travis Jorgensen,
Rhys Bloomfield, Eric Kuret, Vin Randello, Anthony Aloi

Keilor – Michael James, Damian Zahra, Damian Houlihan, Ricky Marcy,
James Armstrong

Maribyrnong Park – Leigh Gray, Heath Ayres, Shannon Broadbent,
Mark Pilling, Joe Laverde

Oak Park – Frank Raso, Wayne Foster, Steve Vernon

Strathmore – Richard Little, Tim Harvey, Jordan Doering, Nick Mazzeo

West Coburg – Rabee Haouchar, Elver Destanovic

"B Grade"

Airport West – Leigh Fishendon, Mark McBride, Rick McVeigh,
Scott McAllister

East Keilor – Cameron Munro, Reuben Smith, Kyle Ewart, Nick Grigg

Glenroy – Dan Campbell, Michael Salt, Adam Sayers

Hadfield – Yousef Taleb, Matthew Baker

Jacana – Justin Mall

Keilor Park – Evan Gulbis

Moonee Valley – Matt Thomas, Aaron McCutchison

Northern Saints – Ashley Mills, Adrian Luvara

Pascoe Vale – Michael Mannix, Steve Gamble, Matthew Perry

Roxburgh Park – Matthew Patane

Sydenham Hillside – Jarrod Catania

Taylors Lakes – Patrick Wiggins, Mark De Sousa, Mark Allen,
Mark Anderson

Tullamarine – Jason Harmes, Justin Marcy, Colin Laurie, Drew Hynninen,
Tom Robinson

Westmeadows – Nathan Ohlsen, Andrew McLean, Rode Aldridge, Tim Okines

Some interesting selections...

After much difficulty, I've managed to get a hold of the 2008 Interleague squads..

Glenroy – Dan Campbell, Michael Salt, Adam Sayers

Surely Jon kent very unlucky not to get an invitation what more does he have to do.

Kent has been great for Glenroy this year.. very stiff not to get an invite. Interesting to note how young the B Grade list is, in comparison to the A Grade list.

Perri (Pascoe Vale) is an interesting selection, while Cameron Hare (Tullamarine) could consider himself pretty unlucky not to get a gig. Can anyone also give any information on Neilson from Tullamarine? Is in the goals or best week in, week out.. any details?