EDFL moves

FYI guys, Mick did not recruit Scott to the Club, he is good mates with a couple of boys at KFC hence why he came down for a kick. He has been brilliant and he is part of the reason the club is taking steps into the right direction.

Mick is a great Coach and he gets the best out of his list. He knows what to do with what he has got.

Remember Keilor Lost almost 25 players from last years list. (inlcuding retirements) And you all were saying Keilor will be playing in B Grade next year?

Keilor to date have recovered well but have not achieved anything as yet. Keilor have also had upto 65 players on their list !!! So you can not put there success down to the recruiting (it does help) but rather how Mick has developed his whole list. Keilor did not recruit 40 players!!!!
Guess the question is - Are the best 10 recuits better than the best 10 who decided to jump ship?

Great day for the EDFL at Cramer st

Kade Carey put on the best local individual display I have ever seen. It will be remember and talked about for years to come.

Guess the question is - Are the best 10 recuits better than the best 10 who decided to jump ship?

Mate to be honest i don't think that 10 recruits are even playing in the ones? I am not 100% on that either. But what i do know is that the blokes who left have only given other guys an opportunity to play some good footy. Iy is local boys who are once again playing some great footy and not leaving it up to Recruits to win them games

You're right the locals are playing some good footy under McGuane.
The question still stands - my best 10 outs would be - Condos, Cooper, Whichello, Towner, Buttigeig, Knesevic, Bailey, Gauchi, Kelly, Rowgouski.
Ins playing 1's - Prowse, Houlihan, Dann, Armstrong, Johnson, Moloney, Sahlberg, Moore, Hurst.

Pretty slack by both EDFL and NFL - neither have scores / best players and goal kickers up on the web site !:thumbsdown: All everyone seems to know is that Carey had a day out.

here you go mate

A Grade
EDFL 21.14.140 defeated NFL 14.11.95
EDFL (Best): Kade Carey, Anthony Aloi, Micka James, James Phillpot, Heath Ayres, Ray Harrison
EDFL (Goals): Kade Carey (10), Ray Harrison (4), Daniel Nolan (2), Denis Bicer, Leigh Owen, Joe Laverde, Cameron Trewin, Chris Smith
NFL (Best): Shane Harvey, Jason Dean, Daniel Sage, Jarrod King, Leigh Gilbert, Billy Morrison
NFL (Goals): Shane Harvey (9), Leigh Gilbert, Daniel McFerran, Josh Merkel, Steve Saddington, Derryn Stanley.

B Grade
EDFL 11.12.78 defeated NFL 3.3 6.4 7.6 10.8.68
EDFL (Best): Tim Okines, Matthew Perri, Leigh Fishenden, Andrew McLean, Col Laurie, Jonathon Kent
EDFL (Goals): Jonathon Kent 4, Tobi O’Meara 3, Matthew Perri 2, Jason Harmes, Roden Aldrige
NFL (Best): Brad Hollow, Andy Knee, Joel Baillie, Shane Tennant, Jeremy Bennett, David Folino
NFL (Goals): Aaron Willitts (3), David Folino (2), Andy Knee, Andrew Bennett, Anthony Calafiore, Billy Barden, Jermey Bennett

Weres O neill from glenroy i thought he was a definte starter

didnt warrant an invite to the squad, wasnt up to it i guess, regardless of the broken hand.
the boys did well, so rooney and his staff must of done something right.
thought "Tank" mclean was BOG easily, when they were down he lifted them big time back into the game, got plenty of it all day.
carey was awesome in the a grade, worth admission plus more, wheels aloi forgot to leave his footy in the car, was illegal how many times he touched it, stiff he had 1 teammate play the games of all games or would of got medal for sure.
was a good game to watch all round, plenty of class out there

didnt warrant an invite to the squad, wasnt up to it i guess, regardless of the broken hand.
the boys did well, so rooney and his staff must of done something right.
thought "Tank" mclean was BOG easily, when they were down he lifted them big time back into the game, got plenty of it all day.
carey was awesome in the a grade, worth admission plus more, wheels aloi forgot to leave his footy in the car, was illegal how many times he touched it, stiff he had 1 teammate play the games of all games or would of got medal for sure.
was a good game to watch all round, plenty of class out there
Probably didnt warrant a game, he is a bit to slow!

You're right the locals are playing some good footy under McGuane.
The question still stands - my best 10 outs would be - Condos, Cooper, Whichello, Towner, Buttigeig, Knesevic, Bailey, Gauchi, Kelly, Rowgouski.
Ins playing 1's - Prowse, Houlihan, Dann, Armstrong, Johnson, Moloney, Sahlberg, Moore, Hurst.

Prowse vs Whichello = Prowse
Cooper vs Johnson = Johnson
Condos vs Houlihan = Houlihan
Towner vs Armstrong = Armstrong
Moloney vs Kenzavic = Even (Both Guys get the ball when they want to)
Buttergeig vs Dann = Even (Both are superb)
Moore vs Rogo = Moore
Sahlberg vs Bailey (No great loss he was only here for 1 season) = Sahlberg
Hurst vs Kelly = Hurst
Gauci vs ? = Gauci has got an opportunity that was never given to him at Keilor by previous coaches.

So when I put it that way the recruits ahead of the outs. This is not bagging the guys who jumped ship but more congratulating the guys who have taken there place. These guys who are playing at there new clubs are going well and playing some good football and we all wish them all the best and no one at the club has any i'll feelings to them.

i also went down on saturday and had a look at the league match. the game was a tale of two unbelievable fowards. at one end you had one of the classiest footballers i have ever seen in shane harvey. firstly he made, clearly the worst player in the edfl side, whichello look like a slow second rate player. whichello might have been a junior sprint champion but he is certainly not that now, shane harvery towelled him. in whichellos defence mazzeo went onto him and did no better and it was only the edfl resurgance in the last 45 mins that curtailed harvey. even when you thought that harvey was finished for the day he kicked the best goal i have ever seen. he got the ball at half back and took six bounces and then snapped it from the cramer street hotel car park along the ground through 4 players legs for a goal. it was amazing.

at the other end kade carey has some of the best hands i have ever seen. sure he was getting some silver service in the end but he smashed what was an afl first round draft pick, who limped off with a losers limp late in the game. carey kicked 10 and took close to 20 marks. this game really highlighted how poor the doutta stars midfield has become, cause he would kick a hundred at either KE or GV.

other intesting points in the game were the quality of aloi in the middle. he was clearly the classiest player from the edfl. he racked them up all day, winning possesion in tight and out wide.

my best for the day was

carey
aloi
harrison; kicked four and added some pace to a slow edfl side. started slowly, finished well

bicer; quite early then had a massive last half when it was needed.

james; solid down back with some massive kicks out of defence.

raso. was the best of the hard at it midfield of the edfl. was tough right til the end but did have much more opportunity than haochar and pekes.

best moment of the day was the description of billy morrison from the northern football league record. "party boy that dominates on and off the field" well i put it to him that kade carey parties much harder than him on and off the field!

it was also a hightlight to see the real duck wayne carey down for the day!

Prowse vs Whichello = Prowse
Cooper vs Johnson = Johnson
Houlihan vs Condos = Houlihan
Towner vs Armstrong = Armstrong
Moloney vs Kenzavic = Even
Buttergeig vs Dann = Even (Both are superb)
Moore vs Rogo = Moore
Sahlberg vs Bailey = Sahlberg
Hurst vs Kelly = Hurst
Gauci vs ? = Gauci has got an opportunity that was never given to him at Keilor by previous coaches.

So when I put it that way the recruits ahead of the outs. This is not bagging the guys who jumped ship but more congratulating the guys who have taken there place. These guys who are playing at there new clubs are going well and playing some good football and we all wish them all the best and no one at the club has any i'll feelings to them.

i couldnt agree more with this statement. the players that left keilor have gotten alot better since they left. towner and whichello were just players on their departure and have since turned into guns because their names have been splashed on bigfooty. i doubt if those two would get a game a GV.

i also went down on saturday and had a look at the league match. the game was a tale of two unbelievable fowards. at one end you had one of the classiest footballers i have ever seen in shane harvey. firstly he made, clearly the worst player in the edfl side, whichello look like a slow second rate player. whichello might have been a junior sprint champion but he is certainly not that now, shane harvery towelled him. in whichellos defence mazzeo went onto him and did no better and it was only the edfl resurgance in the last 45 mins that curtailed harvey. even when you thought that harvey was finished for the day he kicked the best goal i have ever seen. he got the ball at half back and took six bounces and then snapped it from the cramer street hotel car park along the ground through 4 players legs for a goal. it was amazing.

at the other end kade carey has some of the best hands i have ever seen. sure he was getting some silver service in the end but he smashed what was an afl first round draft pick, who limped off with a losers limp late in the game. carey kicked 10 and took close to 20 marks. this game really highlighted how poor the doutta stars midfield has become, cause he would kick a hundred at either KE or GV.

other intesting points in the game were the quality of aloi in the middle. he was clearly the classiest player from the edfl. he racked them up all day, winning possesion in tight and out wide.

my best for the day was

carey
aloi
harrison; kicked four and added some pace to a slow edfl side. started slowly, finished well

bicer; quite early then had a massive last half when it was needed.

james; solid down back with some massive kicks out of defence.

raso. was the best of the hard at it midfield of the edfl. was tough right til the end but did have much more opportunity than haochar and pekes.

best moment of the day was the description of billy morrison from the northern football league record. "party boy that dominates on and off the field" well i put it to him that kade carey parties much harder than him on and off the field!

it was also a hightlight to see the real duck wayne carey down for the day!

I was suprised myself when I seen Whichello playing in the Interleague side? He is a very good player but I do not think he was ready to play in a game where it would of clearly been dominated by former VFL players. Also it is not Whichello fault that Harvey ran him ragged and towled him up. Super should of known better then to play talls on a classy small forward. The only reason why Shane Harvey was delisted of both AFL lists was because of his Off Field Issue and not his footbll ability!!! Bicer would of probably been the only player good enough to play on him.

So Super should have paid Harvey more respect.

But well done to the EDFL and Super. And Kade I hear you have played a game of a super star!!!!

I was suprised myself when I seen Whichello playing in the Interleague side? He is a very good player but I do not think he was ready to play in a game where it would of clearly been dominated by former VFL players. Also it is not Whichello fault that Harvey ran him ragged and towled him up. Super should of known better then to play talls on a classy small forward. The only reason why Shane Harvey was delisted of both AFL lists was because of his Off Field Issue and not his footbll ability!!! Bicer would of probably been the only player good enough to play on him.

But well done to the EDFL and Super. And Kade I hear you have played a game of a super star!!!!
Just wanted to say Kev Whichello has been fantastic for us at Marby this year takes the best forward nearly every week gives 100% evry time and 2nd and 3rd efforts and hard at it every contest! Everyone has there own opinions and thats fine but from playing ang watching him first hand this year cant fault him at all!

Didnt see the game, but did Joegenson play?? I reckon he could play tall or small.

Just wanted to say Kev Whichello has been fantastic for us at Marby this year takes the best forward nearly every week gives 100% evry time and 2nd and 3rd efforts and hard at it every contest! Everyone has there own opinions and thats fine but from playing ang watching him first hand this year cant fault him at all!

Whichello is a fantastic player no doubt about that, but to play him on Shane Harvey? Who was kidding themselves? Kev or Super?

Whichello has been great for Marby, Good Luck to him and the Marby Army

A superstar is Kade Carey confirmed what we all knew hes the best player in the league brilliant performance and i thought Frankie Ras was also great and showed how good a playa he is well done edfl on both games

k carey if he already didn't will have every club in the state after him next year, wonder if after winning this years GF by 12 goals greenvale will top up again and offer kade a $ he cant refuse. i very much hope he stays a star. you are a star kade.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

This week is set to be season defining for all clubs bar probably Greenvale.

Avondale V Greenvale

Greenvale should comfortably get the chocolates here and if they can shut down inter league reps in Harrison, Trewin and Owen they should win well. Greenvale have a few of their superstars still missing in Bloomfield (hammy) and Jorgo but they should easily account for the ever consistent Avondale Heights. The have surprised many this year Avondale and their ladder position (7th) doesn't really give a true account of how their season has been. Their midfield consisting of Cousland, Owen, McCough, Fransken and changing rucks in Trewin and Hopkins are workman like and will match it with most in the comp but Greenvale are just a cut above the rest and should win most of the contested footy. Avondale could expose the Jets around the ground as Potter isn't as dominant in the air as big Rhys is. Avondale have also held their in the back half and have the 4th least amount scored against however they do lack firepower up forward. If big Johnny Angel doesn't get a back and Trewin fails to chime in with a few, their only real other avenue to goal is through Harrison and this will be even harder on the weekend up against the strongest defence in the comp. Avondale should carbon copy Douttas gallant effort a fortnight ago and play basic man on man over the whole ground, it worked for Douttas for 3 quarters and then the Jets just kicked away. Greenvale to win by 35 points.

Marbi V West Coburg

Match of the round. Marbi's season is back on track after a huge win against 3rd placed Abers, the score really did flatter Abers in the end as they kicked 4 or 5 junk goals in the last quarter. If the Marbi that came out to play last Sunday turns up against the Burgers they should win, i got to witness superstar Rabee play a blinder against Craigieburn last start and he will be super pumped to put up another great captains game. West Coburg have certainly missed Elvy, Vizzini and Nicholson the last couple of weeks and Ash Flavel is playing under an injury cloud - if all of these prime movers are fit and firing West Coburg will run Marbi all the way. Marbi should get Shagga Broadbent back for his first game in a month however will be without consistent backman Kev Whichello who injured his hammy in the rep game apparently. Big BK found some form against Abers and I'm not sure who WC have to go with him, Benny Fletcher should return from his brothers wedding in overseas and is another key forward who could find himself on the end of plenty forward entries. Heir and Khouri are very reliable backman yet don't have the height to match the key forwards but are brilliant at rebounding from the back half, the one wild card for WC who is a real match winner on his day is Fidaa Ahmad and turned it on against Abers yet against Craigieburn dropped a couple of marks that he needed to take yet he still finds himself in the right positions most of the time and can be very elusive. This game could also be won on tactics and I'm sure the West Coburg coaching staff will be pumped for a big one and a much needed win to stay in touch with the four. The Marby Barby will sell plenty of snags on the weekend too. Marbi to win by 9 points.

Oak Park V Strathmore

Strathmore will be too strong here and they too got their season back on track with a come from behind win against Avondale, this is a game that Strathmore can't afford to lose as they need to stay in touch with the top half of the ladder. I'm tipping "Turtle" Wilkinson to have a day out as Oak Park really struggle in the hitouts, they have missed Sapiano and the likes of Sendecky and Co. just don't have the class to match it with the better ruckman in the comp. I'm sure the Mores are wrapped to have Robson back in the side as early on in the year Little, Bones and Mazzeo lacked support and Robson is a proven Centre Half Back and allows Mazzeo to create more which he is so good at. Oak Park need more avenues to goal and they have missed Albones hardness and experience, Foster is an unassuming forward but always kicks his share yet has little support, if Oak Park can get more goals from their midfielders (Boake aside) then they could shock Strathmore. Let's not forget they had Marbi on toast earlier in the year and then threw it away. I thinks Hatchy and Howard will have their work cut out on Winter and Harvey and then they also need to contain the best player in the comp "Doering" who has been in rare form this year. Strathmore will get over the top of Oaks in the second half as their forwards are much stronger than Oaks backs. Strathmore to win by 43 points.

Keilor V Craigieburn

Hasn't Mighty Mick sent a stern message to the doubters about his coaching ability and more importantly the quality of the Keilor list, the great thing about this club is their ability to have superior depth and loyal club people. Not that other clubs don't have it just Keilor seem to do it better than some of the others. When put into perspective, they ran Greenvale all the way in the first game and Abers were a touch quicker and wanted it more late in the game in Round 2. After that game Mick ordered the players to a 7am Brimbank "PAIN" session on the Sunday morning, the morning after Ricky Marcy's 300th celebrations mind you and it seems to have turned their season around. They are by far the form team of the comp and should account for the inconsistent Craigieburn. On paper the Eagles team is fantastic some of the new recruits in Brooks, Jacobs, Turners x 2 have been very consistent and solid contributors and the likes of Nolan, Pappin, Gordon and Butler have all had great years, mind you they still have several key players out in Saliba, Saad, O'Neil and Piggott. The midfield battle on the weekend will be a ripper - Dann, Moloney, Marcy and Fraser up against Ake, Jacobs, Gordon and Corouzou - Keilor should get the points here even though Brooks will account for the big bean pole in Johnson who doesn't do enough damage around the ground for his size. Keilor are the highest attacking side in the comp and i can't see the Eagles being able to combat the likes of James, Houlihan, Armstrong, Prowse, Moore and the resting midfielders. Keilor to win by 19 points.

Abers V Douttas.

Stop "DUCK" junior and Abers will win, he has a great record against Abers in the games he's played, he's only played against Abers twice in the last 2 years. The first game of 06 he kicked 11 big ones and if he does something similar Douttas will certainly push Abers. Douttas weakness this year has been their backline and this is where Abers can stretch the Stars. Abers to win by 8 points.

Marbi V West Coburg

Match of the round. Marbi's season is back on track after a huge win against 3rd placed Abers, the score really did flatter Abers in the end as they kicked 4 or 5 junk goals in the last quarter. If the Marbi that came out to play last Sunday turns up against the Burgers they should win, i got to witness superstar Rabee play a blinder against Craigieburn last start and he will be super pumped to put up another great captains game. West Coburg have certainly missed Elvy, Vizzini and Nicholson the last couple of weeks and Ash Flavel is playing under an injury cloud - if all of these prime movers are fit and firing West Coburg will run Marbi all the way. Marbi should get Shagga Broadbent back for his first game in a month however will be without consistent backman Kev Whichello who injured his hammy in the rep game apparently. Big BK found some form against Abers and I'm not sure who WC have to go with him, Benny Fletcher should return from his brothers wedding in overseas and is another key forward who could find himself on the end of plenty forward entries. Heir and Khouri are very reliable backman yet don't have the height to match the key forwards but are brilliant at rebounding from the back half, the one wild card for WC who is a real match winner on his day is Fidaa Ahmad and turned it on against Abers yet against Craigieburn dropped a couple of marks that he needed to take yet he still finds himself in the right positions most of the time and can be very elusive. This game could also be won on tactics and I'm sure the West Coburg coaching staff will be pumped for a big one and a much needed win to stay in touch with the four. The Marby Barby will sell plenty of snags on the weekend too. Marbi to win by 9 points.

Always seem to run out of snags and Go Marby.

Potter isn't as dominant in the air as big Rhys is.

I like reading your post but reckon your off the mark, IMO Potter is a much better contested mark than Bloomfield and a better ruckmen as well.

Potter isn't as dominant in the air as big Rhys is.

I like reading your post but reckon your off the mark, IMO Potter is a much better contested mark than Bloomfield and a better ruckmen as well.

Rhys is a bloody good mark and a super tap ruckman. Its hard to compare. Pottsy is having an absolute cracker of a year even better than last yr when he he was stellar at the business end of the year. His battles with Quinn last yr where fantastic and he held his own. At 22 look out over the next few years. He's got Rhys covered in the fitness stakes as he runs around like an extra midfielder. Rhys still has the potential win games off his own boot and was hitting peak form before his hammy