EDFL moves

Doutta Stars by 5 goals.
Could be along year abers:eek:[/quote

I said you had to beat them by 10 goals plus or back to B Grade.

See ya.......................................

Although you and Marbi could battle it out for the bottom rung!!!!!

How's the pub last night chubba chop?

Yeah they did but the scoreboard didn't really do justice to the game.Vermont overran them in the end and were without some key players aswell(matty greig etc..) :eek:scary !!!!.They are definately the best side outside afl/vfl in my mind and before anyone gets all hasty on that comment ive seen most teams around who are regarded in that group and vermont are way infront.Marby were missing some key big men which really hurt them but when they are at full strength and gel as a unit they will test most sides in div 1 this year.

Vermont had 10 of their best out and still won by 16 goals.

Very scary!!!!

Makin excuses already LOB? If you don't win tomorrow by 10 goals + wake up. St Bernard's were sh*thouse last year.

B Grade beckons for the blokes at Buckly!

Get some singlets made up for the 09 pre season

B2BGDS

Would sell.............. Three!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Marbo will smash you in Round 1 by 15 goals, although you should win the 10am and 12pm games.
well well macca29, I assume the 29 relates to your IQ ?? Really what would you know. Tell us what you really know about Rupo, jackshit I reckon. They are a very well drilled team and at full strength may have caused an upset and to be honest would give most A & B Grade teams a run for their money. Both teams were well below full strength and a little underdone but both coaches would have been happy with the output on the day. If you were allowed out on the weekends and took the drive up to Sunbury you would have witnessed two teams that will have a fair amount of success this year.:mad:

Ruppo couldn't make the Grand Final in C grade in 2007. They would need some good recruits to make top 4 in B grade ammos and would get nowhere near any A grade ammos sides (way too small). But they are a good slick C grade side, no doubt about that. Very hard running and well set up off the field.

Having seen Vermont play a lot and Greenvale a bit I would suggest given anything bar a quagmire and pissing down with rain, Vermont would be a 5-10 better side. Either leagues style is quite different, EDFL harder but slower, EFL quicker, better prepared, very VFL/AFL like in movement of ball, hard running, interchange rotations etc.

On Abers/St Mary's praccy match. i wouldn't get too disheartened if you are a two blues fan, i believe St Mary's will be the best football team in country Vic by a mile. the cattle they've got coupled with the coaching style (leading teams based style) would actually create an interesting contest between them and Vermont or a Balwyn.

Having seen Vermont play a lot and Greenvale a bit I would suggest given anything bar a quagmire and pissing down with rain, Vermont would be a 5-10 better side. Either leagues style is quite different, EDFL harder but slower, EFL quicker, better prepared, very VFL/AFL like in movement of ball, hard running, interchange rotations etc.

On Abers/St Mary's praccy match. i wouldn't get too disheartened if you are a two blues fan, i believe St Mary's will be the best football team in country Vic by a mile. the cattle they've got coupled with the coaching style (leading teams based style) would actually create an interesting contest between them and Vermont or a Balwyn.

Don't think the players and coaching staff are overly concerned about the weekends game as a lot can be taken out of it.

It was a great hitout played in good spirits and good to see former club legends Leigh Woods and Jason Casey back at Clifton Park albeit in opposition colours.

St. Mary's were very impressive and speaking to Woodsy before the game they are set for a huge year in the GFL. Their recruits are all quality and their rotations were awesome - i reckon they would have had a minimum of 20 rotations a quarter with midfield rotations predominately. They were quick, well drilled and efficient with their use of the footy.

It was Abers first real hit out for the year and a lot can be taken from it.

Impressive signs from McKee in the ruck (only played a half), Houli across half back, Rioli's use of the footy, Rocket Van Reit is going to be awesome this year for the two blues and Brad Nordhausen at FF proved he's going to be very hard to stop.

Players that missed on Saturday were - Aaron Lerm, Richie Cole, Gary Mongta, Aaron Willoughby, Clint Runnalls, Sammy Cartwright, Mark Murray, Pat Jess, Robbie Taylor, Jeremy Stevenson and Mark Worthington. Fair list there to come in!

Don't think the players and coaching staff are overly concerned about the weekends game as a lot can be taken out of it.

It was a great hitout played in good spirits and good to see former club legends Leigh Woods and Jason Casey back at Clifton Park albeit in opposition colours.

St. Mary's were very impressive and speaking to Woodsy before the game they are set for a huge year in the GFL. Their recruits are all quality and their rotations were awesome - i reckon they would have had a minimum of 20 rotations a quarter with midfield rotations predominately. They were quick, well drilled and efficient with their use of the footy.

Impressive signs from McKee in the ruck (only played a half), Houli across half back, Rioli's use of the footy, Rocket Van Reit is going to be awesome this year for the two blues and Brad Nordhausen at FF proved he's going to be very hard to stop.

Players that missed on Saturday were - Aaron Lerm, Richie Cole, Gary Mongta, Aaron Willoughby, Clint Runnalls, Sammy Cartwright, Mark Murray, Pat Jess, Robbie Taylor, Jeremy Stevenson and Mark Worthington. Fair list there to come in!

Puff- is this the same gary mongta from the geelong region?

Maybe last year,but they would be pressed to beat Greenvale by 10 this year rain hail or shine.Have some big recruits this year.Howse is hard as nails onballer who will be a great pick up and Saul is one of the best local footballers around on his day.Vermont are no doubt the benchmark in local footy but dont get to carried away!!!!!:D

I got down to that game myself and watched a bit of the 2's. I was very impressed with the short bloke named Tom Berzins I think it was. Super hard at it and very quick. He ran away from the ball quicker than anybody I had seen b4. I was just wondering whether he is a contracted player or not? We are looking to bolster our depth and we feel that Tom would slot in nicely in the back pocket in our 3rds. His on field ability along with the opportunity for him to help out with the meals on a Thurs night and in the canteen on Sat arvo is something our club needs and would be VERY interested in talking to Tom and getting his services should he not be a contracted player. Any information on Tom would be greatly appreciated. PM me his phone number if anybody has it.

Thanks in advance

Can anyone tell me if Aaron Mounjoy is running around with East Keilor one last time?

Correct.

On St.Marys they have 5 ex Donvale blokes who would be close to being in the best 21 in the EFL. Chris Jones and Josh Maddox are freaks, Woodsy and Case are two of the best on ballers you will find and Col Sanbrook is a bit of a little weed. Dont know much about the rest of the side, but the rest of the team would need to be pretty similar to match it with Vermont..

I appreciate that you're looking to take positives out of a bit of a touch up, but to write some of that summation above seems a little over the top. If you had that many players who played so well then there must be a sharp drop to your worst!?!?

I may be a little out of the loop, but that list of players to come in doesn't seem that impressive when you're talking about competing with GV, SM, and MP and the players they would be playing in the same positions......

Marys had a few out as well. Its so easy to blame players being out in Practice matches, a simple lets wait to the season starts and we'll let our football do the talking instead of making excuses for Practice Mtach losses would be a better option...:thumbsu:

Maybe last year,but they would be pressed to beat Greenvale by 10 this year rain hail or shine.Have some big recruits this year.Howse is hard as nails onballer who will be a great pick up and Saul is one of the best local footballers around on his day.Vermont are no doubt the benchmark in local footy but dont get to carried away!!!!!:D

Also add in the best player in the comp in Steve Paxman and Chris Obst along with Kuret thats 2 former VFL senior captains. Greenvale will be at least a 6 goal better side this year than last.

I appreciate that you're looking to take positives out of a bit of a touch up, but to write some of that summation above seems a little over the top. If you had that many players who played so well then there must be a sharp drop to your worst!?!?

I may be a little out of the loop, but that list of players to come in doesn't seem that impressive when you're talking about competing with GV, SM, and MP and the players they would be playing in the same positions......

How's training been back at the Jets big fella?

Did you get a kick on the weekend against Benalla?

Was down at Clifton Park to watch the Abers V St Mary's praccy. on Saturday. Impressed with Van Riet who I believe wore No. 8 (not sure if that's going to be his regular number?) Only criticism is that he perhaps holds onto the ball too long before disposal. Then again it's only a rehearsal for hopefully bigger and better things for the two blues. And Houli showed a spark of creativity during the match. Early days yet but can see the two blues being far better than the knockers would think. In the meantime can someone give us the dope on new Abers recruit Kane Mainsbridge? (ex-Keilor I am told). Very high maintenance player is the rumour and apparently majority of the senior playing group think he's a joke. Rubbed a few of them the wrong way already and not a good start is the goss I am hearing. Was expecting good form from him after the wrap up mentioned on here a couple of weeks ago but he was atrocious other than his one goal kicked. The boy had better shape up and no doubt the Snake will see to that. If they are paying him good coin I would want a better return for my investment!

Greenvale vs Vermont game both at full strength would be quite a sight, maybe play it at the end of the season, give the game an annual name, would be a winner imo.

Laverde is a very good player, who we were sorry to see leave. He definitely is a player who attacks the footy hard, and was a popular fella at the Stars.

Watch out for his brother Jaime at Tulla.......Gun. The Chief looking fitter than ever;)

ya nice kid, struggled a lot with injury the last couple of years and never played ones in a team that finished low on the ladder. hope he stays fit , good luck JL.

how does adam dalton go?

Not very good, he is big and scary but can not catch a footy above his head or kick straight for goal. He is the type of full forward who will kick bags against the bottom sides but wont get a sniff against the better ones.

is he related to ex hadfield ,wc, pacco coach alan dalton?