EDFL Premier Discussion 2022

lol mate you understand how b&f works? Stewart had many many many players at deer park stealing votes off each other, Kwame for one and vice versa. Kwame probably should of won most of the b&f's in the 7 year period but too many players in that team took votes off him where as a decent player in another team polled more consistently and won, however not even close to being the best player in comp.

Silly silly comment to make mate hardest thing ever would be to win league b&f in a team full of absolute guns like DP.

Jury would be a deserving winner IMO.

You would hope so but id say the umpires would notice a player with green hair and tattoos playing half ok over a small midfielder. I feel umpires should have access to stats for votes. Would never happen in Local though.

As a former umpire it should just be that the coaches or someone else votes.. More often than not the umps go back to the rooms and discuss votes and stare blankly at each other with no idea who was BOG, which is why it usually defaults to the winning clubs best midfielder.. I remember a time when a fellow umpire wrote down Heath Ayres - 3 votes.. only to realise that he didnt play and wasnt on the team sheet.

Yeah well there you go adding to the point why umps need stats. To be honest maybe both coaches decide collectively who the best were. I don’t know….

Don't believe everything you read.

Yeah probably some mind games being played with the team announcements from both sides but I’ve been told Abbers will be stacked.

Grats to stax and mores well done gents, well deserved easily the best team this year in my opinion. Once you guys got players back you took the pi55

Unlucky to Abbers, played well.

Thanks Bash. Very gracious of you. Excellent match. Credit to both teams. Neither team deserved to lose. Abers the benchmark all season, and were desperately unlucky to lose. I thought they were going to hang on. My stress levels have gone through the roof.

That’s the 2nd Premier GF which has gone to extra time, 2005 and 2022. Strathmore have fortuitously prevailed in both.

Thanks Bash. Very gracious of you. Excellent match. Neither team deserved to lose. Abers the benchmark all season, and were desperately unlucky to lose. I thought they were going to hang on. My stress levels have gone through the roof.

Lol can’t imagine your heart rate mate! Enjoy the weekend I’m sure your in for a big one

Congrats Strathmore - harder for longer.

Stax, Star & Mores, enjoy.
Thanks BJ. It wasn’t pretty, but they got there. You don’t win too many games, much less Grand Finals when you don’t kick a goal in the entire 2nd half until 5-6 minutes before the end of normal time.

Abers gave it their all, and obviously could have easily won it. Great effort by both teams.

I was at the game - it was the only Premier Div game I had been to all year. It was an absolute ripper.

I was going to go home midway through the last quarter as I thought Abers had it in the bag. I'm very glad I didn't leave!

I sat behind the Strathmore bench for the last quarter and it was the perfect place to be. Witnessing the emotion of it all was something special.

The second quarter did see a slightly controversial decision when Abers scored a goal that was later adjusted to a behind as they believed it was touched on the line. Would have made a huge difference to the result if it was given a goal.

Overall umpiring was good and the standard of footy was also great. There is certainly a massive difference between Premier Div and Div 1.

EDFL Premier Discussion 2022