EDFL Premier Discussion 2023

I’ve got to disagree with you. I believe strathmore have the best ruckman / ruck duo . Vavra and bollinghous. They kick goals and give our midfielders first use of the ball. Clearly we’re the best as they went all the way. Not brain dead just facts

This has made me laugh. Vavra got beaten by the big boys (Meese, Sikkora, Stewart) and beat the lesser rucks. They looked good due to SM elite midfield. Take Jury & NOB out of that midfield and I bet he doesn't look so good.

I’ve got to disagree with you. I believe strathmore have the best ruckman / ruck duo . Vavra and bollinghous. They kick goals and give our midfielders first use of the ball. Clearly we’re the best as they went all the way. Not brain dead just facts

Stewart and Dennis will absolutley flog them.
Those Boys will be lucky to touch the ball.

lol facts.

Vavra is a very good ruckman and more than capable of taking it up to the old fellas. His GF second half was enormous against a tiring Meese.

But hard to argue Dennis/Stewart won’t be box office viewing! 2 ageing champs but champs all the same. I still don’t think it will be enough unless they are picking up more mids. The youngest, smallest, fastest team in the comp are currently premiers and EK and a lot of ground to make up in that area.

What’s happening at Keilor ? Quite a few left and not heaps back in. If rumours are true it’s Mighty Mick’s last year so I’m sure he wants to go out with a bang!

If EK are good enough then great, let’s hope Greenvale and Marby improve too. If only Deer Park was entered it would be a fascinating top 8. Leaving the other 3 to scrap for relegation.

Vavra is a very good ruckman and more than capable of taking it up to the old fellas. His GF second half was enormous against a tiring Meese.

But hard to argue Dennis/Stewart won’t be box office viewing! 2 ageing champs but champs all the same. I still don’t think it will be enough unless they are picking up more mids. The youngest, smallest, fastest team in the comp are currently premiers and EK and a lot of ground to make up in that area.

What’s happening at Keilor ? Quite a few left and not heaps back in. If rumours are true it’s Mighty Mick’s last year so I’m sure he wants to go out with a bang!

If EK are good enough then great, let’s hope Greenvale and Marby improve too. If only Deer Park was entered it would be a fascinating top 8. Leaving the other 3 to scrap for relegation.
That tends to happen when you have to ruck the whole game like Meese more or less had to all season. Soon as they swap him out they loose taps so you want him in the ruck for as much as possible if your abbers.

Keilor have brought back a few familiar faces. Not sure if its enough to compete with Abbers?

Barbuto
Cavka
Ham
Radovanovic

Who have they lost apart from Galea. My memory is a little hazzy.

Surely early fav will be Abbers with Strathmore loosing significant talent, Abbers were within a kick of Strathmore, and have only lost Binns, Hislop, Reimers and maybe Meese.

However brought in Brown, Mapleson, Kemp and Martin.

Would you say they are stronger then last year if Meese leaves?

That tends to happen when you have to ruck the whole game like Meese more or less had to all season. Soon as they swap him out they loose taps so you want him in the ruck for as much as possible if your abbers.

Keilor have brought back a few familiar faces. Not sure if its enough to compete with Abbers?

Barbuto
Cavka
Ham
Radovanovic

Surely early fav will be Abbers with Strathmore loosing significant talent, Abbers were within a kick of Strathmore, and have only lost Binns, Hislop, Reimers and maybe Meese.

Abers unbackable in my opinion. Karl Brown is a serious player and will only improve in a better team, always double teamed last few years.

Keilor lost Galea, Wallin, Bell, Isbister, Stevenson, Thomas, White, Papalia and Bozinovski.

Abers unbackable in my opinion. Karl Brown is a serious player and will only improve in a better team, always double teamed last few years.

Keilor lost Galea, Wallin, Bell, Isbister, Stevenson, Thomas, White, Papalia and Bozinovski.
Yeah agree Abbers $1.10 favs for the flag. Brown scoring 40 for Doutta's will be 80 for Abbers. Who really in the league has the defender to cover him 1on1? PV with Shredwick, Ek with Silvagni or maybe Shaw, who else?

Rocci, Paea and Foster now even more free to run a muck. Really need 3-4 gun defenders to cover abbers which not many teams have.

Wtf where did Ibister go surely not retired? rest retired besides Stevenson?

Gee, going on that list of “outs”, Keilor have lost more quality from their team than Strathmore. Some seriously good players there.

I’m confident however that they’ll recruit some classy replacements between now and the start of the season.
Very professionally run club, with the attraction of playing under one of the best coaches outside the AFL.

Agree, Abers overwhelming favourites at this stage.

Barbuto
Cavka
Ham
Radovanovic

Add Corey Ellis to list of ins at Keilor

Yeah agree Abbers $1.10 favs for the flag. Brown scoring 40 for Doutta's will be 80 for Abbers. Who really in the league has the defender to cover him 1on1? PV with Shredwick, Ek with Silvagni or maybe Shaw, who else?

Rocci, Paea and Foster now even more free to run a muck. Really need 3-4 gun defenders to cover abbers which not many teams have.

Brown and Del Busso have been 2 of the better forwards in the league in the worst teams going round! Del Busso kicked 28 goals in 9 games this season just gone.. Knowing who Abbers/Pacco have picked up so far this off-season I think along with SM will be the 3 teams to beat.

Yea can’t argue that. PV and Abbers Havnt loose too much quality either so if I had to go a top 4 at this stage for the fun of it.

I’d go
Abbers
PV
Strathmore
EK

Believe all of them heading to the bush. A few to Donald. I did forget about Ellis being full time, along with Barbuto and Cavka that’s certainly a strong midfield. Surely they need another key fwd though ? Clark is a fantastic player but has been playing alongside Galea & Stevenson

Wow some serious outs. Agreed, they desperately need a ruckman too.

Top 4 won’t change.
Abers, PV, Strathmore, Keilor.
No doubt keilor still have a few to announce and have plenty of good young kids in the 2nds starving for opportunities. Injuries occur and Keilors depth will get them thru compared to clubs chasing them.
As good as Dennis/Stewart have been and the combination could be great. Is it worrying at all that they are invested in 2 guys north of 35 ? (Age might be wrong)
I’m hearing Prowse x 2 & Bavari out of marby. Roumeliotis from EDS has gone there.
Greenvale as I’ve mentioned previously I’m not sold on. Very old list. Thompson not playing. Few handy players coming in but can’t see a big improvement.
I think APW will be more than competitive. There list is in great shape Age profile wise. Older stronger and much better than 2019. The recruits are very handy with a few still to be announced. Avondale if fit will go okay I think. Haven’t heard much
EDS - Brown, Roumeliotis, Kesci, Meyers, Srour out. I think they could struggle.

Where did Roumeliotis go, does anyone know.
Abers way to strong again we’ll coached side, Strathmore all class and Pacco have picked up well. Keilor will be good so it leaves EK, Marby fighting to knock a top 4 side out.

Last edited by a moderator:
Where did Roumeliotis go, does anyone know.
Torpftom50 you should know, 😂😂😂
Abers way to strong again we’ll coached side, Strathmore all class and Pacco have picked up well. Keilor will be good so it leaves EK, Marby fighting to knock a top 4 side out.
He’s signed at Marby Park but expects to be full time bullants.
There could be a solid divide top5 bottom 5 this year. I think EK are the only team chasing the top 4 that could realistically get there if players stay fit etc.

He’s signed at Marby Park but expects to be full time bullants.
There could be a solid divide top5 bottom 5 this year. I think EK are the only team chasing the top 4 that could realistically get there if players stay fit etc.

Yea agreed, some key games could literally just come down to vfl availability and injury for the top 5

Top 4 won’t change.
No doubt keilor still have a few to announce and have plenty of good young kids in the 2nds starving for opportunities. Injuries occur and Keilors depth will get them thru compared to clubs chasing them.
As good as Dennis/Stewart have been and the combination could be great. Is it worrying at all that they are invested in 2 guys north of 35 ? (Age might be wrong)
I’m hearing Prowse x 2 & Bavari out of marby. Roumeliotis from EDS has gone there.
Greenvale as I’ve mentioned previously I’m not sold on. Very old list. Thompson not playing. Few handy players coming in but can’t see a big improvement.
I think APW will be more than competitive. There list is in great shape Age profile wise. Older stronger and much better than 2019. The recruits are very handy with a few still to be announced. Avondale if fit will go okay I think. Haven’t heard much
EDS - Brown, Roumeliotis, Kesci, Meyers, Srour out. I think they could struggle.
EDS losing Brown, Roumeliotis and Meyers, from reading this thread it seems they have been their since juniors. Something wrong with the club atm?

Top 4 won’t change.
The gap between the top 5 and bottom 5 will be as big as it's ever been next season. Marby will drop drastically IMO. Avondale or Douttas will be playing Div 1 in 2024.

EDS losing Brown, Roumeliotis and Meyers, from reading this thread it seems they have been their since juniors. Something wrong with the club atm?
Have they all gone within the same league, maybe looking to play finals, but isn't this why the points system was introduced to retain your locals?
Although I think if you've played 7 years of senior footy at the same club, you should be a 1 pointer at your next club, as long as it's within another league

I couldn’t know for sure but maybe it’s just because they are sick of losing and don’t see much hope on the horizon. Buckley Park is a great facility these days, best ground to watch football in my bias opinion. I believe they have a great coach and a fresh young committee behind him. The juniors have been building solidly for a number of years and are starting to produce nice young players. The have money to recruit but just can’t attract anyone to the club, unfortunately they probably need to drop back for a few years and slowly build again.
Brown was the final straw on top of Schroder, Boyse, Jensen, Day & Calvaresi last season. There is at least 6 more names that haven’t been mentioned that have left as well. Unless they can get some quality back in 2023 is going to be very tough

I couldn’t know for sure but maybe it’s just because they are sick of losing and don’t see much hope on the horizon. Buckley Park is a great facility these days, best ground to watch football in my bias opinion. I believe they have a great coach and a fresh young committee behind him. The juniors have been building solidly for a number of years and are starting to produce nice young players. The have money to recruit but just can’t attract anyone to the club, unfortunately they probably need to drop back for a few years and slowly build again.
Brown was the final straw on top of Schroder, Boyse, Jensen, Day & Calvaresi last season. There is at least 6 more names that haven’t been mentioned that have left as well. Unless they can get some quality back in 2023 is going to be very tough
Sadly it appears Doutta Stars are Div 1 bound

Add Laguda Caluzzi day Jensen Calvaresi Anderson x2 pavlovic Briggs Toa DiMatteo Boyse Rogers to the home grown players that have left in the past couple years. Frightening if you ask me.