EDFL Premier Discussion 2024

contributing factors could be anything from literally 3-4 volunteers trying to run the entire day on a home game or poor wi-fi connection again perhaps using a volunteers hotspot a non tech minded volunteer timekeeping whilst a stack of opinionated parents and other capable refuse to hop in and help. if i was a volunteer and more critical operation duties needed tending to the last thing id be worried about is live scoring
Deer park have arrived boom

EK’s only chance would be to appoint a new coach now and give him a chance to refresh list and add/lose whatever he can before 30th June.

I don’t know Pat but obviously read a bit about him only on this forum. Besides whatever anyone thinks of him there is still a footy club involved here who nobody wants to see disappear from all competitions which appears the way they are heading.

Needs a lot of hard work and old EK people who care about club getting involved to pick up pieces otherwise they could become another past footy club.

EK’s only chance would be to appoint a new coach now and give him a chance to refresh list and add/lose whatever he can before 30th June.

I don’t know Pat but obviously read a bit about him only on this forum. Besides whatever anyone thinks of him there is still a footy club involved here who nobody wants to see disappear from all competitions which appears the way they are heading.

Needs a lot of hard work and old EK people who care about club getting involved to pick up pieces otherwise they could become another past footy club.
All the ek old people have literally pissed off cause of how bad the club has been run the past few years. Club will no doubt fold ins a couple years… this is coming from an ex ek player and person who still keeps in contact with current players

They should merge with Avondale and rename them Milleara.

Deer Park will make the 5 and play finals I reckon.

EK a huge chance to be relegated after yesterday and that’s huge from playing finals last year..
Deer Park would have a bit of work before that happens. You can’t just bomb the ball inside 50 to the same target and the midfield needs to run both ways. Their Captain will also have a couple of weeks on sideline after a silly tackle

Subject to opinion of course, but I’ll have a crack at the player the team would least like to have out on any week.

Keilor - Nick O’Kearney or Bradley Xavier

Abers - Karl Brown or Brodie Newman

Pacco - Lachlan Stredwick

Strathmore - Andrew Vavra or Liam Cav

Greenvale - Josh Porter

Douttas - Liam Merceica or Declan Tully

East Keilor - Matty Dennis

Deer Park - Majak Daw or Scott Greenough

Avondale Heights - Danko Bzenic

Airport West - Ned Gentile
People seem to be forgetting about Nick Maric at Greenvale. Has won 3 best and fairests there. Was almost single handedly their sole ball winner last year. Been a big out for them this season.

When all's said and done about DP, one thing I will give them is they are great hosts. Good canteen & cold beers @ $5 a can is a big :thumbsupemoji: from me. Their President is very accommodating making sure the opposition teams have everything they need. A few clubs in this comp could take a leaf out of their book.
Keilor are great at hosting themselves I’m advised at away games

Deer Park would have a bit of work before that happens. You can’t just bomb the ball inside 50 to the same target and the midfield needs to run both ways. Their Captain will also have a couple of weeks on sideline after a silly tackle
More than a “silly” tackle, EDS player ended up in an Ambulance

" Silly tackle". You have to be kidding. It was the perfect tackle and the fact that both arms were restrained is the fault of the player with the ball not the tackler. Pretty simple, the ball carrier held onto the ball for too long and did not anticipate the speed of the approaching player.

More than a “silly” tackle, EDS player ended up in an Ambulance
His own fault for hanging onto the ball too long and not being in a position to break his fall to the ground. In no way was the tackle anything but a text book tackle. Nobody enjoys seeing an ambulance at a sporting event but to try and blame the tackler for an ambulance being called is pure stupidity in this case.

Keilor are great at hosting themselves I’m advised at away g
When all's said and done about DP, one thing I will give them is they are great hosts. Good canteen & cold beers @ $5 a can is a big :thumbsupemoji: from me. Their President is very accommodating making sure the opposition teams have everything they need. A few clubs in this comp could take a leaf out of their book.
So true.

The Whisp is back in the land they call Victoria. I went 4/4 this weekend with some massive ramifications coming out of the weekend. He is back drinking VBs instead of West Ends. What a week it has been. My sources have been blowing up the flip phone with E-mails left and right from what transpired this past weekend. Roses are red, violets are blue, Deer Park have arrived and but goodnight EK too. Let’s get into the Whispviews:

1. Keilor are humming. They’re in an upper Echelon of their own. Their turnover and ball movement were clinical. It was a decent game in the first half with Avondale having a purple patch but couldn’t put on scoreboard dominance. It was a half time rev up by Mick that sent his soldiers marching past Avondale.
2. Pascoe Vale do what Pascoe Vale done (when they score multiple goals). They’re undefeated when they kick two or more goals and that was on display today. The Jets were gallant all day but couldn’t overcome the blistering start that Tudor threw at them. No comebacks this time.
3. We have a dark horse. There is a Smokey. Can you feel it? I can. Deer Park…. Are….. COMING. That’s two in a row and a game outside the top five. They’re starting to find their feet and it’s all thanks to their juggernaut in the forward half, Daw. Daw is the name, winning is the aim. Slotting three snags which proved to be the margin this afternoon.
4. Oh boy. Oh boy. Ohhhhhhh boy. Overland Reserve played host to an absolute mugging. What transpired. East Keilor look like a shell of themselves compared to the first half of last year. In my 99 year stint on planet earth, I’ve seen this story before. The volunteers are dropping like flies, the proud clubman not being bothered to go support the club (for good reason). The players look direction less, Matt Dennis is the only one invested. It’s becoming a dire situation down at Pat’s mansion.

The reviews are done and dusted, it’s time for a MEGA WHISPVIEW. The goat is here to write scripture, my posts should be put on a pedestal. I’m in a class of my own when it comes to journalism on bigfooty. It was a big week margin wise in the four games played but I am expecting a ripper. Two teams who love the uncontested marks going toe to toe in front of all to see at Kevin Sheedy’s playground aka Windy Hill.

5. Aberfeldie vs Strathmore. I was having a look and both teams missing key players. It’s a survival of the fittest type of season at all levels of football. Strathmore have had a horror run with injury, missing Egglestone (mid), Vavra (ruck), Mckernan (Key Forward) and Valensisi (wingman) among other outs who played a key part last year under Allison. Aberfeldie are on the ropes. They had a soft draw to start and bruise free football is catching up with them. It will be a match held in the upper echelons of EDFL folklore. Which team will take the match at the scruff of the neck and will their side to victory. I’m going to predict that Aberfeldie continue to fall down the ladder like a child on a slippery slide. Strathmore should get the job done. It is a toss of the coin. Strathmore weren’t convincing vs the jets while Aberfeldie can’t bring their uncontested mark game every week. Strathmore to win.

Just wondering since football has gone woke and players get upto 5 weeks for calling someone a name or for a sling tackle will they player still be de registered and his career be over if suspended for a total of 16 games?

His own fault for hanging onto the ball too long and not being in a position to break his fall to the ground. In no way was the tackle anything but a text book tackle. Nobody enjoys seeing an ambulance at a sporting event but to try and blame the tackler for an ambulance being called is pure stupidity in this case.
But a card was handed out so I assume will take a set penalty? Are tribunal results still being withheld?

EDFL Premier Discussion 2024