• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

EDFL Premier Div 2018

Don’t know what the go is regarding the suspension not being on the website but the thug was found guilty and suspended for 6 weeks. Bit surprised it wasn’t longer as was a disgraceful act.

I must add, the most disappointing thing to come from all this is that Strathmore football club tried to convince the league that the headbutt was an accidental head clash.
They actually defended the thugs action. Pretty poor considering Strathmore claim to be a family club.
I for one wouldn’t send my kids to play footy there if they condone this type of thuggery.
Bit nonsensical and hypocritical the bit about your kids wouldn’t be allowed to play at Strathmore due to the club ( in your words ) “condoning” thuggish behaviour. Pity you don’t set the bar to the same level for your own team for past instances of thuggish behaviour, and defended at EDFL tribunals. Doesn’t seem to have hurt their junior programme.

Fair enough to bag the offending player, but once you start slagging clubs for defending their reported players, then you better make sure your own backyard is squeaky clean.

Turbo I will come to your defence here and say that I have seen the group of reserves / U19s players drinking cans and hurling abuse from that pocket at Strathmore! In saying that I have never heard anything overly offensive out of them when I’ve been there and I’d hope if they did cross the line someone would pull them back..
I must admit though I enjoy that sort of banter at local footy. So long as it’s clean and there’s no physical stuff I reckon there are some very humorous calls made from the boundary at times!

Geez and everyone thought the WRFL was a bad league to play in due to thuggery and crowd abuse??? Seems like the EDFL is much worse these days..
Strongly disagree. Can’t speak for the WRFL, but with some obvious exceptions, the EDFL is a pretty clean league. Strathmore reserves player copped his right whack by the sound of it, but that sort of behaviour is the exception rather than the rule. Crowds are generally well behaved as well. Turbo has been known to exaggerate and bend reality to suit his own agenda.

Don’t know what the go is regarding the suspension not being on the website but the thug was found guilty and suspended for 6 weeks. Bit surprised it wasn’t longer as was a disgraceful act.

I must add, the most disappointing thing to come from all this is that Strathmore football club tried to convince the league that the headbutt was an accidental head clash.
They actually defended the thugs action. Pretty poor considering Strathmore claim to be a family club.
I for one wouldn’t send my kids to play footy there if they condone this type of thuggery.
Thinking that previous suspensions plus this 6 weeks makes it very close to 16 week lifetime ban

Strongly disagree. Can’t speak for the WRFL, but with some obvious exceptions, the EDFL is a pretty clean league. Strathmore reserves player copped his right whack by the sound of it, but that sort of behaviour is the exception rather than the rule. Crowds are generally well behaved as well. Turbo has been known to exaggerate and bend reality to suit his own agenda.
We have all seen and heard incidents at grounds that make you think twice. Don't think there is one club that can say their supporters have not at sometime stepped over the line. And no I don't think Turbo is bending reality in this instance.

Hey Stax, I’ve said enough on this issue but my point was I think grounds should all have fencing or somehow roped around. I know it’s not the clubs fault as the grounds are owned by council but think it would improve the league.

Regarding my comments surrounding spectators I’m all for sone banter but when it crosses the line and over steps the line in regards to society then you want to be very careful as if you say things like that to someone in the street you would want to be able to handle yourself. Especially when the player is a fair player it was totally uncalled for. 2-3 beers and they can’t handle the alcohol.

I’m moving on Stax.. cheers my old friend

We have all seen and heard incidents at grounds that make you think twice. Don't think there is one club that can say their supporters have not at sometime stepped over the line. And no I don't think Turbo is bending reality in this instance.
Fair enough. Glad you said Turbo not bending reality ”in this instance”.

Marby in real danger off missing finals after being on top most of the season. Will need to win 2 out of last 3 to make it. With games against Keilor and Abers in the next 2 weeks going to be tough.

Interesting game between Abers and Douttas today. I think the final score did not show the real closeness of the game. Abers got on top by scoring in short bursts. For example 5 goals in the first 15 mins of the second quarter. In fact, Douttas had the best of the first quarter, they just couldn't score. Abers back three held firm and rebounded well. Mind you the delivery in to Douttas forwards was pretty average. Abers using a loose man to cut in front to intercept the ball and rebound out.

It wasn't till the third where they really got on top. Abers best players for me were Craven, Toy, Williamson and Peters. Mind you Peters didn't mind throwing a few elbows. Then we get to the Abers coach, complaining every free kick. He even wanted a 50 meter free kick when one of his own players threw the ball back to the player awarded the free and it went to ground. Trying to intimidate The young female umpire even though the calls she was making were correct. Telling her to go and ask one of the other umps what he would of called.

Interesting game between Abers and Douttas today. I think the final score did not show the real closeness of the game. Abers got on top by scoring in short bursts. For example 5 goals in the first 15 mins of the second quarter. In fact, Douttas had the best of the first quarter, they just couldn't score. Abers back three held firm and rebounded well. Mind you the delivery in to Douttas forwards was pretty average. Abers using a loose man to cut in front to intercept the ball and rebound out.

It wasn't till the third where they really got on top. Abers best players for me were Craven, Toy, Williamson and Peters. Mind you Peters didn't mind throwing a few elbows. Then we get to the Abers coach, complaining every free kick. He even wanted a 50 meter free kick when one of his own players threw the ball back to the player awarded the free and it went to ground. Trying to intimidate The young female umpire even though the calls she was making were correct. Telling her to go and ask one of the other umps what he would of called.

Potter is so overrated it’s not funny, my grandma could coach that list

Just wondering if any of the other clubs do a coaches review after the game? Keilor posts about a 2 min video of Mick McGuane reviewing the game. Great to listen to him and his takes.

Did he comment on how good a run they got off the umpires yesterday.In my 40 years of watching footy it was the most blatant display of cheating by 2 umpires I’ve ever seen. They should be ashamed of the way they conducted themselves.In the end you just had to laugh at some of the biased toward Keilor. Anyone else there who thought the same thing?

Been happening for years tragic, and can’t see anything changing soon. The tribunal also looks after them. Maybe someone on the take and getting $$.

Again I ask for the free kick counts to be taken and published. I actually think the umpires in charge of Abers and Douttas did a good job.

They’re gone

I have to agree I think. Will be tough now with their run home. A shock really with how well they were going. I think they’ve been undone against the bigger clubs missing that top end quality. Clarke, Vearing, Castello missed too much footy. Does anyone know what is wrong with Clarke and Vearing? Clarke played in a VFL flag last year and would’ve been inline for team of the year earlier in the season and Vearing a regular EDFL rep and VFL background and is super important for their drive off half back. Obviously everyone aware of Castello situation.

Kempster being in and out probably hasn’t helped their situation either but that’s a risk they knew they’d be taking going into the season.
Every club has injuries and this isn’t a cop out for them but I think where Marby still drops off from those bigger clubs is the quality depth. You replace those 4 names withwith blokes who think they were probably in the 2s for most of the year and you see that real drop in class.
Pickess and Bance seemed have held their spot at VFL level in recent weeks too.

Disappointing for Marby but young lost and I’m sure they’ll be competitive again next year. With Castellos commitments it does beg the question can they go another season with him being Head Coach? Maybe a playing assistant would be a better approach?

I didn’t think the same thing and I was there. Cool melt though.

Been happening for years tragic, and can’t see anything changing soon. The tribunal also looks after them. Maybe someone on the take and getting $$.

Keep kicking into the wind champ.

Turbo have you been in touch with headquarters? See all Strathmore’s junior div 1 boys sides went straight through to the GF. Under 11, 13, 15 & 17. I’m with you it’s just not fair. Something needs to be done.

What divisions are we talking Route. Are they still raping other clubs best players as well as still paying some junior players mate?

All Div 1.

Just like when all of Abers U17's teams won their GF's last season.
Some clubs will always attract the better players.

Turbo have you been in touch with headquarters? See all Strathmore’s junior div 1 boys sides went straight through to the GF. Under 11, 13, 15 & 17. I’m with you it’s just not fair. Something needs to be done.

TROUBLEMAKER! Now look what you’ve done. He’s off and running on one of his pet hobby horses.

I have to agree I think. Will be tough now with their run home. A shock really with how well they were going. I think they’ve been undone against the bigger clubs missing that top end quality. Clarke, Vearing, Castello missed too much footy. Does anyone know what is wrong with Clarke and Vearing? Clarke played in a VFL flag last year and would’ve been inline for team of the year earlier in the season and Vearing a regular EDFL rep and VFL background and is super important for their drive off half back. Obviously everyone aware of Castello situation.

Kempster being in and out probably hasn’t helped their situation either but that’s a risk they knew they’d be taking going into the season.
Every club has injuries and this isn’t a cop out for them but I think where Marby still drops off from those bigger clubs is the quality depth. You replace those 4 names withwith blokes who think they were probably in the 2s for most of the year and you see that real drop in class.
Pickess and Bance seemed have held their spot at VFL level in recent weeks too.

Disappointing for Marby but young lost and I’m sure they’ll be competitive again next year. With Castellos commitments it does beg the question can they go another season with him being Head Coach? Maybe a playing assistant would be a better approach?

I did predict this early on as Marby have a few VFL listed fringe players and quite often they play more VFL in the latter end of the year. Losing a couple of players to VFL can hurt you. Also they don’t have a prolific goal kicker as such.