EDFL Premier Div 2018

Abers clearly the best side but got another dream ride from the umpires.

Speaking of umpires, how can they wear orange when Marby are playing. Impossible to watch the under 19s game because of it. Apparently umpires will wear fluro green next season.

Oh that’s the EDFL. Lol

Maybe the umps were still filthy that Gourdis and Papalia were able to play in the GF after having tribunal decisions varied/overturned. Didn’t feel supported. Half tongue in cheek, half serious emoji.

Another big one sided GF result.

Another premiership to Abers. And with 30 points.

Is the EDFL competition falling behind others. Take a look at the MPFL grand final. Huge difference..
- Close result.
- Great game.
- Massive crowd
- Streaker

Compare that to our GF..

I think this league needs to look into how they can improve things.

Is the EDFL competition falling behind others. Take a look at the MPFL grand final. Huge difference..
- Close result.
- Great game.
- Massive crowd
- Streaker

Compare that to our GF..

I've got to agree with you there Turbs me ol' mate. EDFL is at best predictable, in all honesty it has become boring(same 4 or 5 teams playing off every year). Not taking anything away from Abers - well done.

Unfortunately, the league will stay the same for the forseeable future.
Only when the gap between the highest spenders at $240k and the lowest spenders (AH, WC, Glenroy etc) @ what probably - $150k? is closed up will we see an even playing field.
Until the gap in spending is $20-30k difference (1-2 weeks in payments), nothing will change.

Bringing the cap down to $220k may cause some minor headaches at some clubs contracts wise but lets be honest it does absolutely ZERO to even out the competition.

The top 6 next year will be the same as it was last year, this year and for the next 5 years.
Quite boring & sad really.

Seriously classy act from Mighty Mick to visit the Abers rooms post-match.

The class and humility in which he conducts himself is simply outstanding - credit where it is due.
Keilor out played and out coached.. Might Mick has rec'd a lot of kudos over the years , Potter 3 flags from 4 years now.. the question needs to be asked is he a better coach than the huge man?

- Close result.
- Great game.
- Massive crowd
- Streaker

Compare that to our GF..

Windy Hill is an awful ground to watch & play a grand final from, its always cold after the sun sets behind the stand, half the ground is empty because of the bowls club so atmosphere is bland and probably the most important thing is that you can not have a full strength beer whilst watching the game. For a neutral, on a sunny day out with mates you want to be able to have a few beers whilst watching the footy.

Where would you play it?

- Close result.
- Great game.
- Massive crowd
- Streaker

Compare that to our GF..

Abers are reaping the rewards as being the club of choice for the last six to ten years, that is why they have so many one point players. The fact that they haven't spent any money on their club rooms also allows them to pay so much for their players. I can't see anything changing in the next five years either.
I think the only two clubs that could stop Abers run of wins are Keilor and EDS. They do need to get players back that are between 19 and 24 years of age and one pointers.

My reason for those clubs is, those three have been the dominant clubs with players now in that age group.

The EDFL don't want anything to change with the big five clubs on top, sorry Turbo PV isn't one of them. EDS are also not considered one but they could be if they got their act together. Something will need to give. As I suggested ages ago, restrict clubs to no more than two teams per age group.

Keilor out played and out coached.. Might Mick has rec'd a lot of kudos over the years , Potter 3 flags from 4 years now.. the question needs to be asked is he a better coach than the huge man?

Cmon bang surely your winding us up. I agree this season we must give Potter some credit and a big tick. But the other 2 premierships well I don’t know. 2015 they had a great list and you or I could have coached that side to a premiership. They spent the largest amount of $ ever seen in local footy. It’s part of the reason the points system and cap was introduced. Another year I’m sure they were found to be over the allocated cap. Mick still the best for now imo,

I totally agree on all accounts and like the idea of being able to have a beer but only in premier league. Could you imagine the crowd abuse and and fights if you could drink beers at div1 finals and especially in div2. Div2 would go off before 1/2 time. Lol

Windy Hill great for its history and all that but otherwise it’s horrible. But where else could we play it?? Coburg not the best and the only other ground I can think off is Highgate but it’s to Windy.. I’m thinking play it at Whitten Oval.. Great venue and space around all the ground..Or Arden Street maybe..

Abers are reaping the rewards as being the club of choice for the last six to ten years, that is why they have so many one point players. The fact that they haven't spent any money on their club rooms also allows them to pay so much for their players. I can't see anything changing in the next five years either.
I think the only two clubs that could stop Abers run of wins are Keilor and EDS. They do need to get players back that are between 19 and 24 years of age and one pointers.

My reason for those clubs is, those three have been the dominant clubs with players now in that age group.

The EDFL don't want anything to change with the big five clubs on top, sorry Turbo PV isn't one of them. EDS are also not considered one but they could be if they got their act together. Something will need to give. As I suggested ages ago, restrict clubs to no more than two teams per age group.

All good and agree to some extent but PV gone ahead of EDS a few years ago now but I get your point.

That’s the reason why I say go to Pacco as it’s great for the underdog to beat them as it’s something everyone remembers for a long time. Who cares if Abers, Keilor etc won it. It’s only exciting for those involved but not for the non competing sides and other fans , as who gives a crap who wins.

I totally agree on all accounts and like the idea of being able to have a beer but only in premier league. Could you imagine the crowd abuse and and fights if you could drink beers at div1 finals and especially in div2. Div2 would go off before 1/2 time. Lol

Windy Hill great for its history and all that but otherwise it’s horrible. But where else could we play it?? Coburg not the best and the only other ground I can think off is Highgate but it’s to Windy.. I’m thinking play it at Whitten Oval.. Great venue and space around all the ground..Or Arden Street maybe..

My first preference would be Keillor, if you didn’t have cars parked around the ground and filled it wit spectators it would be awesome, Greenvale as well but can get very windy. No parking would rule Arden St out and Princes Park would have the same sterile atmosphere as windy hill I think. It’s like in the VFL all the finals are played at Port Melbourne in front of ripper crowds with electric atmosphere, then they play the gf at Etihad and it loses all of that.

You blokes are kidding, it’ll be at Windy hill forever, the Edfl offices are there for god sake and I’m sure EFC give them an exceptional deal to play there.

All good and agree to some extent but PV gone ahead of EDS a few years ago now but I get your point.

That’s the reason why I say go to Pacco as it’s great for the underdog to beat them as it’s something everyone remembers for a long time. Who cares if Abers, Keilor etc won it. It’s only exciting for those involved but not for the non competing sides and other fans , as who gives a crap who wins.
True, that is why I didn't go to the games on the weekend. It's the same clubs all the time. Boring

My first preference would be Keillor, if you didn’t have cars parked around the ground and filled it wit spectators it would be awesome, Greenvale as well but can get very windy. No parking would rule Arden St out and Princes Park would have the same sterile atmosphere as windy hill I think. It’s like in the VFL all the finals are played at Port Melbourne in front of ripper crowds with electric atmosphere, then they play the gf at Etihad and it loses all of that.
I don't like the gf going to a club ground as that club gets to reap the canteen, BBQ's, beer profits. That is not fair to other clubs. Only way you can do it would be to not allow that club to run anything and for the league to bring in food vans etc. any breach by the club running anything would incur a $15k fine.

For mine the only option would be Essendon's training ground. Of course would need toilets and change rooms.

Keilors ground does have a good feel about it and great atmosphere but 2 things. The ground surface is not up to hosting a senior premier league GF. Cricket pitch on it is not ideal.. And the change rooms are to close together for big finals. No seating either..

Greenvale great ground but no public transport and can get windy.

I’m leaning towards Whitten Oval

You blokes are kidding, it’ll be at Windy hill forever, the Edfl offices are there for god sake and I’m sure EFC give them an exceptional deal to play there.

Probably will be but it’s not ideal.

Negatives are
Toilets are ordinary
Can’t watch the footy from the far wing.
Would be great to have a bbq running.
Like the idea of wet and dry areas for having a few frothier.
Just not a lot of space to watch the game.
No permanent scoreboard

Positives are
Great Surface
Top location
Suits Umpires

I don't like the gf going to a club ground as that club gets to reap the canteen, BBQ's, beer profits. That is not fair to other clubs. Only way you can do it would be to not allow that club to run anything and for the league to bring in food vans etc. any breach by the club running anything would incur a $15k fine.

For mine the only option would be Essendon's training ground. Of course would need toilets and change rooms.

That is easily fixed, the league would just come to a lease agreement with Keillor to rent the ground for the day. A fee obviously goes to Keillor and then the league runs the whole day like they do at windy hill.

Again a fee would be paid so a club over others makes a profit. It's a no from me.