EDFL Premier Division 2016

The EDFL is a very competitive, strong league which attracts good players and has a good spread of teams playing finals. There hasn't been one or two teams winning premierships over the last five years. FACT. We do not know exactly what all clubs are spending but ballpark seems to be around the salary cap so who cares. No clubs are really in financial turmoil, even Abers just seem to be slow paying out, but honestly who cares they will definitely pay up. Big money clubs can't guarantee premierships and that has been shown, can clubs use their funds more wisely? Hell yeah, but if you want to see some of the best local footy someone has to get paid. there's a trade off.

If you want to look at a league in serious trouble just look at the WRFL, they actually have a problem with overspending dominant clubs, and a weak league. We're in one of the best era's of EDFL footy so live it up.

The league needs to focus on the overall piss poor conditions of facilities and grounds that clubs dish up rather than anything else off-field. Hopefully teams will stay within the salary cap and use an extra 50k a year to implement these upgrades.
Mate if you think most of the top 5/6 teams in premier division are around $250k you are dreaming closer to $400k rather than $300k . It doesn't worry me what clubs pay except that spending within the EDFL has got out of control - when 2 players in Div 1 are being paid $100k between something is wrong
The EDFL does have a good product but the money in local footy has got out of control , hopefully with the salary cap and points clubs will continue to develop their talent rather than looking to buy success - by the way I would have thought what Keilor did this year was evidence o a club buying their premiership , I am also aware that they have a number of their kids but their recruiting for season 2016 they brought in 4 high priced recruits

Mate if you think most of the top 5/6 teams in premier division are around $250k you are dreaming closer to $400k rather than $300k . It doesn't worry me what clubs pay except that spending within the EDFL has got out of control - when 2 players in Div 1 are being paid $100k between something is wrong
The EDFL does have a good product but the money in local footy has got out of control , hopefully with the salary cap and points clubs will continue to develop their talent rather than looking to buy success - by the way I would have thought what Keilor did this year was evidence o a club buying their premiership , I am also aware that they have a number of their kids but their recruiting for season 2016 they brought in 4 high priced recruits
Well done , you've hit the nail on the head . You've unlocked the secret to winning premierships . Recruit good players to your club . Wow how dare Keilor getting a former junior back and a relation of the coach among their recruits to help win their first flag in 9 years. They shouldn't be allowed to do this . You must be joking . You wouldn't have a clue what those blokes were being paid anyway . Why don't you just congratulate them on a job well done ?

Yes that's right they went and spent xxx amount of money to win the flag after missing finals , it wasn't because they brought in 4 under 18 players no they went and raided Avondale Heights of 3 players and then got the coaches cousin . Keilor were fantastic in winning but you and the other clown just don't seem to understand my point that this type of recruiting which is linked to the cheque book is ruining local footy

The EDFL is a very competitive, strong league which attracts good players and has a good spread of teams playing finals. There hasn't been one or two teams winning premierships over the last five years. FACT. We do not know exactly what all clubs are spending but ballpark seems to be around the salary cap so who cares. No clubs are really in financial turmoil, even Abers just seem to be slow paying out, but honestly who cares they will definitely pay up. Big money clubs can't guarantee premierships and that has been shown, can clubs use their funds more wisely? Hell yeah, but if you want to see some of the best local footy someone has to get paid. there's a trade off.

If you want to look at a league in serious trouble just look at the WRFL, they actually have a problem with overspending dominant clubs, and a weak league. We're in one of the best era's of EDFL footy so live it up.

The league needs to focus on the overall piss poor conditions of facilities and grounds that clubs dish up rather than anything else off-field. Hopefully teams will stay within the salary cap and use an extra 50k a year to implement these upgrades.

Great post I agree, however do we think clubs should be forking out cash for upgrades or should the council and government put something back into the community considering the amount of rates we pay. I agree maybe a scoreboard should be the clubs responsibility, however the ground surface & social rooms should be largely the councils obligation seeing they have to select the tradies,etc. I believe they should be upgraded as a matter of urgency and allow the community to access these when available.

Couple of examples without offence:
- Marby recently had an upgrade yet spectators & children must use the same toilets as the players as they are located in the changerooms. "Which idiot thought that was a good idea" Abers are the same however been like that for a while..
- Hillside they build 1 oval for that huge catchment area and the social rooms are in the pocket some 20mts from the fence. "Another idiot who had no idea".
Why aren't more clubrooms on the wing area? Why are so many to far from the fence?

If these were upgraded it would be easier to attract more people, therefore more $$ coming in and less work for the tireless volunteers in local footy..

Yes that's right they went and spent xxx amount of money to win the flag after missing finals , it wasn't because they brought in 4 under 18 players no they went and raided Avondale Heights of 3 players and then got the coaches cousin . Keilor were fantastic in winning but you and the other clown just don't seem to understand my point that this type of recruiting which is linked to the cheque book is ruining local footy
Us clowns dont understand your point because you can't explain what is ruined. If money is your problem go and follow the Ammos

i don't understand what the point of the debate is.

The cap will be in place next year at $250k and the points will be 48. The quicker clubs and the league deal with this - the better. You could make arguments for hours that it should be this or should be that. That isn't going to change anything

No one seems to understand much around here.

Whilst enjoying Stakes Day at Flemington on Saturday, I overheard that EDS has enticed a recruit or two with sign-on payments. I thought this was forbidden under salary cap rules?

It looks like clubs are already making a mockery of the salary cap.

From a different angle. Sunbury,Melton, Melton South, Darley and Bacchus Marsh have 44 points ( south 50) and a cap of $140 k and are competing with the edfl and the wrfl for players. Don't begrudge you your $ cap but we have to work hard at recruiting and end up paying overs for your good players or even some ordinary ones if we don't do our homework. Would love to know how the AFL sorted the caps out or if it was left up to each league?

Why is the spending "out of control" these clubs have been able to create an environment where sponsors and people with financial means are happy to contribute to the footy club with the hope of seeing them be successful. The financial contributors are not just handing over $ for no reason, they are taking something in return weather it be emotional attachment to the club or having there business on the back of jumpers or simply being part of a networking group of local people that benefits the business and the footy club. The have nots should look at this business model for the way they run footy clubs and try to emulate it rather than whinging that its not fair. The days of asking the local plumber or the pub to be your major sponsor are long gone. The Essendon district is becoming quite a wealthy area with plenty of businesses who want to promote themselves and the clubs that are able to give them the best value for there $ are the ones that will succeed.

Because you havent made a valid point as to why it is actually ruining football, with the strength of the EDFL case point that local footy is doing ok.

Great post I agree, however do we think clubs should be forking out cash for upgrades or should the council and government put something back into the community considering the amount of rates we pay. I agree maybe a scoreboard should be the clubs responsibility, however the ground surface & social rooms should be largely the councils obligation seeing they have to select the tradies,etc. I believe they should be upgraded as a matter of urgency and allow the community to access these when available.

Couple of examples without offence:
- Marby recently had an upgrade yet spectators & children must use the same toilets as the players as they are located in the changerooms. "Which idiot thought that was a good idea" Abers are the same however been like that for a while..
- Hillside they build 1 oval for that huge catchment area and the social rooms are in the pocket some 20mts from the fence. "Another idiot who had no idea".
Why aren't more clubrooms on the wing area? Why are so many to far from the fence?

If these were upgraded it would be easier to attract more people, therefore more $$ coming in and less work for the tireless volunteers in local footy..

If the council wont put up the cash and the clubs have the means to spend $400k+ to pay footy players then yes the clubs should put up the cash. Interest rates are at an all time low so if the clubs could borrow some coin and spread the expense out over a decade then it would be a huge investment into the club. With Strathmore having Craige Hille and his business as a key part of the club the facilities there are nothing short of disgraceful. Of course if the clubs are putting up the cash then they would have total control of the building process and can use contractors connected to the clubs who i am sure will give them discounted fees etc.

Why is the spending "out of control" these clubs have been able to create an environment where sponsors and people with financial means are happy to contribute to the footy club with the hope of seeing them be successful. The financial contributors are not just handing over $ for no reason, they are taking something in return weather it be emotional attachment to the club or having there business on the back of jumpers or simply being part of a networking group of local people that benefits the business and the footy club. The have nots should look at this business model for the way they run footy clubs and try to emulate it rather than whinging that its not fair. The days of asking the local plumber or the pub to be your major sponsor are long gone. The Essendon district is becoming quite a wealthy area with plenty of businesses who want to promote themselves and the clubs that are able to give them the best value for there $ are the ones that will succeed.
Course spending is out of control $400k for paddock footy !!! The problem is that everyone starts to pay overs , anyway I can see that we are never going to see eye to eye on this one but I will watch closely to see which clubs are recruiting profile players - unless they move some players on they are cheating the salary cap

You sound like a real glass half full bloke . The worlds moved on pal , your train left your station ten years ago . You watch out for the cheats won't you ? Make sure when the cups being raised in September you are hissing and booing from the bleachers .I hope your club avoids relegation .

Craigieburn recruit damien bugeja from williamstown. Anyone know much about them?

If it's the lad who played Cannons 4-5 years back, providing his body holds up he'll be a beauty. Was a real strong, clearance winning mid in his final TAC Cup year from memory and had a real burst in him out of a contest, but just hasn't had a good run at it of Kate due to injury.

Would be maybe 22 now so fingers crossed he can get a clean run thru the summer

EDFL Premier Division 2016