EDFL Premier Division 2016

Barfly - Do you think Mick gave a f*ck about Avo when he poached their best 3 players on the back of coaching the inter league side? Do you think he gives a f*ck about other teams when he poaches their players? So why would anyone give a f*ck about Mick when he get's the a*se from his job?
Micks been the average human being through his own actions
How do you think Luke Cartelli got from Keilor to Avondale in the first place? Dean Galea was headed to Keilor in 2014 before Avondale , through obvious connections got him to there club. He was always headed to Keilor at some stage . In fact he approached Mick first . You rattle on about Mick using his rep involvement to his advantage , what about his assistants? Half the Premier coaches were involved weren't they? Potter, Grant , Wallis , Morrell , Castello played , so what are you on about? Your view on things makes little sense , making ill informed comments without any facts or knowledge.

Would be a very handy addition for any club looking for a key forward. He says he is considering walking away but I am sure like most 27yo some extra pocket money could quickly change his mind.

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au...k/news-story/5492858a0bb7929999efba70485994a6

If I remember correctly, he had a stint at EDS a couple years back in 2014? Great hands and hit the pack very very hard. Kicked nearly 40 goals in a team that got relegated that year. Would definitely be a handy pick up

Barfly - Do you think Mick gave a f*ck about Avo when he poached their best 3 players on the back of coaching the inter league side? Do you think he gives a f*ck about other teams when he poaches their players? So why would anyone give a f*ck about Mick when he get's the a*se from his job?
Micks been the average human being through his own actions

Im pretty certain most coaches would contact some players of opposing clubs.I also would not be surprised if players approached Mick either as im sure they know more $$$ may be on offer elsewhere but Keilor will always pay up and put a very competitive and very well coached team on the park.
I think for people to say its good to see a fella lose his job is very poor form.
I agree to disagree and will leave it there.

Sour grapes?Im a listener and he is good at radio being.very informative across many sports.A blokes lost his job and you think its good?I think you're a below average human and very jelous.
Blah blah !! Never said it wasn't a good show produced by producers not Mick. Anyway Sh"t happens people lose their jobs everyday, I am sure he will be ok !! Cheap shot and no not jealous $$$ note I spelt it correctly, my IQ is obviously not below average !

It is becoming a worrying trend that coaches involved in the inter league side are using it as a way to recruit players . I understand that every club has to provide the right environment and contract their own players but coaches seem to be forming relationships with players and then recruiting them . As an example look at the number of Avondale players that were recruited to Keilor last season and now Tom Baravi recruited to Marby, common theme but coaches at Keilor and Marby were involved in the inter league program. Would suggest that clubs will be guarded about putting players forward for fear of losing them the following year.

word is Tom has a heap of mates at marby from what I've overheard at the pub

How do you think any club recruits anyone ? 99% is relationship or some form of networking. The competition wants the best coaches for their reps teams and the best coaches more often than not are coaching the best teams who players want to play with. There are links at every club through all major metro comps formed from TAC cup and VFL days . You are being narrow minded just blaming the coaches . Anyway Mcguane has resigned as inter league coach so who should replace him? The majority of you Big Footy EDFL contributors have never been shy in saying your premier comp is the best going around . The game in May next year Against EFL will help back this up or put it to rest that this is false . Remember the NFL fixed the EDFL up 2 years ago . Time to stand up boys.

yes you are right about relationships being the key to recruiting and that isn't the issue but when those relationships are forged through interleague duties then this is a concern - remember what Doutta Stars did with under 16 footballers several years ago - that was a disgrace and was addressed by the league
I'm not interested in the inter league , the only benefit os that there is a bye and clubs can run a fund raising event that weekend. EDFL is a strong competition but it would be beaten by the premier Amos and lets wait to see how we go against the EFL .Clearly the EDFL has been able to recruit more AFL players but this doesn't mean the competition is the best - the EDFL is the biggest money competition across Melbourne , that is true.
Money has ruined the the EDFL hopefully the EDFL accepts the 48 points that AFL Vic which to implement for season 2017 and doesn't consider bowing to the wishes of a few clubs to run with 50!

yes you are right about relationships being the key to recruiting and that isn't the issue but when those relationships are forged through interleague duties then this is a concern - remember what Doutta Stars did with under 16 footballers several years ago - that was a disgrace and was addressed by the league
I'm not interested in the inter league , the only benefit os that there is a bye and clubs can run a fund raising event that weekend. EDFL is a strong competition but it would be beaten by the premier Amos and lets wait to see how we go against the EFL .Clearly the EDFL has been able to recruit more AFL players but this doesn't mean the competition is the best - the EDFL is the biggest money competition across Melbourne , that is true.
Money has ruined the the EDFL hopefully the EDFL accepts the 48 points that AFL Vic which to implement for season 2017 and doesn't consider bowing to the wishes of a few clubs to run with 50!
Some of what you say I agree with but when you say money has ruined the EDFL what do you mean ? Money has been in local sport since it started and as in all walks of life there are some clubs better off than others . It's just some of these clubs have either thrived or fallen depending on who is interested in running them at the time. Don't be fooled into thinking it was all amateur back in the day. The EDFL seemed to have a larger number of clubs able to pay upwards of 250k in player payments a year. Then again the likes of Balwyn , Vermont , Noble Park, Norwood and Doncaster are all close to or well above that figure. FYI Balwyn had 6 ex AFL at their club and a heap more ex VFL . Sure clubs are under pressure but as long as the competition is strong and competive (which the EDFL is) then thats all that matters.On your final point it appears the EDFL are strongly considering going against AFL Vic rulings and keeping the 50 points. They are saying our comp is thriving so go and focus on the ones that are not . Interesting times .

Bully boy you don't seem to understand what I am saying - yes the EDFL has been paying money to players for more than 40, I was paid way back when , the trouble now is that the money has got out of hand - when local football clubs are paying more than $350k a year ( and the EDFL would have at least 6 clubs in this category ) then it is out of control. Clubs will cheat the salary cap there is no doubt . The EDFL being competitive and strong is not the point , there are clubs in the EDFL that are on the point of collapse and no one gives a stuff

Hey Blueboy, I agree in part as ALL clubs need to be realistic and not offer a player stupid amounts of money. Yes some players are worth more than others and especially those that fully commit to things other than just game day. But there are some clubs (not just in EDFL) that offer ridiculous amounts. Examples are some VFL reserves players, who have played less than say 10 senior VFL games.

Now I disagree that more than 6 clubs are spending >350k. I could maybe name 2 clubs, maybe 3 that would have budgeted close to this figure. Won't name them on here, but 1 club that didn't figure in finals was offering big dollars and is having another crack again in season 2017. However just offering the highest figure doesn't necessarily get you the player unless they are purely after the $$. Your playing a dangerous game then!!

Thats why there are 3 divisions . You end up playing where you deserve to be playing. Who's on the point of collapse? You'll probably come up with a couple of names well they will either drop a division or 2 , Change comps or go out of existence . This is the way of the world .Give me a good reason why the Stratgmores, Greenvales and Keilors of the world should be held back because some clubs have champagne tastes on a beer income and a hence are poorly managed? Now consider this , an average house price in the 80's in Melbourne was $70k , now it's about $700k . Increased 10 fold . Now work out what clubs were paying back in the 80's . 20k , 30 k ,40 k ? Around that mark ? Now work out if player payments have got out of hand.

My friend we have to agree to disagree about this because regardless how well run clubs maybe paying more than $400k for local footballers is ridiculous and ultimately unsustainable hence the points and salary caps
Personally I don't believe the richest club should be the winner and this approach is not good - if the rumours here regarding Abbers are correct! Clubs paying huge money can raise the money they are relying on supporters to kick in big money and when these people run into a little difficulty ( like at Abbers ) they are rooted !

M
My friend we have to agree to disagree about this because regardless how well run clubs maybe paying more than $400k for local footballers is ridiculous and ultimately unsustainable hence the points and salary caps
Personally I don't believe the richest club should be the winner and this approach is not good - if the rumours here regarding Abbers are correct! Clubs paying huge money can raise the money they are relying on supporters to kick in big money and when these people run into a little difficulty ( like at Abbers ) they are rooted !
Meant to say clubs can't raise that money they rely on wealthy supporters

Thats why there are 3 divisions . You end up playing where you deserve to be playing. Who's on the point of collapse? You'll probably come up with a couple of names well they will either drop a division or 2 , Change comps or go out of existence . This is the way of the world .Give me a good reason why the Stratgmores, Greenvales and Keilors of the world should be held back because some clubs have champagne tastes on a beer income and a hence are poorly managed? Now consider this , an average house price in the 80's in Melbourne was $70k , now it's about $700k . Increased 10 fold . Now work out what clubs were paying back in the 80's . 20k , 30 k ,40 k ? Around that mark ? Now work out if player payments have got out of hand.
Bully here is one reason do you want a 3 team division where only 3 teams have a chance and the rest are cannon fodder and we have crappy games each week with huge blow out's on the score board thus weakening the league or do you want a league where we have great competitive games each week and 5 or six clubs have a chance of making the big dance attracting players who want to play in a really strong league .

How many different clubs have won premierships in a past decade ? 5 or 6 ? That says the EDFL is a fantastically competitive competition. Abers may have stretched themselves this year if the rumours are true but they will correct this in no time . You probably come from a different era as I do and the $ amounts seem ridiculous but really not much has changed if you really think about it. It's a great discussion point though .

Bully here is one reason do you want a 3 team division where only 3 teams have a chance and the rest are cannon fodder and we have crappy games each week with huge blow out's on the score board thus weakening the league or do you want a league where we have great competitive games each week and 5 or six clubs have a chance of making the big dance attracting players who want to play in a really strong league .
What are you talking about ? A 3 team competition . Be specific , name the clubs who can and can't compete. You are generalising . Tell me again what is wrong with a competition with so many different premiers in recent times. You obviously follow a club who can't compete with the big boys . The side that finished second last spent $280k and the 6th side spent around $350k . So that proves the end result doesn't just depend on who has the most cash. It's a good laugh reading all contradictory comments on here .

How many different clubs have won premierships in a past decade ? 5 or 6 ? That says the EDFL is a fantastically competitive competition. Abers may have stretched themselves this year if the rumours are true but they will correct this in no time . You probably come from a different era as I do and the $ amounts seem ridiculous but really not much has changed if you really think about it. It's a great discussion point though .
Yep it will be corrected after jnr registration night

What are you talking about ? A 3 team competition . Be specific , name the clubs who can and can't compete. You are generalising . Tell me again what is wrong with a competition with so many different premiers in recent times. You obviously follow a club who can't compete with the big boys . The side that finished second last spent $280k and the 6th side spent around $350k . So that proves the end result doesn't just depend on who has the most cash. It's a good laugh reading all contradictory comments on here .

Strathmore finished 7th, not 6th.

The EDFL is a very competitive, strong league which attracts good players and has a good spread of teams playing finals. There hasn't been one or two teams winning premierships over the last five years. FACT. We do not know exactly what all clubs are spending but ballpark seems to be around the salary cap so who cares. No clubs are really in financial turmoil, even Abers just seem to be slow paying out, but honestly who cares they will definitely pay up. Big money clubs can't guarantee premierships and that has been shown, can clubs use their funds more wisely? Hell yeah, but if you want to see some of the best local footy someone has to get paid. there's a trade off.

If you want to look at a league in serious trouble just look at the WRFL, they actually have a problem with overspending dominant clubs, and a weak league. We're in one of the best era's of EDFL footy so live it up.

The league needs to focus on the overall piss poor conditions of facilities and grounds that clubs dish up rather than anything else off-field. Hopefully teams will stay within the salary cap and use an extra 50k a year to implement these upgrades.

The EDFL is a very competitive, strong league which attracts good players and has a good spread of teams playing finals. There hasn't been one or two teams winning premierships over the last five years. FACT. We do not know exactly what all clubs are spending but ballpark seems to be around the salary cap so who cares. No clubs are really in financial turmoil, even Abers just seem to be slow paying out, but honestly who cares they will definitely pay up. Big money clubs can't guarantee premierships and that has been shown, can clubs use their funds more wisely? Hell yeah, but if you want to see some of the best local footy someone has to get paid. there's a trade off.

If you want to look at a league in serious trouble just look at the WRFL, they actually have a problem with overspending dominant clubs, and a weak league. We're in one of the best era's of EDFL footy so live it up.

The league needs to focus on the overall piss poor conditions of facilities and grounds that clubs dish up rather than anything else off-field. Hopefully teams will stay within the salary cap and use an extra 50k a year to implement these upgrades.
Very well written

EDFL Premier Division 2016