EDFL Premier Division 2016

There is I think 5 with season ending injuries! That had to be replaced with u18 boys over the last few weeks as the EDS reserves aren't going well. Lack of 'senior' depth. Think they had a really bad day to be honest. That's really the only game since coming up where they have been torn apart. And credit where it's due. Strathmore played really good footy.

Hey mate, even playing some 18s think your player points were 50 on Saturday. That must be a concern..
I'm not a fan of it and sides coming up will struggle to stay under 50 if they want to be competitive like EDS are doing this season.

Why didn't you put your hand up to coach at WC when they were in trouble? Nuh you didn't do that easier to walk away, real loyal, that's a great lesson to teach the young fella! Based on that I don't think there's any other option but to see you as a knob!
Your comments reek of "it's all about Me Me Me Me Me!!!!!"
Is this the extent of dialogue and logic? This is coming from individuals calling people knobs under the anonymity of a what is normally a decent forum. Don't need to say anymore.

i see the Potter bagging has subsided 28 and 1 seems like a pretty good record. Dont know how McGuane still gets raved up and is being talked about as coach of the year so far. i think Digby Morrell at West Coburg has to get that nod. Already more wins than last season and still 8 rounds to go. Also won 2 premierships in this comp in the past five years. Got to say that resume stacks up against anyones.

west coburg have been improved a lot and Morrell is an exceptional coach but mcguane is the best coach in the Comp and has been for a long time in my opinion! Keilor on top of all 3 premier division ladders with 18s and reserves being undefeated and seniors only losing the 1 game so far! His development and blooding of juniors players is paying off big time for them now and I would a lesser coach at Keilor during his time, they definitely wouldn't be in the position they are today

Hey mate, even playing some 18s think your player points were 50 on Saturday. That must be a concern..
I'm not a fan of it and sides coming up will struggle to stay under 50 if they want to be competitive like EDS are doing this season.

Anderson, Hicks, Calvaresi & Thompson all out injured and all 1 pointers. That's the issue at EDS at the moment, not the 50 point cap. 50 is too high in my opinion, even though I follow EDS even I can admit they had to spend $$ and recruit pretty much a new team this year. The points reducing and possible salary cap only point to a better competition in the future where all clubs can dream of a premiership, not just the wealthy.
As far as the game went Saturday EDS played as poorly as they have all year and the margin could have been greater. SM were awesome lead by big McIntosh. Plenty of motivation after the Rd.1 embarrassment at SM and they got their revenge. Far too good on the day.
Games against GV & PV will decide Doutta's finals fate.

west coburg have been improved a lot and Morrell is an exceptional coach but mcguane is the best coach in the Comp and has been for a long time in my opinion! Keilor on top of all 3 premier division ladders with 18s and reserves being undefeated and seniors only losing the 1 game so far! His development and blooding of juniors players is paying off big time for them now and I would a lesser coach at Keilor during his time, they definitely wouldn't be in the position they are today

For what it's worth I agree Morrell has/is doing a great job and a respected coach but agree Mighty Mick still ahead of Pots due to Keilor spending less than Abers in previous seasons and he still gets them up, so due to that I reckon his still the best going around. But I also think Pots is doing a great job obviously. Only my opinion but guess I'm not alone in my thoughts.

Agree Morrell has coached for a number of year and his results are strong
1 flag in this comp in 2011 and 1 in B grade in 2014

About $150K!
+

yeah fair enough for McGuane - and facts are 10 years at Keilor $60k per year for 1 flag..... but we all agree he is a super coach. This year they've gone out and spent a heap with Galea,Tanner,Cartelli,McGuane + kept all the others on Big $$$ , Browne, Bathie, Gourdes ect.ect.... , they need to win it

OK I'll ask it a different way - If Morrell was coaching Avondale how many games would've they won with their list? If McGuane was coaching APW, how many games would've they won? Do we put too much emphasis on the **** roach?

The best coach in this comp in recent times was probably Anthony Rock who helped navigate a good Greenvale side to back to back flags against heavily favoured Abers/Strathmore sides.
From an outsiders perspective I do find the leeway afforded Mick McGuane interesting given blokes with similar records to him in the EDFL have been moved on but perhaps that continuity is a part of Keilors strength.

The best coach in this comp in recent times was probably Anthony Rock who helped navigate a good Greenvale side to back to back flags against heavily favoured Abers/Strathmore sides.
From an outsiders perspective I do find the leeway afforded Mick McGuane interesting given blokes with similar records to him in the EDFL have been moved on but perhaps that continuity is a part of Keilors strength.
What, reckon he's better than Cupido?

Last 11 years of A Grade premierships
The only premiership coach that remains at the same club is McGuanne
He has been there 9 years with one premiership, only 5 clubs have won a premiership over the last 11 years.
Year Premier Division COACH
2015 Aberfeldie Adam Potter
2014 Strathmore Craig Clinnick
2013 Greenvale Anthony Rock
2012 Greenvale Anthony Rock
2011 Strathmore Digby Morrell
2010 Maribyrnong Park Brodie Holland
2009 Maribyrnong Park Brodie Holland
2008 Keilor Mick McGuanne
2007 Greenvale Steve McPherson
2006 Strathmore Craig Hille
2005 Strathmore Craig Hille

Keilor missed the finals in most of the years under Mighty Mick, is reguarly out coached on gameday and the spruik he gets on here about being the best coach in it is quite laughable.

Last 11 years of A Grade premierships
The only premiership coach that remains at the same club is McGuanne
He has been there 9 years with one premiership, only 5 clubs have won a premiership over the last 11 years.
Year Premier Division COACH
2015 Aberfeldie Adam Potter
2014 Strathmore Craig Clinnick
2013 Greenvale Anthony Rock
2012 Greenvale Anthony Rock
2011 Strathmore Digby Morrell
2010 Maribyrnong Park Brodie Holland
2009 Maribyrnong Park Brodie Holland
2008 Keilor Mick McGuanne
2007 Greenvale Steve McPherson
2006 Strathmore Craig Hille
2005 Strathmore Craig Hille

Overlooked Pottsy??

Heard last week Turbo launched into the $15 on offer for Pacco to win it. After that plunge and their impressive win against the Jetters they're now into $11.

Any truth?

You heard because I called you with the mail and asked if you wanted to get on with me.. But you stayed loyal to Abers..
How about the Pacco/Abers double to meet in the GF? Lol

Abers by 42 - Both clubs always get themselves up for this big clash but I fear the injury toll at EDS is starting to mount up. Abers too good

Avondale by 1 - Heights to avenge the heartbreaking loss in rd.2 and cause an upset. Rose 7

Pacco by 150 - %%%%%%%

S'more by 24 - Mores to continue strong form and throw the finals race for 3rd/4th wide open again. McIntosh the points over Deluca

Keilor by 60 - Even at Shore reserve Keilor will carry on the merry way at the top. Galea 6+

Keilor missed the finals in most of the years under Mighty Mick, is reguarly out coached on gameday and the spruik he gets on here about being the best coach in it is quite laughable.

I respect your opinion but I still think Mighty Mick is the best coach in EDFL and probably one of the best outside VFL. His passion, commitment and those speeches he gives are some of the best I've seen. He is also is heavily involved in the junior program down there at the bottom age I believe.
But I also agree with BlueJet, in that Rock is also rated highly and might be above Mighty Mick as coaches in our "area".

Having said all that they would have to be the to highest paid coaches surely, so you would expect they would go over & beyound and be the best..

Couple of questions:
1/ How long do we think Mighty Mick will continue at Keilor? I guess now is the year Keilor really expect to win it so interesting to see how it ends this season..

2/ Is Wallis going to be rated with Mighty Mick & Rock in a few years time if Douttas keep improving. His been very good so far!

3/ Can Pots go back to back with Abers? Will his rating improve among the BF followers or will it be a case of he had the cattle, unlike the others mentioned. Will that stigma follow him??

The thing all these coaches mentioned above have, is strong junior programs which does help there coaching.
I guess the only club on that premiership list that didn't have a strong junior program (at the time) was Marby, but they did have GA's $$.

Currently off the teams in the top 6 challenging for a finals spot Pacco probably have the hardest task re junior numbers/talent. Could Contessa/Morgan pull a rabbit out of the hat and get Pacco a premiership this season? If so that would be against the trend of recent seasons.

Spoke to a couple of Abers parents this week and all is not well down there.A number of parents not too happy with the clubs decision to forfeit with their second u/18 side last week,this is the second time this year. No problem if you can't field a team but this wasn't the case ,they had enough players to field 2 teams especially if they had split their numbers evenly.Now you would think in the best interests of kids having a game of footy(opposition included) you would forgo a win in premier just to give the kids a game.Also heard some kids who were brought into the one's sat on the bench all day and were only given a run with 5mins to go, one kid actually telling the coach to shove it. When you take into account the cost of membership any wonder they are not happy.

I respect your opinion but I still think Mighty Mick is the best coach in EDFL and probably one of the best outside VFL. His passion, commitment and those speeches he gives are some of the best I've seen. He is also is heavily involved in the junior program down there at the bottom age I believe.
But I also agree with BlueJet, in that Rock is also rated highly and might be above Mighty Mick as coaches in our "area".

Having said all that they would have to be the to highest paid coaches surely, so you would expect they would go over & beyound and be the best..

Couple of questions:
1/ How long do we think Mighty Mick will continue at Keilor? I guess now is the year Keilor really expect to win it so interesting to see how it ends this season..

2/ Is Wallis going to be rated with Mighty Mick & Rock in a few years time if Douttas keep improving. His been very good so far!

3/ Can Pots go back to back with Abers? Will his rating improve among the BF followers or will it be a case of he had the cattle, unlike the others mentioned. Will that stigma follow him??

The thing all these coaches mentioned above have, is strong junior programs which does help there coaching.
I guess the only club on that premiership list that didn't have a strong junior program (at the time) was Marby, but they did have GA's $$.

Currently off the teams in the top 6 challenging for a finals spot Pacco probably have the hardest task re junior numbers/talent. Could Contessa/Morgan pull a rabbit out of the hat and get Pacco a premiership this season? If so that would be against the trend of recent seasons.

Yes we can agree to disagree on Mick, i have just seen him for a decade under achieving at Keilor and somehow escapes any of the internal pressure such poor results would be cause others.

1. If he doesnt at least get Keilor to a GF this year you would hope the power brokers are starting to look at him, no excuses this year with the list they have assembled.
2. Doubt it, unless he can get them to a GF. Would have Digby rated a head of him for now.
3. Probably always going to be seen for what he is, like Bullen at Deer Park or Holland at Marby when they were spending up big the coach is never going to be rated highly purely because they have such a huge advantage in terms of $ spent on the playing list.

Yes we can agree to disagree on Mick, i have just seen him for a decade under achieving at Keilor and somehow escapes any of the internal pressure such poor results would be cause others.

1. If he doesnt at least get Keilor to a GF this year you would hope the power brokers are starting to look at him, no excuses this year with the list they have assembled.
2. Doubt it, unless he can get them to a GF. Would have Digby rated a head of him for now.
3. Probably always going to be seen for what he is, like Bullen at Deer Park or Holland at Marby when they were spending up big the coach is never going to be rated highly purely because they have such a huge advantage in terms of $ spent on the playing list.

Fair reply mate.
Believe Mighty Mick was gone if the powerbrokers could have got Castello a few years back but he decided to go to Marby and reject the better financial offer from Keilor.

Agree Digby is up there with the top coaches no doubt. But think Wallis has done an excellent job thus far. Let's reasses him in 1 or 2 years time as Douttas will expect to be top 3 in the next few years with what there spending and there junior program.

Avondale 15 points - have shown glimpses of good footy. Back at home and rose is dominating will be the differences. Clouston was good the last few weeks when at chb so hopefully they stick with that!

Aberfeldie by lots - love the kids at EDS love the youth. But this will be 4 hard tough muddy slogs in a row and the young bodies will find it too hard against an abers side absolutely flying.

Pascoe Vale 130+ - too good.

Strathmore 24 points - if they bring the intent like they did against EDS they win. Greenvale seem to be struggling at the moment.

Keilor 80+ - key to shore reserve is the clearances and midfield battle and keilors is class with a class ruckman and will be way too good.

Avondale 15 points - have shown glimpses of good footy. Back at home and rose is dominating will be the differences. Clouston was good the last few weeks when at chb so hopefully they stick with that!

Aberfeldie by lots - love the kids at EDS love the youth. But this will be 4 hard tough muddy slogs in a row and the young bodies will find it too hard against an abers side absolutely flying.

Pascoe Vale 130+ - too good.

Strathmore 24 points - if they bring the intent like they did against EDS they win. Greenvale seem to be struggling at the moment.

Keilor 80+ - key to shore reserve is the clearances and midfield battle and keilors is class with a class ruckman and will be way too good.

I notice Abers selected team list on website has e few important omissions - Reymers, Kefford & Allen. All 3 played significant part first time round. Their depth is fantastic but those outs might bring EDS a bit closer elbeit EDS side this time round weaker. Playing surface might be OK as rain full not as heavy this week as predicted. Looking forward to entertaining free scoring game at Clifton Park.

EDFL Premier Division 2016