EDFL Premier Division 2016

Good post Gremlin. IMO Digby Morell is clearly one of the best coaches in the EDFL. His ability to educate and have his troops perform so competitively is great to see. I am not sure he has the budget compared to other clubs and therefore he doesn't have the big name recruits. Good on WC and Diggers. Still a long way to go in this season people!
Yes, West Coburg have flown under the radar so far. I certainly underrated them. Would make for a pleasant change if they are there at the business end of the season.

Digby is a very good coach, great core on young players to work with as well. Biggest asset WC have, many may not think much of it, but most are home grown players who actually play for the love of the club. They've only recruited a few players, normally around the 30/50 point mark. Still struggling to understand how papa is worth 6 points, the kid hasn't even played SANFL.

It's the same as Hemela from Greenvale who played juniors there. Worth a 6 pointer having played Vfl development league. Yet a bloke like Lyons from Strathmore is a 1 pointer doesn't make sense.

Going back a couple years ago now but AH looked unbeatable and are now winless? it doesn't look as though they have lost that many players going by the team running around now to name a few Tiller galea cartelli magin young free tanner but you would think they have done a good job in replacing them. Could it be the new coach?

Worrying times for the Heights. No wins for any of seniors,reserves or Under 18 teams this year. Depth has always been a worry but they were competitive at senior level and we're close to flag favs a couple of years ago. The two Robb twins seem to be the only players to have come through their junior system of recent times to have any impact at senior level

They do have five boys on their senior list from the u18s and one who Isint but did do pre season with the cannons and another two players who are still u16s played u18s this year one playing jets u16s and one who has represented Queensland a friend has told me Ahfc look good on paper what do you guys think is the problem ?

Are Maribyrnong even a outside chance too push up the ladder and hit the top 4 after upsetting Greenvale on the weekend?

They do have five boys on their senior list from the u18s and one who Isint but did do pre season with the cannons and another two players who are still u16s played u18s this year one playing jets u16s and one who has represented Queensland a friend has told me Ahfc look good on paper what do you guys think is the problem ?
AH lost 3 of their top 5 B&F finishers from last season Cartelli , Galea and Grossman . These 3 were replaced by S.Harding , Clouston and O'Dwyer . So one way of looking at it is 3 guys with Zero AFL games between them were replaced with 3 guys who all had played senior AFL football . Most of the other departures were not their frontline players and seemingly easily replaced by 7or 8 recruits from Bendigo , Eastlake among other areas. So what's happened? That's the million dollar question and there are possibly many many reasons for such a poor showing thus far but the decision the leaders made with 6 games to go last year to replace a coach with such a win/loss record seemed ridiculous then and even more ridiculous now. Then I'm told those guys have moved aside and left others to pick up the pieces. Daniel Archer from all reports has a great football brain and knows much about coaching but unfortunately hasn't the off field strength of character around him to help him get results. From what I can see the club needs to make some really tough calls on a few players NOW . In other words take a few steps back to go forward down the track. Mad Monday where are you?

Good review Bully. They also lost Eames from the coaching panel as well. His a smart operator.
I think replacing a FF in Galea with a CHF in Clouston was a good move as they have already had a gun FF in Rose. I am hearing some reports from there but I don't wish to air them to the public. It's not to do with the coach either.

The ruckman was a huge loss and I see that T. Jones is also missing so I presume Jones must be injured. Very underrated player who has beaten some of the best forwards in this competition over recent seasons.

Good review Bully. They also lost Eames from the coaching panel as well. His a smart operator.
I think replacing a FF in Galea with a CHF in Clouston was a good move as they have already had a gun FF in Rose. I am hearing some reports from there but I don't wish to air them to the public. It's not to do with the coach either.

The ruckman was a huge loss and I see that T. Jones is also missing so I presume Jones must be injured. Very underrated player who has beaten some of the best forwards in this competition over recent seasons.
The departed coach as well as being an experienced football person was also an expert recruiter who had a vast network of contacts to draw on. You are right on Eames' credentials but the truth was he wasn't there enough. At the end of the day Ghazi took over a side that finished 2nd bottom went 4th, 3rd and 5th now they are 2nd bottom again. I also know more than I let on and at the end of the day the coach is responsible I guess but as I stated earlier the lack of a support structure within the club for a new coach who's from interstate is sad.

Are Maribyrnong even a outside chance too push up the ladder and hit the top 4 after upsetting Greenvale on the weekend?

Million dollar question:

They have beaten the grand finalists from last year so the ability is there, they have lost two very winnable games against Strathmore and West Coburg where they performed below par.

If they can prevail in these close ones and keep their full list on the park i think they will sneak a top 4 spot...

Like any team in the top 6 it all comes down to injuries and being able to perform consistently.

The departed coach as well as being an experienced football person was also an expert recruiter who had a vast network of contacts to draw on. You are right on Eames' credentials but the truth was he wasn't there enough. At the end of the day Ghazi took over a side that finished 2nd bottom went 4th, 3rd and 5th now they are 2nd bottom again. I also know more than I let on and at the end of the day the coach is responsible I guess but as I stated earlier the lack of a support structure within the club for a new coach who's from interstate is sad.

Recruiting doesn't seem to be their problem though. On rough count they've got 13 players on their list that have either played State Level footy or higher. 4 of those played AFL footy. It's been a huge financial investment for next to zero return over the last 4 years and you've got to wonder what will happen in the ensuing seasons. They look like they'll finish up in 9th spot & you've got to wonder what the likes of Rose, Cravino, Morris, Smith, Davies etc do next year.

I fear that Avondale could easily become the Airport West of last year and be short priced favs to face the drop at the end of 2017

Losing Rhys Magin was an under rated loss for Avondale, he created a lot of run and polish through the midfield and elite skills hitting the forwards.

Recruiting doesn't seem to be their problem though. On rough count they've got 13 players on their list that have either played State Level footy or higher. 4 of those played AFL footy. It's been a huge financial investment for next to zero return over the last 4 years and you've got to wonder what will happen in the ensuing seasons. They look like they'll finish up in 9th spot & you've got to wonder what the likes of Rose, Cravino, Morris, Smith, Davies etc do next year.

I fear that Avondale could easily become the Airport West of last year and be short priced favs to face the drop at the end of 2017
If recruiting isn't the problem what is? The old coach had all and sundry taking aim at him. I know one thing for certain , he kept a firm handle on ALL players when it came to training requirements and commitment to the cause. Certainly the club has increased its financial commitment in recent years but there are 7 or 8 clubs in premier who spend more or similar amounts. Spending more doesn't automatically ensure success . Sometimes managing expectations inside clubs can be a job in itself. Smart football people would realise how tough this caper is even at local level. Clearly this club is lacking in this area.

Their top ten is probably as good as anyone in the comp (All recruits) Depth has always been their problem and continues to be! The Under 18's are getting smashed every week and reserves have no-one running around putting any pressure on any player in that senior side. That may be flowing on to commitment from the "top 22" which isn't acceptable and affects performance at this level. They really haven't established a junior program that flows through to players playing reserves football and then becoming solid senior players

Even before points systems it was impossible for any club to rely wholely on recruits. It just costs too much! Look at the current top 4 sides and i'd guess that at least 6 players from each of those sides would have come through that clubs junior system

Take 10 of Abers recruits out of their side and replace them with Clouston, Rose, Cravino, O'Dwyer, Smith, Davies, Nastasi, S Harding, Stretton & McMahon and Abers are no weaker for it. The difference is the bottom 6 - 8. You can't recruit for your depth that has to be built from within

Their top ten is probably as good as anyone in the comp (All recruits) Depth has always been their problem and continues to be! The Under 18's are getting smashed every week and reserves have no-one running around putting any pressure on any player in that senior side. That may be flowing on to commitment from the "top 22" which isn't acceptable and affects performance at this level. They really haven't established a junior program that flows through to players playing reserves football and then becoming solid senior players

Even before points systems it was impossible for any club to rely wholely on recruits. It just costs too much! Look at the current top 4 sides and i'd guess that at least 6 players from each of those sides would have come through that clubs junior system

Take 10 of Abers recruits out of their side and replace them with Clouston, Rose, Cravino, O'Dwyer, Smith, Davies, Nastasi, S Harding, Stretton & McMahon and Abers are no weaker for it. The difference is the bottom 6 - 8. You can't recruit for your depth that has to be built from within
I'm not going to sit here and defend how Avondale have been going, first few rounds it tore me to shreds to watch a new side put together good performances for no results. Now, and not making excuses, injuries have struck and as has been made aware depth is a serious issue at the club and has been for some time.

So yes, the performances are not up to scratch but I can guarantee you if any man can help turn it around its Daniel Archer, once the players click in the second half of the year I think some big games will be pinched here and there.

If we look at the first 6, Avondale had Marby beat, had douttas on the ropes and had west coburg close to, could potentially be 3-3 and there's no chat or questioning the team. However that is not the case and the questioning is warranted I understand.

Just wondering with other people's opinion. have Avondale recruited blokes who maybe have come from higher levels and weren't expecting the edfl to be as solid and tough as it is? Some big name players at times find it very tough to impact the game, was especially evident on the small confinds of west coburg a couple weeks ago.

I'm not going to sit here and defend how Avondale have been going, first few rounds it tore me to shreds to watch a new side put together good performances for no results. Now, and not making excuses, injuries have struck and as has been made aware depth is a serious issue at the club and has been for some time.

So yes, the performances are not up to scratch but I can guarantee you if any man can help turn it around its Daniel Archer, once the players click in the second half of the year I think some big games will be pinched here and there.

If we look at the first 6, Avondale had Marby beat, had douttas on the ropes and had west coburg close to, could potentially be 3-3 and there's no chat or questioning the team. However that is not the case and the questioning is warranted I understand.

Just wondering with other people's opinion. have Avondale recruited blokes who maybe have come from higher levels and weren't expecting the edfl to be as solid and tough as it is? Some big name players at times find it very tough to impact the game, was especially evident on the small confinds of west coburg a couple weeks ago.
Absolutely some players do not adjust to the differing environments local football presents. Some smaller grounds, varying skill sets and unfamiliar game styles sometimes make it difficult to adjust. Now that's the nice explanation. Then there are are players who think it's their right to put their hand out for huge cash and then put in half the work they did to make it to a higher level in the first place. That's the reason smart football people can sort out the "fair Dinkum" ones from the " pretenders" before agreeing to terms . Then if a " mistake" is made sort it out QUICKLY and not let it fester and ruin the fabric of a club. This IMO is the core of the problem at your club. It's nice to list a group of "impressive" names but if half of them are there for the wrong reasons well your stuffed. Good luck in sorting it out.

Fair overview mate on Avondale. As we know it's just different footy and some cope and put in effort, and some don't, as what Bully said. Let's use "Dogga" Cravino as an example. He will give you his all every game and is a courageous player. Very loyal as well. Great get. Yes I assume his getting good $$ but his worth it. Some others maybe not..
If you watch a game of EDFL, BFL, etc and then go watch a game of VFL the speed of the game is much quicker in VFL. Moves up & down so fast these days. So certain players do find it harder to adapt to metro footy and "could" be better suited playing GVFL on bigger grounds.

On the subject of West Coburgs Shore Res ground, it's not suitable for top grade metro footy the way it's played these days. Pacco & Marbys ground are probably the minimum size a ground should be for top grade metro footy. A player like Clouston for example who likes to move around won't be able to do that at Shore Res. His a big unit and goes in, but his strength is to run, mark, and create play. He won't be able to do that on that postage stamp ground. But I guess WC don't like the size either and have been proactive in getting on Coburgs City Oval, but it seems Coburg have second thoughts and the ground is struggling with the extra traffic. Surely the council can do something as good grounds like City Oval should be used more IMO.

I'm with Bully in clubs must do their research on players they intend to recruit. All players with a good playing resume will demand good $$ in this day & age but you need to get the right players.
Who is Avondales no1 ruck? Is it Byrne? If so they should have gone after a recognised ruckman as I reckon Byrne is best suited being a versitile "swing man" tall than your main ruck. His a good player and I like him it's just my opinion.

Fair overview mate on Avondale. As we know it's just different footy and some cope and put in effort, and some don't, as what Bully said. Let's use "Dogga" Cravino as an example. He will give you his all every game and is a courageous player. Very loyal as well. Great get. Yes I assume his getting good $$ but his worth it. Some others maybe not..
If you watch a game of EDFL, BFL, etc and then go watch a game of VFL the speed of the game is much quicker in VFL. Moves up & down so fast these days. So certain players do find it harder to adapt to metro footy and "could" be better suited playing GVFL on bigger grounds.

On the subject of West Coburgs Shore Res ground, it's not suitable for top grade metro footy the way it's played these days. Pacco & Marbys ground are probably the minimum size a ground should be for top grade metro footy. A player like Clouston for example who likes to move around won't be able to do that at Shore Res. His a big unit and goes in, but his strength is to run, mark, and create play. He won't be able to do that on that postage stamp ground. But I guess WC don't like the size either and have been proactive in getting on Coburgs City Oval, but it seems Coburg have second thoughts and the ground is struggling with the extra traffic. Surely the council can do something as good grounds like City Oval should be used more IMO.

I'm with Bully in clubs must do their research on players they intend to recruit. All players with a good playing resume will demand good $$ in this day & age but you need to get the right players.
Who is Avondales no1 ruck? Is it Byrne? If so they should have gone after a recognised ruckman as I reckon Byrne is best suited being a versitile "swing man" tall than your main ruck. His a good player and I like him it's just my opinion.
Only problem with your analysis of Clouston playing on Shore reserve is that he took at least 15 marks that day and if he had his kicking boots on might have won the game off his own back. West Coburg did not have an answer to him for the first three quarters he dominated in a losing side like Kernahan in the 93 GF.

EDFL Premier Division 2016