• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

EDFL Premier Division 2017

What other sport has runners? They all seem to cope okay.
We need Runners in Aussie Rules imo, but pass the message on then get off the ground. Witnessed many Runners staying out on ground coaching for nearly whole quarters in junior games this year. Then watched them do the same second time around later in the year. Will not name clubs.

Name one other sport that changes the rules as much as AFL??....

Last thing we need is another bloody new rule introduced. Leave the game alone/

They are 100% unnecessary, especially with the amount of rotations that happen in modern football. Also players should be able to think on there feet and would put more emphasis in onfield leadership.
Totally agree. Runners are like the torpedo punt ... had their day! Although I would rather see blokes kicking torps, than runners standing in space and disrupting play.

Well drilled players know the rotations and strong leaders on the field are constantly reinforcing and coaching younger players.

The Tungamah District league might still need runners, but the EDFL premier comp does not.

Totally agree. Runners are like the torpedo punt ... had their day! Although I would rather see blokes kicking torps, than runners standing in space and disrupting play.

Well drilled players know the rotations and strong leaders on the field are constantly reinforcing and coaching younger players.

The Tungamah District league might still need runners, but the EDFL premier comp does not.

Lol! You do realise coaches make changes to players positions and structure moves that are outside of the normal rotations yeah? That's why they coach the team... That's what makes really good coaches... the ability to make a change that can turn the game during a quarter.

How will you be able to bring players off the field and make positional changes? Yell out across the ground? Or provide some advice that might change a one on one contest in your favour. Or the correction of your structure? I think runners help a lot. I don't agree they should coach out on the ground, but I do think they play a pivotal role if used correctly.

Gee I raised this topic and it's gone off. Basically what sh@@s me is clubs flaunting the rules. They know exactly what they are doing and it needs to stop. It's often the big clubs that try and cheat the system. If they did the right thing it wouldn't be an issue. Abers are 1 club that needs to be pulled back into line but I've seen other clubs do it as well. What if a player cleaned the runner up then he would get weeks but some need to be sorted out. Get off the ground Ffs.

Someone raised it happens in juniors to. Well that will start trouble and then they will blame the other club for starting violence. Well if a runner in junior footy is involve with opposition players they need to get off the ground or suffer the consequences. I don't advocate violence but gee some people bloody deserve it..

Here is another topic I think needs reviewing. Before I write I will say umpires must be respected and protected at all times. Zero tolerance for abuse.

A lot of tribunal cases I notice in most leagues you get more weeks for abusing an umpire than striking a player. I'm not sure I agree that whacking a player in the face is less damaging that maybe a slip of the tongue towards an umpire in frustration as long as it's not crossing the line.
My opinion abuse towards an umpire should be a heavy fine equivalent to what the player earns per game. So if it's bad he gets 5 x weekly match payments. Reserves and 19s players should be based on say 100 (I know players don't get paid, so it will make them think) and all juniors say $50. Must be paid within 7 days or the club pays the fine and recovers the money. This will hit players hard and force clubs into discussions with players/parents.
The money can go towards a charity at the end of the year..

On supporters yelling abuse at junior games this also needs reviewing but not sure how you can prove which club supporters follow. But it does need to be looked at.

Thoughts.

Here is another topic I think needs reviewing. Before I write I will say umpires must be respected and protected at all times. Zero tolerance for abuse.

A lot of tribunal cases I notice in most leagues you get more weeks for abusing an umpire than striking a player. I'm not sure I agree that whacking a player in the face is less damaging that maybe a slip of the tongue towards an umpire in frustration as long as it's not crossing the line.
My opinion abuse towards an umpire should be a heavy fine equivalent to what the player earns per game. So if it's bad he gets 5 x weekly match payments. Reserves and 19s players should be based on say 100 (I know players don't get paid, so it will make them think) and all juniors say $50. Must be paid within 7 days or the club pays the fine and recovers the money. This will hit players hard and force clubs into discussions with players/parents.

On supporters yelling abuse at junior games this also needs reviewing but not sure how you can prove which club supporters follow. But it does need to be looked at.

Thoughts.
I support your thoughts to a point. But until the EDFL are going to make the umpires accountable for their decisions then players and supporters can not be forced to pay fines.
We have all been to games that the umpires are having direct affect on.

Thoughts.

If they make stupid decisions they should be open to criticism like anyone else.

The zero "intolerance" policy is creating the fertile ground in which ever worsening umpiring is thriving.

I support your thoughts to a point. But until the EDFL are going to make the umpires accountable for their decisions then players and supporters can not be forced to pay fines.
We have all been to games that the umpires are having direct affect on.

Yes I also agree the umpiring standards have not improved as much as the football standard/talent in the EDFL. However who would want to umpire or let their kid umpire after what occurred in the WRFL the other week as well as some incidents in our league. Maybe the senior umpires need to be given appropriate feedback but some of the younger ones need to be encouraged just like younger footballers..
As all premier games are videotaped do the umpires get an edited copy with good & bad decisions so they can learn??

That's why I'm dead against runners staying on the ground to much as well as some trainers. Yes the focus was on water boys but let's get these idiots who want to stay on the ground, OFF the ground.

Game today called off at 3/4 time, poor Prowse going down with a nasty broken leg.
Gvale get another chance against Abers, a few key injuries to Greenvale will have Aberfeldie feeling confident.

Game today called off at 3/4 time, poor Prowse going down with a nasty broken leg.
Gvale get another chance against Abers, a few key injuries to Greenvale will have Aberfeldie feeling confident.
I think Abers will feel confident regardless of Greenvale injuries

Game actually called off at 6.05pm I don't think the edfl officials knew what to do. It took more than an hour for the ambos to arrive. Gotta feel for Prowse the pain he would have been in without the green whistle would have been horrendous. I wish him all the best in what will be a long recovery.

Was there any St. John's people at the ground or was it just the trainers from both clubs helping Prowse

nah no st johns there just the trainers

The EDFL might need to consider getting an ambulance on standby or something. Poor Prowse got injured in the last seconds of the third quarter around 4.10pm and then lay on the ground in agony until finally loaded into an ambulance at about 6pm. Not laying blame on or critising anyone but hate seeing young blokes in pain and no one being able to do anything to help. I wish him well with his recovery and pray it's not as bad as it looked.

Wouldn't that mean the edfl would have to pay money. After making the players pay to get in I reckon paying for a doctor, St Johns etc would be the last thing on their minds

Hey Survey, not sure your pointing this at me however i started this discussion, but it was around the tribunal decisions and i thought fines might make a bigger impact towards abuse on the ground. I did mention umpires MUST be respected as they also are bringing through young people as per what most good footy clubs are trying to do in build a good junior program.

Last edited by a moderator:
I think things will change now because of this. Clubs or at least the EDFL will be required to have a person qualified to administer this type of pain management at their grounds for games.

S
Well I thought west coburg were running the day not the EDFL so it will be up to them to organise St. John's ambulance.

Pretty sure St. John ambulance only administer first aid from experience, they have no authority to administer drugs, doubt you could take an ambulance off the road just in case no matter how much you paid, and if you did that for every football league what does that leave the general public. You would have to pay a doctor who could prescribe and administer a green stick, weekend rates for a dr casually looking at $300/hour. Nothing stopping a first aid kit from having some basic pain killers that you can buy over the counter like nurofen plus, panadiene, icing and splinting would of gone a long way for pain relief too (I personally wasn't there and this may have been done), but it's just a game and the players health is way more important than anything.

EDFL Premier Division 2017