AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Yeh fair call, the relentless Abers chatter is tiresomeAt no point did I mention any other club being unstable.
I do believe though the formula to Strathmores sustained success over a period of time has been the infrastructure set in place by a strong junior base. (Very much like Greenvale) as well as the ability to harness home grown talent and develop them into very very good senior footballers Alla.. Matt Knight.
They've added serious quality to list that last year won a premiership. The only notable exclusion would be that of Nathan Charles to Darley. From where I sit they look dangerous again. I agree the top 4 teams have all improved, it will be tight at the top. But away from all the hoop la of Abers recruits the Mores seem to be flying marginally under the radar.
Bassman Abdulwahed heading back to Northern.
Turbo your abviously a Pascoe Vale man , I notice Sherman has appealed to afl victoria against the refusal to clear him , be interesting to see how it plays out .Dont count out Pacco. As I've said before if they can win a few early they have the side to challenge the likes of Strathmore & co. Having a good pre season and their side on paper is right up there. Still actively recruiting and very positive vibe down there.
Have got a top midfield, good ruckman and quality forwards. Question will be if there backline can hold the other teams forwards and create some run down back, then look out..
Interesting season ahead and probably the best season for a few years.
"Bring it on I say"
Turbo your abviously a Pascoe Vale man , I notice Sherman has appealed to afl victoria against the refusal to clear him , be interesting to see how it plays out .
I think it is pretty simple for Shermo.I don't wish to waste to much time on this Shermo thing as its all been said before but from what I know he shopped himself around whilst still under contract and giving the impression he was going stay at Pacco, so had a back up plan to stay if he couldn't find a better offer. All this behind the clubs back.
Pretty disappointing from a person who committed and gave the club some hope pre season of 2014, as much as he was appointed captain. The club invested in him to lead them forward. In hindsight maybe a bad move but who was to know.
People like this need to take a good look at themselves as its not a good thing to do.
For thoses of you that know the Pacco people, they are genuine good people and trying to put the club in a good position to move forward and build a successful competitive team/club. To see what happen here was not good. But as the saying goes "what goes around comes around".
The club has now moved on and people like Adam Contessa and Daniel Harris seem to be better people to have around and are pulling everyone together.
PS: I'm not connected in any way, other than I like going down there as its a friendly club with good people who work hard..
Cheers boys!!
I think it is pretty simple for Shermo.
If he has accepted any sign on money for signing more than a one year contract, then he should simply refund Pacco the $$ .
Problem solved. Everyone moves on.
Hi boys just wondering if anyone has heard of a potential merger of Maribyrnong Park and Parkside? Rumour is that the latter despite winning last year's WRFL Grand Final have been averaging only 10-14 at training and appear certain not to be able to field a team!
Turbo did post this on the WRFL site a few weeks ago. Both clubs get along well and Marby could use the Parkside ground as a senior playing ground as the surface and facilities are great for senior footy, and still be based at Marby. Juniors stay at Marbys ground as they have 2 grounds.
Think it might be a takeover rather than a merger (colours totally different and the Lion can't be replaced with a magpie Lol) however keep some Parkside pictures, life members board etc on the walls and allow there members to access the rooms for any functions. Also the door could be open if they decided to go again but highly unlikely..
Parkside facilities are joined with Footscray Cricket Club so the upkeep of the facilities will always be maintained in good condition so I think it's a win win for both clubs.
PS: Parkside have done well to survive this long and have success with the seniors, but without juniors was not sustainable long term. Not many kids in the area.
Similar situation to an old FDL rival in Seddon footy club witch folded but merged with Yarraville. The difference being that when Footscray Cricket Club got kicked off the Whitten oval and relocated to Parkside it probably kept them alive a bit longer.
"That's my view"
Absolutely not enough of a gain for Marby to merge and they would loose their identity. Let's not forget that Marby are now a well established Premier Division Club with a great location. They also have one of the largest junior divisions in the EDFL. Marby are better off working on getting their ground redeveloped.
A club could not have access to a City of Moonee Valley and City of Maribyrnong facility at the same time and if they relocated to Parkside ground, they would become the new Parkside and die a slow death. Unfortunately for Parkside their days are numbered due to bad demographics.
One thing that the old Riverside Stars and Moonee Imps didn't get right when they merged to form Marby Park was to totally redevelop the ground from 2 small grounds with the incorrect east/west goal to goal orientation into one good ground with north/south orientation.
One thing Marby Park has done right is when the cash was flowing, they built up the club from the juniors up. That's why the club is in the top 25% of the EDFL clubs.
Interesting to note that Keilor missed out on GVFL gun Liam Ogden. Amazing to think that Ogden was really keen , Keilor put plenty of time into him, and when they made an offer it was WELL below where he was at in 2014. Triple inter league rep, prem player, B & F ect, and they dick around with offers that aren't realistic. Good on Keilor to sticking with principle, but can state the offer made wouldn't have put him in the top 8 players at Keilor. Staying at Ky for a very modest figure.
Ease up Sickofthecrap. The issue of my post is that the Marby Ground is crap!! I am saying that they have a lot going for them as a club just the way they are but they need to fix up that sh!thole of a groundI'm not sure if this rumour has any legs and I don't really care, but it amazes me how much f'ing crap some of you blokes spend time and energy on, surmising on the machinations of what might happen and why, it's entertaining to read that's for sure.
Ease up Sickofthecrap. The issue of my post is that the Marby Ground is crap!! I am saying that they have a lot going for them as a club just the way they are but they need to fix up that sh!thole of a ground
Hey turbo enjoy some of your work but l think you are starting to get a bit of head wobbleOk boys ease up. You have what you have. Marbys ground is used by the public not a real recognised footy ground as such. But I have personally enjoyed many a Saturday afternoon there and they have a few flags as well. I kind of agree the condition and shape of the ground is not the best but it's out of their control.
Good club and lead by a ripper coach/person in Robbie Castello,,
"That's my say"
Hey turbo enjoy some of your work but l think you are starting to get a bit of head wobble
1st you talked about yourself in the 3rd person & now your signing yourself off with a catch phrase
In the past 2 years or so Marby's grpund has improved so much. With that said still not in the top couple of grounds in the Premier division but no means the worst.Gday Milkman, was a bit late and after a few frothies.. Was just responding to the comment regarding Marbys ground. Agree not the best playing surface but not bad for watching the game. I used to go down there with the kids (a few years ago) and sit on the far side between both grounds and watch the footy for the day..
On Keilor and Mick, his easily the best coach in EDFL and maybe metro footy. Also spends a heap of time at the club and I believe is also coaching a junior team. He demands big coin but does give you everything..
Cheers and enjoy the day!!
PS: maybe we should get back to the real footy stuff hey. What I have said above most people know..
In the past 2 years or so Marby's grpund has improved so much. With that said still not in the top couple of grounds in the Premier division but no means the worst.
please name a ground that is worse
easily the worst. shit surface and no atmosphere
please name a ground that is worse
In Premier Divisionplease name a ground that is worse
In Premier Division
Northern Saints, West Coburg & Pascoe Vale have worse surfaces. When Abers gets wet the ground surfaces falls away very quickly.
Greenvale, Strathmore and Avondale hold up well in the wet conditions
Since Keilor has been redone the surface is IMO the best in the comp, besides the double line marking last year.