EDFL U16 2015

saw eds v strathmore game and it was anything but ornate or complex.
Strathmore seemed to simply want to have 18 players around the ball so eds always had two or three a kick behind play in their defensive areas and were never going to allow them to score so virtually conceded any chance, or do they always play that way?Surely not. Today would have been their best chance with the big guns from eds out but appeared to choose to try and minimize the damage instead of trying to win.When they beat Craigeburn they could not have played that way?
A truly horrible game and a very poor showing from Strathmore coaches if it was in fact planned that way.
Ornate or complex wasn't my description :). I meant that it was very compact with everyone swarming the ball. The other meaning of turgid is bloated, thick with something. Every days a lesson in here.

No way do these divisions "breed" talent, they just attract good players from division 2/3 clubs, believe me when I say there are plenty of talented footballers in lower grade clubs including K. Aspel of roxburgh park, R. Caundle of Pascoe vale and L. Watson of EK. Pure shame that players in lower grades that are loyal and committed to their clubs aren't getting recognised.
. Most players playing in division one have been at the club their whole playing careers. I'm most involved with west coburg and all the players in the first team apart from about 4 players, have been at the club since under 10's. Yes, I agree there are some quality players in lower divisions, however I believe they would be average players if they were to be playing in division one. players from Pascoe vale for example are over rated. Second year playing in division three would look good I guess.

No way do these divisions "breed" talent, they just attract good players from division 2/3 clubs, believe me when I say there are plenty of talented footballers in lower grade clubs including K. Aspel of roxburgh park, R. Caundle of Pascoe vale and L. Watson of EK. Pure shame that players in lower grades that are loyal and committed to their clubs aren't getting recognised.

I will buy into the discussion as been around footy for some time. Yes agree majority of div1 players are homegrown but what I will say is when they pick kids for interleague sides for example, they need to open there eyes as talent is at most clubs even the lower divisions. My son played rep footy from a team outside div1 ( well in u/10 & 12) and went on to play vic metro through 15s - 18s.
There is way to much bias in these teams. Yes players might look good in the lower divisions due to the standard but let's ALL remember so players look good in good sides as they are being feed the ball well. Now these kids get found out when reaching higher levels and I could name plenty across many leagues. In the lower divisions some kids have to get their own ball so this should be considered when judging young talent.

Not sure if it still happens but the interleague sides used to see 6-7 kids from some sides and really only 3-4 are really top end the others ride the wave but seem to get more opportunities than others. An area like Roxy there will be talent but they just need opportunities.

7911premiers I do agree there would be quite a few very talented kids playing in div 2 or 3 but the majority are from div 1.
The prime example would be Ben caluzzi who played originally for east keilor and presumably moved to eds to play in a higher division. Ben dominates in div 1 so I'd reckon he would have the ball on a string in div 3
Ornate or complex wasn't my description :). I meant that it was very compact with everyone swarming the ball. The other meaning of turgid is bloated, thick with something. Every days a lesson in here.
Thankyou Mr FastandLoose. You are a wealth of knowledge and wisdom. I stand corrected.
I will say it was the first time in 5 or 6 years since I had reason to grab a dictionary.

I will buy into the discussion as been around footy for some time. Yes agree majority of div1 players are homegrown but what I will say is when they pick kids for interleague sides for example, they need to open there eyes as talent is at most clubs even the lower divisions. My son played rep footy from a team outside div1 ( well in u/10 & 12) and went on to play vic metro through 15s - 18s.
There is way to much bias in these teams. Yes players might look good in the lower divisions due to the standard but let's ALL remember so players look good in good sides as they are being feed the ball well. Now these kids get found out when reaching higher levels and I could name plenty across many leagues. In the lower divisions some kids have to get their own ball so this should be considered when judging young talent.

Not sure if it still happens but the interleague sides used to see 6-7 kids from some sides and really only 3-4 are really top end the others ride the wave but seem to get more opportunities than others. An area like Roxy there will be talent but they just need opportunities.
I think there could possibly be 2-5 players in some div 2,3 sides who could comfortably hold there own in div 1.
Clearly these div's drop off after those players.

Let's all remember that division 1 is called that for a reason, it is the highest level of football most players are able to play at, excluding rep, cannons, etc.
I know it might come off as odd but sometimes you have to put yourself before your club and staying loyal to it might not get you to where you deserve. If you have the talent and ability to play division 1 like the players you have mentioned, 7911, and they are confident than they should do so, because in the end they will benefit from it.

saw eds v strathmore game and it was anything but ornate or complex.
Strathmore seemed to simply want to have 18 players around the ball so eds always had two or three a kick behind play in their defensive areas and were never going to allow them to score so virtually conceded any chance, or do they always play that way?Surely not. Today would have been their best chance with the big guns from eds out but appeared to choose to try and minimize the damage instead of trying to win.When they beat Craigeburn they could not have played that way?
A truly horrible game and a very poor showing from Strathmore coaches if it was in fact planned that way.
I think it was planned like that, the wind and boundary umpire did help as they both kept the ball on the far side of the ground and slowed the game up at the same time. Still thought the mores were well coached and it is a big achievement to keep douttas to under 50!
New topic of debate: Should the edfl employ boundary umpire to junior division 1 games or all divisions? They have enough umpires though it may be costly for clubs

Let's all remember that division 1 is called that for a reason, it is the highest level of football most players are able to play at, excluding rep, cannons, etc.
I know it might come off as odd but sometimes you have to put yourself before your club and staying loyal to it might not get you to where you deserve. If you have the talent and ability to play division 1 like the players you have mentioned, 7911, and they are confident than they should do so, because in the end they will benefit from it.

Sherrin - I do understand your views but if all players with talent from say under 12 onwards moved to div1 clubs it would create a major issue for any senior team that that is not represented in div1 under the new points system.
Let's use an example a top u/16 playing for EDS div1. Does he then move clubs again when he goes to u/18s as they are in div2.
It's a very interesting point but the league surely needs to make some ground rules from next year. What's classed as homegrown!!! Should it be there u/10 club maybe so if they move after u/10 they are worth more points.
I can assure you if the league doesn't step in premier clubs will be scouting the lower divisions with incentives to move clubs. It's going to get very nasty for any club not in premier. I believe it's been happening in the past as well but that's only my opinion.

I think it was planned like that, the wind and boundary umpire did help as they both kept the ball on the far side of the ground and slowed the game up at the same time. Still thought the mores were well coached and it is a big achievement to keep douttas to under 50!
New topic of debate: Should the edfl employ boundary umpire to junior division 1 games or all divisions? They have enough umpires though it may be costly for clubs
call me old fashioned but how can it ever be considered "good coaching"or planning when you fail to score a goal!!

Lets be totally honest here those guys you mentioned are not that good. Especially L.Watson. He is playing against douttas second team. Abers 3rd team keilors 2nd team hillsides second team. Same with those boys from roxy and Pascoe vale. They are pretty much playing against the top 3 A grade teams 2 and 3 side. So these gun div 3 players are playing against teams mostly made up of kids that are Bottom age. See how they would go against the the top age boys in division 2 let alone div 1

New topic of debate: Should the edfl employ boundary umpire to junior division 1 games or all divisions? They have enough umpires though it may be costly for clubs[/QUOTE
Sherrin4lyf it would have been well coached if they could have scored more than a mere 1 point in 80 mins of football. Remember eds score 50 times more than strathmore. Garbage football from strathmore thanks to the coach who runs around the ground and the coach on the boundary line.

Lets be totally honest here those guys you mentioned are not that good. Especially L.Watson. He is playing against douttas second team. Abers 3rd team keilors 2nd team hillsides second team. Same with those boys from roxy and Pascoe vale. They are pretty much playing against the top 3 A grade teams 2 and 3 side. So these gun div 3 players are playing against teams mostly made up of kids that are Bottom age. See how they would go against the the top age boys in division 2 let alone div 1

I do agree it would be good to see all good kids play in div1 but what about club loyalty. This is my point..
The system needs to be reviewed maybe into relegation type where the bottom 2 sides get relegated in u/16s and the rest of the sides from that club also go down no matter how they feared. Same as seniors but maybe 2 team relegation/promotion. Might create some uneven results in the lower grades but it's the only way for clubs to be treated equal maybe!
*I'm just throwing something out there as the points system set up, needs to be considered down the grades.

I know EDS lost some good u/18s to premier clubs this year because they went down to div1 as per there senior team. But we're they the worst u/18 side. No they weren't.

They must have figured out that they weren't going to be much of a chance to win, so their aim was to keep douttas score to a minimum and that was achieved. I'd rather lose 50-1 than 100 - 6, anyway I reckon they could've have given the stars a massive scare if West was on the ground.

So you weren't there but still want to pass negative comments re coaches. What do you mean by coach on ground and coach on boundary?

FastandLoose if you don't know the answer to the question you ask then I have given you more credit than you deserve.
Am I not allowed to make negative comments about coaches? Sorry I may need to re-read the rules.
You liked Sherrin4lyf's comment about if west had played strathmore would have given eds a massive scare. Not sure when the comedy festival officially starts but you 2 must be starting the preseason for comedy. IF west had played, then maybe we should say IF balta, caluzzi and Rayner played. Comedy is on another channel boys.

FastandLoose if you don't know the answer to the question you ask then I have given you more credit than you deserve.
Am I not allowed to make negative comments about coaches? Sorry I may need to re-read the rules.
You liked Sherrin4lyf's comment about if west had played strathmore would have given eds a massive scare. Not sure when the comedy festival officially starts but you 2 must be starting the preseason for comedy. IF west had played, then maybe we should say IF balta, caluzzi and Rayner played. Comedy is on another channel boys.
Pipe down mate.

Zero credibility again by refusing to answer a direct question again. Troll away and continue to prove to everyone that your only on here to be controversial.

Some terrific matches coming up over next 4 weeks leading into the finals.
Starting with West Coburg at home to EDS this Sunday - Will be a cracker I reckon.
With EDS being without Caluzzi and I assume Rayner made state team, I would be leaning towards a West Coburg win, which would really open up top spot between EDS & Keilor. Anyone agree with me or think EDS will still be too strong?

Is anyone aware did any of the EDFL boys make the State 25 as I believe the final 25 was selected last Sunday after trial game?

Some terrific matches coming up over next 4 weeks leading into the finals.
Starting with West Coburg at home to EDS this Sunday - Will be a cracker I reckon.
With EDS being without Caluzzi and I assume Rayner made state team, I would be leaning towards a West Coburg win, which would really open up top spot between EDS & Keilor. Anyone agree with me or think EDS will still be too strong?

Is anyone aware did any of the EDFL boys make the State 25 as I believe the final 25 was selected last Sunday after trial game?
I believe eds will be too strong regardless if Rayner or balta play. You are right should be a ripper round.
I have no idea about who made the final 25 but I would presume Rayner, Hanna and hitch would be certainties. Balta should make it also.

I believe eds will be too strong regardless if Rayner or balta play. You are right should be a ripper round.
I have no idea about who made the final 25 but I would presume Rayner, Hanna and hitch would be certainties. Balta should make it also.

1993, I will put it out there and say I would be stunned if EDS beat West Coburg without Caluzzi & Rayner as I just cannot see them scoring enough and I think West Coburg are quite under rated this year at full strength. They are always hard to beat at Shore.
Sunday will tell, but my money would be on WC.
Lets hope for a terrific, close, competitive game of football.
Following week is West Coburg again at home to Abers though in a crunch game re double chance ramifications.
Good footy and good discussions.
Can I get any other support from anyone re WC beating EDS this Sunday?

1993, I will put it out there and say I would be stunned if EDS beat West Coburg without Caluzzi & Rayner as I just cannot see them scoring enough and I think West Coburg are quite under rated this year at full strength. They are always hard to beat at Shore.
Sunday will tell, but my money would be on WC.
Lets hope for a terrific, close, competitive game of football.
Following week is West Coburg again at home to Abers though in a crunch game re double chance ramifications.
Good footy and good discussions.
Can I get any other support from anyone re WC beating EDS this Sunday?
I absolutely agree wc are a very good side but just not as good as eds. Time will tell.
Love your comment about good footy and good discussion. Not everyone needs to agree all the time.
Fortunately I won't make it to any games as we have a big weekend up sorrento, golf and a few quite cokes
Good luck to all playing on the weekend.

I absolutely agree wc are a very good side but just not as good as eds. Time will tell.
Love your comment about good footy and good discussion. Not everyone needs to agree all the time.
Fortunately I won't make it to any games as we have a big weekend up sorrento, golf and a few quite cokes
Good luck to all playing on the weekend.

Enjoy and I look forward to either saying I told you so 1993 or putting my hand up and saying you were spot on.

EDFL U16 2015