End of year overhaul required

Elaborate? I have to disagree with this. Or are you taking the piss, i didn't see a;) in your post

Personally I think he adds nothing.

Pretty average disposal, panics under pressure and has off-field discipline problems.

I dont think he's ever towelled an opponent and is always a culprit of slowing the play down. :thumbsu:

I have nothing against the red and green, but I do like our purple haze guernsey. I wouldn't mind seeing us wear the purple guernsey for home games, and the white for away. The anchor does need to stay though.

Retirements
Bell
Black
M Carr
McManus

Delist
Farmer - doubt he would put the team ahead and retire, so delist him. What would the point be of keeping him for one more year, we're rebuilding. Need to get a new forward pocket in.
Browne - Just feel he will only ever be a depth player, also I have only one spot for an injured player and I'm giving it to Webster.
Duffield - Same as Browne, only a depth player. Can't see anybody trading for him.

On the trade table
J Carr - Hopefully trade to Port, possibly for Jacob Surjan.
Murphy - Must work a trade, probably for a 3rd round pick (unless part of a package).
Mundy - Like Medhurst, he is just cruising through at Freo, a trade is best for both him and the club. 2nd round pick, or good young player.
Peake - Could be part of a package deal with Murphy or Mundy, if not keep him.
Schammer - If we can get a 2nd round pick, I would take it. However, leaning to keeping him.
Warnock - Only if he wants to go. Pay him as much as possible to keep. However, a 1st or a couple of 2nd round picks is a minimum.

Target in trade week
Surjan - Frees Hayden for a more attacking role.
Ray - Quality young mid.
Prismall - Same as Ray.
Nobody over 25 years of age!!!

Rookie List
Dunn - Gone.
Smith - Gone.
Mourish - I would like to see us give him his second year on the list. Is playing regularly in the seniors in the WAFL, to me seems to be improving.
Pratt - Keep.
Connelly - Keep.

Draft
If Warnock goes, a young ruck is a must. Obviously young midfielders, should be plenty of good ones around the 2nd round still. Need to replace Farmer, get a quality small forward in the draft and possibly another in the rookie draft.

Overall
7 gone through retirings / delistings, with possibly 3 gone in trade week. Could also pick up 1 or 2 in trade week. That would give us 8 or 9 picks in the draft and pre-season draft, and 3 in the rookie draft. Should be enough.

I don't see the point in delisting guys like Mark Johnson, Thornton, Webster on top of the other 7 (although it does depend on whether or not we trade for any other players), as there is no point in having more than 10 draft picks. There are only so many people worthy of being drafted, last thing we need is to be drafting guys just for the sake of it.

Oh, and Steven Dodd is one of our most important defenders. No other defender chases as hard as him, and he go from playing on Riewoldt one week to Davey the next. And he was even tagging Bruce in the centre square on the weekend. What more can you want?

Personally I think he adds nothing.

Pretty average disposal, panics under pressure and has off-field discipline problems.

I dont think he's ever towelled an opponent and is always a culprit of slowing the play down. :thumbsu:

He's shut down Reiwoldt on a number of occasions. Is a very good solid shut-down defender, but just needs to be given the right opponent. There's no chance of him not being on the list next year.

Thats the problem, you cant play AFL football if you shut down one player. A degree of flexibility needs to be incorporated into your game.

I'd say you are on struggle street when you can only play one role and you dont to it particularly well, consistently. :thumbsu:

Thats the problem, you cant play AFL football if you shut down one player. A degree of flexibility needs to be incorporated into your game.

I'd say you are on struggle street when you can only play one role and you dont to it particularly well, consistently. :thumbsu:

I don't think I was suggesting that Reiwoldt is the only player he can play on, it was simply an example of someone that he has shut-down. He also has a very good record on Brett Burton and as has been stated elsewhere, he kept Steve Johnson quiet v Geelong.

love those new jumpers. the purple is something that was unique about the dockers first jumper, we should go with it.

I agree we should go after prismall and surjan.

Is Adam Campbell someone other clubs might be interested in? I can't see him getting much better.

FWIW - I would be perfectly happy to drop the red and green, keep the anchor and adopt purple haze for our home strip, and continue to use the current away/clash jumper. I would also be happy enough to adopt a more "traditional" design... But the anchor would have to be there somewhere (hence the small one above the number). :)

The club would still be the Fremantle Football Club and I will love it just the same - whichever way it looks. But no harm in making suggestions for improvements... taste (and opinion) is a personal thing andf everyone is going to like something different. Doesn't mean the leerrrvve is not there... ;)

My opinions on the stae of the list are in this thread from last week:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=464496&page=2

Theres nothing wrong with an Anchor.. People keep going on about no wonder the club sucks because we have an anchor as a logo... Big flippin deal. The two NHL finalists were the Penguins and Red Wings.. real intimidating there! Losing has nothing to do with an anchor period.

That's right. All we have to do is recruit Sid. ;)

im with you Pav, unfortunately though there is buckleys chance of him being anywhere other than freo next year.

whats the go with chris smith, the other week he was back up in swans seniors and was on the best list, the next week he is back playing reserves? There has been a lot said about this kids athletic attributes and i've witnessed his endurance at some of the running at freo oval in pre-season but he doesn't seem to be holding a spot. There was also some talk about him being groomed as a tagger, took some scalps in the wafl, kept chambers to 5 disp. or something? don't think he will be retained at the end of the year but can't help but think he may have been something

An anchor sinks to the bottom. I have no idea why you would choose this motif for your football club. :confused:

The colour/design of the jumper can't possibly influence onfield results. Hawthorn have won plenty of premierships wearing yellow and brown which is a terrible colour combination.

I got this courtesy of 1870 Proud(cheers) from the Port forum and just changed it to suit us.

Retirements
Peter Bell
Shaun McManus
Matthew Carr
Heath Black
Mark Johnson - form hasn't warranted an extension of his contract

Delist
Jeff Farmer - offers very little of late and at a time he should be showing the club his worth to get another contract has shown nothing.
Ryley Dunn - time has come to say good bye to Ryley, too often injured.
Andrew Browne - gutsy and brave when he plays but sadly that has been too infrequent.
Luke Webster - cursed, along with Browne and Dunn with injuries.
Scott Thornton - just dont think he offers anymore than a youngster can given the same opportunities.

Attempt to Trade
Josh Carr (If he isn't happy at Freo let's see if Port want him back, doubtful trade - retain if not)
Ryan Murphy (maybe package deal with Mundy and/or Warnock)
David Mundy (should be an attractive player for most clubs)
Robert Warnock (preference is to re-sign him but if he wants out let's hope we can get some value for him, maybe in a package deal with Mundy/Murphy)
Paul Duffield (doubtful trade - delist if not)
Brett Peake (doubtful trade - retain if not)

Rookie list players
Brett Connelly (retain on Rookie List)
Chris Smith (Athletically has all the attributes needed but hasn't come on, still only playing reserves for SD - delist)
Calib Mourish (Delist - has not shown anything to suggest he can make the step up to the next level)
Luke Pratt (retain on Rookie List)

Looks good mate, hard to argue with any of that at this stage. :thumbsu:

Browne has a month and half to save his footy career.

Thornton unfortunately will be retained even though he's terrible.

Webster will probably get the last 2 or 3 games to try to prove that he has something to offer in 09.

Mourish will probably get another year on the rookie list considering we'll lose about 7 senior listed players and 2 from the rookie list. Really if we cut 9 players and give Mourish 1 more year it hasn't cost us much if he fails.

National pick 3 Bell
Pick 22 M Carr
Pick 38 Black
Pick 54 Webster
Pick 70 Browne
Pre Season 3 Druffield/Farmer
Rookie 3 McManus
19 Dunn
35 Smith
51 Extra Rookies for 2009/2010
67 Extra Rookies for 2009/2010

Not point delisting/retiring any more players than that as we only get pick 86 pick in national draft, 11 pick in Pre Season and pick 83 in rookie draft.

Trade
Murphy for a third round pick.

Here are my thoughts about what will happen at years end,

Retirements
Peter Bell
Shaun McManus
Matthew Carr
Heath Black
Mark Johnson
Jeff Farmer

Delist
Luke Webster - cursed!
Andrew Browne - our lack of midfield depth may once again save him, probably depend on what happens with Carr?
Adam Campbell - not improving, pay him out.

Attempt to Trade
Josh Carr (If he isn't happy at Freo let's see if Port want him back, doubtful trade - retain if not)
David Mundy (should be an attractive player for most clubs, try for a pick 9 -12)
Robert Warnock (preference is to re-sign him but if he wants out let's hope we can get some value for him, maybe in a package deal with Mundy/Murphy)

Rookie list players
Brett Connelly (looks good, retain on Rookie List - promote if Warnock goes)
Chris Smith (Athletically has all the attributes needed but hasn't come on, still only playing reserves for SD - delist)
Calib Mourish (Delist - has not shown anything to suggest he can make the step up to the next level)
Luke Pratt (retain on Rookie List, could be a surprise promotion)

Hopeful draft targets
Naitanui,Rich, Hartlett or Zeibell with first pick
Hurley, Hill, Pearce, Blease, Walters, Jetta, , Swift, Vickery, Salter, Robinson, Suban, Banner and Heyne should all be looked at closely with later picks.

Mourish will probably get another year on the rookie list considering we'll lose about 7 senior listed players and 2 from the rookie list. Really if we cut 9 players and give Mourish 1 more year it hasn't cost us much if he fails.

Hope he proves me wrong Dom. but in a side that has struggled for most of the year he has not shown enough at the Sharks.
Either way you look at it, he has been on an AFL list for 2 years, a BOG or three wouldn't go astray.

Recently when we have actually strung a few wins together he has been largely inneffectual.

Personally I wouldn't even keep him at Moss St..... but maybe ..... just maybe that is why I am sitting here. ;)

I'm with Tundrawolf - things can always be improved, especially if they aren't great to begin with.

I know I'll get flamed but just think there's no reason why someone at the club couldn't get creative and try something different with the jumpers i.e.

1. try anchor down the side and incorporate purple head logo.
2. anchor to side, incorporate new FFC logo and drop 'Dockers' moniker.
3. anchor to side, incorporate current logo, add FFC logo near top.

Anyway, it doesn't matter coz its never gona happen.

Not anytime soon anyway while the club is trying to stablise itself and win back whatever respect we ever had on field.

Until we can become a force, the identity won't be mucked with too much.

The best we can hope for is the Purple Haze jumper being worn more regularly :thumbsu:

^^^^ my bad with the spacing - wasn't deliberate!! I swear!! :eek:

I got this courtesy of 1870 Proud(cheers) from the Port forum and just changed it to suit us.

Retirements
Peter Bell
Shaun McManus
Matthew Carr
Heath Black
Mark Johnson - form hasn't warranted an extension of his contract

Delist
Jeff Farmer - offers very little of late and at a time he should be showing the club his worth to get another contract has shown nothing.
Andrew Browne - gutsy and brave when he plays but sadly that has been too infrequent.
Luke Webster - cursed, along with Browne and Dunn with injuries.
Scott Thornton - just dont think he offers anymore than a youngster can given the same opportunities.

Attempt to Trade
David Mundy (should be an attractive player for most clubs)
Paul Duffield (doubtful trade - delist if not)
Brett Peake (doubtful trade - retain if not)

Rookie list players
Brett Connelly (retain on Rookie List)
Luke Pratt (retain on Rookie List)

Hopeful draft targets

Rich, Hartlett, Zeibell with first pick - I think Zeibell would be the best fit. 188cm and great at clearances. Rich beautifully skilled with his kicking. Hartlett also good at clearances.

Hill, Blease, Walters, Jetta, Pearce, Swift, Vickery, Salter, Robinson, Suban, Banner and Heyne should all be looked at closely with later picks.

Miscellaneous
New CEO to be found
Lose the "Dockers" nickname
Lose the red and green from the club colours.

Courtesy of IP and her great painting skills, I'd love for our home/away strips to look like these next year.

alternativeguernseyjv7.jpg

alternativeguernseyawaykm8.jpg

That is a huge turnover of players but most of those players have been at the club for the last 4 or 5 years and have only delivered 1 year of finals in 2006, thus proving we need a major overhaul in the playing department.

The only ones I disagree with are the bolded ones. The maximum we can turn over IMO and still remain a threat is 10 on the main list and that is stretching it badly. Obviously it depends on whether your listed trades go through or not as to how many get turned over. If Browne remains injury free he's needed, same with Webster, if not, then both of them go and someone like Peake unfortunately gets a reprieve. As for Thornton, I badly wish he would go but the coaches seem to love him so I think we'll be stuck with this muppet for a while yet.

The Wiz is seriously struggling, has to show something in last 6 games to stay.

The other player you'd have to consider is Kiwi Campbell. Played 1 game this year, kicked 10 one week in the wafl and couldn't crack another game. Seems completely on the outer and has gone off the boil in the magoos of late.

Also Gilmore - will he recover completely? And if we keep Warnock, what position can be play effectively?

Well, lots of question marks still. At least Brock showed enough in his half a game to warrant another contract.

That jumper is a dog's breakfast, Avid_Avenger. :eek:

I would go with the purple haze for home, and reverse for away. Very simple.

Hope he proves me wrong Dom. but in a side that has struggled for most of the year he has not shown enough at the Sharks.
Either way you look at it, he has been on an AFL list for 2 years, a BOG or three wouldn't go astray.

Recently when we have actually strung a few wins together he has been largely inneffectual.

Personally I wouldn't even keep him at Moss St..... but maybe ..... just maybe that is why I am sitting here. ;)

He was always a bit of a gamble, and it's probable that he won't be a very good AFL player. But he seems to have taken a reasonably big step since last year and potentially has a lot of upside so we might aswell roll the dice I reckon and give him another 12 months assuming his commitment is at the required level.

End of year overhaul required