Autopsy Essendon v Hawthorn

Jed needs some time before he gets back to his best. He looks like he has no either no time or thinks he has too much time.
His tackling was reasonable but disposal and decision making poor. Langford also seemed off. Watson and Heppell did what they liked.

I'm sorry but I'm just struggling to see why this is a hawk issue - it's a bit like when they play the cats on a Friday night - people just aren't going to go. It will be interesting to see what happens when it's our home game

It's only an issue because hawks supporters claim that we like playing the bombers twice and we want to play them at the MCG....

It doesn't bother me as I have ripper seats at both stadiums... Though you'd think the bombers have a better home ground advantage at etihad

We'll only keep playing the cats twice at the G as long as the crowds stay healthy too...

Another typical smart arse answer. The fact you couldn't find a vote for him last week (and pretty much every week last year where he won our B&F) simply shows you have an axe to grind. Some days you might be right and he might be off (like the first half) but it's also 12 o'clock twice a day so if you keep swinging occassionally you'll connect.

I thought his first half wasn't great (like every single team mate besides Hodge) and I thought his second half was enormous to the point where he was almost solely responsible for us being back in front.

Lewis was astronomical today, he has comfortably moved into that top end midfielder category along the Selwoods/Pendleburys/Watsons albeit behind Fyfe and GAJ. Without Lewis are rat shit, he and Hodgey are vital.

Lake was good today, without Gibbo & losing Frawley early he fought a lone battle. Great mark late in the 4th whilst giving Daniher a piggy back :p

Breust? He has gone back to his 2013 set shot kicking!

Roughy? Didn't impose himself today at all

Lewis? Believing all the Brownlow hype?

Lewis was ordinary. 34 disposals. Was sh*t. Needs to be dropped.

Well imo, he was deplorable in the first half, just like the other vice captain. Hence why I called them BOTH out.
Yes, Lewis was better in the 2nd half, but nowhere near the performance of Burgoyne, Lake, Gunston or Pup. I mark our leaders harder than the others, because I expect them to lead. I voted for him last year on occasions, but for mine 70% DE is the pass mark for mids. Lewis has had a habit of not reaching this standard and when our game plan is based around DE, then I'm not going to simply look at the stat sheet and give votes for 30+ possies or a couple of junk time goals.

He had 35 last week, but at 71%, which was in the bottom 7 of our team.

88% - 18
92% - 26
71% - 14 - 5 goals
73% - 15 - 3 goals
75 - 12 - 3 goals

I stand by my votes last week. And that is not saying Lewis didn't play well, it's simply saying imo I thought he had a required standard game, others were better.

Lewis' performance was nowhere as huge as Burgers in the big moments today, plus it was Lewis that caused the turnover that got the Bombers their 2nd last goal. It significantly contributed to the loss....again imo.

Well looks like Langford is a spud!

Mate, give it a Peter Bell, your ignorance is cringeworthy.

That roar when Hooker goaled was the loudest ive heard since 2001 preliminary when Misiti kicked that goal late.

WOWEE

Lol ... the roar in 1984 GF was loud too ... it amazes me after all this time they still don't understand the holding the BALLLL rule. ;)

The game could have gone either way and those last two minutes were pure desperation by both teams.

Football was the real winner today.

I reckon a bit of respect to some senior premiership players wouldnt go astray.. Some of the shit canning that's going on is a little rich, I'm positive the same people were singing their praises only 6 or so months back.

It's rd 2, we are in a great possie to 3 peat and after next weekend we will be pumped to go to Adelaide Oval and go 3-1 after touching up the pups.

I reckon a bit of respect to some senior premiership players wouldnt go astray.. Some of the shit canning that's going on is a little rich, I'm positive the same people were singing their praises only 6 or so months back.

It's rd 2, we are in a great possie to 3 peat and after next weekend we will be pumped to go to Adelaide Oval and go 3-1 after touching up the pups.
One week at a time mate lets just get passed the bulldogs first wont be easy they are riding a wave of confidence

Lots of finger pointing going on. It's round 2. Let's get some perspective.

It's round 2 and we are holders of the last 2 premiership cups. I don't like the player bashing that goes on in here. It's weak and has a dirty look to it. People accusing the team, and individuals, of performing badly are completely ignoring the fact that Essendon's pressure created those errors. Despite all this we came as close to winning as you can without getting over the line. I think we will look back at the game later in the year and think that it was actually a reasonable result. We were on the wrong end of the stick today and it sucks but we still have the two flags in the vault and a clear run at a threepeat so I suggest we all build a bridge and get over it.

I can't believe I have flicked through 13 pages of review and there has barely been a mention of Isaac Smith!
He was utterly useless again today as he was last week. Just carrying over his form from the grand final.
Not sure if he is carrying an injury or not. If fit seems to be starting to believe the wraps he is getting and needs a spell at Box Hill until he feels like putting the effort in.

Will Langford had a horror last quarter. Kick the ball when you have that much time Will

One week at a time mate lets just get passed the bulldogs first wont be easy they are riding a wave of confidence

Today gave me no reason to doubt our directon.. It was pure bad luck in structures when chip went down and the fact we had a shocking turn around in recovery for today's match. The Dogs are a decent side but I'm confident we will be fine next week.

The game could have gone either way and those last two minutes were pure desperation by both teams.

Football was the real winner today.

Lol, anytime Essendon wins, football loses.

There could be a very good argument made about the fact that roughly half a dozen or so Bombers shouldn't have been out there today.

Autopsy Essendon v Hawthorn