Essendon!

People are still assuming that Essendon are all attack and pace. We are leading the league in tackles and while I don't have it in front of me, our contested possession rate has also been very impressive.

I'd be surprised if we made finals, but I think teams will know they've played a game after playing us this year.

history says we won't make the finals from here, but to assume we can't beat the dogs, swans or cats no matter what is just dumb.

Sure, we might lose all of them, but I wouldn't bet against us taking 1-2 of them out

I think you are an outside chance agaionst the Dogs, a big chance against the Swans, and Buckley's against the Cats.

I will assume the Cats will win... I'll put my balls on the line, and be castrated if the Bombers win that one. :eek:

People are still assuming that Essendon are all attack and pace. We are leading the league in tackles and while I don't have it in front of me, our contested possession rate has also been very impressive.

I'd be surprised if we made finals, but I think teams will know they've played a game after playing us this year.

Before Round 8, we were +12 on the rest of the league in contested possessions, that may have changed with the conclusion of Round 8...but still, those who say we're all about attack has NFI.

We're miles ahead in the tackle count too.

I think you are an outside chance agaionst the Dogs, a big chance against the Swans, and Buckley's against the Cats.

I will assume the Cats will win... I'll put my balls on the line, and be castrated if the Bombers win that one. :eek:

don't worry, your balls are safe, we don't beat Geelong, they flog us at our own game generally

After having 107 tackles, or whatever it was against Hawthorn (which was apparently the 6th most ever recorded in a game), the players and coach seems to really have set themselves to maintain that type of fanatical approach, which they have done for the two weeks after (vs Port and St.Kilda)

I think it gives the players a good focus, since the run and carry part of the game will always be there regardless. For Essendon, its about maintaining focus on the harder stuff, which, if they do, can make us a genuine chance for the finals.

They've done it for 3 weeks in a row now... can't let up against Richmond.

heading in right direction as a club no doubt. But still think they have one trick and thats all out attack. When it works they can look great and thats why i think they are always a chance in any match, especially in melbourne.

But if a side actually makes them accountable and plays them tight they struggle.

If you supported them though ud accept the inconsistent performances because you can see the young players coming through.

I also think they are addressing their issues like tackling pressure etc, last night it was great. I think hille could be a target up forward full time.

Still think they wont make the 8 but as i said they are in every match if on song, thats just my opinion

Tiges should be a win. Bulldogs have been both up and down recently, so it depends how they're going when we play them. And Sydney isn't as good as people think. Sure they've had injuries the last couple, but it's no coincidence that they start to lose when they play decent teams all of a sudden.

Cats will win again for sure, but 5-7 doesn't mean the season would be over. Got to take the fixture into account.

i think we will still beat essendon presuming our key players are back (given we are missing key forward, key defender, 2 ruckman and 2 best small forwards)
Plus its in sydney

but i do agree with you that essendon are still in the finals race.

Sorry Lance,

I like your style but I have to disagree with you here.

The Bombers were always a good chance against the Saints. They have pace, which the Sainst don't like, and you beat them last year, this time they were without Riewoldt.

If I had the time, I would have put money on the Bombers at $2.90, and even still, I know people that thought they were too short and should have been longer odds.

Having said that, the Bombers have some good kids, but you would expect that they will fall short of finals in 2010. Too many deficiancies, and certainly a development year when you are trying to get games into your spine, whilst lacking stars in the middle. But you can never assume in footy.

I'm sure I wasn't the only one that thought the Bombers would win, let alone assuming the Saints would cruize through the game and take the chocolates.

lol...sure you would have loaded up if you 'had the time'..

I want to see us back it up with a solid win against Richmond at least before we get too excited. Last year whenever we won a 'big game' we always followed it up with a loss and only strung 2 games together on a handful of occasions. So i'm hoping we continue with our recent efforts and endeavour and we may be an outside chance of sneaking into the finals. For what it's worth i don't expect us to make finals, i just remain hopeful that we can. Essendon injuries/suspensions are also beginning to mount even though for the most part its fringe players besides Hookers/Pears. But it still weakens the side even if its only 18-22 players out.

Richmond is a massive danger game. Last year Riewoldt killed us and they have to get a win eventually. Essendon supporters shouldn't even mention the "f" word unless we smash Richmond. Hurley should stay back, with Williams coming into the side. The Bulldogs and Swans are possible wins if we can keep playing the style of footy we have played the last three weeks.

We've beaten Carlton (who at the time were nothing special), Hawthorn (who were very lucky to beat Richmond) and the Saints (who without Riewoldt are a bottom eight side) so we have done nothing to note yet.

Rubbish - the are 3-5 with the Tigers, Dogs, Syd in Syd and Cats. 4 - 8 their season is over.

If we can't beat the Tiges our season deserves to be over.

Dogs will be tough, we have beaten Sydney the 2 last times we have played them in Sydney (40 + points last year), Cats most likely a loss.

Poor old KA. It must have been so deperessing to watch us beat the Saints yesterday but surely you could have numbed the pain with the memory of your teams massive % booster over Adelaide?

If we can't beat the Tiges our season deserves to be over.

Dogs will be tough, we have beaten Sydney the 2 last times we have played them in Sydney (40 + points last year), Cats most likely a loss.

you blocked out the 91 point win sydney had over essendon the 2nd last time we met?

I think he's referring to the last 2 times at the SCG. There was a one-point win in '07 and last years win.

fair enuff

dont remind me of that one point game :D

essendon will be hard to beat on the scg due to the pace of the smalls.

Will definitely make the finals from here. Only need another 8-9 wins.

They will come from:

Rnd 9 Tigers, Rnd 11 Sydney, Rnd 13 Hawthorn, Rnd 14 Hawks, Rnd 15 Melbourne, Rnd 16 WCE, Rnd 17 North Melb., Rnd 19 Carlton, Rnd 21 Brisbane.

Easy.

I still don't rate the Bombers list, they beat a Saints outfit who are horribly out of form due to their poor kicking, they lost the unloseable to port and beating the Hawks minus their captain is hardly a scalp considering richmond also beat them, but winning form is good form I guess, thir best player is their oldest player and once he retires he can't be replaced

Did they? :eek:

I don't mind other peoples opinions but give us some credit mate. We beat St Kilda last year also. We simply match up well against them, and we took the game on. You're right they didn't take their opportunities....but shit get some perspective. And if you take away that 1 old player, on average we are around the youngest side in the league.

credibility waning...

Its a remarkably even year and a couple of wins or defeats can make all the difference. Essendon probably won't and probably shouldn't reach the 8 but stranger things have happened.

I mean several are backing us to beat them (we are 0 and 8) and others are predicting finals for them. It is that kind of year.

Essendon!