Essendon's Best 22?

JJ, Watson, Stanton and Campo are all very good players. We're not overly quick at all, but neither are Sydney, who were a point off a 2nd flag.
Kirk and Bolton are both a long way ahead of those players you've listed.

Buchanan and Schnieder rotate forward but also play through the middle. Both quick. Jarrad McVeigh is also pretty quick. There's a bit of zip there.

Throw Goodes into the mix, and Sydney's midfield has a fair bit more quality than the Bombers'.

I wouldn't say Sydney have a "slow midfield", but you're right, they're not explosive. However, Sydney are able to make up for that through evenness, discpline and relentless commitment to the gameplan.

In other words, Sydney are heavyweights, and have the quality and experience to overcome a lack of blistering speed in the middle.

If you want to play the same game as Sydney, you're going to get some beltings in the meantime. Essendon aren't good enough to overcome a lack of toe the way Sydney have.

Kirk and Bolton are both a long way ahead of those players you've listed.

Buchanan and Schnieder rotate forward but also play through the middle. Both quick. Jarrad McVeigh is also pretty quick. There's a bit of zip there.

Throw Goodes into the mix, and Sydney's midfield has a fair bit more quality than the Bombers'.

I wouldn't say Sydney have a "slow midfield", but you're right, they're not explosive. However, Sydney are able to make up for that through evenness, discpline and relentless commitment to the gameplan.

In other words, Sydney are heavyweights, and have the quality and experience to overcome a lack of blistering speed in the middle.

If you want to play the same game as Sydney, you're going to get some beltings in the meantime. Essendon aren't good enough to overcome a lack of toe the way Sydney have.

Did you see the Round 1 game this year between Sydney and Essendon?

I never once said our midfield was as good or anything close to Sydney's, simply stating the fact that you don't need to be quick to have good production.

Stats showed we were quite productive last year, it wasn't our weakest area. Structure up front and down back and turnovers in the midfield were the reasons for our downfall last year.

I hope that your club and Michael have deep pockets for all the money it is going to cost you when we take your sorry asses to court, you underhanded bastards. Just remember karma, and anyway essendon has a habit of picking dud Brisbane rejects, just take a look at Cupido

Look forward to injunction after injunction stopping him from playing

I hope that your club and Michael have deep pockets for all the money it is going to cost you when we take your sorry asses to court, you underhanded bastards. Just remember karma, and anyway essendon has a habit of picking dud Brisbane rejects, just take a look at Cupido

news.yawn.jpg

Man. I can see that sticking in your throat. A lot of hate right there. I bet you're steaming. I hope it hurts so much you choke. Choke on that rage boy! Choke on it.

Any brisbane supporter who honestly thinks essendon somehow planned to pick mal michael up this way is pretty dilusional. For one how could we have guessed carlton were going to commit early to ackland in the preseason draft. They did have the first pick and im sure with their backline deficiencies they would have picked him up first. The person you should be blaming is the person who forgot to put in a very basic clause at the end of the contract. hes already been given the go ahead to train with us and play with us by the AFL and brisbane litterally have no leg to stand on. What mal did was low yes but theres no precedent to stop it.

Did you see the Round 1 game this year between Sydney and Essendon?
Yeah - you beat them.

What's your point? Are you better than them because you beat them in R1?

We lost to Port and Collingwood later in the season.

Are they better than us?

Why do people offer up this kind of logic?

Yeah - you beat them.

What's your point? Are you better than them because you beat them in R1?

We lost to Port and Collingwood later in the season.

Are they better than us?

Why do people offer up this kind of logic?

I think he was alluding to that we went with them goal for goal, took everything they had and still beat them meaning that we are capable of being that good. All our young players are a year older now and we have more depth so stating that we aren't that good based on last season is somewhat misleading due to our midfield stats listed earlier and that we lost 10 games by under 20 points.

A lot of teams show drastic improvement the following season, we are in prime position to do that next season

Welsh Michael NLM
McPhee Fletcher Camporeale
Bradley Watson Stanton
Hird Lucas Monfries
Johns Lloyd M Johnson

Rucks : Hille, J Johnson, McVeigh
Inter : Lovett, Nash, Gumbleton, Laycock

Mark Johnson to play a Brad Johnson role as a permanent forward pocket this season.
Camporeale to be given first chance as the running, attacking defender. Other candidates are Lovett, Dyson, Nash and Heffernen.
Bradley given an opportunity as a wingman.
Lovett on bench as forward line is very top heavy and could give it some spark
Nash will be Mr Versatile.
Ryder to bulk up again this season and to come in if Laycock or Hille are out.
Johns & Gumbleton fighting for the same role.
Backline can cover all forwards and has a good mix of height and pace.

Welsh Michael NLM
Bradley Watson Stanton
Hird Lucas Monfries
Johns Lloyd M Johnson

Rucks : Hille, J Johnson, Lovett
Inter : Jetta, Nash, Gumbleton, Laycock

Mark Johnson to play a Brad Johnson role as a permanent forward pocket this season.
Camporeale to be given first chance as the running, attacking defender. Other candidates are Lovett, Dyson, Nash and Heffernen.
Jetta on bench as forward line is very top heavy and could give it some spark

Mcveigh?

Why don't u take a Lethal injection and end it all you F-wit.

Welsh Michael NLM
Bradley Watson Stanton
Hird Lucas Monfries
Johns Lloyd M Johnson

Rucks : Hille, J Johnson, Lovett
Inter : Jetta, Nash, Gumbleton, Laycock

Jetta on bench as forward line is very top heavy and could give it some spark

Thats pretty much spot on for me that list tripper,:thumbsu: I must admit

Yes and McVeigh;)

heaps of variations could be made depending on the team we are playing against but im just gonna throw a few ideas out there!

B- welsh micheal slattery
fletcher (loose)
Hb- Mcphee Lucas Nlm
C- mcveigh Watson Lovett
Hf- johns Gumbleton Hird
Ff- Monfries LLoyd

OB- Hille Stanton Campo
int jj mj dyson Laycock

emerg jetta hislop houli winderlich cole davey peverall bolton

FB: McVeigh, Michael, Welsh
HB: McPhee, Fletcher, Nash
C: Stanton, Watson, Dyson
HF: Lovett, Lucas, Hird
FF: Johns , Lloyd, MJ
R: Hille, JJ, Winderlich
INT: NLM, Laycock, Monfries, Campo

The problem with this team is a lack of obvious tagger.

EMG: Bradley, Cole, Lee, Heff, Pev, Slattery

I think he was alluding to that we went with them goal for goal, took everything they had and still beat them meaning that we are capable of being that good.
There is no chance that Essendon will be as good in 2007 as Sydney were in 2005-06. None.

I don't see what R1 2006 has to do with anything.

Referring to one match as a way of comparing two teams is ridiculous.

Carlton beat Melbourne twice in 2006. How long do you reckon it will be before the Blues win a final?

There is no chance that Essendon will be as good in 2007 as Sydney were in 2005-06. None.

I don't see what R1 2006 has to do with anything.

Referring to one match as a way of comparing two teams is ridiculous.

Carlton beat Melbourne twice in 2006. How long do you reckon it will be before the Blues win a final?

Listen Gunna,your just stiring up sh-t with your 1008 posts on every BF board you can. No one is comparing us with Syd mate....rd 1 2006,we had Lloyd. The rest of the year we didn't have him....he makes a big difference.

Come back in rd 7 and bag us then if we are still on the bottom of the ladder.

Then I might listen to your jaded comments:D

You know what Karma is mate...
david calthorpe going to brisbane and essendon fc not getting nothing for him
whats the diffence?