Famous DT Coaches Thread 2012

I'm currently ranked around 35000th and 600 or so behind the leader, needless to say I hate watching your season go up in smoke within two weeks.

I'm pretty sure I'm only 150 ahead of you (or 28000 rankings which sounds much better) and just under 350 off the pace myself, so your maths blows ;)

*sigh*

Lake's B/E is 44 if he scores that or less he will stay at 255k or less.

If you have a Bugg for instance he could well be 170-180k after this week. If you have Clarke, he may well be close to 200k after this week. If Lake scores 40 and Bugg scores 90+ you could swap them for 70k difference.

Like I said, close to doing a straight swap with a rookie.

What's your teamname James. I'd like to track how your amazing trading strategy works out.:)

@ Impromptu

Firstly congrats for winning SC last year. :thumbsu:

I recall from last year, one of your rules was to acknowledge a mistake, fix it, then move on. I'm assuming that was the rational behind the Lake trade in R1. So I can see the logic there, unfortunately for you he bounced back. However, I'm struggling to see why Harvey was traded in? Your side is unique already so it wasn't like you needed another POD.

Harvey didn't set the world on fire in R1, so was it purely to chase quick points given the Roos were playing GWS? Or is there some other reason behind the Porps to Harvey trade?

Had a spare ~300k in the bank...

So was going to get Boomer against GWS...I then traded down Lake as didn't like him after his game...I'm okay with my first 2 trades. Still have 200K+ for an upgrade with one trade.

BTW I will do a full review after round 3..... Boomer also has a r11 bye, which is handy (and while it negates Porps rd11 bye, prorp to me was cash cow)

i'm very careful about the bye situation....hopefully i get rewarded around bye time..the cash in my a/c is equivalent to one trade...

I always like boomer in my side, but was concerned when he wasn't made captain...but i closedly examined it and he is playing more like a Ponting role with Michael Clarke..

I'm pretty sure I'm only 150 ahead of you (or 28000 rankings which sounds much better) and just under 350 off the pace myself, so your maths blows ;)

Leave me alone your hippy!

4611 - Leader
4103 - Me
= 508 points behind.

Is that better for you? So I rounded up to to closes even numbered hundred. I was being DRAMATIC! Crying a river and all that jazz.

Now leave me alone while I decide how much I love Broughton or hate his guts.

Had a spare ~300k in the bank...

So was going to get Boomer against GWS...I then traded down Lake as didn't like him after his game...I'm okay with my first 2 trades. Still have 200K+ for an upgrade with one trade.

BTW I will do a full review after round 3..... Boomer also has a r11 bye, which is handy (and while it negates Porps rd11 bye, prorp to me was cash cow)

i'm very careful about the bye situation....hopefully i get rewarded around bye time..the cash in my a/c is equivalent to one trade...

I always like boomer in my side, but was concerned when he wasn't made captain...but i closedly examined it and he is playing more like a Ponting role with Michael Clarke..

Thanks mate - Looking forward to the post R3 review!!

Leave me alone your hippy!

4611 - Leader
4103 - Me
= 508 points behind.

Is that better for you? So I rounded up to to closes even numbered hundred. I was being DRAMATIC! Crying a river and all that jazz.

Now leave me alone while I decide how much I love Broughton or hate his guts.

First time I've seen your side this year Tarqs, I actually like it a lot...because I'm definitely going to win my money back now!

The only change for a disappointing AFLSpace.com Hacks was:
Out: Dickson
In: Adam Kennedy

Will be more changes this week. Partially due to injury and partially because of an inablity to get past the 2000 point barrier! This season is turning in to a lesson for all DreamTeam players. Unfortunately its a lesson in what not to do!

My trades were Coniglio to Greene and Dickson to Kennedy.

Last week's Lake to Bugg trade is looking better this week. I managed to catch most of the traps though, and dropped from the 5000s to the 13000s.

Birchall, Fyfe, Goodes... still some problems.

molly or monty, have you heard anything about birchal's injury as yet

Haven't heard anything from the insiders (and probably couldn't say anything if I did). My read on it is a corked around the calf/knee. 6 day break + travel. Would think that he might miss this week but should be right for the game in Tassie the week after. Of course, could be wrong either way!

My trades were Coniglio to Greene and Dickson to Kennedy.

Last week's Lake to Bugg trade is looking better this week. I managed to catch most of the traps though, and dropped from the 5000s to the 13000s.

Birchall, Fyfe, Goodes... still some problems.

Lake is coming good. If my research is right and has 5 year good tribunal record (I couldn't find anything) should miss a week,will freshen him up to destroy GWS.

I wouldn't be surprised if Goodes gets off that one (maybe wishful thinking).

I think I am going to move from Fyfe to the 2012 version of Fyfe11 (except this years has better shoulders)! Not making the same stubborn mistake I made last year!

First time I've seen your side this year Tarqs, I actually like it a lot...because I'm definitely going to win my money back now!

The starting side is only 20% of the battle. I should be able to out trade you with no problems. My charity is looking forward to your donation this year, I think the hardest part of our bet is picking who deserves the money this year. :)

Back to my team.

Yes, I am boring and have not made a trade this year. My team is struggling on a few fronts, I have serious problems picking my captain. (Swan you lazy bell end)

I keep names like Bugg on the bench and that has hurt my team.

I did not end up trading Broughton and hope that he puts up some big scores in the coming weeks to make me happier. Congilio to Greene was talked about often and I just could not justify the trade as I thought over a period of time they should roughly average the same.

Issues:

Fyfe and McEvoy - Fyfe, obviously if he is gone for a few weeks, then he is trade bait. McEvoy, just not lifting and it is bugging me, but I will maintain my desire to NOT make any trades in the rucks.

I plan at some point turning Giles/Redden into a spud so I can release some cash for future upgrades, but that is MONTHS away.

The starting side is only 20% of the battle. I should be able to out trade you with no problems. My charity is looking forward to your donation this year, I think the hardest part of our bet is picking who deserves the money this year. :)

Back to my team.

Yes, I am boring and have not made a trade this year. My team is struggling on a few fronts, I have serious problems picking my captain. (Swan you lazy bell end)

I keep names like Bugg on the bench and that has hurt my team.

I did not end up trading Broughton and hope that he puts up some big scores in the coming weeks to make me happier. Congilio to Greene was talked about often and I just could not justify the trade as I thought over a period of time they should roughly average the same.

Issues:

Fyfe and McEvoy - Fyfe, obviously if he is gone for a few weeks, then he is trade bait. McEvoy, just not lifting and it is bugging me, but I will maintain my desire to NOT make any trades in the rucks.

I plan at some point turning Giles/Redden into a spud so I can release some cash for future upgrades, but that is MONTHS away.

Not boring not trading this year. We are going to need a heap around the middle of the year to get through the byes.

I have made 1 trade and had planned to try and sit tight. Some of my midprices aren't playing as well as hoped but their not totally taking the way say Foley did at the start of last year (I believe all made money). Of course wish I had of kept with Hayes but thats just being captain hindsight!

Seem to have been totally wrong on Suckling! His new role of playing more up the ground is working perfectly for his DT game! Will be interesting to see how teams start to play the Hawks. (I know Im biased but) Who the hell do you tag? Whitecross, Birchall, Suckling? Others are hurting you if you do and thats without looking at Mitch and the gang in the middle!

My Buddy call isn't working as well as hoped but hes not killing me. Going Goodes was the dumb part of those picks!

Keeping Congilio seems like a good move. His scoring moving in the right direction! Considered using him in 2 trades to get either Hayes/Ebert or a premium for Fyfe but think there is a guy I just have to have in the forward line.

Hale did what I hoped and if he can stay around his average, maybe a few more tons will be very, very helpful when it comes to the bye rounds (especially if some of the Rookie rucks drop off the map)!

Anyway LM, I think we are lulling the rest of the group into a false sense of security before we clean them up on the run home (or at least I hope that is what is happening :D:D)

FAMOUS DT COACHES - Round 3 Report

R32012.png

TRADES:

FanFooty EDT (20)
Stephen Coniglio
Toby Greene

Tory Dickson
Adam Kennedy

Team Director (20)
Mitchell Golby
Marty Clarke

Greg Broughton
Brendon Goddard

Impromptu SCE (20)
Sam Docherty
Toby Greene

Greg Broughton
Nick Malceski

Dylan’s FFC (23)
Greg Broughton
Brian Lake

VinegarStrokes EDT (24)

AFLSpace.com Hacks (23)
Tory Dickson
Adam Kennedy

Chook Raffle (22)
John McCarthy
Toby Greene

Tory Dickson
Adam Kennedy

vamsee (22)
Greg Broughton
Jarryn Geary

Lachie Neale
Toby Greene

The Baxters (22)
Tory Dickson
Terry Milera

Warne Dawgs (24)

Coaches
dylan123 - Dylan's FFC
LemmingMaster - VinegarStrokes EDT
m0nty - FanFooty EDT
mollyfud - AFLSpace.com Hacks
Director - Team Director
Impromptu - Impromptu SCE
SkankDanker - Chook Raffle
footylover18 - vamsee
thebaxters - The Baxters
Warnie - Warne Dawgs

Im surprised a lot of coaches traded out broughton. What are the thoughts after his high scoring game on the weekend ? It looks as though he played on a wing and got a fair few side on marks late on

i traded out broughton for the main reason that i was $200 short of going directly from Neale to Greene, as such i had to do a second trade to make that enticing first trade. Broughton under performing and not playing in a role that i was happy with provided me with a good opportunity to do the second trade that i needed.

Don't forget that Broughton was on 25 at half time. His scoring went through the roof once Fyfe got hurt. If Fyfe is to miss significant time then I expect Broughton's scoring to go to elite levels. Unfortunately i did not predict that Fyfe would hurt himself and thus the trade looks like a bad one in hindsight. I still believe that trading Broughton out was a good play to make, it just so happens that a change in circumstance proved to be massively beneficial to Broughton.

Geary looking like a great pick up for vamsee, very unique too id say! Only issue will be whether he can keep scoring well against tougher opposition.

I was torn between Geary and Conca all week, in the end I chose Geary as it would leave me with significant funds in the bank which i'll be able to use in the coming weeks to improve my side as some guns drop in price. I was cursing my decision after watching Conca put up a monster score, Geary made me feel a bit better. If i can get a 70 average from Geary i'll be content. Even after the nice score from Geary i still fear i made the wrong choice, Conca looks like he is playing a very very nice role and has the potential to be a solid low end keeper.

i traded out broughton for the main reason that i was $200 short of going directly from Neale to Greene, as such i had to do a second trade to make that enticing first trade. Broughton under performing and not playing in a role that i was happy with provided me with a good opportunity to do the second trade that i needed.

Don't forget that Broughton was on 25 at half time. His scoring went through the roof once Fyfe got hurt. If Fyfe is to miss significant time then I expect Broughton's scoring to go to elite levels. Unfortunately i did not predict that Fyfe would hurt himself and thus the trade looks like a bad one in hindsight. I still believe that trading Broughton out was a good play to make, it just so happens that a change in circumstance proved to be massively beneficial to Broughton.

Would you do the unthinkable and trade him back him? I traded him to Waters and felt pretty vindicated when he was stuck on 25 at half time.

Felt sick in the guts when I saw him smack bang in the middle of Subiaco racking up possessions at will after half time.

Would you do the unthinkable and trade him back him?.

Absolutely I would. I've seen plenty of people get quite stubborn about these sorts of things and miss out on opportunities to improve their sides. If Fyfe is going to miss a lot of time and it's clear that Broughton will score very well in his absence, then I would not have any reservations about bringing him back in if i was able to do so.

Good. I've done that before, if the best player is sitting there who cares if they have already been in your team, it's illogical.

I was happy to keep Broughton but only because I had an option to get Greene, in losing McCarthy. I like McCarthy but he had a few tough games coming up, namely Sydney and the Pies, though I would expect him to lift against them of course. When Broughton was on 25 at half time I started watching Good Luck Charlie with my daughter.

Any chance of including past winner "The Convicts" in this thread as he's started very well this year and should feature strongly in the finish if past performance is anything to go on.

Famous DT Coaches Thread 2012