BB1888

Feb 4, 2008
Candy Mountain.
Celtic, Barca, Everton.
I promised a summation of my first time at Kardinia Park so here goes.

Got the train to South Geelong station and I was quite surprised at the amount of Doggies supporters who were at the ground. There was an older lady on the train sitting across from me and she had this old Geelong schoolbag that must have been 30 years old. It was one of those bags that had the Big V and the old Cats emblem from the late 70's early 80's.

The wife and I made our way to the Doug Wade stand but we had to walk through the Hickey Stand to get there and during the walk I saw an older Cats fan in the standing section with his little wooden foot stool that he obviously stands on to watch the game. I pointed this out to the missus and we were both impressed. It looked like it was handmade and had seen many days out watching the Cats.

I have to say that I enjoyed sitting in the D.W. Stand, the long wooden seats with the numbers on them reminded me of going to the footy in the country years ago.

I sat with a group of Doggies supporters and we were obviously outnumbered by the Cats fans and the game got underway.

I was impressed by the friendliness of the Cats fans, most around us said Gday and chatted a bit which was nice. Lots of families and kids with grandparents etc who had obviously been members for many years so I thought that there was a good vibe which I really enjoyed.

Unfortunately there were about a half dozen Doggies fans near by who were absolute tools, as the TISM song says 'You're only 5 yards from a F___wit' and on this occasion they were in red, white and blue.

When we were 10 points up at one stage they were standing up and yelling abuse at Matthew Scarlett, saying he was a dud etc and I remember thinking that it was very early to get cocky and that Scarlett is an absolute gun who I would love to be in our backline.

They were quite embarressing to be honest and they were very, very quiet for the entire second half, so at least that was one positive to come after the main break for me.

During halftime a lot of people got out their thermos and cakes etc and that is something that you dont really see too much in the sterile, corporate, concrete monster that is Telstra Dome.

One of the highlights for me was the scoreboard to the side of the DW Stand. I got great enjoyment watching the scores get changed by hand which again brought back many good country footy memories.

I was amazed at how much noise you guys make, especially the cheersquad in the breaks. I can imagine that it must be pretty intimidating environment for opposition players out in the middle when you guys get going.

We all know how the game unfolded and Geelong were very worthy winners. I had a chat with a Geelong fan afterwards and I told him that you guys have back to back written all over you. It was great to have a chat with an opposition supporter after the game, he was telling me about Grand Final day last year and I have to admit I did feel a twinge of envy, but hopefully our day in the Sun will roll around. He actually congratulated me on the way that the Doggies played in they didnt come out and try to hurt players with cheap shots etc the way that Fremantle did, he was very upset at Solomon's actions and also other Freo players and we both agreed that Solomon in particular is a Dog.

I felt that the Cats fans around me were very gracious in victory and all in all I had a very enjoyable day at a great suburban ground.

After the game I had a couple of sneaky pots at the Clarendon and then headed into town for a feed and a sook. ;)

I hope you dont make too many changes when you do the 30 million dollars worth of renovations because what you have is a unique reminder of what is great about football: atmosphere, families, the elements and a lot of noise!

Well done guys, if we can't break out own drought this year (which I am not very confident about after Saturday), I hope you guys go back to back. Thanks for a great day and I shall certainly be back to The Cattery and hopefully we will put in a better show next time. :thumbsu:

PS- Please murder Hawthorn as this will make me feel much better and many of their supporters are arrogant tools.

Excellent summary there BB1888, there is probably a lot of that old-style supporting style like thermoses and sandwiches at Geelong compared to the 'G' or the 'Dome. May also be because bringing in such items is frowned upon by the powers that be at those Melbourne venues.

Certainly most Dogs fans have been really gracious in defeat, and in all honesty your side will be firing up there in September. Your side even at 13-2-1 is as well placed as at any time in your history, and one loss, like our Pies loss, is not cause to toss the baby out with the bathwater. I'm sure we will see your side in September!

yeah good report matey l normally stand up the other end in the outer we make little rolls and take chips n chocy l have sat up in the wade stand that was good up there to l mite up grade my membership and get a seat next year unless l put the boots on and play a season of country footy

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time. I was standing in the outer next to a few doggie supporters and they were great all day, obviously we cheer at different times but they just wanted to see a good game and seemed like good people.

I couldn't help but have a go at aker though :p

Excellent write up.

Believe me, there are idiots at every club, yes probably our own. It is painful when people cannot just marvel at the surroundings, or the game itself.

I went to the WB v Lions game at the MCG a few weeks back. Saw probably one of the worst levels of behaviour from a supporter in a long, long time. One guy was totally drunk, spurred on by about 20 kids around him. Unfortunately the guy was about 30-odd, who obviously can't hold his alcohol and continued to swear and pick on all those around him. A few of us told him to quieten down, he picked on the smallest guy by sitting a row back and staring at him. It didn't take long for the cops to arrive, thankfully.

He was a WB supporter, which really left me with a bad impression of doggies supporters. Your post has definitely removed that impression somewhat.

We were sitting in the new stand, and there were heaps of Doggies supporters around us. Very good bunch of people, extremely passionate and were good sports.

Nice to hear an oppositon fan come to The Cattery who doesn't whinge about the old-school style of the ground and it's lack of swanky facilities compared to TD and the MCG.

KP has charm, character and a uniqueness that I absolutely love!

Excellent write up.

Believe me, there are idiots at every club, yes probably our own. It is painful when people cannot just marvel at the surroundings, or the game itself.

I went to the WB v Lions game at the MCG a few weeks back. Saw probably one of the worst levels of behaviour from a supporter in a long, long time. One guy was totally drunk, spurred on by about 20 kids around him. Unfortunately the guy was about 30-odd, who obviously can't hold his alcohol and continued to swear and pick on all those around him. A few of us told him to quieten down, he picked on the smallest guy by sitting a row back and staring at him. It didn't take long for the cops to arrive, thankfully.

He was a WB supporter, which really left me with a bad impression of doggies supporters. Your post has definitely removed that impression somewhat.

Cheers mate, I find it horrible when I am sitting near a supporter like the one you have mentioned, regardless of who they support. It just makes the feeling of awkardness and embarressment even worse when they support the same mob that I do. Especially when I am there with my wife and there are other ladies and kids around.

I do feel very proud to be a Doggies supporter as I feel that we are a proud yet humble club whose supporters are certainly not bandwagon jumpers. In that respect I also admire Cats fans as you have had many years of close calls and heartache and have stayed loyal.

My wife is from down that way and I have been to many BBQ's and parties and 95% of the people there are Cats fans and I have always enjoyed chatting to them about footy.

Some clubs supporters simply say to me that 'Footscray supporters have no other choice than to be humble as we have won not a lot' but I don't think they get it.

West Coast and Adelaide fans are usually the worst interstate supporters as their attitude is one of 'how many flags have you won?'

Essendon are the worst though in my experience, horrible, arrogant and very smug.

To me footy is more than corporate sponsors and 'the bottom line', if it isn't then why don't we get each clubs' accountants to play against each other?

Kardinia Park is a fantastic ground and the atmosphere was brilliant. As I have previously said I hope you don't change too much with the renovations, maybe a few more lights would be good.:)

I loathe going to the Telstra Dome, even when we are winning and the crowd are making lots of noise it feels very artificial to me and I generally leave wishing we played at the G, or even Princess Park.

Enjoy your success guys, you are a great club with a majority of great supporters, I think we will meet you again in September and I have a feeling it will be a bit closer than on Saturday.

Maybe you guys can beat Hawthorn in the next 2 Grand Finals and then we can have a turn at winning one?

PS- Everyone has a go at Aker, I was on Saturday.

I promised a summation of my first time at Kardinia Park so here goes.

Got the train to South Geelong station and I was quite surprised at the amount of Doggies supporters who were at the ground. There was an older lady on the train sitting across from me and she had this old Geelong schoolbag that must have been 30 years old. It was one of those bags that had the Big V and the old Cats emblem from the late 70's early 80's.

The wife and I made our way to the Doug Wade stand but we had to walk through the Hickey Stand to get there and during the walk I saw an older Cats fan in the standing section with his little wooden foot stool that he obviously stands on to watch the game. I pointed this out to the missus and we were both impressed. It looked like it was handmade and had seen many days out watching the Cats.

I have to say that I enjoyed sitting in the D.W. Stand, the long wooden seats with the numbers on them reminded me of going to the footy in the country years ago.

I sat with a group of Doggies supporters and we were obviously outnumbered by the Cats fans and the game got underway.

I was impressed by the friendliness of the Cats fans, most around us said Gday and chatted a bit which was nice. Lots of families and kids with grandparents etc who had obviously been members for many years so I thought that there was a good vibe which I really enjoyed.

Unfortunately there were about a half dozen Doggies fans near by who were absolute tools, as the TISM song says 'You're only 5 yards from a F___wit' and on this occasion they were in red, white and blue.

When we were 10 points up at one stage they were standing up and yelling abuse at Matthew Scarlett, saying he was a dud etc and I remember thinking that it was very early to get cocky and that Scarlett is an absolute gun who I would love to be in our backline.

They were quite embarressing to be honest and they were very, very quiet for the entire second half, so at least that was one positive to come after the main break for me.

During halftime a lot of people got out their thermos and cakes etc and that is something that you dont really see too much in the sterile, corporate, concrete monster that is Telstra Dome.

One of the highlights for me was the scoreboard to the side of the DW Stand. I got great enjoyment watching the scores get changed by hand which again brought back many good country footy memories.

I was amazed at how much noise you guys make, especially the cheersquad in the breaks. I can imagine that it must be pretty intimidating environment for opposition players out in the middle when you guys get going.

We all know how the game unfolded and Geelong were very worthy winners. I had a chat with a Geelong fan afterwards and I told him that you guys have back to back written all over you. It was great to have a chat with an opposition supporter after the game, he was telling me about Grand Final day last year and I have to admit I did feel a twinge of envy, but hopefully our day in the Sun will roll around. He actually congratulated me on the way that the Doggies played in they didnt come out and try to hurt players with cheap shots etc the way that Fremantle did, he was very upset at Solomon's actions and also other Freo players and we both agreed that Solomon in particular is a Dog.

I felt that the Cats fans around me were very gracious in victory and all in all I had a very enjoyable day at a great suburban ground.

After the game I had a couple of sneaky pots at the Clarendon and then headed into town for a feed and a sook. ;)

I hope you dont make too many changes when you do the 30 million dollars worth of renovations because what you have is a unique reminder of what is great about football: atmosphere, families, the elements and a lot of noise!

Well done guys, if we can't break out own drought this year (which I am not very confident about after Saturday), I hope you guys go back to back. Thanks for a great day and I shall certainly be back to The Cattery and hopefully we will put in a better show next time. :thumbsu:

PS- Please murder Hawthorn as this will make me feel much better and many of their supporters are arrogant tools.

well i must have been sitting right near you as we had about 20 dogs supporters behind us who were absolute idiots. looking for a fight with every smart alec comment they made. no one gave in and fell for it though. they were absolute tossers. now i cant stand the bulldogs thanks to them.

Well I'm one of those Hawk tools :rolleyes:

Gota say I love going down to Kardinia Park (even if its dark by 3.30 lol). Great old footy atmosphere, passionate but friendly crowd. A crowd that lives & breathes Geelong in a 1-team town with its own newspaper pro-Cats!

You can feel the history oozing out of the old Hickey stand like ghosts of bygone eras watching over the current souls of the cattery. Enjoy a beer and pie and listen to the thuderous roar reverberate around the stadium as the Cats kick a big one, boo Solly and the dockers, reminisce about the siren gate affair as the old V-line locomotive sounds its warning horn approaching the Sth Geelong rail crossing. That's what I like about Geelong.

Even more so after the game you can say g'day have a beer and enjoy some friendly banter.:D Keep hold of your traditions as long as you can!:thumbsu:

The G might be the traditional spiritual home of footy but I reckon Geelong must be up there as the last of the 'old' stadiums.

The re-developement looks good....but not quite the same as the old ground lol.

Still, can someone turn the AC off next time? Bloody cold the other week when you guys played Freo (wind!)

Great post, just reinforced my love for the Doggies and respect for their fans. Always had a soft spot for the Dogs and I don't think there is a player on that list I don't like. Big Johnson, Minson and Callan fan.

Good luck for the rest of the year and I hope you guys win it if we can't. Stuff the Hawks.

great write up. loved SS, the suburban feel about it, parking in the streets/school and not have to worry. And we also sell full strength beer:D

Well I'm one of those Hawk tools :rolleyes:

Obviously not.

My brother and best mate are Hawks members, so not all of you are boorish, mouthy, arrogant frontrunning knobs.

I was more talking about the Hawks supporters of about a month ago, when Franklin was going to win 5 flags on his own.

Those are the sort of supporters that do not realise that premierships are not won in May.

well i must have been sitting right near you as we had about 20 dogs supporters behind us who were absolute idiots. looking for a fight with every smart alec comment they made. no one gave in and fell for it though. they were absolute tossers. now i cant stand the bulldogs thanks to them.

Maybe not, these were a group of about 6 guys in their early 20's. There were about 10 Doggies supporters sitting behind them but they weren't doing anything but supporting their team. The young guys in front were just loud mouthed tools to be honest.

As has been said in this thread, unfortunately all clubs have tools.

Old K-Park only gets cranking on the decibels when there is a big game on these days. If you came to a game where we were playing a lower ranked team it is actually pretty quiet.

I am in Bali so i missed the game.

It is good to hear an outsiders opinion on our ground though, I have been going there since I was a baby so i think we take it for granted sometimes.

Like someone else mentioned earlier, I too have always had a soft spot for the Doggies. There was a time in the late 90's with Libba, Romero etc that i didnt like you much, but im over that now and i can honestly say you are the only other team in the comp i wouldnt be 100% devastated about giving the flag up to.

It looks to be a three horse race, lets hope we are the two gunning for the line on GF day.

There were a couple of Geelong supporters standing behind me (up in standing room) who were frankly among the worst supporters I've seen. They were so tanked by half time they could barely stand, and spent most of the second half yelling at a couple of doggy supporters in front of me. ********s. Not fair to judge the crowd on the activity of four people though - the mood I reckon was really good on the train both ways and at the ground. There were HEAPS of doggies supporters up in standing room. I reckon one in four or thereabouts. Well done to both clubs and their supporters. Pity more clubs don't get to enjoy the hospitality at Skilled.

Great write up.

It's so nice to hear something positive from an opposition supporter like this.

Wish I sat near opposition supporters like you week in and week out.

:thumbsu:

There were a couple of Geelong supporters standing behind me (up in standing room) who were frankly among the worst supporters I've seen. They were so tanked by half time they could barely stand, and spent most of the second half yelling at a couple of doggy supporters in front of me. ********s. Not fair to judge the crowd on the activity of four people though - the mood I reckon was really good on the train both ways and at the ground. There were HEAPS of doggies supporters up in standing room. I reckon one in four or thereabouts. Well done to both clubs and their supporters. Pity more clubs don't get to enjoy the hospitality at Skilled.

well at least they had an excuse for their behaviour. the ones behind me were sober so had no excuse. just idiots looking for a fight.

i seriously do not understand where the o.p is coming from :confused:

skilled stadium is an absolute shit hole

not to mention bening surrounded by 25 thousand geelong people not fun at all

absolute dump of a place :thumbsdown:

First time at The Cattery.