Preview Rd 14 Bye week - time to look ahead.

Some of you have got too much time on your hands , in depth analysis of the list next year , i couldnt be bothered to be honest

With all the retirements , Geel have to drift down the ladder a bit , and i couldnt careless to be honest , the Flag in 22 by just shy of 14 goals , all those top 4 finishes in the last 20 years , and 3 other Flags banked of course

The only way Geel will challenge quickly again is if they hit pay dirt with all that hidden gold out their , and the Cats have got a very good record doing that

Harry Taylor , i heard his great mate J Kennedy from Geraldton say a couple of years back , it was a great pick by Geel because i dont think too many ( if any ) of the other clubs were looking at him , emphasised by the fact he did play 47 games for East Fremantle

Tom Stewart a bargain from South Barwon , Max Rooke from Casterton , the Steeplechaser Blicavs . Mathew Stokes is a great example , lovely kick Stokes , he said ( after being overlooked 3 drafts in a row ) hed given up , he was in his words a million to one shot , but out of the blue Geel contacted him and 200 games later the rest is history

Carlton and Melb basically 20 years in the wilderness , top 10 picks they had stacks of them year in year out and kept botching them , they finally had to hit the dart board , Petracca and Walsh , but they had to get something eventually

I think thats the Cats best chance , keep replenishing the list , and there are good players out their in lower comps , who have slipped through the net , and Geel have a very good record in getting some really good players who for one reason or another have not been drafted at an early age

We are all going to fall on our guns if they decide to re enrol, for another year, all of-
Danger, Hawk, Duncan, Stanley, Tuohy, Parfitt, Blicavs

Cuthrie already a stayer, and haven't heard the others say adios yet.

Melty melt melts.
If those names stay we wouldn't be the only ones shot by the end of the year

Some of you have got too much time on your hands , in depth analysis of the list next year , i couldnt be bothered to be honest

With all the retirements , Geel have to drift down the ladder a bit , and i couldnt careless to be honest , the Flag in 22 by just shy of 14 goals , all those top 4 finishes in the last 20 years , and 3 other Flags banked of course

The only way Geel will challenge quickly again is if they hit pay dirt with all that hidden gold out their , and the Cats have got a very good record doing that

Harry Taylor , i heard his great mate J Kennedy from Geraldton say a couple of years back , it was a great pick by Geel because i dont think too many ( if any ) of the other clubs were looking at him , emphasised by the fact he did play 47 games for East Fremantle

Tom Stewart a bargain from South Barwon , Max Rooke from Casterton , the Steeplechaser Blicavs . Mathew Stokes is a great example , lovely kick Stokes , he said ( after being overlooked 3 drafts in a row ) hed given up , he was in his words a million to one shot , but out of the blue Geel contacted him and 200 games later the rest is history

Carlton and Melb basically 20 years in the wilderness , top 10 picks they had stacks of them year in year out and kept botching them , they finally had to hit the dart board , Petracca and Walsh , but they had to get something eventually

I think thats the Cats best chance , keep replenishing the list , and there are good players out their in lower comps , who have slipped through the net , and Geel have a very good record in getting some really good players who for one reason or another have not been drafted at an early age

Glad you also took the time to put a positive yet resigned spin on things.
Using my PC for study, a BF pop up is always welcome for procrastination value!
And amusement.

I think people around here massively underrate Duncan. Yes he's lost some penetration in his kicking and a couple of yards of pace but he's still one of the smartest players in the league and is a key player for us. There's no way he'll be forced out this year with at least 5 in the queue before him (Bews, Tuohy, Stanley, Rohan and Hawkins).

Hes smart but his role needs to change. He cant cover the ground up and back anymore.

Is there any merit over time to bring the SDK to ruck conversation back? His brother is two years older and really came over age over the past two years. The objection I think has been about protecting SDK but it might well be better for him to have some freedom around the ground? Just a thought
Before SDK is moved to another position some time with a sport psychologist is needed. I do believe the horrors of his injuries affected him significantly. Perhaps he's already having that support. Really think it's crucial for him.

Are there any positions that require less physical contact? It's a pretty brutal game that's why I'm asking.

Hes smart but his role needs to change. He cant cover the ground up and back anymore.
Where do you think Duncan is more suited to play?

Duncan continually stacks up good disposal numbers, yet is constantly criticised. He contributes experience + leadership, which are underestimated.

Regarding Duncan, I heard his radio interview a few weeks ago on SEN...he sounded checked-out, as if already retired. Maybe he was just tired with the new baby, but he said it would be mainly up to the club if he played on next year and didn't really entertain the option of playing anywhere else. Was hoping to get a coaching position after footy, as it's all he's ever done, but doubts he'll go insterstate due to family. Interestingly, he thought Tommy could go on another year.

My gut feel is he's gone, along with Tommy, Tuohy, Stanley and Rohan from the current 22.

Regarding Duncan, I heard his radio interview a few weeks ago on SEN...he sounded checked-out, as if already retired. Maybe he was just tired with the new baby, but he said it would be mainly up to the club if he played on next year and didn't really entertain the option of playing anywhere else. Was hoping to get a coaching position after footy, as it's all he's ever done, but doubts he'll go insterstate due to family. Interestingly, he thought Tommy could go on another year.

My gut feel is he's gone, along with Tommy, Tuohy, Stanley and Rohan from the current 22.
Having had three babies in the last 7 years, I have sounded checked out for 7 years

Mid table mediocrity…. Is this the new Geelong? Are we in no man’s land for the foreseeable future? Not a top 4 premiership threat nor a team that totally bottoms out…..
Dangerous territory …..could we be the new Essendon?
Perhaps I’ve misunderstood ???

Ladder:
Essendon 3rd
Geelong 4th
North 18th

Very happy to be 4th.

Depending upon our wins + losses, would love to remain Top 4 🤞🏻 🤞🏻 🤞🏻
Satisfied to make the eight.

Yet, didn’t think we’d make the eight, let alone be in Top 4 when we began losing. I’m regarding this season as development for young guys, transition with older players + to make finals would be ideal for our younger players.

This is far more hopeful than it sounds 😻

Perhaps I’ve misunderstood ???

Ladder:
Essendon 3rd
Geelong 4th
North 18th

Very happy to be 4th.

Depending upon our wins + losses, would love to remain Top 4 🤞🏻 🤞🏻 🤞🏻
Satisfied to make the eight.

Yet, didn’t think we’d make the eight, let alone be in Top 4 when we began losing. I’m regarding this season as development for young guys, transition with older players + to make finals would be ideal for our younger players.

This is far more hopeful than it sounds 😻
No big deal but we are 5th not 4th, and a couple of teams below us have played one less game and could leapfrog us this weekend. However we have lost 5 of our last 6 games, the only win coming at home to a severely depleted Richmond who are 17th on the ladder. Hard to know where our next win is coming. I'd be confident we beat North Melbourne in round 20 but not about the 5 games before that, even the 2 games at GMHBA. I'm not ruling out the possibility we arrest this slump and win some of the games in our next stretch. Dangerfield could be a big factor in that.

Mid table mediocrity…. Is this the new Geelong? Are we in no man’s land for the foreseeable future? Not a top 4 premiership threat nor a team that totally bottoms out…..
Dangerous territory …..could we be the new Essendon?

I think we will be in the Essendon / Adelaide kind of position. I don't think we will drop like a North or West Coast. Just have to make sure we nail the top 10 picks when we get them, unlike Essendon and Adelaide over the last 10 years.

The cats are in a transition phase, IMHO. Some veterans are playing their last season, and it shows. We have a core of young players coming up who are not the matchwinners we need to keep the team in the Premiership window at the moment. This group is still a work in progress and we might see several of them become the elite players we need in a few years, but they're not there yet. So, I see Scotty and the coaches doing their best to use what strengths the Cats have to get some wins, but it seems the rest of the competition has pretty much figured that out.

I think the next few trade/draft periods will decide a lot for this team. With Tassie drafting their first players in 2027 (I think), the recruiting department only has a limited time to fix the list. This might be the time to loosen the purse strings a bit and pay overs on a couple of good midfielders. To me, this is all the team needs at the moment. Two elite midfielders would take the pressure off our defense and allow our current mids the freedom of not playing on the opposition's best mids or not getting the tag.

That change could turn this side around quicker than you imagine. That's just my 2c worth. I could be dead wrong.

Either we have been copying the"Cameron should get back to F50 "opinion of Josh Jenkins, or vice versa. I think the latter.

But SEN have seen fit to make an article out of it...... FWIW...... which is jackshit to Scott

Is there any merit over time to bring the SDK to ruck conversation back? His brother is two years older and really came over age over the past two years. The objection I think has been about protecting SDK but it might well be better for him to have some freedom around the ground? Just a thought
He does not have either the muscle bulk or grunt/mongrel IMO

Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk

I agree holmes and miers are untradeable.

Stengle for me is possibly 20 % (and at the end of the day its his call to an extent hes UFA) tradeable. Hes a gun and i love him-i say it only bc if it was going to cost close to 1mil to keep him and you could instead put mannagh in the hole on base wage and get a top line young A grade kpf with the 1mil then i think it would be worth it. But since juh etc are signed that option doesnt exist so id rather keep stengle.
I like the thinking except we cld get a mid instead. Stengle wld be a hard loss to get over still.

Stengle is an incredibly hard player to replace... Small forwards are almost more valuable than tall forwards with the modern day structures and set ups.

When you analyse the value of key forwards in the modern game it is bizzare.

Two of the past three premiership sides have had just average key forwards... Both collingwood and melbourne.

The link up and transition between the arcs seems more important these days than anything else in footy. Who wins the contesr around thr footy and defends and links up from hb to hf seens to win most often.

What collingwood have and we dont have up forward, are key forwards who launch aerially to compete and force the ball the ground.. That is all they do, but they do it well, then let their quality smalls go to work.

We actually dont havr quality talls who can compete aerially as bizzare as that is to say... Hawkins is terrible launching in a pack since his back troubles, cameron doesnt do it either. The only ones who offer some aerial ability are rohan and henry, with both being sub 190cm and the former out of sorts at 33yo.

Unusually all over thr ground this year we seem to be getting beaten aerially which is very uncharacteriatic of our team... Down back i do hold sdk somewhat accountable for this as he is 204cm and it should not be happening that 195cm key forwards are taking pack marks with him in the contest... That is not acceptable.. But is happening frequently.

I dont see us competing for a flag this year, but that is ok...

We are an incredibly well coached team that will fight it out, then re load over the summer.
This is so spot on. We have elite smalls who don't get enough ground ball

Preview Rd 14 Bye week - time to look ahead.