Fit WCE or Geelong?

So do you reckon playing him right now is doing him any good? If I was WC I would be more pragmatic, have the attitude that you will only play fit players and forget Judd for the rest of the year. In all likelihood, without Kerr and Cousins you are not going to win the flag, so give Judd the surgery or rest he so badly requires.

Yep he is treading water atm, not going to recover this season, cut your losses and leave him out for the rest of the year, which is likely to be one more game anyway.

Are you saying you know more about Judd's injury than the club's medical staff?

Why would that be the question when Judd specifically asked to keep playing, despite the club offering him a rest?

Re-read my post - I asid from afar. I also said that I don't know how severe the injury is. Can you read?

Was merely asking a question about how you thought your club has handled his injury but if you insist on being childish about it then I guess that is your perogative.

To your second point, I think if that is the case then it is even more irresponsible of West Coast to play him given his injuries. Every player wants to keep playing but sometimes you must draw the line and if the doctors/fitness guys say have a rest, then have a rest.

Re-read my post - I asid from afar. I also said that I don't know how severe the injury is. Can you read?

Was merely asking a question about how you thought your club has handled his injury but if you insist on being childish about it then I guess that is your perogative.

To your second point, I think if that is the case then it is even more irresponsible of West Coast to play him given his injuries. Every player wants to keep playing but sometimes you must draw the line and if the doctors/fitness guys say have a rest, then have a rest.

So you are saying you know more than the club Doctors. Despite being "afar".

Geelong have had a very good run with injuries this year. If Cam Mooney or Gary Ablett were to go down that would make things interesting and would be a similar scenario to what most clubs have had to endure throughout the season. You've been at pretty much full strength for the whole year, with amazing competition for places. That really has a huge effect in gelling the players. You've got a fantastic list though and enough good players to cover important losses however, it would make things a little bit more interesting and i'm sure Geelong would'nt look near as invincible.

So do you reckon playing him right now is doing him any good? If I was WC I would be more pragmatic, have the attitude that you will only play fit players and forget Judd for the rest of the year..

That would be nice in a perfect world. Unfortunately we don't have any fit players.

Hopefully Kerr would be okay IF (a big IF) we beat Collingwood. A midfield of

C: Fletcher Kerr Braun
R: Cox Priddis Stenglein

Still aint half bad

I'd back the Cats, especially if Stenglein was running into an open goal!!

It is pretty even, even with Cox playing under the weather. The rotation of the Cats is greater than the Eagles, with Rooke and Chapman easily better than Priddis and whomever the Eagles have got.

Priddis showed on the weekend that he is soft, which is something the GFC midfielders haven't shown thus far.

The only mix is whether a fit judd and/or cousins can match it with Bartel and Ablett. Probably, but with Corey, Ling, Chapman, Rooke, as well. It is hard to see a more potent full lineup or rotation at the Eagles.

It's funny how Geelong step up when they're not expected to. After last year's NAB cup win, everyone expected them to win the flag. This year, it was West Coast and Sydney with the high expectations of the media (which hasn't been fulfilled yet).

I say rest Judd, Cousins and Kerr for this week and rely on Fletcher, Embley, Priddis, Cox, Braun, Stenglein, Lynch and Rosa to take the reins. If we make it to the prelim, MAYBE bring back Judd. From thereon if we make the Grand Final, rush back Cousins and Kerr (as ridiculous as it may seem).

Don't get too excited cats fans, still another two games to go and given your recent finals experience (05?) I'd be keeping a very firm lid on it. Your team has excelled this year and deserves the plaudits, but really can you tell me your team could lose Ablett for 15 rounds, Bartell for 10 rounds, Enright for 7 rounds and Mooney for 8 rounds and finish top 8 (let alone top 4)?? I'd doubt it. A fit WC has midfield depth & quality to burn over your team (Cuz, Judd, Kerr, Fletcher, Butler,Embley, Braun, Stengelin, Rosa, Hurn.....) a very solid defence and given Lynch & Hansens form this year an equal forward line to Geelong. It would be a great game and one we hopefully see within the next year or so - especially a granny. But you guys need to play good consistent finals footy for a few years and win a grand final before you get too far ahead of yourselves.

It's funny how Geelong step up when they're not expected to. After last year's NAB cup win, everyone expected them to win the flag. This year, it was West Coast and Sydney with the high expectations of the media (which hasn't been fulfilled yet).

I say rest Judd, Cousins and Kerr for this week and rely on Fletcher, Embley, Priddis, Cox, Braun, Stenglein, Lynch and Rosa to take the reins. If we make it to the prelim, MAYBE bring back Judd. From thereon if we make the Grand Final, rush back Cousins and Kerr (as ridiculous as it may seem).

Agree to an extent. As an extremely young team in 02 who pushed for finals we were expected to make them in 03 - won seven games, disappointing year. After making prelim in 04 we were expected to be top 4 at least in 05 and had an ordinary year. Worse again in 06 before playing well in 07 when just simply making the 8 was considered a good result in March.

Geelong fans really need to get their hands off it quite frankly. Those rose coloured glasses are all well and good right now, but how quickly you forget those comments will be sitting here in one years time or what have you. Geelong have been brilliant this year without doubt, but the only real addition to the side this year has been Selwood - and whilst he's a good player, I don't think he's the reason you have gone from a bottom 8 side to the raging premiership favourite. My point being here, I see no reason why you guys can't go back to being an ordinary side ala last year. There is also a very good chance of this happening if you have injuries similar to those that West Coast have had this year - yet they still managed to finish third.

The way you guys are talking, it's as though you think you're Brisbane 01-03, Essendon 2000 or Carlton 1995 already. Lets not forget that you lost to Port a matter of a fortnight ago, when only 1 of your good players was unavailable in Bartel. So given that Port are generally a younger side than Geelong, you must realise that you will become the Port of 01-03 whilst Port will be the new Brisbane of 01-03?

The icing on the cake is the Geelong supporter who quite clearly goes against his fellow supporter, claiming that West Coast sides of the early 90's are not better than Geelong of '07. I see the difference of 2 premierships and one GF loss. In my reckoning, that makes Geelong of '07 at least 3 years behind West Coast of the early '90s, so even if they win this year, that will be one - then only 2 more to go! :eek:

The way you guys are talking, it's as though you think you're Brisbane 01-03, Essendon 2000 or Carlton 1995 already. Lets not forget that you lost to Port a matter of a fortnight ago, when only 1 of your good players was unavailable in Bartel. So given that Port are generally a younger side than Geelong, you must realise that you will become the Port of 01-03 whilst Port will be the new Brisbane of 01-03?

The way who is talking?

And not that it matters but we had 3 of our key midfielders out, Selwood (who if he hadn't shown it earlier in the season showed today how important he is), Ling and Bartel.

Don't get me wrong - I admire the swans grit and determination. But the past two grand finals have been won by a team scoring 12 goals or less. I am simply saying that either of those two teams would not stand up against a team that has the capacity to score as heavily as Geelong. Anyone with half a brain would realise that.

Geelong's midfield depth is longer than WC's. I admit that your top 3 midfielders are top shelf but you fall away after that. You have perhaps one half decent key forward in Lynch and your small forwards are non existent. Compare that to a forwardline comprising Mooney, Steve Johnson, Chapman and Stokes. Their is no competition.

Moron Alert.

Geelongs midfield depth better than ours? HAHAHAHAHAH

Cousins
Judd
Kerr
Fletcher
Embley
Braun
Stenglein
Selwood
Priddis
Rosa
Cox

Sorry mate, fully fit, we will smash every midfield.

Geelong fans really need to get their hands off it quite frankly. Those rose coloured glasses are all well and good right now, but how quickly you forget those comments will be sitting here in one years time or what have you. Geelong have been brilliant this year without doubt, but the only real addition to the side this year has been Selwood - and whilst he's a good player, I don't think he's the reason you have gone from a bottom 8 side to the raging premiership favourite. My point being here, I see no reason why you guys can't go back to being an ordinary side ala last year. There is also a very good chance of this happening if you have injuries similar to those that West Coast have had this year - yet they still managed to finish third.

The icing on the cake is the Geelong supporter who quite clearly goes against his fellow supporter, claiming that West Coast sides of the early 90's are not better than Geelong of '07. I see the difference of 2 premierships and one GF loss. In my reckoning, that makes Geelong of '07 at least 3 years behind West Coast of the early '90s, so even if they win this year, that will be one - then only 2 more to go! :eek:

respect :thumbsu:

West coast win 1 flag by 1 poitn and they think they are a super premiership side.

the 05 geelong side which had a forward line of gardner,playfair and kingsley would of beaten sydney in a semi if it wasnt for injuries.Everyone keeps on saying that they cant beleive how sydney won a flag with that list,maybe it was because the played weak opposition in the gf.west coast were also only able to beat them by 1 point.West coast are just an average premiership side ,geelong would beat them by about 5 goals.

In the H&A season plus one final (as that's all we have to judge on so far), you'd have to say Geelong as we've dominated this season like West Coast has never been able to do. West Coast has a GF appearance and a flag to their name from 2 GFs which probably could've gone either way, so the reality is they were only a bit of luck away from being either 2-0 or 0-2 in those GFs. So pretty hard to judge on that.

Matching up the teams, we've comprehensively beaten West Coast in Geelong in recent years while the games at Subi have been pretty tight wins to West Coast. Both are obviously very good teams, but I think we match up too well against the Eagles and would take victory more often than not. Given our style of pressure play I think we play the perfect game to put West Coast's "handball happy" style to the sword as the Eagles tend to be prone to extreme pressure and rely on the highest work-rate in the league to get their wins.

A fit WCE team beats Geelong anyday for me. Although Geelong definatly have the edge in the backline, WC's midfield is unbeatable. The forward line is a bit of a tussle, both have solid forwards. But I think the class of WC's midfield would get them up in most matches. Seeing the sight of a fit Judd, Cousins, Kerr, Embley & Cox is damn scarey, and runs rings around Bartel, Ling, Gablett, Corey & King.

Fit WCE or Geelong?