Football Related Random Thread

Continued in Part 2

The photo's of him being interviewed in drag are on the front page of the DailyMail, ch7 morning show I believe and the HUN....

....someone is going to get their a.r.s.e whipped hard for taking said photo's too by the way.

Something pretty serious other than stalking has gone on one suspects. It will all come out in the wash eventually I guess.

Totally sad...
The photo's of him being interviewed in drag are on the front page of the DailyMail, ch7 morning show I believe and the HUN....

....someone is going to get their a.r.s.e whipped hard for taking said photo's too by the way.

Something pretty serious other than stalking has gone on one suspects. It will all come out in the wash eventually I guess.

Yep...when i first posted thought it was just simple cross-dressing as a result of lockdown... more serious he breached his avo order.. stalking... was found with a bag of meth...Had been in contact with most of the St.Kilda crims...my sources say one of those crims sold Laidley out in exchange for the cops to go easy on him...

Didn’t want to start a new thread.

So 35 player lists.

I can’t see the AFL reducing lists to 35 players in one off season.

Lions have 36 players under contract for 2021 and Gold Coast have 41.

Which makes me question how the AFL plan to reduce the TPP to $10 million next year.

The AFL has said there will be a draft, but we don’t know what it will look like. It could be 1 round, or it could be two rounds. What ever it looks like, there appears to be a vocal discussion to push the draft age to 19.

Also, it’s possible most of the Irish players, especially the Cat B rookies leave the league. With no rookie lists, and just 35 listed players, clubs will be reluctant to use a list spot on a development player.

Watching footy classified Caro seems very sure that the AFL is closing in on a rights extension with fox/7. I wonder how much will actually be on offer from the networks.

Would the AFL really sign a deal with an organisation that might go under during the next contract?

I wonder how much they can offer anyways, head office would be watching expenditure very closely with a $2 billion debt. Murdoch wont want to throw another $700 million into a sinking ship. Warren Buffet just took an enormous hit selling off all his interests in American airline companies at a loss, but as he said better to take the pain now than continue to burn money hoping for things to turn around.

Didn’t want to start a new thread.

So 35 player lists.

I can’t see the AFL reducing lists to 35 players in one off season.

Lions have 36 players under contract for 2021 and Gold Coast have 41.

Which makes me question how the AFL plan to reduce the TPP to $10 million next year.

The AFL has said there will be a draft, but we don’t know what it will look like. It could be 1 round, or it could be two rounds. What ever it looks like, there appears to be a vocal discussion to push the draft age to 19.

Also, it’s possible most of the Irish players, especially the Cat B rookies leave the league. With no rookie lists, and just 35 listed players, clubs will be reluctant to use a list spot on a development player.

I reckon the AFL have deliberately started the conversation about the reduction of the lists. As they are now now are bank rolling many of the clubs and the corona virus has cost them heaps of revenue they will reduce the cost of both the list and the number of staff payed by the staff. Also since the GWS has entered the competition the number of players that are AFL standard has reduced to all the existing clubs. As long as the clubs have access to more players mid season from the local competition I reckon they will be OK. Also many players on AFL lists are being played out of position in the reserves and by allowing them to play in local competitions will better show case their talents.

The best thing the AFL should have done is relocated clubs out of Melbourne to where GWS and the Suns are based. There's 90 less players right there given the size of both of their respective lists. Hell, a couple of more mergers with a total league competition of 14 clubs and you'd almost be able to extend the comp out to a 26 round season (can the pre-season games which they're almost doing anyway) with clubs stacked of AFL quality players.

So 35 player lists.

I can’t see the AFL reducing lists to 35 players in one off season..
I agree, it still probably take two seasons to implement. I hope that if they do it, it finally gets the powers that be to reduce the number of players on the field, to 16 with 2 subs or 15 with 3 subs. It'll open up the game a lot more and reduce congestion. Allows every team to have a full reserves side also.

The best thing the AFL should have done is relocated clubs out of Melbourne to where GWS and the Suns are based. There's 90 less players right there given the size of both of their respective lists. Hell, a couple of more mergers with a total league competition of 14 clubs and you'd almost be able to extend the comp out to a 26 round season (can the pre-season games which they're almost doing anyway) with clubs stacked of AFL quality players.
Quantity over quality. They don't get their TV billion dollar plus without nine games.

But there won't be billion dollar plus, no matter how many games in the future. Foxtel is on life support and was losing buckets loads of money well before CV19.

My best guess is it lands at one team per state except Vic who may have 6 or 7 (if they can stay solvent).

10/11 teams play twice plus finals.

As Hutchy (and Eddie) put it on FC, TV rights are 70c in every dollar for AFL income and those wells are drying up fast.

Will people return to the stadiums? Current predictions suggest not.

"12% willing to attend a large event"

Things will improve, but fast enough to save every team in an industry that ran on the edge of growth? I don't think so.

Just on Bradshaw all I remember is him being a really good player, a smart player.

I remember watching a game against the Dons with a mad Bombers fan and all he kept saying every time Bradshaw got the ball was geez that bastard can kick.

The article about him missing in big games is incorrect , plus it's not that easy to have a big impact when you've got Lynch and Brown down there . He played some great games for the Swans when his hammy was cooked . He'd be really handy now at F/F.

He really was and it was such a shame his years in Brisbane were blighted by his injuries.

Boyd ... had he been at one of the bigger Victorian clubs, or remained at Collingwood (think he played u/19's with them), he would have been a household name.

Yep, 110%

But there won't be billion dollar plus, no matter how many games in the future. Foxtel is on life support and was losing buckets loads of money well before CV19.
Seeing as Foxtel and Nine are apparently signing a deal with the NRL worth $2.3 billion, I think there's clearly some life in Foxtel yet.

Oh true and no matter what sports will always be FOX's draw card, especially after moving on 20th century to Disney signaled them winding down from general media. If nothing else Murdoch will work out how to strip it down to the bone to stem the hemorrhaging of money or even on sell it.

So AFL has directed all players must be tested for COVID 19 by the end of this week.
With plans to start training on the following Monday.
AFL listed players banned from playing in the 2nd tier competition
A maximum of 24 staff will be allowed, with a doctor, psychologist and player development manager among the legislated necessary staff.
Reduce club spend by 40%. (average of $740K down to $340K) or risk "new deals with banks would potentially be jeopardised".

Feels like things are getting a little closer to Round 2

Have they started the $35m redevelopment of The Gabba?

Yep - drove by last week and saw that Gate 2 has some construction going on.

I haven't been able to get onto the Lions website for about 3wks, anyone else having the same problem or any suggestions as to what might be the issue? Hasn't happened before so not sure why its happening now. Grr!

No problem here. What is it doing/or not doing? Can you access afl.com.au?

Thanks for replying. When I go onto any new site, it will show that site name up in left corner and go there. When I click on Lions all it does is show "new tab" and 2 little dots beside it go back and forth with nothing happening.

I have just deleted the site in the hope I could re-instate it, so googled Brissy Lions but no go again. Shouldn't have done that me thinks!

Not having any trouble at all with any other site. Weird.

Oh, I just tried AFL.com its not working either. Interesting:(

edit: just turned off VPN and its working. Why on earth I never thought to do that is beyond me. sorry, as you were and thanks again:$

Thanks for replying. When I go onto any new site, it will show that site name up in left corner and go there. When I click on Lions all it does is show "new tab" and 2 little dots beside it go back and forth with nothing happening.

I have just deleted the site in the hope I could re-instate it, so googled Brissy Lions but no go again. Shouldn't have done that me thinks!

Not having any trouble at all with any other site. Weird.

Oh, I just tried AFL.com its not working either. Interesting:(
Try a different browser maybe?

This

might knock that on the head.