Preview Fremantle v Richmond - 26/4/2013 6:30PM (AWST) @ Paterson Stadium

When and Where - Friday 26 April, 6:30pm (AWST) bounce down, Patersons Stadium

TV: 7Mate 8:30pm (AEST) Live / Foxtel 8:30pm (AEST) Live

Odds: Fremantle - $1.50 Richmond $2.65

Head To Head - Played: 27 Richmond: 15 Fremantle: 12

Last Time: Fremantle 13.16 (94) def Richmond 11.6 (72), Round 21 2012 at Patersons Stadium

Injury List:
Freo - Fremantle will be sweating to see if Luke McPharlin will be available for selection after being concussed and key anchor players in Sandiland and Pavlich are both unavailable for 6 weeks.
Richmond - Chaplin will be tested to see if he is right after a concussion in the game against the Pies. King did a leg and will be announced to see if he is right.
Form:
Freo - Two very disappointing losses against Essendon at home and Hawthorn at Fremantle will see the Dockers ambitious to redeem themselves in front of their home crowd. They were pipped by Essendon in the dying minutes in what was a horror week for the Bombers and Hawthorn was far too good at Launceston. This week they will be giving their all and we must be prepared.
Richmond - Our form has been great. Dispatched Carlton (just) and St Kilda and destroyed Bulldogs. However, the bubble popped when we lost to the traditional rival - Collingwood. A bubble that needed to be popped in my opinion - we got too cute, too hyped, too cocky in our best start since 1995. Supporters in here needed a reality check and that was what was delivered. Regardless though, we are 3-1 which is not as bad as many think.

Players to watch:
Freo:
Nathan Fyfe: Has been in ripping form the past few rounds. Averaging 25 disposals and a strong clearance player averaging 7 a game. Will be a key player to shut down and negate.
Ryan Crowley: In my opinion, a good tagger. Shut down Boyd and Shuey in the first two round and did a fair job against Bombers and Hawthorn. Will see where he goes if he goes to Deledio like in the past few games or if he will go to Cotchin.
Michael Barlow: Superstar player. Enough said.
Richmond:
Trent Cotchin: I didn't think he really turned it on last game. Sure he had his usual possession but it was not as damaging and impactful. He should be upset with himself especially after the 3rd quarter masterclass given to us by the Pies. He should be able to handle
Dustin Martin: If there is ever a yo-yo player it would be Dustin Martin. I'm not sure if it is fitness or the Dogs are really poor but he has not played a consistent game yet at all. His tank needs to build. So I would be curious to see how he will bounce back and find his Dustin of old form.
Reece Conca: A workmanlike player. I really like him despite looking very similar to Jackson. He's not flashy as that Essendon bloke but he's been playing pretty well this season.

Thoughts on the game:
Richmond has to improve this week after being handed a masterclass by Collingwood. And these are the three things that need to be addressed.

1. We need to tackle more. Fact. We are ****ing lazy out there. We give no defensive pressure. In fact, we are the shittest team in tackling, laying a measly average of 41 tackles a game, 9 less than GWS Giants whereas Fremantle lays average 69 (2nd highest tacking team) - A remarkable difference in intensity. If we are to be competitive, we need to tackle.

2. Kick it to Jack. Sure it's like the good ol days where we kick it to Richo but far out! If Jack is playing on-on-one and McGuane is playing one-on-one. Don't kick it to McGuane - kick it to Riewoldt. Furthermore, we lack a crumbing forward.

3. The Stunned Mullet Effect. We are an aggressive offensive team. We dive in and move the ball fast to the other end in no time. However, whenever we turn it over, we stop and looked bewildered as though we were stunned mullets. Our spread is great but we get exposed the moment we get a turnover.

Ross Lyon is a fantastic coach. His lockdown tactic has strangled Richmond even when he was back in St Kilda. In this game you will see two contrasting style of play – Fremantle’s defence-first focus and Richmond’s free-flowing, high-scoring football. The key is how to navigate around Freo’s lockdown-and-burst method of play where they will strangle you for possession and kick it long and hard to their leading forward. In beating this tactic, we will have turned a corner and put away the monkey that is on our back whenever we play a Ross Lyon coached team.

I hope that this week the Tigers will analyse the Essendon and Hawthorn game and emulate some tactics that has been employed to overcome the miserly Fremantle.

I’m not confident about this game. It will be an uphill battle but like they say “nothing ventured, nothing gained”. Let’s go in there and dictate the gameplay and play like Top 4 contenders.

Richmond by 1.

Never beaten a Ross Lyon coached team, can't see Freo dropping 3 in a row and especially at home. Very, very tough game. No Pavlich, though and the guys will be disappointed with last week so I'm really looking forward to what we dish up.

Game is on Friday night isn't it!? Listed as Saturday above...

And in Melbourne it will only be on Channel 7 in SD, not 7mate in HD, on Free to Air.

Good preview by the way :thumbsu:

Apologies. Had a long long night last night. :(
You sly dog ;) But why the sad face?

Apart from a few players, not sure we have the desperation that will required be required to shake off the Dockers. Hope to be proven wrong though, as we should have all the incentive in the world after last week.

What gets me the most is the bullshit we get fed about dustin martin having worked really hard over preseason and being the best shape of his life/trained the house down.

At the moment, he blows up after 2 qtrs. Not good enough. If our depth is so good he should be on the brink of a run in the VFL with vlastuin given an opportunity. Tuck also gets horribly exposed against class opposition.

What gets me the most is the bullshit we get fed about dustin martin having worked really hard over preseason and being the best shape of his life/trained the house down.

At the moment, he blows up after 2 qtrs. Not good enough. If our depth is so good he should be on the brink of a run in the VFL with vlastuin given an opportunity. Tuck also gets horribly exposed against class opposition.

He could've given his all but a training session can never emulate the real thing. Different intensity you can say.

Never beaten a Ross Lyon coached team, can't see Freo dropping 3 in a row and especially at home. Very, very tough game. No Pavlich, though and the guys will be disappointed with last week so I'm really looking forward to what we dish up.

Our record against Mick Malthouse teams was also appalling before we broke the ice in R1.
In saying that, my biggest concern is the away factor at Patersons (3 from previous 16 matches won).
This match is by far the biggest season defining hurdle, even if we are only playing in R5.
I expected a much better effort against the Scum last Saturday and (TBH) have absolutely no idea what we will dish up on Friday?

For the record, our last victory at Patersons was R10 in 2009 when we scraped home by 3 pts - 115 to 112.

One more glaring stat, average tackles so far this season, Freo 69 Rich 41...ouch!!!

Great preview Equus.
Reckon we're a really good chance.
Wish Axel had two VFL games already, then we'd be sneaking him in.
Unstoppable (even by Freo junkyards), and rises above the blandness.

Interesting that Ross Lyon, either with the Saints or Freo have never beaten the Bombers, so what do they do that we cant?

Dustin blowing up half way through games is due to having to play midfield longer than other sides midfielders , Vlaustin is more likely to blow up even earlier . I do however agree that we need more inside midfield rotations which the inclusion if Vlaustin could assist with , but not at the expense of Dustin .

We need Chaplin to play. The thing which concerns me most is the tackling issue. If we don't pump out 50+ this week i can't see us having any chance of winning over there. They'll be setting themselves for this game and should come out firing. We need to play more direct footy compared to "handball gate" through the middle of the ground against the pies in the 1st half last week. i would like to see batch come in for morris but he needs to bring intensity with him. pity we don't have richo roaming the wing - he loved it over there after finally being let off the chain.

we will play better than last weekend but i think we'll go down in a close one.

Dustin blowing up half way through games is due to having to play midfield longer than other sides midfielders , Vlaustin is more likely to blow up even earlier . I do however agree that we need more inside midfield rotations which the inclusion if Vlaustin could assist with , but not at the expense of Dustin .
Agree. They need to co-exist. Hopefully Helbig gets a game soon as well.

Sorry, disagree. He played 76% game time against the dogs and was bog. That was against inferior midfielders. He was was hopelessly exposed against the pies and his poor tackling ability came to the fore. 2 disposals in a half is not acceptable.

You couldn't get a bigger test after a loss.
Freo handed us our arse last year both times with their playing style and we were poor at adapting.

As pointed out in preview the tackling is lame and if it isn't probably doubled then forget about beating Freo.
No reason why it can't be addressed. There is one thing you can quickly rectify in footy regardless of form and ability and that's it.
Martin blowing up isn't unusual.We have low rotation options and he needs more rest.
Doesn't mean he isn't fit just he hasn't developed the courage needed to push through yet. Maybe he never will but confident he will.
Last year at the G We got destroyed in the same manner we did on Saturday. We got caught out to often by getting beaten whilst pushing forward and left Pavlich one out with the bloody full back and no chop out.
No Pav thank Christ but it doesn't address the problem of a Freo/Collingwood type side pressuring us out of possesion whilst caught out of position. If that happens again we are stuffed.
Big big test that I'm keen to see.

Sorry, disagree. He played 76% game time against the dogs and was bog. That was against inferior midfielders. He was was hopelessly exposed against the pies and his poor tackling ability came to the fore. 2 disposals in a half is not acceptable.
Do you think he would have had to work harder against the Dogs or Collingwood midfield ?
Do you also assume rotation simply means on ball or on the bench ?
He is fine we just need to get more players who can rotate as a genuine inside mid . The benefits are massive such as increasing the portion of the game Martin and Cotchin are able to have a effect on the game whilst also allowing Lids and Edwards to play more outside . Tuck and Grigg consistantly playing midfield and providing zero defensive efforts is also not assisting other players fatigue levels .

Massive game. If we are good enough to win this then there's no reason why we can't be 7-2.
When running and carrying the ball we just need to keep it in the right hands. I lost count at how many times last week we would handball to a flat footed Maric.
Big game for Vickery... He needs to work hard on the big ground. I reckon he could dominate.

This is why I think we can win - just. Tigers by 5 points.

Reckon we had a better chance of a win against Collingwood than we do this week with a short trip over to Perth to face Freo. No Pav or not we don't play Ross Lyon coached sides well. He will tag Deledio and try to sap our run like he always does. They swarm every ball and hunt in numbers. It will be a scrappy contested affair and we haven't been great in this area. Even though Tuck hasn't been great he's still one of our best in this area but have a bad feeling Dimma will quickly scapgoat him for the loss as he's never been a fan. No one who replaces him would be able to win the ball against Mundy, Fyfe and co in tight for 4 quarters.

Cruical game though as if we lose we go 3-2 and we slide right back into the middle pack of teams scrapping for a top 8 spot even after a positive start to the season. Then we face Geelong where 3-3 would be a big chance.