Game Day Freo v WCE - Preseason Game 1

This was the season for Taberner to step up. He has dominated pre season. Any hint of pressure and he goes to water and his body language horrendous.

I expect to be let down by D Pearce, Suban, Griffin, Sutcliffe (used to be a massive fan), Ibbo, etc (all battlers at best) but Tabs was so disappointing.

Johnson also looks past it.

Mundy prob deserves a bit of a bake also but history has shown he needs to string a few games together before he hits top form.

We desperately need Neale, Sandi and Bennell playing.

Was it just me or was ibbo poo today? Griff, suban,dpearce are done.

Mccarthy....i think it may take a little longer folks to see him in full flight.

Kersten was honest. Not sure if he has the capability to lead the attack...but there isnt much else.

Wouldnt discount tabs as its only pre season, but geez he sucks. He can run tick, jump tick..mark he cannot. Has no real footy brain or footy intuition.

Fyfe was super and i thought darcy showed a bit.

Dam, he will get there. Seems like defence was a bit of a mess (it's 1st game ffs). not sure why people are getting so angry over this match. Was 1st match for Freo to try different things.

Doubt the scores even matter to the coaches, more of a session to see how their strategic plans hold up. It's preseason guys, was WCE 2nd match so they reviewed their 1st match (where they got smashed) and put more plans into place. Expected result IMO, however it doesn't define the clubs success for the real season
Somebody needs to tell that to Gerard, Browny and Huddo. Embarrassing call of the game for mine. Eagles are flag favourites for those flogs after today's effort :drunk:

I think a lot of freo punters are still smarting from last year's abberation, has been a long summer waiting to see how the new squad pulls together and we were pantsed by the cross town rivals and completely uncompetitive in the first half. I think most are realistic in that this was nothing more than a glorified scratchy to us, whereas the Eagles are a team with alot to prove after last year's embarrassment at your hands and had been talking it up like a final all week over here.

We're still only halfway through our list cull so there are some lucky blokes in the squad who just happened to be contracted when it all went to shit so scored themselves a stay of execution. The thought to some that those blokes will hold on to their place in the 22-25 this year is fairly unpalatable.

I'm sure Hamling will be better for the run and it's just going to take some time for a fairly inexperienced squad as a unit to gel.

How was Hilly?
Thought he was one of our best. Disposal was clinical and bobbed up for a couple snags, had to earn them too (which is one of the main knocks on him) so pretty impressed first up.

It's fair to say all of us would've loved to have put the disaster of last year behind us today and have said loud and clearly that those times are behind us.
Unfortunately three big fat reality checks got in the way. Those being
- many of the guys have never played together
- many of the guys were having their first game back in a long time
- it was our first game and the "E"gles 2nd

Oh well :)

I don't mind losing pre season matches if there is something to take from. We were absolutely terrible. You would think they would be seething after last year. We have so many dumb players who do dumb things. Let's not kid ourselves, we had a strong team on the field today, should have shown a lot more. Lazy football.

Hamling can't play loose off KPF's if he's going to play there. Is he worried he'll get out muscled?

I think Hamling suits the more mobile KPF players like Buddy, Cameron etc etc and needs pressure up the ground so his opponent cant lose him from multiple leading. Lets play Dawson on the monsters and AP when he comes back in.

I was hoping for a much better hitout. Guys like Sheridan, Suban, Crozier, Sutcliffe look like guys who will never take the next step.

Ross was pretty philosophical in the post match. I liked a few things he said, in particular about some players performance meaning they'll be left out next match.

I hope he's true to his word. Also another big positive is that Neale and Sandilands will both play the next game. Excellent news.

This was the season for Taberner to step up. He has dominated pre season. Any hint of pressure and he goes to water and his body language horrendous.

I expect to be let down by D Pearce, Suban, Griffin, Sutcliffe (used to be a massive fan), Ibbo, etc (all battlers at best) but Tabs was so disappointing.

Johnson also looks past it.

Mundy prob deserves a bit of a bake also but history has shown he needs to string a few games together before he hits top form.

We desperately need Neale, Sandi and Bennell playing.

Tabs is no surprise. He can bully the odd weak team or down hill ski in a thumping and thats about it. Hes a bust.

Kersten and Macarthy looking borderline best 22 is more scary. Macarthy pretty much gets a free ride for half a season though being out of the game so long.

I'm curious why Darcy only came on in the last quarter.
In those conditions I would have thought a continual rotation of the full bench would be better.

With that performance, it's amazing we kept the margin to only 55 points.
We even made Lecras look like a good player.

His stamina is only at a level that allows him to play 1 quarter effectively. No point killing him. In horse racing terms, He's like a 2yo stayer so no point flogging him in a 1000m dash in 40 degree heat against a field of seasoned campaigners.

I think ross rate sean highly, keep him ready for mayne lead magpies.

hard to tell. It seemed like just business as usual from the usual suspects (Pearce and Suban). Just hack the ball forward and kick it to the hotspot.

There was one from Pearce towards the end where he did his usual long bomb to the hotspot and you could see the ball sail over the heads of two Freo forwards who'd both gotten 5 metres on their opponents on the lead.

No wonder half our team can't be bothered trying to lead.

They were going around us and we couldn't get near them. We weren't playing with intensity and lacked work rate and effort of work rate. Some of those performances will see some players go out of the team. I'm a bit disappointed as I'd liked a better performance. We're aiming to play better footy and need to be better than what we were today but when you don't play with intensity, it's a sharp reminder to work hard or you get embarrassed real quickly.

And that's just the Coaches thoughts....Don't get me started....

8 goals from 27 inside 50's is about average for AFL. (ie. 1 goal every 3 entries is not a dysfunctional forward line - even though its slightly less than that)

Darcy Looks like he has already played 30-50 games in the last 3-4 years with us. The guy looks like a massive unit.

Game Day Freo v WCE - Preseason Game 1