Friday night scheduling West Coast vs Carlton?

Richmond v Bulldogs - MCG - 7:35pm eastern
West Coast v Carlton - DS - 10:10pm eastern/8:10pm western

Unfortunately, having the footy finish past midnight is just too late. In South Australia we're actually having a debate at present as to whether we should change our time zone, and in which direction. Copy our Melbourne/Sydney overlords and move half an hour ahead, or move back to be closer to you in Perth?

What better way to start the weekend than to watch Carlton lose?
I'll take more of that on a Friday night thanks!

For mine, it then tempers whatever the Saints decide to dish up and life isn't so bad after all

Carlton are absolute garbage and shouldn't be near any Friday night and yet some genius at the AFL decides to give the Blues about 6 of them.

I think they have a big show this week, West Coast don't look a whole lot better.

Both Geelong and hawthorn ruled out due to 4 day break.
Collingwood and Adelaide preseason would've been about the same as west coast and Carlton, it's only because they both won that there's more interest.
Agree though that Sydney vs port would've been a superior choice. Perhaps ground unavailable on Friday???

Where possible the NSW and Qld teams are scheduled to aviod FTA clashes with the NRL. These sides generally play on a Saturday (when all NRL is on Foxtel), or the 1pm Sunday game that finishes before the NRL starts at 4pm. With 4 sides now it has become harder and sometimes they feature outside these slots, but not that often. Rightly or wrongly, they are not being "punished" by not being given Friday nights, its actually done for their benefit.

Is anyone else confused by the scheduling for tonights game? I mean in theory Friday night is the night where the AFL will get the highest ratings and the AFL has decided to put a game on that most neutrals simply would not care about. Carlton and West Coast are going to be no where near the finals this year and I have no interest in seeing both teams play each other. Why can't the AFL actually at least attempt to make sure Friday night games will be interesting for the neutrals as well. Just this round more interesting games, games more deserving of a Friday night billing are

Collingwood vs Adelaide
Port Adelaide vs Sydney
Geelong vs Fremantle
Essendon vs Hawthorn

I just anticipate low Friday night ratings this week as the AFL has scheduled such a dull game that most neutrals really don't care about, at least no where near as much as they would Geelong vs Fremantle or Sydney vs Port Adelaide.

Get ready for a year of crap Friday night games as pretty much every one involves one of Carlton, Richmond or Collingwood.

Port v Sydney would have been a far better option.

After round 1 I agree this game looks not that appealing for the neutrals. But to be honest who gives a heck? We have to put up with at Nausiam Collingwood, Carlton, essendon every bloody friday night which to us as nuetrals is about as appealing as watching chess so it is no different for you guys tonight.
As for the time slot it should be on at 7.30pm Perth time. Not sure why we have to start early just so the eastern states people can watch it earlier.
You guys don't seem to have a problem watching Golf, Tennis, Cricket at whatever hour they are on so why is it an issue for footy?
This is a non issue, if you are not happy then don't watch it, we got all year to put up with the same clubs Friday night for the next 21 weeks. The sky is not exactly falling in here.

Yep, I love all the Friday night games we've been playing over the past 7 years.

I would like you guys, Bulldogs, GWS etc to get more Friday night games. It's something I think the AFL can easily accommodate - but they don't want to.

Option A: Have the current top 6-8 clubs mostly occupy Friday night prime time

Option B: Share Friday nights as evenly as possible

Option C: Have a Victorian legacy 'Big 4' team, who has barely achieved relevance over the past 15 years, plays bland football and has no genuine superstar players monopolise Friday night

A and B > C

I would like you guys, Bulldogs, GWS etc to get more Friday night games. It's something I think the AFL can easily accommodate - but they don't want to.
They certainly can - but it's not the fact that winning clubs get the Friday draws that you alluded too. If that was the case I could understand it. But its the fact that it's only the big clubs who get them - which allows them to become bigger and bigger.

Melbourne have had 8 Friday night games since 2009. Carlton alone have 7 this year and 6 last.

Just frustrating cause although they're terrible, it allows them to be on the TV for young kids to see and gets them supporting them for life.

People complain about inequities in the draw, and then complain when the teams battling in the lower half of the ladder actually get exposure.

Make up your mind BF.

No, I think that there are many people who complain that there are inequities in the draw - and that it's only Carlton/Essendon/Richmond who get exposure to Friday night games when they're in the lower half of the ladder. These are not contradictory arguments.

FWIW, the Dogs haven't had a Fri night game for 3 years and I'm sure there are interstate and expansion clubs (and Melbourne) who have had similar runs. I don't really have anything against Carlton - it would be the same if any club were sh*thouse but still getting an insanely disproportionate amount of good timeslots. It's just annoying when the AFL line is:

"Play good footy, climb up the ladder and you'll get the good timeslots"*

*Unless you're a big-drawing Victorian club, in which case you'll get coverage of your games on Fri/Sat night no matter how you're travelling

Melbourne, St Kilda, Dogs and North have been struggling for decades. Interstate clubs get left out in the cold.

Yet when Carlton experience a down turn in membership and attendance - due to a successful Ratten/Judd window closing and the list eroding - the AFL responds by giving them 2 prime time fixtures to start the league year. What a load of crap.

Luckily the other benefit Gil provided the Blues was recommending his old mate Triggy to be in charge of the joint. And as Adelaide fans tells us it's probably not going to work very well.

They certainly can - but it's not the fact that winning clubs get the Friday draws that you alluded too. If that was the case I could understand it. But its the fact that it's only the big clubs who get them - which allows them to become bigger and bigger.

Melbourne have had 8 Friday night games since 2009. Carlton alone have 7 this year and 6 last.

Just frustrating cause although they're terrible, it allows them to be on the TV for young kids to see and gets them supporting them for life.

I remember when you guys came here a few years ago for a Thursday night during the split round and Dean Bailey (RIP) gave interviews and did a bit of promotion. This was back when some were anticipating a good contest as both sides were on the up (at the time). I thought that it was good having that extra exposure as Melbourne barely have any fans in Perth and those sick of the Dockers/Eagles thing might like what they see. It ended up a ten goal thumping :cool:, but the idea was correct.

Yep, I remember that... and that's what Melbourne (and the Dogs/Saints etc) need to be able to pull themselves up a bit.

That kind of exposure is going to prove important and let's be honest, you don't see any 8-16 years olds who go for the dees hey.

That's the thing. A friday night for the smaller clubs is a novelty and probably something a little different for neutral fans. Now I'm not expecting us to get any/many when we are dreadful, but North have done enough to earn more.

Carlton still get the TV ratings. But I don't think they'd get the engagement. I'm sure 7 are paying for more than just the bottom line numbers. Because each bad game on Friday night spins in to the next. If they pick a bunch of interesting and quality matches with varying teams they will build momentum in people watching.

After seeing Carlton last week I'm not super keen to watch tonight. I'll probably head out. When there are run of interesting fixtures Friday night footy becomes a routine experience I never miss.

After round 1 I agree this game looks not that appealing for the neutrals. But to be honest who gives a heck? We have to put up with at Nausiam Collingwood, Carlton, essendon every bloody friday night which to us as nuetrals is about as appealing as watching chess so it is no different for you guys tonight.

I think most peoples issue is that the game involves Carlton, not that West Coast is playing.

That's the thing. A friday night for the smaller clubs is a novelty and probably something a little different for neutral fans. Now I'm not expecting us to get any/many when we are dreadful, but North have done enough to earn more.

More North, Port & Freo please.

The advertisers who spend millions each year for sponsorship rights, request marquee clubs like Carlton get decent tv games, even if we're struggling on the ladder.

Blame the AFL commission, not Carlton for the AFL being so beholden to corporate advertisers wishers .. I would prefer it if Carlton had less Friday night games myself, just puts extra heat/pressure on us when we play like crap..

Freo and Port definitely deserve a lot more Friday night/Prime Time games, can honestly understand why Dockers and Power fans would be pissed

The advertisers who spend millions each year for sponsorship rights, request marquee clubs like Carlton get decent tv games, even if we're struggling on the ladder.

Blame the AFL commission, not Carlton for the AFL being so beholden to corporate advertisers wishers .. I would prefer it if Carlton had less Friday night games myself, just puts extra heat/pressure on us when we play like crap..

Freo and Port definitely deserve a lot more Friday night/Prime Time games, can honestly understand why Dockers and Power fans would be pissed

I don't think many in this thread are blaming Carlton - and even if Carlton personally requested the fixtures, who can blame a club for attempting to maximise exposure and revenue? The AFL control the fixture.

Or see how pox they are and be turned off them

I don't think many in this thread are blaming Carlton - and even if Carlton personally requested the fixtures, who can blame a club for attempting to maximise exposure and revenue? The AFL control the fixture.

Unfortunately the AFL is highly dependant on advertising revenue, and yes, the fixture is heavily compromised because of it.

One possible solution for me is to have two Friday night games every round, but that probably would require further expansion, which isn't feasible at this point in time.

Gil and the AFL commission did at least listen to the fans, more Saturday arvo games at the G between big Vic clubs and no more of crappy Sunday twilight games. The Friday night fixtures probably do need a rethink though ..

By 'marquee' what you really mean is that soon all your supporters will be able to sit in a marquee right?

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-08-02/club-memberships-rise

They're are 4 bigger clubs in Victoria and 2 better teams with healthy followings (North and Geel).

Yes you are still palatable for the TV networks because of the latent supporter base and interest from other Victorian fans - many do still have interest in seeing Carlton win or lose. But not more so than Rich, Ess, Coll, Haw. You have been way over represented because the AFL is trying to do you a solid because they want a big Carlton back again. I agree it's not really good for you, you should be out of sight and out of mind for a couple of years.

Friday night scheduling West Coast vs Carlton?