G. Ablett in talks with GC

On a personal note....while Gary would love to play with his brother again never underestimate his relationship with Ken Hinkley. He has been a mentor to Gary for years.

As far as i know when it comes to compensation picks they arent in the year that the player is drafted.

In this case it wouldnt be in either the 2 years that GC or GWS entered the competition. They then have 5 years within which to use that pick but they have to nominate which year. They could possibly get a first round pick, and end of first round pick, end of second round pick etc.

In the case of Jnr they would probably get number 1 pick in the draft as compensation. They would also be able to pick which year they wanted it. Now dont get me wrong he's a great player and when you look at the judd deal the eagles basically got pick 3,4 and 20 so thinking to only get 1 pick would seem a little harsh.

But lets also look at it from the other angle, the cats were bloody lucky to get him with only a bloody father/son pick to start with as he would have gone very early if not number 1 in his draft year anyway. So its not as though geelong havent already had a sweet deal out of him.

2 premierships, a brownlow and giving his heart and soul for the club every week for only a friggin father/son pick sounds pretty damned sweet to me, especially if you get the number 1 pick in any draft you bloody well want from 2012-2016.

You don't have much bloody clue do you? Ablett was touted at the time to go late first round. You do realise it was the draft where Hodge, Ball and Judd all went as priorities?
Did you bloody sook as bloody much when you got Ben Cousins with a f/s and he then subsequently left?
Bloody nora :rolleyes:

Re: Ablett in "secret" talks with Gold Coast FC

I'm sure a lot of us here like our jobs, but if you were offered more than double elsewhere.....

Will play out very interestingly and we'll be hearing it non stop until he decides unfortunately.

If the GC can convince him he'll be a bit more out of the media and appeal to him as as providing a challenge in his career etc etc etc then there's a possibility.

But I'd be expecting him to remain at the cattery.

Yeah right. Because Geelong getting two kids who may *possibly* become decent/good/great players eventually is fair compensation for them losing maybe the leauge's best player in his prime. :rolleyes:

The compensation system is rubbish, and Victorian clubs know it. The AFL should NOT allow GC & GWS to poach other teams players fullstop. They should be made to build their lists from scratch as every Victorian club they'll be competing against first did.

LOL@The typical Hawthorn Flogs having a cry cause Geelong could have a team to rival or even better their side of the 80s.

Not in a million years would it happen.
If the Gold Coast had a meeting with him in Melbourne I would doubt it but seeing him and his manager met them on the GC makes me think he may be sign sealed and delivered?
Playing with his Brother would mean more than playing in Geelong .Plus all that more money too:cool:

If the Gold Coast had a meeting with him in Melbourne I would doubt it but seeing him and his manager met them on the GC makes me think he may be sign sealed and delivered?
Playing with his Brother would mean more than playing in Geelong .Plus all that more money too:cool:

Josh Carr, worked out well for him too.

Ablett was zero chance to go 'early if not number 1' in his chance. Not even close to that.

They were saying on TV today that hes been offered $1.6M a year. Craziness! Talk of endorsements he gets now etc. if he wanted the money could be endless up there. He'd be the face of football in Queensland (yes including the Lions).

He doesnt owe them anything, theres no unfinished business. 2 flags, maybe another this year. Will be a very very tempting offer. Would show incredible loyalty to stay.

2 premierships, a brownlow and giving his heart and soul for the club every week for only a friggin father/son pick sounds pretty damned sweet to me, especially if you get the number 1 pick in any draft you bloody well want from 2012-2016.

In the time Geelong will be waiting for this magic pick number one who may or may not make it they will be playing three seasons at least without their best midfielder. It is not really compensation at all.

LOL@The typical Hawthorn Flogs having a cry cause Geelong could have a team to rival or even better their side of the 80s.

You do realise he was saying Geelong would be inadequately compensated if Ablett was to leave, as in a couple of kids who may or may not turn out to be any good for the player who is currently regarded as the games best player, and in his prime. Geelong would be worse off.

A look in the mirror would be the best place to see a bitter flog.

Two sides to this. The GC are offering him an absolute fortune. As far as footy as a career is concerned he'd be mad to pass it up, he'd be well and truely set for life after 5 years of playing with them. If someone came and offered you twice what you're currently earning for the same job wouldn't you take it?

On the flip side, his father played for Geelong, he plays for Geelong and has been through thick and thin with them and won two premierships already. I'd imagine he'd want to stick with the Cats for those reasons.

Tough choice for him thats for sure.

Anyway.....I hope this happens, coz i reckon Hodgey might be plan B. And that would be a travesty.
Hodge was Plan A. They've already offered him the captaincy and shitload more than he would get at Hawthorn. Hodge signed with Hawthorn at the end of the 2009 season.

He would be a moron to turn that down. He doesn't owe Geelong anything. They got him cheap through the father-son, and he has delivered in spades. Business is business and Geelong is a hole. And dont give me the line about sticking with your mates. He's not a 12 year old boy. Time to grow up, and think about the future of your (future) kids.

Anyway.....I hope this happens, coz i reckon Hodgey might be plan B. And that would be a travesty.

Because he is going to struggle to feed his kids on a measly circa $800k per annum.

He and Latrell Sprewell would be able to start a support group for superstar athletes struggling to make ends meet.

My take on the uncontracted player rules compensation rules is the same as WCE_phil's (Ablett can sign with the Gold Coast if he is uncontracted and GC dont trade any of their draft picks, we all agree on this i think).

What happens is the AFL deem the compensation as a before 1st round(not sure on that one, someone confirm this where Ablett will fall) 1st round pick, end of 1st(like the 1 year pp now), 2nd round, end of 2nd round, 3rd round, end of 3rd ect or a combination of these picks.

The clubs have a 5 year window to use these picks, but must nominate before season. However if it is a 1st round pick then that cant be used until GC and West Sydney have entered and had there "draft year" so this will be in 2012 (2010 GC 2011 WS)

The 1st pick will fall immediately after the clubs pick e.g if the club finishes 2 last and has pick 2 in the national draft and have elected to use the 1st round compensation that year then also have pick 3

So not only is it hard to for Geelong to get adequete compensation (unless the AFL can give before first round compensation) they also have to guess when they are going to have a bad year, to get the most out of a "1st round compensation pick"

Gary Ablett to GC vs Joel Selwood to GWS is what I see.

If Gary stays, Geelong wont have the money to throw at Selwood when GWS's time of recruiting comes. Geelong have to think about who is a more valuble to a club.
A naturul born leader with the skills to become a great of the game, or a player who is currently the days greatest. Tough choice.

I personally would rather Selwood.

Gary Ablett to GC vs Joel Selwood to GWS is what I see.

If Gary stays, Geelong wont have the money to throw at Selwood when GWS's time of recruiting comes. Geelong have to think about who is a more valuble to a club.
A naturul born leader with the skills to become a great of the game, or a player who is currently the days greatest. Tough choice.

I personally would rather Selwood.

Bring it on Baby....

I would rather see gazza chick in a thong rather than mockisons.

If he feels he's done all he can at Geelong, I wouldn't be surprised to see him go to the Gold Coast for the extra dollars and captaincy and the whole leading a new team thing.

We call that the "Carlton sentiment", a blight on the traditional game

It's rather simple math. 55% of the discrepancy of Geelong's offer Vs GC's. That's all.

No one knows what he gets from endorsements now, or what he could potentially earn up there, ergo no one knows the difference between the two.

The quote from the main article says 600k. The 800k figure was someone misquoting what he could be on as opposed to what he is.

Basically we're going to be looking at an offer of 800k v 1.5mil like I said. Which, as I have also said, will be a difference 315k in Jnr's hand a season. Then factor in your endorsements if you like, which is impossible to do really because none of us have any idea what they'd entail.

My point remains: People will wax lyrical about his potential to earn 3mil odd extra over 4 years, and I'm just simply pointing out that Mr Tax Man will nab 55% of that, so the discrepancy isn't as large as people may think. It's still large, and could definitely sway him to go, but it won't be in the 3mil range.

2 things you fail to take into account.

1. He may get "800k" currently at Geelong but he pays tax on that too....so by your logic it's about 400k after tax.

2. Tax minimalisation: Ever heard of the Late Great Kerry Packer paying less than $200 tax in a financial year? There are ways to get around paying that much tax.

Jnr is as valuable as Judd was at the time he was traded. A little older but without the significant injury concerns. Geelong should be compensated roughly equivalent if not more IMO. Chances are after he's done as a midfielder he'll give another 3-4 years as a quality forward too.

If we lose Ablett our premiership window is well and truely shut, he's was the difference between us and the rest last session and probably has been since the start of 07.

I dont think he wouldve went anywhere close to number 1 in his draft
year, Im not sure where he wouldve went - but I dont think he wouldve
even went in the top 10

crap. IF there was no F/son rule do you really think GEELONG would have picked Jimmy Bartel in front of gary ABLETT jnr?

If yablett had one leg he still would have gone to sleepy hollow in front of bartel and thus in the top 10.

Excactly. Look at Judd. He knocked back going to two superior teams, and another which will be pretty good in a few years, to go to one where he could recieve a few extra million under the table.

If Ablett feels he should try and earn as much as he can before he retires, then he may very well take their offer.

Judd went to the most successful team and the one with the better list going forward ..you can't blame him for that .

Besides a player of his standings would hardly gel amongst dentally challenged ferals .

You couldn't really blame him if he goes, can absolutely set himself up for life financially up there. There's not much more for him to achieve at Kardinia so I don't think you could begrudge him the opportunity if he decided to take it.

G. Ablett in talks with GC