Gameday: NAB Cup Essendon vs Brisbane

Well Done! Congratulations everyone.

I am off to bed!

C u all at the game next week. (Even if I have no clue who you are or what y'all look like.) :D

Can't see us winning this, but I'd like to be proven wrong.

Just looking forward to a good showing and most excited to see Dempsey again.

Lions by 28

Proven wrong in great style!

A couple of things that I would have liked to have known when making my tip.
1. Brisbane didn't have an intra-club match and
2. Matthews wasn't coach!

Anyway, who cares about Brisbane, we looked very good (at times) tonight! :thumbsu:

Loved the effort put in by the team but especially big chook laycock. The big fella had some big chases and second efforts off the deck that most midfielders would have been proud of.

Kyle reimers is also a ripper, has a bit of Mark Harvey-like "Nutter" in him.

Guys

Australia Network do not broadcast the NAB cup. HAve to follow it on SEN.

Tell how do the boys look. Smooth or ....someone give me a assessment

Knights has stated that one of the major things he is looking to improve from Essendon is run and drive from the back line. The idea is that if they can move it with pace through HB and the MF teams won't have a chance to flood back and stop Lloyd and Lucas. It worked well at the intra game last week but it was great to see it work in a match against another team. I wouldn;t say it was smooth as such but it was certainly quick and effective. They could have been more polished but that will come. The positive is that they players are adhering to the message given by Knights. Dempsey and Dyson were great off half back and Pev provided great link up play betwenn the backline and MF. Dempsey looked shaky early and gave away a couple of goals but he got batter and better as the game went on and gave great drive for us. I am so impressed by his overhead marking and his ability to win the ball in a close contest.

In the MF Monfries looked awesome. He played exactly the way Bombers supporters have been looking for him to play. Houli was another youngster who looked sharp and got heaps of the pill. Many other great players such as JJ, Hille and co but i think the major positive for Essendon was the intensity, flair and ferociousness of the team as a whole.

I have to also give a special shout out to my boy Dyson. Keep up the good work son and the will jump on...:thumbsu::)

Proven wrong in great style!

A couple of things that I would have liked to have known when making my tip.
1. Brisbane didn't have an intra-club match and
2. Matthews wasn't coach!

Anyway, who cares about Brisbane, we looked very good (at times) tonight! :thumbsu:

Good on you for getting in before anyone else. :thumbsu:

I tipped the dons by 25+ so i was spot on. :D

Good win. Second half was dreary mostly except when we went for our adventurous runs through the middle. Exciting game for the Bombers fans. We had Hocking, Monfries, Dempsey and Houli play well so the midfield isnt looking as forlorn as 3 hours before. Johns was disappointing, Myers was very quiet, Chartres was missing, whilst Dick and Atkinson didnt do too badly. Tthe ruckman worked well together. Michael was good. A good showing that will get the faithful excited. Bring on the Dogs.

I am glad they didn't drop Rhys Magin. It's three quarter time, but what a game he has played.

He played and looked like a better player than most of our second and third year players. He looks a player.

Yeah Magin was good, and is a QLD boy as well. He looked composed and skills were good. If only he could have kicked a couple of goals instead of points would have been excellent debut.

Only saw the last 10 minutes, but i'm about to watch it all on IQ... Anything in particular to watch for?

Positives:
  • Young mids. Hocking's tackling was top class, Houli picked up 10+ touches in the last, Monfries was superb
  • Run out of backline: mainly because of Nash, Dempsey and Dyson
  • Magin played very very well
  • Hille and jason showing they can be dangerous forwards
  • Defensive pressure improved and a lot of tackles
some negatives i picked up were:
  • Gumby
  • Johns (started well but faded)
  • Jetta didnt do much
  • Dick and Lonergan played average games
  • Ryder didnt do much but did provide some nice spoils
THe new draftees, Myers, Pears and Magin did pretty well and i rated them
1. Magin
2.Myers
3.Pears

Great win by the boys, their defensive pressure all over the ground was sensational as was the run through the middle. Good to see Dempsey Monfries and Dyson play really well. Im absoloutley devastated about Gumbleton though. This is becoming a real worry. Is it too easy to say that he came back to quick, as he was in the modified group up until last week.

Houli-Slick and efficient, impressed me greatly

Dempsey-Lots of hype, pace, courage, skill, will love the Dome

Good game from the Bombers tonight, you guys looked a little ahead of us in terms of preparation, look forward to the season proper clash, will be fast and furious i would imagine!

Gameday: NAB Cup Essendon vs Brisbane