Garry Ablett Jnr

We're not talking world affairs here, but you do understand that people live with personal demons everyday and sometimes even the rich and famous can't cope. Do we wait until he tops himself to be concerned? There is obviously a serious underlying issue and he deserves more support. Let him go.
Australians are quick to judge those who become rich and famous, it's our old 'tall poppy" syndrome which has been an insecure trait of ours for a long time.
I think you are reading too much into it mate. He has family issues and wants to go home. He is not broken ,he is not going to top himself, he has a family issue like millions of other families have. He didnt really look that upset on television, he just wants to be left alone to play football. Gold Coast have every right to hold him to his contract.

Hang on, he can walk away from that deal at any time. Why are football players any more special than everyone else who works in a country wide market?

I'd love to do my job in Tassie, but my current job won't send me there, and there aren't any takers for me down there.

If i want it bad enough I'll walk, and do something else for a living.
That is true. And most separation contracts also have a clause stating you/me/Gary cant work in a similar field for 2 years.

I don't have a problem if GA does that. But he doesn't want to do that.

We're not talking world affairs here, but you do understand that people live with personal demons everyday and sometimes even the rich and famous can't cope. Do we wait until he tops himself to be concerned? There is obviously a serious underlying issue and he deserves more support. Let him go.
Australians are quick to judge those who become rich and famous, it's our old 'tall poppy" syndrome which has been an insecure trait of ours for a long time.
Nothing is stopping him from retiring and moving home if it's truly at that point where he needs to be here. People all around Australia have to give up jobs/careers for personal reasons all the time. The big difference being most of them don't have a massive bank account to support this but they make do and make hard decisions because they obviously feel the need to.

Don't you think football is a big loser if he retires prematurely? He's been lost to September action since 2010, he still has 2 maybe 3 seasons left in him IMO.

I think you are reading too much into it mate. He has family issues and wants to go home. He is not broken ,he is not going to top himself, he has a family issue like millions of other families have. He didnt really look that upset on television, he just wants to be left alone to play football. Gold Coast have every right to hold him to his contract.
I guess we will disagree on that one. He gave Gold Coast everything and was sold a pup in return. Virtually all of his "replacements" are now playing at other clubs. Gold Coast should cut him loose and the AFL should fold this foolishness asap. Re- locate the Suns to Tassie by 2019.
Of course the last thing supporters of top teams want to see is Ablett return to playing with a good team again. The prospect of DangerWood and Ablett must be sending shivers down the spine of every Dogs, Crows, Swans, Hawks fan in the comp. I suspect none will wish for his return to Victoria and Geelong!

Don't you think football is a big loser if he retires prematurely? He's been lost to September action since 2010, he still has 2 maybe 3 seasons left in him IMO.
I agree it would be a shame but at the same time I support the Gold Coast's decision to hold him to his contract. Players PUSH clubs for these bigger length contracts and for bigger dollars for their job security and then when they get it just expect clubs to facilitate them walking away from it? At some point clubs need to set examples that you sign your contract, you fulfill your contract or they'll forever be walked all over and unable to retain players who simply throw up personal issues as their reason. What good is a contract if no one is required to honour them?

It's sad for Ablett that he's got personal issues and ideally at end of season Gold Coast and Geelong can work out a mutually beneficial deal to make it happen. I would also hope that Ablett realises he's got to come to the party here and take a huge paycut to make that happen as there's no way Gold Coast should be paying part of his salary to play for another club. Basically Geelong had nothing last year that was of interest to Gold Coast so it's not wrong of them to expect Ablett to honour the contract he's signed and put in the effort that's expected of a true professonal.

I guess we will disagree on that one. He gave Gold Coast everything and was sold a pup in return. Virtually all of his "replacements" are now playing at other clubs. Gold Coast should cut him loose and the AFL should fold this foolishness asap. Re- locate the Suns to Tassie by 2019.
Of course the last thing supporters of top teams want to see is Ablett return to playing with a good team again. The prospect of DangerWood and Ablett must be sending shivers down the spine of every Dogs, Crows, Swans, Hawks fan in the comp. I suspect none will wish for his return to Victoria and Geelong!
Not overly worried if he does return. Hes the same age as hodge, came from the 2001 draft alongside judd, he hasn't played consistently in 2 years, his best is behind him and as a mid who has done so many miles he is bound to fall off a cliff (even if his shoulders hold up)

And let's be honest, your whole argument for the GC letting him walk is void because you're hardly looking at it from a neutral perspective. You'd come off better to say 'he should return home because he is a club legend, son of a club legend and he never should have left'

You are conflating 2 entirely different issues. If Geelong were actually willing to offer up a fair price for Gaz, then they'd convince the Suns to give him up. You'll also note there are 9 other clubs in Victoria, but i notice he didn't say "Rocket, is there any chance I culd be traded to Victoria to be closer to Dad?" He explicitly said he wanted to go to Geelong.

So when that happened, my interest in Gary's off field troubles evapourated. He wants to be back, sure. But not enough to walk away from footy, ot to play at a victorian club that isn't Geelong.

Apparently the current price for contracted players to leave a club is 2x 1sts , annddd Geelong don't have that
Yep, value him as you would a FA based on his salary, compensation to GC would be a high 1st rounder at minimum.

The other price, that GAJ himself could pay, seems to be a year out of the game. McCarthy got to where he wanted eventually, but had to sit out a year of his career.

Anyway, GAJ has the most first of first world problems, don't think it's worth any of us a seconds more thought, que sera sera

Why does it have to be Geelong?

If Ablett is desperate to come home for family issues then why does he HAVE to play for Geelong?
If he had any decency or respect for Gold Coast he would come to Vic for whatever team was prepared to offer Gold Coast best remuneration.
Well maybe he doesn't have any respect for Gold Coast they certainly haven't earned it from him, and it doesn't have to be Geelong the other option is he simply walks away from the game. The choice is truly up to the Gold Coast administration, get what you can from Geelong (which wont be much) or let him walk away which would free up a lot of cap space to play around with.
I think I'm in the opposite camp to most people on here in that I think Gold Coast have treated Ablett very poorly of late, since 2014 they have clearly been rushing him back into the team before he was fit and ready just to get hurt again and now he is basically being made a scapegoat for all Gold Coast ills, no wonder he wants to get the hell out of there.

He looks broken does he? I could take being broken and getting one million bucks a year. Settle down mate, people are losing houses and lives in floods, terrorist attacks and poor Gaz is broken because his football team is no good. Gaz should finish the year off and retire. He has been a true champion and a total legend no matter what.
You clearly have zero understanding of what is impacting him from off-field.

He doesn't want out because the Suns have lost some football games, he wants out because he is concerned about immediate family members.

Well maybe he doesn't have any respect for Gold Coast they certainly haven't earned it from him, and it doesn't have to be Geelong the other option is he simply walks away from the game. The choice is truly up to the Gold Coast administration, get what you can from Geelong (which wont be much) or let him walk away which would free up a lot of cap space to play around with.
I think I'm in the opposite camp to most people on here in that I think Gold Coast have treated Ablett very poorly of late, since 2014 they have clearly been rushing him back into the team before he was fit and ready just to get hurt again and now he is basically being made a scapegoat for all Gold Coast ills, no wonder he wants to get the hell out of there.
Just lol.

Do you have any facts to backup your bullshit?

you notice the part where i said "I THINK" it's a pretty crucial part that denotes that i have formed an opinion from what i have observed, from what i have seen every time he has come back he has looked propy and tentative and then been gone injured again very quickly after. It's not like the club is going to come out and say sorry our bad played him to soon because our team sucks and we don't know what to do.

Also never said it was the club that has been making him the scapegoat, but all you need to do is have a look on this board and throughout the media to see the vitriol be lobbed at him.

People can form their own opinions I have formed mine and i don't rightly give a shit what anyone else thinks about it.

He doesn't want out because the Suns have lost some football games, he wants out because he is concerned about immediate family members.
He is free to leave anytime he wants, it's not a prison camp. Just don't expect to get to the club of your choice if they aren't willing to cough up a decent trade. The Suns would be mad to pay half his contract and let him go to the Cats for a packet of crisps.

Did he say that last night or is this a rumour?

If he has serious family issues then it's fair enough to be his priority right now. That said he has always seemed a reluctant, obligated member of the Suns to me despite playing some amazing football there. He didn't have to sign for the money the first time or push hard for his last contract with the Suns. When you agree though as an adult there are responsibilities that come with accepting those offers. Great player, not a great club man for GC imo.

you notice the part where i said "I THINK" it's a pretty crucial part that denotes that i have formed an opinion from what i have observed, from what i have seen every time he has come back he has looked propy and tentative and then been gone injured again very quickly after. It's not like the club is going to come out and say sorry our bad played him to soon because our team sucks and we don't know what to do.

Also never said it was the club that has been making him the scapegoat, but all you need to do is have a look on this board and throughout the media to see the vitriol be lobbed at him.

People can form their own opinions I have formed mine and i don't rightly give a shit what anyone else thinks about it.

Lol. Clearly.

Garry Ablett Jnr