Banter Geelong V Richmond - GO!

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who are the GOATS?

• Selwood

Votes: 89 43.8%
  • Dusty

Votes: 119 58.6%
  • Hawkins

Votes: 71 35.0%
  • J. Riewoldt

Votes: 44 21.7%
  • C.Scott

Votes: 61 30.0%
  • Hardwick

Votes: 57 28.1%

In the interests of keeping your back and forth shite fights out of match threads so normal people can talk.

Keep it clean and above the shorts
Off topic rubbish clogging up match threads will be moved here, knock yourselves out.

homero-pelea-simpsons.gif

The cats are an ok team. They just dont win flags very often.

4 in the last 60 or so years compared to our 7 or 8 over the same time. I think they have only beaten us twice in 12 or so finals. Or something like that.

More importantly, I love how Richmond and other clubs hate everything they stand for. Just a miserable organisation that defines itself by its grovelling and kiniving approach to the afl from the coach making excuses to rule changes.

There is no self respect and explains alot about why alot of their fans are so miserably delusional. Pretty funny stuff 😄

Gotta hate those kiniving clubs.

In fairness to Scott, he just articulated what everyone else thinks. The Richmond era just does not compare to Brisbane's, Hawthorn's or Geelongs.

The general consensus is that the game is the most attractive it has been for decades due to Hocking's changes. But if you wish to believe this conspiracy along with your other aggrieved tuger supporters to make you feel better about the sun setting on the tugers era, all power to you.
No mate, it is you and your fellow Geelong supporters that have to venture out of your ignorant and self-serving bubble.

Quite Recent poll by the AFL fans association where footy supporters express their strong dislike for the stand rule and the constant rule changing and AFL meddling with the game in general:

Fans take a stand on rule changes, commentary and curtain raisers

Recent Big Footy poll, with 70% of posters against the stand rule:

The stand rule. Do you like it?

To save you from further embarrassment, don’t resort to regurgitating what the footy journos and “experts” say about the stand rule. Many of these sycophants are employed or benefited to some degree by the AFL (e.g. Lloyd and Cornes) and will never bite the hand that feeds them.

Here is an example. Tim Watson on the SEN website:

Do most AFL fans need to eat humble pie on rule changes?

He says/writes most AFL supporters have to eat humble pie because the rule changes made the game better. And he hails Shocking as the saviour of footy. Like you. First he admits that most fans don’t like the changes and then he supports them because Channel Seven, the official AFL broadcaster, is his major employer. You don’t attack the major viewing product of your channel, which cost billions to acquire, do you?

Of course not...

No mate, it is you and your fellow Geelong supporters that have to venture out of your ignorant and self-serving bubble.

Quite Recent poll by the AFL fans association where footy supporters express their strong dislike for the stand rule and the constant rule changing and AFL meddling with the game in general:

To save you from further embarrassment, don’t resort to regurgitating what the footy journos and “experts” say about the stand rule. Many of these sycophants are employed or benefited to some degree by the AFL (e.g. Lloyd and Cornes) and will never bite the hand that feeds them.

He says/writes most AFL supporters have to eat humble pie because the rule changes made the game better. And he hails Shocking as the saviour of footy. Like you. First he admits that most fans don’t like the changes and then he supports them because Channel Seven, the official AFL broadcaster, is his major employer. You don’t attack the major viewing product of your channel, which cost billions to acquire, do you?

Of course not...

The stand rule has nothing to do with Geelong or its supporters.

Of course not...
Bigfooty poll with 53 voters... compelling stuff

Of course not...

Fair melt

Same, no issue with Geelong until their current coach continually ran us down and belittled our team even as we started replacing them as the dominant Vic side 2017-onwards.

Steve Hocking’s slamming the comical ‘stand rule’ in, after his beloved cats lost a GF, almost sans consultation except for a test run of the rule at Kardinia Park, and months out from taking the CEO position at the Cats, will endure as one of the great disgraces of the game.

I reckon if you asked the average Cat fan on the street, even they wouldn’t have wanted to win that way.

No pride in that at all.
Lol- I’m betting you aren‘t actually keeping a straight face when you trot this stuff out you poor old thing.

Come on, youre not the only club with injuries! some clubs manage to stand up despite them.
You guys have a few C grade talls out which are role players only + Howe (A grade defender), and you guys want a medal for winning. You definitely wouldn’t be winning with our outs of quality and experience

In fairness to Scott, he just articulated what everyone else thinks. The Richmond era just does not compare to Brisbane's, Hawthorn's or Geelongs.

The general consensus is that the game is the most attractive it has been for decades due to Hocking's changes. But if you wish to believe this conspiracy along with your other aggrieved tuger supporters to make you feel better about the sun setting on the tugers era, all power to you.
I have no issue with anyone that agrees with Chris Scott’s and Steve Hocking’s view of what ‘good football’ should look like.
You build your team to play the style you want.

They like footy like a chess game, thoughtful, clean possession, clean knees where possible, low risk.

But when a team comes up with a different strategy, a crazy, risk-on, breakneck speed attacking game + maniacal defensive pressure…and it smashes your possession game…don’t denigrate it, and don’t bring in ‘Stand’ safety bubbles to weaken it.

Now that McRae has spread the Hardwick philosophy to Collingwood (where Buckley previously was a possession game acolyte) we are not hearing all the ‘game is broken’ stuff out of Catland…why?

People are celebrating the breath of fresh air at Collingwood…weird.

Why did Jeremy Cameron keep marking the ball 60 metres out from goal last night? The bloke is a beautiful set shot for goal. He should be timing his leads to mark it closer to goal so he can convert.
Scott mentioned post game we pushed him up the ground deliberately because we had so many injuries we needed some more class around the contests.

He ended up with 20 something touches and a goal, he just played much higher due to severe circumstances

I have no issue with anyone that agrees with Chris Scott’s and Steve Hocking’s view of what ‘good football’ should look like.

They like footy like a chess game, thoughtful, clean possession, clean knees where possible, low risk.

But when a team comes up with a different strategy, a crazy, risk-on, breakneck speed attacking game + maniacal defensive pressure…and it smashes your possession game…don’t denigrate it, and don’t bring in ‘Stand’ safety bubbles to weaken it.

Now that McRae has spread the Hardwick philosophy to Collingwood (where Buckley previously was a possession game acolyte) we are not hearing all the ‘game is broken’ stuff out of Catland…why?

Honestly buddy.. if all it took was a stand on the mark rule to destroy your game plan.. then it probably shows why your side is not considered up there with hawks Brisbane cats tripe premiership teams.

The rules were changed to open the game up and make it more free flowing, regardless of game style.
The fact that Collingwood plays the Richmond style of football better than Richmond says more about Richmond than the rule changes.
I think Richmond supporters need to start seeing the bigger picture and realise this was not a conspiracy against them. They are now just a middle of the road team that cannot adapt and evolve like others.

They are now just a middle of the road team that cannot adapt and evolve like others.
And yet we "now just" beat your team by 4 goals.

A team coached by the same guy who said just 9 weeks ago that Geelong had 'worked out the way to beat Richmond'. Adapted and evolved. Apparently.

Smartest guy in the room. Just ask him 🤣

Scott mentioned post game we pushed him up the ground deliberately because we had so many injuries we needed some more class around the contests.

He ended up with 20 something touches and a goal, he just played much higher due to severe circumstances
are you capable of posting with running the injuries excuse?. Richmond didnt have Lynch and others out there you know? i know you hate it but just take the
L.

I'd say 4 AFL flags is more than ok and 1 more than the tugers if you count the compromised 2020 cup.
Most learned footy fans know that premierships in the suburban league prior to 1990 came down to zoning and cash. Something the tugers took advantage of.
I find your comment about the coach whining a little hypocritical. Dimma must be one of the most entitled whiney wa$%kers going around.
As for other supporters outside the tugers and maybe hawks hating the cats I'd need more proof of that outside your pent up passive aggressiveness.
Are you ok bud?
Whats your count if we disregard the compromised Dank/Thompson cups?

are you capable of posting with running the injuries excuse?. Richmond didnt have Lynch and others out there you know? i know you hate it but just take the
L.
I called the loss all week on our board and the thread on the main board as well, you don’t need to be Nostradamus to work out or even need half a brain to work out that having 9 quality experienced players from your b22 is going to have a severe impact. We have the worst injury list in the AFL by that far in terms of B22 out it’s ridiculous. If posters can’t handle this then that’s not my problem.

They have a very healthy list right now Richmond, they are only missing nankervis lynch and tarrant. I am not going to throw in rioli who was dropped. That is pretty standard and a healthy spot to be in.

And yet we "now just" beat your team by 4 goals.

A team coached by the same guy who said just 9 weeks ago that Geelong had 'worked out the way to beat Richmond'. Adapted and evolved. Apparently.

Smartest guy in the room. Just ask him 🤣
Mate if you are happy beating our VFL side, with extra assistance from the umps by 24 points then that is a concern. A decent side beats geelong by 50 with 8 of their best players out.
That was peak tugers 2023 I'm afraid. Enjoy 9th.

The rules were changed to open the game up and make it more free flowing, regardless of game style.
The fact that Collingwood plays the Richmond style of football better than Richmond says more about Richmond than the rule changes.
I think Richmond supporters need to start seeing the bigger picture and realise this was not a conspiracy against them. They are now just a middle of the road team that cannot adapt and evolve like others.

Don’t rewrite history

The rules were changed by the Geelong football manager to hurt Richmond and help Geelong .

It’s matter of historical fact that shocking worked for Geelong , then ran the afl changed the rules to suit Geelong , and then went back to Geelong with the new rules, to hurt the premier and help Geelong .

Then they won a flag with the new rules

Steve hocking is the shrewdest football administrator of the 21 St century, and we all sat back and just watched it happen

Don’t rewrite history

The rules were changed by the Geelong football manager to hurt Richmond and help Geelong .

It’s matter of historical fact that shocking worked for Geelong , then ran the afl changed the rules to suit Geelong , and then went back to Geelong with the new rules, to hurt the premier and help Geelong .

Then they won a flag with the new rules

Steve hocking is the shrewdest football administrator of the 21 St century, and we all sat back and just watched it happen
rule changes.jpg

Honestly buddy.. if all it took was a stand on the mark rule to destroy your game plan.. then it probably shows why your side is not considered up there with hawks Brisbane cats tripe premiership teams.
Odd comment; STAND, 6-6-6, kick-out exclusion zone are the biggest changes to the structure of the game since the centre square exclusion zone was introduced in 1973 (originally a diamond until '75).

The game that formerly prided itself on being the one football code that let you run where you want, when you want, has suddenly become more zoned than soccer.

img_3609-png.1686198

Banter Geelong V Richmond - GO!